Up

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1073 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 22, 2016
    9
    This is everything I want from a family movie: extreme sentimentality, beautiful visuals, a moment of wonder, a scattering of laughs, a little bit of excitement and a plot that keeps the kids attention for most of the time. Could do with editing down in the middle to stop me dropping off in the chair, but then I have seen it about 20 times. Up, up and away.
  2. Jul 13, 2016
    9
    Solidly crafted, gorgeously animated, and emotional, Up is a wonderful story that shows children and adults alike the power of friendship, love , and the pursuit of happiness.
  3. May 31, 2016
    10
    Finally Disney has done a masterpiece movie with full imagination, that is great. Carl and Russell's adventure is really fun, hilarious, dramatic and with a big dream that Mr. Fredickssen had since he met his wife. One of the best animated films of 21st century, it's a masterpiece, the audience will enjoy this so much
  4. May 8, 2016
    9
    'Up' to this day still remains one of my absolute favourite animated movies. And why is that? Because it combines so many astounding elements into a brilliantly made film. It's heartbreaking, it's charming, it's entertaining and it's fantastically crafted. The characters are memorable, the story is deeply intriguing and the soundtrack is just beautiful. 'Up' is a very special film, one'Up' to this day still remains one of my absolute favourite animated movies. And why is that? Because it combines so many astounding elements into a brilliantly made film. It's heartbreaking, it's charming, it's entertaining and it's fantastically crafted. The characters are memorable, the story is deeply intriguing and the soundtrack is just beautiful. 'Up' is a very special film, one that won't leave a person for a while. Expand
  5. May 6, 2016
    10
    Up gives a familiar message, with unforgettable character,ps, inventive story-telling, breathtaking plot and music, this film shows the bad way and the best way of human, with funny and powerfully-parts that entertain the audience of any kind.
  6. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    Halarious emotional and even dark by some standards. Up is not afraid to make us bawl our eyes if it is happy tears or sad tears up has a brilliant voice cast and an coming of ages story that will appeal to nearly everyone. We follow an old man named Carl fredrickson who has been grumpy ever sense his wife died. One day a boy named Russel appears at his door step and through a variety ofHalarious emotional and even dark by some standards. Up is not afraid to make us bawl our eyes if it is happy tears or sad tears up has a brilliant voice cast and an coming of ages story that will appeal to nearly everyone. We follow an old man named Carl fredrickson who has been grumpy ever sense his wife died. One day a boy named Russel appears at his door step and through a variety of circumstances that will bring them closer than ever together. This movie is a sheer delight and it's no wonder why it won best picture at the academy awards. The voice actor who voices dug is a pure delight and the rest of the cast is too. Up is not only the perfect family movie one of he most perfect movies ever made. It's fun funny sad and even a little dark but underneath it's sometimes heavy narrative its a really excellent kids movie that will go down in history as a classic Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2016
    10
    Pixar makes it either 9½ out of 10 or 10 for 10 with “Up,” a captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along. Tale of an unlikely journey to uncharted geographic and emotional territory by an old codger and a young explorer could easily have been cloying, but instead proves disarming in its deep reserves of narrative imagination and surprise, asPixar makes it either 9½ out of 10 or 10 for 10 with “Up,” a captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along. Tale of an unlikely journey to uncharted geographic and emotional territory by an old codger and a young explorer could easily have been cloying, but instead proves disarming in its deep reserves of narrative imagination and surprise, as well as its poignant thematic balance of dreams deferred and dreams fulfilled. Lack of overtly fantastical elements might endow “Up” with a somewhat lower initial must-see factor than some summer releases. But like all of Pixar’s features, this one will enjoy a rewardingly long ride in all venues and formats. Pete Docter’s picture has the privilege of being the first animated film to open the Cannes Film Festival, on May 13.

    The two leading men are 78 and 8 years old, and the age range of those who will appreciate the picture is even a bit wider than that. Like previous classic films about escape from the mundane, from “The Wizard of Oz” to “Wall-E” and many in between, “Up” is universal in its appeal. At the same time, it may be the most subtle Pixar production to date in its use of color schemes, shapes, proportions, scale, contrast and balance, factors highlighted by the application of 3-D, which will be available at many initial engagements.

    The ghost of Chaplin hovered over “Wall-E,” and although “Up” is a more talkative film, it also delves back into earlier eras for inspiration. The first thing on view is a mock ’30s-style black-and-white Movietone newsreel documenting the exploits of maverick explorer Charles Muntz, who heads back to South America to redeem himself after a giant bird skeleton he presents in the U.S. is denounced as a fraud.

    Not long after comes an exquisite interlude that, in less than five minutes, encapsulates the life-long love affair between Carl Fredericksen and his wife Ellie in a manner worthy of even the most poetic of silent-film directors. The two were brought together by their mutual enthusiasm for Muntz, and it remained Ellie’s lifelong dream to emulate the adventurer and travel to Paradise Falls in South America.

    But life has other plans, and Ellie must settle for a happy life with balloon-seller Carl (voiced by Ed Asner). When she dies, she leaves behind a scrapbook as well as a very grumpy widower, who retreats into self-enforced exile. With heavy-rimmed black glasses, thick white hair and eyebrows, bulbous nose, square jaw and a scrunched body that looks like it’s been through a compactor, old Carl resembles a cross between Spencer Tracy and Walter Matthau at the ends of their careers. He wants no company, content to live out his days in the house he shared with Ellie, which becomes surrounded by giant construction projects.

    Finally faced with eviction, Carl concocts a plan. In a surprising and brilliantly visual sequence, thousands of colored balloons hatch from behind the house, prying it from its foundation and carrying it skyward; Carl intends to fly it to South America, fulfilling Ellie’s dream.

    However, he’s got an unplanned passenger in the form of Russell (Jordan Nagai), a roly-poly, eager-beaver Junior Wilderness Explorer who’s previously tried to enlist the old goat’s help to win him a badge. The trip goes uneventfully — no time wasted on navigational challenges — the better to quickly achieve the destination. The arrival is stunningly portrayed, with thick fog clearing to reveal bizarre rock formations atop a mesa adjacent to the falls (designs were inspired by Angel Falls, the world’s highest, and the actual tepui mountains around the juncture of Venezuela, Brazil and Guyana — the location of Arthur Conan Doyle’s “The Lost World”). Carl and Russell quickly come upon the very sort of rare bird Muntz went back to find decades before, a brilliantly plumed, gawky 13-footer they name Kevin.

    Kevin’s antics throughout are so humorous and beautifully animated they would be at home in a “Looney Tunes” highlights reel, as would a breed of attack dogs commanded by Muntz himself (Christopher Plummer), who sends the canines in search of the elusive bird.

