Underworld

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 519

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    For me I found the film somewhat dull however it delivered great visuals and the odd scene that captured my attention. Also very good voice over narration from the protagonist. It must be set clear that this is not the type of film that really appeals to me.
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    5
    "Underworld" decently presents the raging battle between the monstrous Lycans and blood-craving vampires. It's not scary thanks to its war-focusing plot, but at least the film's decently entertaining.
  3. Namelessone
    Sep 20, 2003
    4
    Yawn. the dialogue was horrid. the first hour and a half was filler. the acting was non-existent. the fight scenes were tired. need i say more?
  4. Aug 23, 2010
    5
    Vampires at war with Werewolves, man with rare blood type, in-fighting, Head Vampire gets awoken, general nonsense.
    I saw this about four years ago & thought it was ok & the Werewolves were very good. On this re-watch, it's not very good at all. The effects are pretty average, the acting terrible (even with Michael Sheen in it) & Kate Beckinsale spends most of her time pouting, flicking
    Vampires at war with Werewolves, man with rare blood type, in-fighting, Head Vampire gets awoken, general nonsense.
    I saw this about four years ago & thought it was ok & the Werewolves were very good. On this re-watch, it's not very good at all. The effects are pretty average, the acting terrible (even with Michael Sheen in it) & Kate Beckinsale spends most of her time pouting, flicking her hair & jumping around in slow motion.
    Tries so hard to be cult & cool but falls well short of the mark.
    Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2011
    5
    The acting was pretty terrible (besides Michael Sheen's performance) and the action sequences sucked really hard. I did enjoy the plot though and it did keep me interested in it but it could have been told in a lot shorter time. I feel the 2+ hours run time pushes it far too much. Still, Underworld simply has something that makes me intersted in it. I was a bit disapointed in this film butThe acting was pretty terrible (besides Michael Sheen's performance) and the action sequences sucked really hard. I did enjoy the plot though and it did keep me interested in it but it could have been told in a lot shorter time. I feel the 2+ hours run time pushes it far too much. Still, Underworld simply has something that makes me intersted in it. I was a bit disapointed in this film but I still have hopes for the sequel. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    It's not that it's a bad movie. There is a ton of potential here for a pretty good series due to the very interesting story. However, the special effects in this film are rather awful, So bad that it's laughable at times. The acting is on the weak side as well despite having an experianced cast. Overall, the potential is there but it's still a below average film.
  7. ChadS.
    Sep 20, 2003
    6
    Kraven should be menacing, alas, he is stupid. "Is that Michael?" this Trent Reznor via Christian Bale-wanna-be shouts at Selene, when he sees a very wet man on his video monitor, begging to be let back into the vampire compound. And Selene, she's no Mensa candidate herself. She seems genuinely surprised when Erika tells Michael that he has a Lychen bite, even though she was there Kraven should be menacing, alas, he is stupid. "Is that Michael?" this Trent Reznor via Christian Bale-wanna-be shouts at Selene, when he sees a very wet man on his video monitor, begging to be let back into the vampire compound. And Selene, she's no Mensa candidate herself. She seems genuinely surprised when Erika tells Michael that he has a Lychen bite, even though she was there when her human friend was fending off Lucian. "Underworld", as expected, features a lot of seen-it-before action executed by actors with very serious faces, redeemed somewhat by a story that's more engaging than "The Matrix: Reloaded". Some kudos, however, should be lavished upon the special effects team for the creation of Victor. His awakening reminds us that vampires should be scary and not brandishers of firearms. All those tubes of blood connected to a skinless, but recognizable Bill Nighy is a genuine contribution to vampire iconography. Expand
  8. OliverV.
    Sep 24, 2003
    5
    Kate Beckinsale is a hotty.
