Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1083 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
999
Mixed:
59
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
KarlTDec 2, 2009
One of the best movies this year. Possibly THE best. Top five at least. An animated masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyO.Oct 26, 2009
Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what Don't know how Pixar do it. The greatest run of quality output in movie history. Up is lots of things, but above all, it is a great and profound entertainment. And very funny in places. And pretty sad in others. Best one yet, and what is more, I loved the 3D as well. Special points. The landscapes on the mountain/waterfall, and the realisation of the blimp. And the dogs were pretty funny. A gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabeS.May 31, 2009
The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of The best movie of the year so far. I will go as far as saying that it was probably the best Pixar film made. For the people that say that WALL-E was better (critics). They are more than wrong. If I wanted to see absolutely nothing I would of seen a Charlie Chaplin film. Don't be fooled by the trailers though. This movie is easily one of the most emotional movies I've ever seen. In fact it maybe the most emotional I've ever seen. I know it's easily going to win Best Animated movie in the Academy's, but it's actually a shame that it won't be nominated for Best Movie of the Year. Anyway to sum all things up. This is the best movie of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelanieLMay 31, 2009
The story is so much fun and it is beautiful to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelW.May 31, 2009
This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful This was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Like other reviewers before me, its safe to say Pixar is making films for adults that children will only appreciate some aspects of and UP is no different. This is a wonderful story, and storytelling is what Pixar seems to do best. I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonLMay 31, 2009
Not quite a masterpiece, but a fantastic piece of craftsmanship from the most reliable brand in the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieMay 31, 2009
I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to I was utterly shocked by how filled with sadness and joy this movie brought me last night. There was not a dry eye in the movie theater during most of the film and it was an absolute pleasure to view. I'm encouraging everyone I know to see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelJMay 31, 2009
A masterpiece, brilliant in every way. A heart warming tale, that made you love all the characters. Good for the whole family. Although it is heartbreaking at parts, it ads to the superb plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaBMay 30, 2009
A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 A sweet darling of a film that my entire family loved. We cried, laughed, and ultimately cheered for this. It deserved the thunderous applause it got from the sold out auditorium. It managed to captivate my 2 1/2 yr old twin daughters and 4 yr. old son. They loved the action/comedy with the dogs (especially Dug), kevin, and Russell. For the older set, you will be touched by the story of Carl and even Russell. Pixar has managed to create this masterpiece which elicits genuine tears, genuine laughs, all neatly tied together in a wonderful film. We all left the theater overjoyed. A+ for UP Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaA.May 30, 2009
A wonderful adventure, sweet, laugh out loud funny, poignant, and uplifting (no pun intended). My kids and husband immensely enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalebHJun 1, 2009
A perfect balance of laugh out loud humor and emotional depth that creates one of the most intriguing and unforgettable stories of our time about true love and understanding when it's time to let go. In the end, you have no where to go, but Up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayKJun 10, 2009
I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited Away, etc.), here the strangeness just rarely seems to fit right. (SPOILER ALERT) So many aspects felt uncomfortable and jarring, such as the old man running around for half the movie tethered to a house. The dogs are often funny (highlight of the film), but (SPOILER ALERT) flying planes?!? And the old guy gets random bouts of superhuman strength, speed, and flexibility (intentional, perhaps, but jarring). These random outcrops of weirdness never fit and are distracting, which I think is made worse by the art style that doesn't gel the realistic and the cartoony quite right. Close, but no cigar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterMJun 12, 2009
Excellent in every way possible. A joy to watch and notice all the small details.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BillPJun 1, 2009
The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a fantasy, but it became too much for me with the old man repeatedly displaying Herculean strength and dogs flying planes, etc). These cliche and over-the-top action sequences just felt a little cheesy in an amateurish animation studio sort of way (see "Monsters vs Aliens" notion of a storyboard) and not something I've come to expect from Pixar's usually intricate and fully developed story lines. The characters weren't much to get behind either as the old man and the boy scout were simply caricatures of their respective stereotypes to the point that their source of humor is mostly rehashed from other movies (I find that sort of boy scout stereotype to make for an annoying character personally). The dogs, aside from the hero/cute dog, I also found to be annoying after awhile especially since they began to play a prominent role in the movie (one talking dog is plenty). That being said there were some fine moments...the back story of the old man's life has some moments and so does the last 15 minutes of the movie in general (where most of the humor and more enjoyable pace seemed to have been hiding). I'm still a little skeptical at this movie's ability to hold the attention of the younger ages so I was inclined to give it a 6, but gave it a 7 because I'm a softy for animations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MiguelGJun 14, 2009
One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are One of the best Pixar films ever conceived. Sure to be a long-standing Classic for years to come. "Up" is a stunning follow up to 2008's brilliant "Wall-E." It brings to life characters in ways that only Pixar can. These characters are all well drawn out and believeable, and the plot is absolutely amazing in its ability to infuse comedy with tragedy. While I can admit that there are aspects of the film that would seem impossible (a floating house, talking dogs) the film makes everything seem so incredibly real. It is definitely a film that children and adults alike can enjoy. A sensationally heartfelt, often uplifting film, it seems almost impossible that anyone can't love "Up." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanC.Jun 16, 2009
This served as a reminder that sometimes we have to say goodbye to the things we love in order to get on with our lives.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.K.Jun 17, 2009
This captivating tale of extremely believable characters brings back the glory days of Hayao Miyazaki, where story and characters are subtle and sympathetic. It truly stands out in the crowd of abrasive, mindless animations now-a-days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimFJun 17, 2009
It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming and surprising five minute scene near the beginning of the film that encapsulates the early love affair between a crotchety old man (Ed Asner) and the adventurous girl he marries and adores so well it effectively serves to anchor the rest of the movie. Good thing, because that remaining hour or so of screen time is not that interesting in itself. It reminds me of that famous quote about history, that it's just one damn thing after another. Despite that, I still liked this film a great deal. That opening put me on its side, and on the side of its characters, and I never tired enough of the generic action to lose my affection and interest in them. "Wall-E" is a work of art; "Up" is a charming and enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KurtCJun 20, 2009
Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Pixar's earlier movies (e.g., Toy Story, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles). Up! ended up feeling predictable and heavy-handed. All in all, I'd probably watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleFJun 2, 2009
Fantastic. The adventurous nature of this film was incredible, the heartfelt story was amazing too. GO SEE THIS FILM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyJun 2, 2009
Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of miscalculations and just plain stupid dialogue. The Wall Street Journal review seems to catch the problem: the movie seems caught in storyboard form. Nevertheless, because the worthwhile portions are Pixar visuals and Pixar moments, Up remains a really good movie. Those of us who hold WALL-E and Ratatouille in such high esteem have to feel some regret knowing what could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisFJun 2, 2009
A beautiful story along with beautiful visuals and a beautiful score. Well done Pixar, you always impress me more and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
xouxJun 24, 2009
Clearly one of the best since finding nemo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJun 24, 2009
Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to Pixar is brilliant. When I saw the commercial and trailer for this, I thought it was going to be their first bad pic, but if you have a soul, you will be at the least a little misty after the first 10 minutes or so. Equally appealing to adults and kids, it's probably the best film I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JassieJun 25, 2009
Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE Bambi, Snow White, Lion King, and other past Disney films had their "dark" and "heavy" elements, and me and my generation turned out rather well. Obviously, those in the minority complaining about the real life themes in UP are these NEWBIE parents who finds talking and engaging their kids whenever something piques their interest too bothersome and tedious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidBJun 28, 2009
@Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as @Memo T - Abortion? What are you talking about? There was no abortion reference -- it was a miscarriage, bozo! And even if there were an abortion reference -- you would give it a 5 because of that? The opening sequence was as powerful as that of Wall-E, and the story was enchanting with the usual mindblowing animation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomSJun 28, 2009
Great movie. Not Pixar's best, but much better than Cars. Bleh! To the person who said this story touches on the topic of abortion...no it doesn't. Ellie doesn't get an abortion, they just realize she isn't "fertile" and Great movie. Not Pixar's best, but much better than Cars. Bleh! To the person who said this story touches on the topic of abortion...no it doesn't. Ellie doesn't get an abortion, they just realize she isn't "fertile" and she cannot have children. Obviously your poor score reflects your poor attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WonderfulLizardJun 28, 2009
Great film. Yo, Memo T? That was a miscarriage. It was obvious that they were intending to have a baby and failed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexH.Jun 29, 2009
This is an outstanding movie. I went into the movie theater not expecting much, but since it was Pixar, it had to be good. It's funny, touching, and exciting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinP.Jun 5, 2009
More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, More like a 9.5...Pixar once again has proven themselves to be the best filmmakers in the business. Their last two films (Ratatouille and WALL-E) were each the best movies to come out in their respective years (that sentence sounds weird, but I'm sure you get what I mean) and it looks like Up is going to continue that streak for the third consecutive year. Probably Pixar's funniest offering to date, along with a very heartfelt story. Pixar is one of the only companies out there not re-making old films or basing their movies off of best-selling books...major props to them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertBJun 6, 2009
This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although unlikely, be nominated for best picture at the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyMJun 8, 2009
My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd My wife and I absolutely loved "Up," particularly the dogs. We laughed just about as much as we cried. Indeed, the first fifteen minutes or so is about the most moving bit of storytelling I've seen on the big screen in years. I'd read what happens in those first fifteen minutes and I still couldn't stop myself from tearing up. While it doesn't quite reach the heights of "Wall-E" or 'Rataouile" for me (but what can?), this will likely be my favorite movie of 2009. Must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanusJun 8, 2009
A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, A superb and magnificent movie. My 4yr old niece and 6yr old twin nephews were all riveted the entire time and were bouncing off the wall as we left the theater. They loved Russell, Kevin, Dug, and "grandpa" carl as they call him. As for me, well, this 26yr old couldn't stop smiling after seeing UP! A great animated film for all ages, and for once, one with good moral values that can be taught. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkAJun 8, 2009
Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying Coming into Up I had little expectations of any emotional attachment to another one of Pixar's creations. Yet within the first 10 minutes I knew this was something special. Never before has an animated movie (or any movie) had me crying then laughing in succession. It beautifully weaves subtle, cartoonish humor with sadness and revelation. The minds at Pixar have once again broken boundaries with this film, and I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EwanMJun 9, 2009
It was fantastic! one of the best movies i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShellyWJun 9, 2009
This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, there were youngsters under 6 behind us in the theater that actually screamed with fright at parts. They repeatedly asked their parents to leave and wanted to know when it would be over saying that they were too scared. Straight Comedy it is not! Parents with youngsters beware - it is very intense and there are concepts that kids under 10 might not understand or might find scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonyMJun 9, 2009
While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is the solution. don't get me wrong, the story of the old man growing up was well done, but after his house lifts off, well nothing much really significant happens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffSJul 1, 2009
Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used Up is by far the best movie I have seen all year. It is enjoyable for the whole family. There are some genuinely moving and poignant moments for adults and plenty of laughs and goofiness for the little 'uns. This movie can be even used as a yardstick for professional movie critics: a good critic would recognize the greatness, while a pretentious windbag without any touches with the reality would just dismiss it on their "indie" principle as yet another "corporate" money maker (such as certain reviewer from Salon.com who thumbs up "The Proposal" while trash talking "Up". The Proposal? For real?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioWJul 10, 2009
Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright Excellent film. Those minority who claim it's overhyped are dead wrong, and they obviously came to that conclusion because they can't see past their own noses. They wanted it to be no more than your typical superficial, bright colored, and non-sensical animation, with wall to wall pop culture references and toilet humor. Pixar doesn't stoop to that level since they actually give US audiences credit that we ARE capable of cognition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarryKJul 10, 2009
Simply put, it's not just a great animated film, but a great film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DwayneHJul 10, 2009
Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. Nice to see that critics and the great majority of moviegoers see eye to eye for once. This is a great film. Those very few contrarians are ripping this simply to look cool and all high and mighty for they are not going with the masses. I'm a skeptical person myself, but this movie is a joy so long as you immerse yourself and think with it. This is NOT the usual animated or live action film wherein you park your brain outside and the movie just spoonfeeds you everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KazemEJul 12, 2009
The best Pixar movie I've ever seen. One of the best movies I've seen in a while. A very thoughtful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MooNinjaJul 18, 2009
Very touching, and delivers on a number of levels. While the plot does seem to waver a bit towards the end, I felt emotionally attached to the characters, and the movie upon my departure from the theater. Up is a must see, especially if you Very touching, and delivers on a number of levels. While the plot does seem to waver a bit towards the end, I felt emotionally attached to the characters, and the movie upon my departure from the theater. Up is a must see, especially if you are mature enough to understand emotion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MiraiMJul 18, 2009
This film was very touching and moving. Yes, there is a bit of a drop after a spectacular introduction however,] I still found the film to be a wonderful experience. A bit rushed but still a terrific movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinHJul 7, 2009
A great film. Some of you are complaining about the ferocity of the film and the very few sights of blood and stuff. GET A GRIP! Talk about nitpicking! You guys act like there have been no traumatic and dark elements in animated films prior to UP.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherYJul 7, 2009
I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up I agree with the overwhelming majority of people who have seen this film. It is simply MAGNIFICENT. Of course, there will be those very few contrarians who will go to great lengths to find faults (just look at some of the posters here). Up is head and shoulders above most animated and even Live Action films, because it is NOT all visual splendor, it actually had a meaningful story with endearing characters and a message both the young and old can take to heart. That is something that is missing in most movies nowadays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattFJul 7, 2009
A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young A superb film from beginning to end. It starts of in a melancholy note, but it is essential because it makes Carl's absolution at the end all the more powerful. The movie ends in a happy and heartwarming note that had me and my 3 young kids giddy and bouncing off the wall with joy as we left the theater. UP is fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyMJul 7, 2009
A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A A+, 5 stars, perfect 10, you name it. I'm usually a contrarian who goes against what the masses love, but this movie won me over. A hilarious film with endearing characters, whose struggles are all too human that we can all relate to. A heartwarming and uplifting (no pun intended) tale of friendship, love, dreams, and aspirations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanG.Jul 8, 2009
Very, Very, Very good movie! I don't like cartoons but this one won me over completely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
nickjSep 10, 2009
The first time I saw Up I enjoyed it immensely, but nothing more. But when I saw it for the second time, the meaning of this beautiful portrait of recovering from a lost love started to sink in. Stunning visually and mentally. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsaacS.Sep 25, 2009
A movie with such pure imagination it becmes a great animated ride. Really funny and touching family movie. Pixar just keeps getting better. However, there are many things that are not for kids, remember this is a PG movie, read the movies A movie with such pure imagination it becmes a great animated ride. Really funny and touching family movie. Pixar just keeps getting better. However, there are many things that are not for kids, remember this is a PG movie, read the movies rating before watching it, people have been giving it a bad score because of inappropriate things for minor, but it was all warned in the PG rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EduardoSep 4, 2009