    At just 89 minutes, “Up” is unusually short for a Pixar film, and the action climax comes on rapidly. One setpiece features the two old-timers, Carl and the swashbuckling Muntz, going mano a mano aboard the latter’s spectacular, zeppelin-like flying ship, and numerous vertigo-producing shots show characters clinging for dear life.

    Unsurprisingly, no one puts a foot wrong here. Vocal performances, most importantly from Asner, Plummer and nonpro Nagai, exude a warm enthusiasm, and tech specifications could not be better. Michael Giacchino’s full-bodied, traditional score is superlative, developing beautiful themes as it sweeps the action along on emotional waves.
    Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    A grumpy old coot, a chubby kid and a house hoisted by helium balloons — if you're thinking that Up sounds like a shortcut to sugar shock, snap out of it. Pandering to ninnies is not on the agenda for this latest landmark in Pixar animation. With Pete Docter and Bob Peterson sharing the directing and writing, Up is a breathtaking ride into the realm of pure imagination. Up shames the papA grumpy old coot, a chubby kid and a house hoisted by helium balloons — if you're thinking that Up sounds like a shortcut to sugar shock, snap out of it. Pandering to ninnies is not on the agenda for this latest landmark in Pixar animation. With Pete Docter and Bob Peterson sharing the directing and writing, Up is a breathtaking ride into the realm of pure imagination. Up shames the pap that now passes for family entertainment (yes, Night at the Museum 2, I'm talking to you).

    You can feel balls-out creativity whooshing through every frame. Darkness and its cousin loss also intrude, as they do in Pixar's best films (The Incredibles, WALL-E, Finding Nemo). Up sees the world as real, full of life and pain. Some theaters are showing Up in 3-D, which dims the color a bit, but the dimensions that count are in the movie's mind and heart. The opening sequence is touched by genius. A young Depression-era boy named Carl goes to the movies and watches a newsreel about Charles Muntz (a complex portrait in voice by the great Christopher Plummer), an explorer who takes off for South America in a dirigible to track a giant bird at Paradise Falls. Quiet Carl wants to explore as well. He meets an exciting, motor-mouthed girl, Ellie, who shares his feelings. They grow up, marry and grow old without fulfilling their dreams of children or adventure. This near-silent prelude is Pixar perfection. Up achieves literal liftoff when the widowed Carl (eloquently growled by Ed Asner) takes the balloons he used to sell pre-retirement, ties them to his house and takes off for Paradise Falls. He doesn't know he has a stowaway, eight-year-old Russell (voiced by Jordan Nagai). And he doesn't know the perils of his journey will include Muntz's pack of attack dogs with electronic collars that enable them to talk.

    The movie is wonderfully funny and touching (props to the gawky hero of a bird Russell names Kevin), but what's really exhilarating are the risks it takes, all set to Michael Giacchino's ardent, award-caliber score. Up may be the first animated kiddie crowd-pleaser to feature dentures and an hommage to Werner Herzog's Fitzcarraldo, as old man and boy drag a house and the burden of dreams through the jungle. Up works miracles. Just sit back and watch it fly.
    Expand
  9. Jan 5, 2016
    7
    WHAT I LIKED: A beautifully cafted emotional tale that's rare to see in the animation genre, 'Up' will make you cry and smile. This is because the chaacters are veru well developed so you're able to really connect
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's maybe a little too quirky and odd, and the overall tone is interupted at points
    VERDICT: An emotional animation that exceeds on many levels.
  10. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    Robots, insects, monsters and cars – if it’s got fur, scales or moving parts you can bet Pixar has drawn it.

    With a few exceptions, however (The Incredibles, Ratatouille’s Linguini), John Lasseter’s team has stayed away from human protagonists, a holdover maybe from the knowledge that their first attempt to render flesh and blood in CG form (Toy Story’s toy-torturer Sid) left major room
    Robots, insects, monsters and cars – if it’s got fur, scales or moving parts you can bet Pixar has drawn it.

    With a few exceptions, however (The Incredibles, Ratatouille’s Linguini), John Lasseter’s team has stayed away from human protagonists, a holdover maybe from the knowledge that their first attempt to render flesh and blood in CG form (Toy Story’s toy-torturer Sid) left major room for improvement.

    Time and technology have both moved on, though. And with Up, Pixar’s 10th full-length feature, the company has finally come up with a homo sapiens hero as memorable and loveable as Woody, Buzz and Nemo. Meet Carl Fredricksen (Ed Asner, hitherto best known for his role as Lou Grant on Mary Tyler Moore), a 78-year-old curmudgeon who wants nothing more than to be left alone in the home he shared with his late wife Ellie. Hunched and squat, with a jaw as rigid as the frames of his clunky spectacles, he’s a cantankerous, grumpy, sour-faced grouch. Yet the film’s barely begun and he’s already stolen our hearts. How can this be?

    For the answer, look no further than The Greatest Moment In Movie Animation, as revealed by Total Film last issue: an early montage that beautifully charts Carl and Ellie’s life together from playful childhood to tragic separation. A masterclass in wordless, poignant and economic storytelling, it’s Pixar’s finest achievement so far – better even than Wall•E’s Chaplin-esque pottering on that futuristic junk-heap or Jessie the Yodeling Cowgirl’s flashback in Toy Story 2. And it leaves us ready to follow Carl anywhere, even if it is to a remote table-top mountain in South America he and Ellie had always planned on visiting.

    Walt Disney said for every laugh there should be a tear. (He also said there should be no unions in Hollywood, but we’ll let that one slide.) Lest you assume Up is one long sob-fest, we should hasten to add that once that gut-punching salvo is over the movie settles into a more traditional groove – one that’s wacky, exhilarating and consistently funny.

    With the help of thousands of multi-coloured, helium-filled balloons and some basic engineering, Carl and his house take to the skies in a magical moment of surreal wonder. Unwittingly aboard is eight-year-old Russell (Jordan Nagai), a tubby Wilderness Explorer whose determination to obtain his ‘Assisting The Elderly’ badge has led him to stake out Carl’s suddenly airborne porch.

    Monsters, Inc. director Pete Docter could have easily spent the rest of his film exploring this odd-couple relationship. Instead he takes an arguably more challenging route, getting his mismatched duo to Paradise Falls in double-quick time for an earthbound adventure involving a flightless bird, a pack of talking mutts and a face from Carl’s childhood, long thought lost.

    This is all terrific, if chaotic fun, the sheer lunacy of dogs with thought-verbalising collars giving rise to pricelessly absurd humour. (“You two shall have much rewardings from Master for the toil factor you wage!” chief pooch Alpha tells his subordinates in a malfunctioning voice that sounds like he’s been inhaling Carl’s helium.) Yet try as it might, the film’s second half never attains the sublime heights of the sophisticated first, despite a splendid finale involving a Hindenburg-like dirigible and a literal aerial dogfight.

    Pixar has always trod a blurry line between its desire to stretch the boundaries of its medium and its need to deliver commercially viable and lucrative product. Up, with its daringly low-key beginning and a mobile-home concept reminiscent of Howl’s Moving Castle, certainly goes further in the first direction than their previous offerings. Yet, it comes at a small but significant cost: a conspicuous ramping-up of child-pleasing mayhem in the latter stages and a sentimental, almost cynically feel-good coda.

    It’s as if Docter feels he needs to reward audiences for contemplating mortality, or placate infants who may have been getting a wee bit restless. Captivated and charmed as you are, you’re left wondering what marvels Pixar might one day achieve should it ever be freed from its family-friendly imperative.

    Still, it’s a tad churlish to ask for more from an outfit that’s already given us so much and that, with next year’s Toy Story 3, may yet surpass its own high standards. Perhaps it’s enough that Up represents one of its most emotionally-rewarding movies, as well as the most satisfying animated feature thus far made in the 3D format.

    No doubt there’ll come a time when Lasseter’s mob will disappoint; after all, what goes Up must eventually come down. But for now, let’s be like Russell and go along for the glorious ride.

    A coming-of-old-age story that breaks the heart, tickles the funny bone and fires the imagination, Up is a captivating, exuberant delight. And did we mention it contains The Greatest Moment In Movie Animation? Oh.
    Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    It's a true adventure made by Pixar. I love Dug so much from the movie and it'll be as exciting as you wanted it to be and it'll be an adventure in progress.
  12. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Consistent , at first I was not interested , but at the end of the day, I ventured to see it , and it was a wonderful adventure , I sack humor, but also some tears. Touching is much like that touch me like all .
  13. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    A beautiful movie with an unexpectedly depressing start - the whole concept of growing old and losing someone is something that kids movies don't tackle. Whether you're an adult/kid that has faced loss or not, the journey of these 2 characters will make you cry and have your heart warmed at the same time.
  14. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    Up Is Amzing Film Animation Is Good Music Is Good Dug,Russell & Kevin Is Funny Action Is Epic Pete Doctor Great Job This Film Win Best Animated Feature On Academy Awards
  15. Sep 28, 2015
    7
    After the emotional opening half hour Up descends (Ha!) into slightly clichéd territory but remains entertaining for the duration of its running time. I personally wouldn't rate it as highly as the very best animated movies but this is another solid effort from the always reliable Pixar.
  16. Sep 13, 2015
    10
    One of the best Pixar movies. I can't believe the imagination of the storywriter! A flying house with thousands of balloons?!? I'd never think something like that. Fabulous.
  17. Sep 12, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I imagine that people must have been skeptical when they saw the trailer for this. An old man who flies off in a house attached to balloons with a kid who got on by accident and meets a talking dog and a weird bird? Must have been a hard idea to pitch. But people-this is Pixar. The movie is a touching and tear inducing masterpiece with a beginning that will break your heart no matter how tough you claim to be. There are a few bothersome things (like how can Muntz be still alive now if he was like, 40 when Carl was 8? ). But if you get past that, you'll love it. It might be a bit deep for small kids, but like most Pixar films, adults will be entertained a lot more than they might expect. Expand
  18. Sep 6, 2015
    8
    Up was okay not great and certainly not the best Pixar movie EVER! It was extremely overrated and the film started to drag from time to time. It had a predictable ending, and the kid is extremely annoying, who just makes dumb choices a lot of the time. Still a great film for the whole family to watch because it does have some heart, just be cautious that this isn't as good as recent titlesUp was okay not great and certainly not the best Pixar movie EVER! It was extremely overrated and the film started to drag from time to time. It had a predictable ending, and the kid is extremely annoying, who just makes dumb choices a lot of the time. Still a great film for the whole family to watch because it does have some heart, just be cautious that this isn't as good as recent titles like Inside Out, Toy Story, or Finding Nemo. Pixar is a great studio and all, so I will say I enjoyed this film just not as much as other Pixar films. Expand
  19. Aug 13, 2015
    10
    Up is another original triumph for Pixar. This movie is up there with Toy Story and Monsters Inc. as one of the best Pixar movies I've seen. The animation is like no other film and the casting for the voices is spot on and there really aren't any A-List stars providing voices for this movie which is impressive as well. This film seems kind of ridiculous at times but it is fun and veryUp is another original triumph for Pixar. This movie is up there with Toy Story and Monsters Inc. as one of the best Pixar movies I've seen. The animation is like no other film and the casting for the voices is spot on and there really aren't any A-List stars providing voices for this movie which is impressive as well. This film seems kind of ridiculous at times but it is fun and very thoughtful. The characters are essentially perfect and very well developed so I really cared for these fictional characters. Up is also one of the funniest children's films that I have ever watched. Expand
  20. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    An absolute joy to watch. Up, although harrowing and touching, is also action packed and adventurous. One of, if not the best Pixar film to date. If you haven't seen this, you're definitely missing out.
  21. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Up truly embodies the spirit of Pixar, or rather the spirit of adventure. What life throws at us is not always expected, and only through the charming characters of Carl and Russell do we truly see what it means to to go on an adventure. There's something ethereal and magical about Up, and even if animation isn't someone's cup of tea, this movie should be.

    "Paradise Falls, a land lost in time." Carl and Ellie have always wanted to visit Paradise Falls but just never got the chance. As we see through an enchanting and heartbreaking montage, it's up to Carl to fulfill this dream on his own. Or with some unexpected companions. The intricate details and complex storylines lead us to realizations throughout, not just about childhood dreams, but about life. This movie can be taken so many different ways, and I think that's really the beauty of it.

    The imagination portrayed throughout is just as if a child dreamed it up. Which they did, several yeares ago. Now, being somewhat older and wiser, it's up to Russell to carry out this role.

    I've watched this movie in theaters, I've watched it in my middle school and high school classrooms. I can't even remember how many times I've seen it. But one thing I can remember is how my feelings towards it have changed. I've always loved it, but the first time I saw it I distinctly remember wincing every time the house and his belongings got hurt and wondering why he let it go at the end. But now, having grown up, it's like Carl and I have both realized the value of experiences and of people over material items. That's a lesson that takes time, and I think also a sign of a good movie. It grows as you do.

    The most substantial relationship we see is that of Carl and Russell. In a way, they support each other and learn to be more caring and more wise. They even share the boring moments together. "That might sound boring, But I think the boring stuff is the stuff we remember the most." That also eases the burden on Carl's shoulder for never actually taking Ellie there to Paradise Falls. The house may almost represent the weight of that unfilled promises, and a series of events eventually lets him let go, knowing that Ellie had her own adventure, and no matter what she's always going to be there with him. Even if our childhood heroes turn out to actually be villains, a dream is important to have.
    Expand
  22. Jun 30, 2015
    8
    Another's Pixar's favourite. Good animation, as always, very original, incredibly emotional, very funny, and simply amazing. Pixar will never stop surprising me.
  23. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    A beloved tear-shedding masterpiece, Disney's ever faithful Pixar makes its finest film yet since the Lion King, in a story about promises and a spirit for adventure.

    Artistic and colorful as well as powerful in entertainment, this beloved gem chronicles the story of a grumpy depressed old man named Carl Fredericson who is still determined to fulfill his late wife's promise to travel to
    A beloved tear-shedding masterpiece, Disney's ever faithful Pixar makes its finest film yet since the Lion King, in a story about promises and a spirit for adventure.

    Artistic and colorful as well as powerful in entertainment, this beloved gem chronicles the story of a grumpy depressed old man named Carl Fredericson who is still determined to fulfill his late wife's promise to travel to the mystic Paradise Falls a land lost in time, on their house carried by thousands of balloons. With a young boy scout accidentally tailing behind, a dog that can talk, and a giant exotic bird named Kevin joining on his quest, tCarl embarks on a soul searching journey that will change his life for ever and bring a new meaning into his life.

    A heartwarming family story, of friendship and the great wilderness its a perfect movie about elderly adventure that is as tearful as "The Straight Story", theres drama, laughs and tears this film is a magnificent movie that must be seen by the whole family.

    A great triumph for Pixar Animation
    Expand
  24. May 4, 2015
    7
    Brilliant first act where emotions ride high. Beautiful, heartwarming and special. However, from the middle of the film to the end it does not feel that special and suffers a clear decline in originality and quality. Still very good nonetheless. Visually stunning and colourful. Great concept that suffers towards the end of the film. A 7.5 out of 10.
  25. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    "Up" is a wonderful film, with characters who are as believable as any characters can be who spend much of their time floating above the rain forests of Venezuela. They have tempers, problems and obsessions. They are cute and goofy, but they aren't cute in the treacly way of little cartoon animals. They're cute in the human way of the animation master Hayao Miyazaki. Two of the three"Up" is a wonderful film, with characters who are as believable as any characters can be who spend much of their time floating above the rain forests of Venezuela. They have tempers, problems and obsessions. They are cute and goofy, but they aren't cute in the treacly way of little cartoon animals. They're cute in the human way of the animation master Hayao Miyazaki. Two of the three central characters are cranky old men, which is a wonder in this youth-obsessed era. "Up" doesn't think all heroes must be young or sweet, although the third important character is a nervy kid.

    This is another masterwork from Pixar, which is leading the charge in modern animation. The movie was directed by Pete Docter, who also directed "Monsters, Inc.," wrote "Toy Story" and was a co-writer on "WALL-E" before leaving to devote full time to this project. So Docter's one of the leading artists of this latest renaissance of animation.

    The movie will be shown in 3-D in some theaters, about which I will say nothing, except to advise you to save the extra money and see it in 2-D. One of the film's qualities that is likely to be diminished by 3-D is its subtle and beautiful color palette. "Up," like "Finding Nemo," "Toy Story," "Shrek" and "The Lion King," uses colors in a way particularly suited to its content.

    "Up" tells a story as tickling to the imagination as the magical animated films of my childhood, when I naively thought that because their colors were brighter, their character outlines more defined and their plots simpler, they were actually more realistic than regular films.

    With vast inside spaces, the airship is outfitted like a great ocean liner from the golden age, with a stately dining room, long corridors, a display space rivaling the Natural History Museum and an attic spacious enough to harbor fighter planes. Muntz, who must be a centenarian by now, is hale, hearty and mean, his solitary life shared only by robotic dogs.

    The adventures on the jungle plateau are satisfying in a Mummy/Tomb Raider/Indiana Jones sort of way. But they aren't the whole point of the film. This isn't a movie like "Monsters vs. Aliens," which is mostly just frenetic action. There are stakes here, and personalities involved, and two old men battling for meaning in their lives. And a kid who, for once, isn't smarter than all the adults. And a loyal dog. And an animal sidekick. And always that house and those balloons.
    Expand
  26. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    2nd best Pixar film ever. the charters are great the animation is great the story is decent but still really good. and if you know this movie the 1st 15 so minutes of this film are amazing.
  27. Mar 12, 2015
    10
    Pixar always makes the best movies that touch us, such as Toy Story, Cars, Finding Nemo, and The Incredibles. This movie made me cry and laugh. Every great movie gives you both. Another outstanding story made by Pixar, about always going for your dreams, the limits are endless for adventure.
  28. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    I had a lots of fun! No matter if you like animations or no, i think you are going to enjoy this great Disney Pixar animation! Nice overall story and characters with some minor weaknesses! 7/10 Recommended
  29. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    Up is a film that touches your heart emotionally with its great animation, touching story and loveable characters. A must watch for anyone, even the people who don't like animation need to experience this movie.
  30. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    Up is a comedy adventure about 78-year-old balloon salesman Carl Fredricksen, who finally fulfills his lifelong dream of a great adventure when he ties thousands of balloons to his house and flies away to the wilds of South America. But he discovers all too late that his biggest nightmare has stowed away on the trip: an overly optimistic 9-year-old Wilderness Explorer named Russell.
  31. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Touching, hilarious, and really funny, not to mention that the opening part is so sad and heart-warming. This is a film that you need to see. It tells a great love story, has memorable characters, and is nothing but a great adventure.
  32. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Um filme perfeito. Com certeza um dos melhores da Pixar,se não o melhor. Mostra um velhinho que não quer desgrudar de sua casa por nada,e ainda vive o filme inteiro com o desejo de morar no Paraíso das Cachoeiras. O filme mostra superação e desbravamento. Palmas. Expand
  33. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Para mi, la mejor película de animación hasta el momento, ya se que para muchos Toy Story es mejor, pero esta posee un gran guión, combina la risa con las lágrimas a la perfección, es simplemente una obra maestra.
  34. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    The beginning is poignant and sad at the same time. The rest follows a heartfelt tale of a man's journey, not just to Paradise Falls. The trio of the old man, the scout, and the dog is not only funny, but like actual family. Pixar has so many greats on its agenda I doubt anyone can replicate it.
  35. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    There will be always somebody who doesn't like this film but what that person can't deny, is that "Up" is beautifully animated, incredibly well written, amazingly voiced (for every country), undeniably laugh-a-minute gags and another Pixar hit.
  36. Apr 26, 2014
    8
    Funny,touching,and incredibly good graphics this is by far one of my favourite pixar movie of all time.The characters are really funny,if i had to recommend a movie from pixar this is the one i would name.
  37. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I like this movie very much.It has all the thing to make a movie good.I like background music at the starting very much.UP! has me feel Up.IF you are tired of watching drama watch this movie you will not get tired
  38. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    people say old people are just mean when you up it tells you old people have a big heart also pixar has a way to creative better films . i always love the old guy in this movie
  39. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    Up is a decent yet patchy addition to the Pixar cannon. The elements that deal with grief work excellently, yet the action is a little too abstract in comparison. Love those talking dogs, though. Hilarious!
  40. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    It's sweet, emotional, and hilarious adventure from Pixar. Adults would probably enjoy this film more than kids, but nevertheless, this is a great family & kids film.
  41. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    A stellar creation by Pixar. "Up" is a film I believe is for everyone. That somehow reaches into everyone's souls and pulls out the heart in them. Not just the heart, but the feeling of enjoyment that this film does intend to do. I enjoyed the film from start to finish, not just once, but several times over.
  42. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Possibly the most entertaining and heartwarming animated movie I have ever seen. Disney once again creates a touching story that will please children and adults alike.
  43. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    Up goes high.
    Another spectacular animated achievement from Pixar, Up is successful from beautiful artwork to a great story. A great movie with great emotion.
  44. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This movie is the only animated movie that made me cry. it´s story is so heartwarming it´s charchaters are grow on you. this movie you must watch or if you donýou will miss one of the most satfiying movies of all time
  45. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    in my opinion this is the best actual film that walt disney pixar made,that is a lot of good characters in this film and almost all of them have their touch.
  46. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Before watching this movie, I had little expectations for something little more than a cliché child's film, I discovered something more. A beautifully animated and written classic. It could possibly have the most emotional 4 minutes of a movie I have ever seen as well as heart gripping soundtrack. The comedy was heartwarming as well as the connection between Carl and Russel. Story tellingBefore watching this movie, I had little expectations for something little more than a cliché child's film, I discovered something more. A beautifully animated and written classic. It could possibly have the most emotional 4 minutes of a movie I have ever seen as well as heart gripping soundtrack. The comedy was heartwarming as well as the connection between Carl and Russel. Story telling at it's finest. Expand
  47. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Up es una replica a seguir de como hacer y aprovechar una pelicula teniendo en cuenta los sentimientos y valores que hay que dar en este tipo de peliculas, una excelente muestra del amor en todo sentido y una pelicula mas que adorar de entre otras de Pixar
  48. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    "Up" is charming, heartwarming, and a clever movie that proves that there are always good films out there, even animated. "Up" deals with the strong relationships that we all deal through in life when someone dies, and even though we've dealt with movies like this before, "Up" has human-like emotions, that it exceeds several of other love stories produced. Up's characters are wonderful"Up" is charming, heartwarming, and a clever movie that proves that there are always good films out there, even animated. "Up" deals with the strong relationships that we all deal through in life when someone dies, and even though we've dealt with movies like this before, "Up" has human-like emotions, that it exceeds several of other love stories produced. Up's characters are wonderful Carl Fredrickson is an old man who is cranky after his wife's death, but yes, he is likable as his story is so tragic. Russel is the annoying kid, but he deals with the fact that his parent's don't pay attention to him, and... it is emotional. "Up"'s plotline in impeccably told, and deals with the beauty of our world love. After watching "Up", it makes you realize our world and our people, and how we are all connected to others by love and this is beautiful to realize in times like these. Expand
  49. Jul 1, 2013
    7
    Up had a great beginning, an unimpressive middle, and a pleasant ending. It is far from the best material Pixar has produced. You get the feeling it could had been so much more imaginative considering the premise was wonderful.
  50. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    A hilarious and emotional masterpiece by Pixar. Arguably one of their best films to date. The movie is full of memorable characters, witty dialogue, and excellent animation. A must see.
  51. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Pixar may have created some of their finest work yet in the form of Up, it really packs an emotional punch that is difficult to find these days with real actors involved, but they manage to tell a love story and have a father/son or grandfather/grandson dynamic in this film that also show wonderful visuals that outline just how far the company has come since its Toy Story days.
    With a
    Pixar may have created some of their finest work yet in the form of Up, it really packs an emotional punch that is difficult to find these days with real actors involved, but they manage to tell a love story and have a father/son or grandfather/grandson dynamic in this film that also show wonderful visuals that outline just how far the company has come since its Toy Story days.
    With a wonderful opening montage that is almost void of any speaking, we are shown a heartbreaking story of love and loss, we are introduced to Carl, and elderly man who is the last remaining housing owner on a piece of land that is trying to be taken away to make room for some major development.
    Carl is threatened with a retirement home so makes plans to get away to Paradise Falls, a place "lost in time", he attaches thousands of balloons to his house and floats off into the sky, but with added guests.
    Russell, a young scout who accidentally tagged along, proves a welcome and hilarious friend for the ageing Carl, his witty lines but angelic charm have made him an unforgettable character in the Pixar family.
    The themes within the film are edgy but realistic in Pixar terms. A film that deals with death, hints of fatherly abandonment and getting old are indeed tough but heartfelt messages, but these have been dealt with brilliantly, the whole film is an adventure of spontaneity and self discovery, don't necessarily plan everything in front of you but perhaps live a little and go with the flow. Carl has lived his whole life wishing to take hsi joinery, but only decides to do so at 78 years old.
    The character of Russell is wonderfully voice acted by Jordan Nagai, who shows the innocence but also sponge-like nature of a child, picking up on everything that their elders do, but there for some blunt truth when necessary. The adventures these two take the viewer on will leave you wanting more and more, with hilarious and over the top antics to rival in of this studios previous efforts.
    This is without doubt one of Pixar's finest efforts, it has plenty of clever but also slapstick humour, an even mix to appeal to the audience in masses, a heartfelt and motivational story of life going on, and is certainly a visual spectacle to behold.
    Expand
  52. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Another great Pixar movie that has characters that you can connect with. Especially Ed Asner's character, you really feel the love he had for his wife and the pain he goes through when she dies. Also the other characters including Doug the dog and Kevin the snipe make for the fun adventure.
  53. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This is a Pixar movie that really took me by surprise. It really made me like more than I thought I would. The story is marvelous, the characters are very interesting and the plot is unbelievable. What really surprised me in this movie is how much this movie really has heart. I mean, all Pixar movies have heart, but this one has a lot of it. Basically because the story is about how CarlThis is a Pixar movie that really took me by surprise. It really made me like more than I thought I would. The story is marvelous, the characters are very interesting and the plot is unbelievable. What really surprised me in this movie is how much this movie really has heart. I mean, all Pixar movies have heart, but this one has a lot of it. Basically because the story is about how Carl has to deal with losing his wife. It really impacted my heart-strings in a way that no Pixar movie had done before. Plus, it has its really funny moments as well. I was afraid that this movie would have that quirky childish-like humor, but honestly it didn't. It worked really well for both kids and adults in a much different way. Even the music was made perfectly to the tone of the movie. This movie is definitely in the top 3 best Pixar movies ever made. Not only that, but it's also in my top 5 movies ever made. Overall, it's a powerful Pixar movie. Expand
  54. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    The best Pixar film by far. The emotional breakthrough I had at the end the kindness and chivalry from the main character I left the theatre thinking everyone in the world should be like that
  55. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    The best 3d animation i have see! The script is very sad, but show us how the life can be simple. On that movie you remember how important is promise.
  56. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Hilarious and beautifully written story of a man and a boy navigating through the world of Paradise Falls.
  57. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    Apart from Toy Story, this is truly Pixar's finest work to date. Not many studios can make an audience feel this much emotion for a character within the first 15 minutes of a film, but Pixar pulled it off. The rest of the film is brilliant to; it makes you laugh, it makes you cry and it keeps you immensely entertained throughout. One of my favorite films of all time.
  58. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Thirst for Adventure
    UP is able to create a story that is so riveting and enthralling, you hardly pay attention to the fact that it is an animated adventure. It starts with a miniature story all in its own, of a boy and girl who fall in love and live together happily, then the woman passes away, and his second, more geriatric adventure begins.
    Hate the villains, love the heroes. That is the goal of all movies when it comes to creation of antagonists and protagonists is it not? Up manages to create characters that take form into real people. Their development adds to the peril of the movie by giving a tie to the characters. During most of the movie, a soft background music hums away, gently, hardly loud enough to notice. Without this music however, the story would be lacking a certain quaint feel. Soft and whimsical during the highs, low and menacing during the lows, this movie seems to have all the music exactly where it needs to be. In Pixar fashion, UP is a superbly animated film, unparalleled by any other “cartoons” of its time. UP is definitely in my recommended movies list. No matter how old, or young, all are welcome in this story of heroism and adventure.
    Expand
  59. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I was really excited for this because it would be the first I can root for a human protagonist (I wasn't a big fan of The Incredibles yet). Pixar upped the ante with this one as it takes the characters from a bustling city to the labyrinthine wilderness. It has the most touching opening of all the movies I've seen and things just get better as the movie progresses.
  60. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    reviewers had warned me and exited me before i saw this movie, and i immediately saw it twice, and a third time with director's commentary. pixar's up is so unbelievably good that i am now turning it into a moviegoers duty to once see this movie as a sort of holy pilgrimage. why is it so epic? because it's got everything. action, beautiful set pieces and animation, and, on top of it all,reviewers had warned me and exited me before i saw this movie, and i immediately saw it twice, and a third time with director's commentary. pixar's up is so unbelievably good that i am now turning it into a moviegoers duty to once see this movie as a sort of holy pilgrimage. why is it so epic? because it's got everything. action, beautiful set pieces and animation, and, on top of it all, and at the very core, because it's a deeply philosophical movie and a great teacher, and it parallels it's joy so much with it's sadness that it creates a memorable and heave experience. what i like most about the philosophical element is that all the characters are built around a theme, and they all mean something and have something to say, which makes every one stick to my memory. every person in their lifetime has to see up before dying. Expand
  61. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Up is as charming and funny as any adult movie, and it keeps the morality and gentle humanity of a Pixar classic. This is a cinematic masterpiece to behold for all ages, as its flaws are few and far between.
  62. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Quite simply Pixar's best film to date. The emotional journey coupled with the eye-popping visuals makes for a film that deals with themes of tragedy, grief and loss encapsulated in such a sweet package - you won't be able to resist. This bravura film leaps beyond the apparent restrictions of an animated film with mature themes whilst still maintaining the innocent sentiments at heart.
  63. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    hilariously uplifting adventure
  64. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I love the message behind this movie, even though it had such sad moments it is beautiful to understand that it is ok to dream and even though things do not happen the way we first think they would, doesn't mean they wouldn't happen at all.
  65. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Tells one of the greatest love stories in cinematic history in a brisk eight minutes. That, as is the film itself, is a wonderful, awe aspiring work of genius.
  66. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Everyone talks about how sad this movie is, or at least about how sad the beginning is. Personally, I don't think that "sad" is the best word. It was more like...brilliant. Smooth story telling dense with emotion, irresistible humor, lovable and distinct characters, the perfect dose of peril and of course spot on animation. With this moving adventure of love, companionship and discoveringEveryone talks about how sad this movie is, or at least about how sad the beginning is. Personally, I don't think that "sad" is the best word. It was more like...brilliant. Smooth story telling dense with emotion, irresistible humor, lovable and distinct characters, the perfect dose of peril and of course spot on animation. With this moving adventure of love, companionship and discovering the real treasures in life, Pixar has managed to, once again, touch us to the core with the simplest of gestures and in the process add another sparkling gem to their vault. Collapse
  67. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    to be honest i thought this movie was going to suck the characters are very memorable and the storyline is amazing and 5 minutes in the movie has almost and or balling your eyes out pixar make the best cgi movie and most luckly will always make the best cgi movies this movie is touching moving funny and inspiring you serious let out every emotion possible during this movie and thats theto be honest i thought this movie was going to suck the characters are very memorable and the storyline is amazing and 5 minutes in the movie has almost and or balling your eyes out pixar make the best cgi movie and most luckly will always make the best cgi movies this movie is touching moving funny and inspiring you serious let out every emotion possible during this movie and thats the kind of movie that deserves a 10 Expand
  68. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    'Up' is funny, heartrending and lovingly made - very good pictures! But the story with the talking dogs is a bit silly and probably just there to fill time. Also, there are many goofs but that's okay. All in all, one of the best disney movies of all time - a good time for childs and grown-ups!
  69. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This could arguably be Pixars greatest work, the first five minutes is without a doubt the greatest opening in cinema, getting all emotional scenes from every film in history and putting them into one beautifully told and stunning scenes. If the film had lived up to this it would undeniably be in the top 10 greatest films in history, but it turns into adventure that is so admirable. PixarThis could arguably be Pixars greatest work, the first five minutes is without a doubt the greatest opening in cinema, getting all emotional scenes from every film in history and putting them into one beautifully told and stunning scenes. If the film had lived up to this it would undeniably be in the top 10 greatest films in history, but it turns into adventure that is so admirable. Pixar again creates gorgeous visuals and a setting that is truly stunning, it Expand
  70. CDQ
    Jun 28, 2012
    7
    I have come to expect a lot from Pixar. They have consistently churned out wonderful movies, and I had heard Up was no exception. Unfortunately, I don't think that Up is nearly up to par with Pixar's best. The movie starts out fantastic, but it quickly falls apart. By the time we reach the second half, the movie has devolved into a mess. I think my main problem with Up is that it isI have come to expect a lot from Pixar. They have consistently churned out wonderful movies, and I had heard Up was no exception. Unfortunately, I don't think that Up is nearly up to par with Pixar's best. The movie starts out fantastic, but it quickly falls apart. By the time we reach the second half, the movie has devolved into a mess. I think my main problem with Up is that it is the only Pixar movie where I cannot nag the feeling that everything is so implausible. How utterly unrealistic it was bothered me the whole movie, and this is saying something coming from someone who wasn't bothered by rats cooking. None of the characters in Up are particularly memorable. It just didn't connect with me in the way that other Pixar movies have. Expand
  71. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    Up was so much better then I thought. Why give it a 6 A 5 or 2 out of 10? This film was amazing so just watch it. Up 9.5/10
  72. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Very good and humorous film about an old old man sat in his house on his favourite chair next to his wifes who unfortunately passed away a couple of years back, until he meets a scout boy named Russell, who is wanting his last badge called the "wilderness explorer" badge. Russell and his new old best friend goes flying over the rooftops of thousands of houses to get to the place where theVery good and humorous film about an old old man sat in his house on his favourite chair next to his wifes who unfortunately passed away a couple of years back, until he meets a scout boy named Russell, who is wanting his last badge called the "wilderness explorer" badge. Russell and his new old best friend goes flying over the rooftops of thousands of houses to get to the place where the old man has promised his old wife to go, South America, to a waterfall where they could build a house they have planned since the early ages of life, can he get there with a helping hand of Russell and some friends? Personally I LOVED this film and I am surprised there is some negative reviews!! :) great movie! Expand
  73. May 23, 2012
    10
    just face it disney pixar is THE best at animation nothing can beat them when it comes to animation Wall E: 10/10
    Ratatouille: 10/10
    The Incredibles: 10/10
    Up: 10/10
    Toy Story 1,2 and 3: 10/10 x 3
    EVERY PIXAR MOVIE: 10/10
  74. May 21, 2012
    9
    Though it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of anThough it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of an animation movie (which we all know that these movies are mostly for kids), where adults can relate. Yet again, Pixar has again produced an amazing movie and I am looking forward for more Pixar movies in the future... Expand
  75. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Disney-Pixar have almost consistently produced films to a superb standard in recent years and Up does not just meet this standard but raise it further. As with its predecessors, the animation is great and the story is amusing and rich in sentiment but what makes Up stand out above the rest is the combination of unusual characters, odd story and superb Oscar winning score. With theDisney-Pixar have almost consistently produced films to a superb standard in recent years and Up does not just meet this standard but raise it further. As with its predecessors, the animation is great and the story is amusing and rich in sentiment but what makes Up stand out above the rest is the combination of unusual characters, odd story and superb Oscar winning score. With the exception of The Incredibles, Pixar have traditionally stayed away from humans as central characters. However, in Up the main characters are Mr. Fredricksen, a lonely, grumpy old man and Russell, a plump young explorer scout. An unlikely pair who are unintentionally thrown together as Mr. Fredricksen transports his house to South America using helium filled balloons to escape moving from his home. There they meet a group of talking dogs, an endangered bird and Mr. Fredricksen's childhood hero as the adventure and fun continues.

    As plots go it is one of the most bizarre yet from Pixar but it's a fun journey and the writers actually cover the pretty serious themes of ageing and missed opportunities, loneliness and friendship along the way. The montage at the beginning of the film displaying the life Mr. Fredricksen shared with his wife, from their childhood to her death, is beautifully made and, supported by the superb score, is an incredibly emotive piece of film making.

    If you are looking for an enjoyable, funny film for the family then you can not do much better than Up.
    Expand
  76. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    I'm two years late to the party, but glad I arrived there anyways. I rarely get moved by a movie, but this one had me on the brink of crying more than once. The characters are likeable, the surroundings beautiful, and the story emotional. If you haven't seen it already I highly advice you to do so.
  77. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The most powerful animated film ever made. Truly amazing. I am NOT ashamed to admit that, for most of the movie, I had tears streaming down my face (either due to laughter or sorrow). This is an example of what ALL movies should aspire to achieve: Truth, beauty, and downright awesomeness. :D In Christ, Jesrin.
  78. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    Pixar rarely disappoints. Another brilliant movie. A very colourful, intriguing and moving movie that will keep you anticipated the whole time. A variety of emotions were felt in this roller coaster ride especially the flashbacks which hits you hard. Definitely worth the nomination of Best Picture. Highly recommended.
  79. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Up is timeless, emotional, heartfelt; everything in Up is in the right place its humor, heart and characters everything is just timeless and wonderful. I give this film 97%.
  80. Dec 27, 2011
    7
    "Up" One Line Review!

    A bit too tearjerky for me, and the plot moved a smidge too conveniently but there were some good jokes and the digital 3-D was really cool and well done, it was seamlessly implemented - worth watching.
    http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/up/
  81. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Charming, emotional, hilarious, just some of the words that can be used to describe Disney/Pixar's Up. The opening of the film is the saddest thing I've ever seen in anything, and that's coming from a family film. Pixar continue to produce the best.
  82. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Delivering some real laughs and interesting moments at the first minutes, "Up" sounds quite promising. But as soon as the plot starts to develop, you realize that "Up" is a good movie but is far away from being a Pixar masterpiece.
  83. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    An excellent movie through and through, with silly scenes and a pretty good story. Animations are outstanding. The characters are great. The story seems shaky at times, and it doesn't really keep you interested at times. But, I definitely recommend this movie to anyone at any age.
  84. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    cross your heart.a promise keep all lifetime,a lifetime for a dream,that's awesome.adventure is out there,just follow you heart,work for your dream,what the **** least 150 characters long.
  85. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Up is a great animated film that is among the best from Pixar. It has the most heart warming story that Pixar has ever had and the characters are great.
  86. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    How many movies have an old man as a lead character? Very few, and its this original approach to film making that makes Pixar so good. The characters, story, animation and design of this film are brilliantly crafted. Up is just sort of being a masterpiece, it's a great animated American movie.
  87. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    Animation giant Pixar walks into 2009 with their new animation "Up". The movie is so organized and amazing, all I could suggest to you is to just shut up and watch the movie.
  88. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    Uplifting,emotional and comedic. Mixed in perfect proportion.A treat to enjoy and ponder over.The film manages to together universal themes and in the process lead the viewer through an amazing journey complete with fantastic vistas,nail-biting tensionand if there's no one else nearby some choice words toobased on character foibles.
  89. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    By all standards, this is Pixar's most beautiful, most enjoyable, deepest and funniest movie ever. I've had a smile throughout the whole movie, and all I can say is: terrific. It was such a refreshing feature and the story line was unique at it's best and worst. I didn't know what to expect when I went to see the movie. I thought it would be just another bubblegum animation, but boy, was IBy all standards, this is Pixar's most beautiful, most enjoyable, deepest and funniest movie ever. I've had a smile throughout the whole movie, and all I can say is: terrific. It was such a refreshing feature and the story line was unique at it's best and worst. I didn't know what to expect when I went to see the movie. I thought it would be just another bubblegum animation, but boy, was I wrong. This is the most pleasant surprise I've ever experienced in my whole life. The characters are so sympathetic and the dogs are extremely funny. Pixar did it again. Expand
  90. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    This one is real, incredibly powerful, full of eye-popping visuals and a complicated protagonist that is introduced in an almost perfect way with a truly flawless montage to explain his life
  91. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Pixar continues to amaze me with the quality of their films. They have mastered the art of film-making and could change the way you think about the world with a colour or a sound. With "Up" they take you on an journey of subtle but dark emotion and quirky humor, exploring circumstances not unlike to those we experience in our lives. The script breathes life and genuine emotion into eachPixar continues to amaze me with the quality of their films. They have mastered the art of film-making and could change the way you think about the world with a colour or a sound. With "Up" they take you on an journey of subtle but dark emotion and quirky humor, exploring circumstances not unlike to those we experience in our lives. The script breathes life and genuine emotion into each character and perfectly selected tracks are only a few of the things that makes 'Up" so brilliant. It is a perfect family film and will make you cry and laugh till the end. Expand
  92. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The opening seen in this is one of the few times a character death in a movie has actually saddened me. One of the most emotionally magnificent films ever crafted. The animation is incredibly vibrant, the score is rich and beautiful, and the voice acting is incredibly convincing. After hearing the story about the little girl who died after seeing this film, I only watch this film with moreThe opening seen in this is one of the few times a character death in a movie has actually saddened me. One of the most emotionally magnificent films ever crafted. The animation is incredibly vibrant, the score is rich and beautiful, and the voice acting is incredibly convincing. After hearing the story about the little girl who died after seeing this film, I only watch this film with more respect . A fantastic work of art. No wonder it was only the second animated film nominated for the Best Picture Oscar, this is amazing. Expand
  93. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    This film, I found it very well made. It has a serious story line but great depth of character and some very funny seance. its slower pace sets it of from other animations with its dark beginning showing it to be film encompassing older generations.
  94. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I've always enjoyed Edward Asner's voice work since Freakazoid (a cartoon not many of you may know), and he does an excellent job here. A sweet tale and a fun adventure on a flying house make this another Pixar classic.
  95. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Even after the love of your life has passed away you can still spend some happy time with your sweet grandchildren and your loyal pets. "Up" is a beautifully sad movie about having a dream and living an adventure. While the villain is extremely unlikable, the protagonists are very lovable. The film might not have needed the final action sequence in the end, but "Up" is definitely worth watching.
  96. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Pixar at it's finest, showing that an animated film doesn't have to rely only on humour but also can be quite emotional. Within the first 10 minutes of the movie you automatically feel for the main character and become emotionally involved in the film, that alone got me really impressed, Great animation backed up with great characters ( as any dog owner would agree ) , very funny moviePixar at it's finest, showing that an animated film doesn't have to rely only on humour but also can be quite emotional. Within the first 10 minutes of the movie you automatically feel for the main character and become emotionally involved in the film, that alone got me really impressed, Great animation backed up with great characters ( as any dog owner would agree ) , very funny movie that also pulls at your heart strings. A Must see.. A classic. Expand
  97. Jan 19, 2011
    7
    By the first it looks like a drama... it's really touching, the years going by... life, death... love... the idea of eternity, what remains, what doesn't... gotta be clear: I bursted into tears!!!! But... I've got really dissapointed passing thru this ''sad starting'' because it get's so... funny but for kids... the whole rest is intended for children... so it's good, really good OscarBy the first it looks like a drama... it's really touching, the years going by... life, death... love... the idea of eternity, what remains, what doesn't... gotta be clear: I bursted into tears!!!! But... I've got really dissapointed passing thru this ''sad starting'' because it get's so... funny but for kids... the whole rest is intended for children... so it's good, really good Oscar Winning original score (you deserve it Mike Giacchino)... and after all, was the best on animated movies from 2009. Good job after all! Expand
  98. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    A brilliant, unique movie. One of the best children's movie I watched.
  99. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    I love every part .it is my favorite movie. it is funny in every shape and form. it is so cool. something bad happens ,but it turns out ok .there are thousands of movies , but RENT this .
  100. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    After losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never got the chance. But when a 9-year old obnoxious fellow swings on for the ride, Mr. Federickson has to learn to deal with him after a conflict arises onceAfter losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never got the chance. But when a 9-year old obnoxious fellow swings on for the ride, Mr. Federickson has to learn to deal with him after a conflict arises once landing in South America. Up is definitely a film for the entire family to feel excited about. The intial first 10 minutes are very heartwarming, but loses that warmth a little once the adventure begins, soon feeling like a shorter, much toned down adventure once it ends. Without a doubt Pixar delivers quality animation once again, but the feeling is different once the end credits, the same I saw in Cars and Monster's Inc. But definitely another masterpiece for 2009. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A captivating odd-couple adventure that becomes funnier and more exciting as it flies along.
  3. By all means, see Up in its 3-D incarnation: The cliff drops are vertiginous, and the scores of balloons--bunched into the shape of one giant balloon--are as pluckable as grapes.