  9. TelyS.
    Sep 26, 2003
    4
    Light years ahead of The Matrix, huh? You don't realize the irony in that statement, do you? This movie was pitched as a "horror" version of The Matrix, so can be considered the offspring of the much superior films by the Wachowskis. A watered down and sillier offspring to say the least. It would take days to point out the failiures of Underworld, from the hideous acting from a cast Light years ahead of The Matrix, huh? You don't realize the irony in that statement, do you? This movie was pitched as a "horror" version of The Matrix, so can be considered the offspring of the much superior films by the Wachowskis. A watered down and sillier offspring to say the least. It would take days to point out the failiures of Underworld, from the hideous acting from a cast of zero charismas, to the amemic "action" scenes as generic and contrived as anything on TV these days, but I'll spare the easily offendable from further offence. Expand
  10. Break
    Jan 24, 2004
    4
    Surprisingly, this movie has a semi-decent plot. It got a little out of hand towards the end and seemed labored at times. The biggest flaws in this movie are the acting and action scenes. The acting was mediocre, but that really came as no surprise to me. What did surprise me was how horribly the action scenes were done. The fighting scenes were either horribly directed or just ridiculous Surprisingly, this movie has a semi-decent plot. It got a little out of hand towards the end and seemed labored at times. The biggest flaws in this movie are the acting and action scenes. The acting was mediocre, but that really came as no surprise to me. What did surprise me was how horribly the action scenes were done. The fighting scenes were either horribly directed or just ridiculous to the point of being laughable. Adding guns to the mix didn't make it any better. If you're looking for a great plot, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a good action film, you'll definitely want to look somewhere else. The concept was interesting enough and the plot had potential, but it's a shame that it was executed so poorly. Expand
  11. MichaelC.
    Feb 5, 2004
    6
    This one was actually a whole lot better than I thought it would be, after seeing the reviews. The story, while somewhat ridiculous, was at least original. It's not for everyone, but if you like this sort of thing you'll probably be into it.
  12. CarlosF
    Jul 18, 2009
    4
    The plot is too over-the-top, taking it self too seriously. Beckinsale doesn't really act a lot, but Speedman is completely irritating. This is a derivative movie, nothing is really happening, just a bit of fighting and some unespected "plot twists". However, is basically a CGI-action movie.
  13. NinjaMafia
    Nov 4, 2003
    6
    Ah Underworld, what a great idea for a movie. I mean, Vampires, Werewolves, and supposedley some Romeo and Juliet throne in there. Well first off, I didn't quite catch the Romeo and Juliet part. I mean, the werewolf guy wasn't a part of the werewolf clan so it really wasn't Romeo and juliet (plus Romeo and juliet had a better plot than this but then agian, it is a book and Ah Underworld, what a great idea for a movie. I mean, Vampires, Werewolves, and supposedley some Romeo and Juliet throne in there. Well first off, I didn't quite catch the Romeo and Juliet part. I mean, the werewolf guy wasn't a part of the werewolf clan so it really wasn't Romeo and juliet (plus Romeo and juliet had a better plot than this but then agian, it is a book and this is a movie.).The plot was -,at the beggining, horrible. The n, at the very end of the movie, the plot went out in full force trying to cram in as many plot twists as possible. The thing is, if they started to do the plot twists in the middle of the movies, it would have been alot smother.The action in this movie was so so. When I watched it, I liked the action a lot, however, when I walked out of the theatre, I couldn't remember one fight scene. That was the problem, you couldn't remember, or care, about any fight scene or character in this movie. I am given this movie a bonus point or two for a few things however. First, they called the werewolves Lycans, I thopught they would never use that term in a mainstream movie. Secondly, it is about VAMPIRES and WEREWOLVES what is there not to like about the both of them. Actually, the vampires had very little vampiric characteristics than their super human strength and stuff like that. i mean, they even walked out in the rain the first minute of the movie. However, without that rain, it wouldn't have been as dramatic (and you know I love those overly-dramatic scenes). Overall, Underworld isn't necesarily a BAD movie. Just Very forgetable. I didn't feel my night was ruined by it but I do think I could have seen something better. Don't even think about seeing this movies at your local run down peice of crap theatre that charges 1.99 for movies that are a month or two old without seeing Kill Bill which is a better action movie by far. Expand
  14. KabootleS.
    Jan 11, 2004
    6
    Blade II was way better.
  15. Mar 17, 2016
    4
    When vampires attack werewolves, the vampires had to prepare themselves for the werewolves' next attack. Sadly, this one (and its sequels) is not it. You'll possibly find another one that's obviously better than this.
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 10 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    Takes itself so seriously that it never has fun with its shopworn genre elements.
  2. 20
    Speedman's such a nonentity here I worried that the theater air-conditioning would blow him off the screen.
  3. 40
    Beautiful in its dark, contrasting blues and blacks, Underworld is nonetheless a remarkably humorless movie, and not even the adroitly hammy Bill Nighy, as the vampire king, can leaven the overwrought seriousness of it all.