It was one of the best films i've seen this year, and just might be the best pixars put out, it can be sad and times funny at others, its definately a brilliant fim, loved every minute of it and i recommend everybody to go out and watch It was one of the best films i've seen this year, and just might be the best pixars put out, it can be sad and times funny at others, its definately a brilliant fim, loved every minute of it and i recommend everybody to go out and watch UP because quite frankly its a great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielHMar 22, 2010
I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at I truly enjoyable experience. Loved almost every second of it. With both dramatic and whimsical music, the audio section has you covered. Gorgeous visuals bombard you repeatedly, (in a good way) and the humor, though slightly childish at times, is a pleasure to behold. If you didn't like Wall-E, and are tentative about seeing this movie after the slightly depressing ride that it put you through, don't be. This movie is much ore enjoyable and heartwarming. Yet another steller movie from pixar, still waiting on them to make them a dud.... don't think it'll happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianS.Apr 14, 2010
The best batman movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelaMOct 11, 2009
Absolutely loved it, choked during certain moment, laughing out loud the next, which is a rarity for me during a film.. Still abit choked actually, really touching storyline, very real parts of the movie which is probablly what sparked the Absolutely loved it, choked during certain moment, laughing out loud the next, which is a rarity for me during a film.. Still abit choked actually, really touching storyline, very real parts of the movie which is probablly what sparked the emotions. Cannot wait to buy this one! My favourite by far! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottS.Nov 12, 2009
I rarely give any movie a 10 unless it's the best thing I've seen that year. Up was romantic, funny, imaginative, and unforgettable. I loved this movie and agree with the professional reviewer that this one will someday be compared I rarely give any movie a 10 unless it's the best thing I've seen that year. Up was romantic, funny, imaginative, and unforgettable. I loved this movie and agree with the professional reviewer that this one will someday be compared with The Wizard of Oz. It was fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
luish.Nov 17, 2009
This movie was awesome. It combines everything, adventure, emotion, truth, intrigue, etc. This is really a pretty movie, for me the best in its genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Nov 18, 2009
This is my least favorite of all the Pixar films, but still a very good animated movie. If it wasn't for the talking dogs there wouldn't be enough humor and the movie seemed overly sentimental. There were moments of great This is my least favorite of all the Pixar films, but still a very good animated movie. If it wasn't for the talking dogs there wouldn't be enough humor and the movie seemed overly sentimental. There were moments of great disbelief, such as the bad guy living in a zeppelin since the 1930s or so but still had knowledge of modern technology to invent talking dog collars and GPS technology, or believing that a bunch of balloons could really lift a house off it's foundation. I realize you are supposed to suspend belief in animated films but this one asks a little too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoradTNov 22, 2009
A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I A fantastic movie in every right. Beautifully animated with stunning 3D and highly ambitious. Stunning and gripping story line, the whole movie just plays with your emotions. I'm not one to cry in films but I was crying the first time I saw it, only to find the next couple of minutes later I was back to laughing again. Wonderfully composed soundtrack and even now do I frequently hum the main theme over and over again. Overall the film is one of the best I have ever seen and is one of the few movies that I actually went to see AGAIN in 3D. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jesssOct 18, 2009
Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are Definitely a must see of the year, i just knew that i was going to love it simply because of how magical disney and pixar films always are. i enjoyed this more than most of there recent films i must say. the morals and values in the film are intriguing whilst the different relationship between the two main characters are absolutely hilarious in every way. one for the children and adults being a adult myself without children i think that ses enough. if its the last thing you do just go and see this film. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheCriticDec 1, 2009
Excellent movie. Great plot, funny characters. An all around excellent movie for the whole family to enjoy. 3-D was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
liser.Dec 12, 2009
Never seen a Pixar movie before. In new territory, was somewhat bewildered with the sheer unparseable imagination of this movie, but utterly, completely charmed. Saw it twice. What a great experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LynnAMay 31, 2009
INCREDIBLE ! If UP doesn't win a Best Picture Oscar then something is seriously wrong in tinsel town.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShamondGJun 11, 2009
Great movie. Not only did it have hilarious comedic hijinks and action, it had a wonderful message too for adults and children alike. My entire family had a blast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoseGJun 12, 2009
Brilliant!!! Ok, it's true that UP has some issues (... that was the strongest old man I have ever seen!!!) but the story capture you, and also is quite funny. The intro (first 20 min) make me almost cry (believe, I am not like crying Brilliant!!! Ok, it's true that UP has some issues (... that was the strongest old man I have ever seen!!!) but the story capture you, and also is quite funny. The intro (first 20 min) make me almost cry (believe, I am not like crying much), it was very touching. Maybe not as great as WALL - E, but a excellent movie too... go and watch it, no regrets!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonH.Jun 15, 2009
You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked upon the entry of the dogs and bird) that suddenly turned the story into a common adventure. I honestly didn't care about the bird or the dog. The guy wanted his house by the falls for the entire film, and that was all I was waiting for. That darn bird and dog just seemed to be making a clear, obvious and annoying effort to inject the movie with their presence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CollinCJun 17, 2009
A masterpiece in every respect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougNJun 17, 2009
A great family movie. Really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MisakiEJun 18, 2009
Best movie of the year!! I don't cry much, but first part of movie made me cry and tears kept coming... touching, sad, yet very sweet. Very cute and funny throughout. Excellent sense of humor and all family members can enjoy without Best movie of the year!! I don't cry much, but first part of movie made me cry and tears kept coming... touching, sad, yet very sweet. Very cute and funny throughout. Excellent sense of humor and all family members can enjoy without regret. This 3D movie cost me big but it really was worth the price. I cannot wait to watch it again!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanD.Jun 19, 2009
A very well animated (of course its pixar) movie with an expertly planned plot. Russell's upbeat personality mixed perfectly with Mr.Fredricksen's grumpy yet playful attitude.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.Jun 21, 2009
I wanted to cry not once but many times throughout the movie. This is a perfect film for the whole family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackF.Jun 22, 2009
Excellent movie. That's really all there is to say. Oh, for those minority that are ripping this film, you people are the most jaded and sorriest people walking the face of the earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleCJun 22, 2009
A+ for this one. A magnificent film. Whimsical, melancholy, hilarious, and endearing. It's nice to see an animated film that gives audiences the benefit of the doubt that they are capable of something more substantial. I personally am A+ for this one. A magnificent film. Whimsical, melancholy, hilarious, and endearing. It's nice to see an animated film that gives audiences the benefit of the doubt that they are capable of something more substantial. I personally am sick of the usual shallow cotton-candy animation from other studios. keep it up Pixar, you guys are one of the few bright spots in Hollywood today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayDJun 22, 2009
10 is not enough for this one. This is a magnificent film. Going in, I was aware of the reviews from critics and moviegoers. My colleagues and neighbors raved about this one too, so I went to check it out. I thought it was going to be 10 is not enough for this one. This is a magnificent film. Going in, I was aware of the reviews from critics and moviegoers. My colleagues and neighbors raved about this one too, so I went to check it out. I thought it was going to be overrated, but I was dead wrong. This movie is everything everyone is talking about. A superb moviegoing experience that only a great film like UP can provide. This will be a timeless classic that will stand the test of time, while most other animation-and live action fare-will be forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MayJJun 23, 2009
A+. Hilarious and heartfelt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickGJun 25, 2009
This movie is thoroughly entertaining despite being a "kids" movie. Pixar films are almost always enjoyable, and this one is no different. The story is far-fetched, but if you're looking for plot holes in a Pixar film then you probably This movie is thoroughly entertaining despite being a "kids" movie. Pixar films are almost always enjoyable, and this one is no different. The story is far-fetched, but if you're looking for plot holes in a Pixar film then you probably shouldn't be watching it in the first place. Great movie to take the kids too, or a nice date movie if you're looking to play it safe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamJ.Jun 25, 2009
Early on, I thought that my 4 and 6yr old kids would be lost with the rather heavy themes, but I looked at them and I saw in their faces that they were connecting with the themes being conveyed. The ride home was fun, we laughed, talked Early on, I thought that my 4 and 6yr old kids would be lost with the rather heavy themes, but I looked at them and I saw in their faces that they were connecting with the themes being conveyed. The ride home was fun, we laughed, talked about the great characters in the movie, and best of all, had a meaningful talk about the great lessons the movie had to offer. UP is deserving of the rave reviews and universal love it is receiving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillieJun 25, 2009
A wonderful film that will definitely stand the test of time and will ilicit the fondest memories when thought of. That is something many movies will never have. UP is amazing in every sense of the word
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
phJun 26, 2009
Someone below was upset that the movie dealt with abortion. I feel compelled to say that there was no abortion in this movie. Ellie had a miscarriage and couldn't have kids. As for death, a lot of animated movies have death (The Lion Someone below was upset that the movie dealt with abortion. I feel compelled to say that there was no abortion in this movie. Ellie had a miscarriage and couldn't have kids. As for death, a lot of animated movies have death (The Lion King and Bambi both feature gut-wrenching deaths of parents). I thought this was a wonderful movie, and made all the better for its richness of theme. It is rated PG, though, so not really intended for toddlers anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveSJul 11, 2009
Up is an excellent movie. The story is near-perfect and the animation is beautiful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
edsJul 12, 2009
An uplifting movie, no pun intended. A film for adults and children. The beginning sequence showing Carl and Ellie's life is genius, talk in 5 minutes, with no words, just music and vision. Unbelieveable. This note to reviewer Memo An uplifting movie, no pun intended. A film for adults and children. The beginning sequence showing Carl and Ellie's life is genius, talk in 5 minutes, with no words, just music and vision. Unbelieveable. This note to reviewer Memo T..........Huh? How did you ever confuse not being able to have a baby with what you did. No wonder you voted as you did, you are confused. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorgeMJul 16, 2009
Everything in this movie fits well that just makes a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HectorJul 16, 2009
One of Pixar's best films and one of the best films of 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jwJul 19, 2009
(9.5) The star of the show is character development, with the mostly unheard-from Ellie functioning beautifully as the heart of the story. The scenes with her - young and then old - in the prologue are (with the possible exception of one or (9.5) The star of the show is character development, with the mostly unheard-from Ellie functioning beautifully as the heart of the story. The scenes with her - young and then old - in the prologue are (with the possible exception of one or two sequences in WALL-E) the best thing Pixar has ever done. It gives us the "reasons" for character traits early, as opposed to making them the "lesson" at the end. And it is unique in that it doesn't overexplain the problems of the child, Russell. On suspects that his father is the man trying to tear down Carl's house, but we never really know. Pixar has wisely steered its efforts toward emotional maturity; its visual luxuries are desensitizing and oddly static as compared to the best traditional animation. Pristine color is status quo, but good storytelling is still work. Comparing this movie's beginning to its middle is strong evidence of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilguunUJul 27, 2009
This was a usual amazing Pixar film. The first half especially was truly outstanding. The way the couple's story was told was a pure work of art. However, after this it became rather ordinary cartoon. Still I would recommend anyone to This was a usual amazing Pixar film. The first half especially was truly outstanding. The way the couple's story was told was a pure work of art. However, after this it became rather ordinary cartoon. Still I would recommend anyone to watch the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyBAug 11, 2009
Like others this movie left me laughing and crying. But most telling of all is when my 4 year old leaned over to me and said "He's sad and sorry daddy". Even she saw the touching side of this adventure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkSAug 26, 2009
Right up there with Nemo as one of the best Pixar movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregQAug 27, 2009
Another great one from Pixar. Doesn't have the social commentary aspect that WALL-E has, but has an outstanding and heartfelt story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertoMSep 24, 2009
This film was awesome experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveFSep 27, 2009
after a very "very" good first 20 minutes to this film i was thinking pixar had gone and done the impossible and made a better film than finding nemo. however by the time a squarking bird is introduced into the proceedings and a fairly funny after a very "very" good first 20 minutes to this film i was thinking pixar had gone and done the impossible and made a better film than finding nemo. however by the time a squarking bird is introduced into the proceedings and a fairly funny dog but who ultimately became tiresome i had lost all interest in it as the second half of the movie serves only as filler to add some really not so needed action and peril. From this point on it turns into a run of the mill drudge across the jungle (which suddenly appeared from nowhere by the way) and that is its biggest problem, its like it was a short story reaching a natural conclusion after 40 minutes and then pixar just stretched the whole thing out to make it feature length. we do get the full character arcs from pixar once more but by the time the credits roll i really couldn't have cared less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianR.Dec 19, 2009
Had a slow start, but got better and better to the end. One of the most funny movies I've seen in a while. Disney/Pixar and Steve Jobs definitely know how to make a good animated movie, and they've proved it once again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JularaAug 11, 2010
This is my favorite film from Pixar, besides Monsters Inc. The story about finding an adventure to embark on and enjoy the ride is the over riding theme of this film. The quirky characters are not to be forgotten and emotional depth theThis is my favorite film from Pixar, besides Monsters Inc. The story about finding an adventure to embark on and enjoy the ride is the over riding theme of this film. The quirky characters are not to be forgotten and emotional depth the film takes you as experience the joys and pitfalls of life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NatDurmanAug 14, 2010
UP is about an old man named Carl who sets out on an adventure, to fulfil his childhood sweetheartâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JawclAug 17, 2010
This was the best Pixar movie I've ever seen. I loved it, even thought it was sad it had a great story. The animation was very real, Blu-Ray is the way to go with this movie as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
In terms of emotional immersion, characterization, humor, and just good old-fashioned entertainment, Pixar puts all other summer fare to shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jeremyd99Aug 29, 2010
Up is a great family film,it is uplifting,funny,and and at event some parts dramatic.In my opinion it is one of the best movie to come out last year. The story is sweet and the visuals are great. These CGI graphics are outstanding,and lookUp is a great family film,it is uplifting,funny,and and at event some parts dramatic.In my opinion it is one of the best movie to come out last year. The story is sweet and the visuals are great. These CGI graphics are outstanding,and look better than most high budget action movies. The acting is good,and each voice fits the charachters perfectly. The background score is great,and fits perfectly to whats happening. This is one of Pixar's best and is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Melissa6381Oct 6, 2010
The beginning montage is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. The movie has enough for both adults and children to enjoy. All in all a fantastic story that reminds us all the seize the day!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
from the guys who brought you Monsters INC comes another memorable movie for kids and adults also known as Up. whats my opinion of it? its not my favorite, but its great. every Pixar movie kicks a**. Great characters, Great writing, Greatfrom the guys who brought you Monsters INC comes another memorable movie for kids and adults also known as Up. whats my opinion of it? its not my favorite, but its great. every Pixar movie kicks a**. Great characters, Great writing, Great music, and most of all: Great animation. Rating: 89% Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
After losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never gotAfter losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never got the chance. But when a 9-year old obnoxious fellow swings on for the ride, Mr. Federickson has to learn to deal with him after a conflict arises once landing in South America. Up is definitely a film for the entire family to feel excited about. The intial first 10 minutes are very heartwarming, but loses that warmth a little once the adventure begins, soon feeling like a shorter, much toned down adventure once it ends. Without a doubt Pixar delivers quality animation once again, but the feeling is different once the end credits, the same I saw in Cars and Monster's Inc. But definitely another masterpiece for 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheGorillaAug 13, 2011
By all standards, this is Pixar's most beautiful, most enjoyable, deepest and funniest movie ever. I've had a smile throughout the whole movie, and all I can say is: terrific. It was such a refreshing feature and the story line was unique atBy all standards, this is Pixar's most beautiful, most enjoyable, deepest and funniest movie ever. I've had a smile throughout the whole movie, and all I can say is: terrific. It was such a refreshing feature and the story line was unique at it's best and worst. I didn't know what to expect when I went to see the movie. I thought it would be just another bubblegum animation, but boy, was I wrong. This is the most pleasant surprise I've ever experienced in my whole life. The characters are so sympathetic and the dogs are extremely funny. Pixar did it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews