Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 12, 2010
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 274 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
185
Mixed:
74
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
Mike_MSep 21, 2011
How this movie gets an average that pushes it into the green scores from the 'professional' critics makes me question exactly how corrupt they are; more than I thought, apparently. Swag must be good.
I agree with JamesL that "Denzel has quit
How this movie gets an average that pushes it into the green scores from the 'professional' critics makes me question exactly how corrupt they are; more than I thought, apparently. Swag must be good.
I agree with JamesL that "Denzel has quit acting". I hope he gave his salary to charity. A-listers are responsible for what projects they choose, period. He's the most powerful person on this project, it's his fault.
Stupid movies make everyone stupider, and our eye-holes are chock-full of them since I don't know when.
Critics, I hope you soon join politicians and lawyers and wall street pirates as the most despised professionals, 'cause most of you are dirt.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
criticmikeNov 26, 2010
The film occasionally keeps you on the edge of your seats, there are some good train shots on the bleak background of industrial Pennsylvania, but it's too predictable, has too much nonsense (how can you swiitch the leading engine to a sideThe film occasionally keeps you on the edge of your seats, there are some good train shots on the bleak background of industrial Pennsylvania, but it's too predictable, has too much nonsense (how can you swiitch the leading engine to a side track but keep the runaway train going straight?...!), the acting is disappointing (except for Rosario Dawson) and the ending is incredibly lame. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
rooeenNov 27, 2010
Just an ok movie. To me, it was a rip off of Akira Korosawa's Runaway Train, which is a far better movie in every aspect, especially acting and plot.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
Brakeman1Feb 22, 2011
I was hoping this movie might be accurate in depicting railroads as I have railroaded for over 30 years. This movie was terrible. Every cliche from the threatening boss, the rogue engineer, the kid winning his respect, the train clearly goingI was hoping this movie might be accurate in depicting railroads as I have railroaded for over 30 years. This movie was terrible. Every cliche from the threatening boss, the rogue engineer, the kid winning his respect, the train clearly going about 15 mph when it is said to be going 70. Please. The spunky dispatcher, the lazy hostler. Trust me, when railroaders want to derail something, it gets derailed. My wife and I took 3 hours to watch this mess as I had to stop it so many times to laugh. It was insulting to railroaders and audiences. Denzel must have needed some money or was doing someone a favor. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
JamesStealMar 20, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Way too predictable. Before I watched the movie, I knew how it was going to end. They were going to stop the train and hug their families. Very disappointing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
warfieldApr 7, 2012
Unbearable. Though I didn't expect much, the movie started off with some promise. But when we learned that Frank's' daughters worked at Hooters, I got a bad feeling. Tension was great until the blue engine started chasing the runaway train.Unbearable. Though I didn't expect much, the movie started off with some promise. But when we learned that Frank's' daughters worked at Hooters, I got a bad feeling. Tension was great until the blue engine started chasing the runaway train. Then things became predictable and manic. Some good actors were given some poor dialog and character motivation. Hard to believe such a situation reacted to and handled this way by railroad employees. And, Hooters...Really?? 04/08/12 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
bikemanApr 17, 2011
Maybe I was expecting too much from this movie, given what I was told, but I was very disappointed. Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CitizenCharlieMar 12, 2011
It doesnâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DeitiesforsaleNov 2, 2012
I seen this movie in the cinema expecting a Thrill ride, what I got was Speed 4 (The Father Ted Episode Speed 3 was more exciting than this movie), but only even more predictable, boring, stale... if not for the acting... I would have filed aI seen this movie in the cinema expecting a Thrill ride, what I got was Speed 4 (The Father Ted Episode Speed 3 was more exciting than this movie), but only even more predictable, boring, stale... if not for the acting... I would have filed a petition to metacritic attempting to get them to add a minus rating to the score system and this would be sitting at -5 at least, waste of time and money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews