Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,055
Mixed:
63
Negative:
26
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RichardS.May 30, 2009
A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and A splendid film. I'm 67yrs old and me and the wife took our grandkids to see it earlier tonight and we had a wonderful time. A great film that besides the funny jokes and fast action, actually had a message that my grandkids (4, 6, and 9 yrs old) picked up on while we talked about it over dinner afterwards. At first I thought this would be another one of those nonsensical cartoons like that monsters vs aliens film we took them to a month ago, which was typical bubblegum. Up is a wonderful experience for all of us and I cannot commend the filmmakers enough for creating this feature. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexM.May 30, 2009
This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The This movie is seriously one of pixars best! The story and emotion to it were amazing! If you are a fan of Toy Story, Monsters Inc, or Finding Nemo, you will find this movie amazing! It is MUCH better than Wall-e, Cars, Ratatui, and The Incredibles. PIXAR IS BACK!!! I rank this movie in the top 3 pixars. GO SEE IT! Some people were crying in the movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MegLAug 30, 2009
Best movie I have seen this summer. The first ten minutes were perfect. More emotion was evoked in that ten minutes than in any movie I have seen in a long while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValSOct 15, 2009
What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with What a truly wonderful, joyous and multi-layered film. I still choke up a little this morning, when I think of those emotional first five minutes - and even the ending made me sniffle. I loved the photos (another tread) that were run with the credits at the end as well - hilarious! This is a film about letting go and moving on. It is a film about hope, and about a journey that never ends, but simply moves into a different dimension. It's a film about rekindling the core of youth and optimism that lies in our hearts however old we are. A great film, it ranks with the best. Wonderful jokes;we laughed out loud frequently and both of us marvelled at the depth of detail - from the way the seat on the armchair hollowed and wore with frequent use over the years, to the build-up of stubble on the old man's face. Of course, there are imperfections in the plot if you look for them, but this is a fantasy, remember! And frankly, if some animated figures can generate such heart and such emotion and leave you feeling so up-lifted, then who cares?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zacS.Oct 17, 2009
Pixar have churned out another brilliant film, their storytelling matches the crisp grapics. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichNOct 27, 2009
Just a very special film, moving, funny and brilliant. This is not just animation at it's best, it is filmmaking at its very best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianP.May 30, 2009
Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages Up was easily one of the most entertaining films I have seen in the past 5 years. I am a 19 year old in the Army and along with my like-aged friends, we all found it to be cute, funny and just a great film. It is easy for people of all ages to find comedy in the film from quick gags to actual adult humor that disney and pixar have a nice way of throwing in. To those that remarked on how the story was a little deep for younger viewers, never once did the film go deeper into sadness than a view scenes left more for the viewer to fill in their own interpretations. My friends and I found Up to be a great film and easily a new Disney classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamE.May 30, 2009
Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should Brilliant film by Pixar- clearly the masters of animation. Must see film of the year- it is unfortunate that we have people rating this film on its 3D capabilities or on the fact that they believe the film was sad- not all films should produce perfect hollywood closure- it is those who cannot appreciate this concept that are truly missing out. i would advise against listening to anyone who compares anything to Monsters Vs Aliens period. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DinoPJun 10, 2009
If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! If I could give it a 20, I would! Raises the bar on so many levels, from the crisp story-telling to the crisp 3D. The "back-story," delivered nearly without dialog, is masterful, bringing the audience to tears within the first 10 minutes! Genius, pure and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenSJun 19, 2009
this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the this movie was the best in every way possible i don't see how people can give this below a 7. the animation was great and so was the plot. I see all these people complaining that the beginning is too depressing or sad but that is the point. it adds emotion and a plot to the story!. imagine if the beginning was different that his wife never died then this would be the plot, a guy goes on a house full of balloons for no reason the end. i think this movie was fantastic and i cant wait for it on dvd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyDJun 2, 2009
Saw this movie at preview in London as a 3D. Wonderful story and characters. Surprisingly moving. Simple yet full of depth and the animation was 1st class as ever. Another Pixar classic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyMJun 5, 2009
Simply put, "Up" is flawless. It's arguably Disney-Pixar's greatest film to date, and a triumph of human emotion and the spirit of adventure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelEJun 6, 2009
I laughed, I cried, I felt for the characters, who are very likable and easy to relate to. Pixar's best movie yet in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredBJun 8, 2009
This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; This movie is not as it appears. It is more of an extended metaphor about the dispair people can feel when they grow old and their dreams are never realized. The movie features an infertile couple who have big dreams that are never realized; sadly they grow old and the wife passes away. Luckily, the remainder of the storyline is a chance for the widowed man to do things differently. My wife and I really connected with this movie as we have fertility problems and have recently adopted two children. I spent alot of the movie fighting my tears, and realizing that adopting children is our UP. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferKJun 8, 2009
A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and A superb film. My kids (ages 4, 6, and 10) loved it! It actually had more depth and a great life lesson to be realized, compared to most cartoons today wherein it's all slapstick nonsensical action. Up had it's whimsical and fantasy elements, yet, the human story of Carl and Russell was without question the core of the movie. There were plenty of laughs too and in the end, it was a movie that left us happy and enlightened and makes you see and appreciate life as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomasAJun 8, 2009
What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be What a wonderful film this was. Heartfelt and endearing, Hilarious and poignant. The entire family had a great GREAT time! My kids even picked up on one of the great lessons in the movie which conveys that the simple things in life can be the best of times as well, and to always be helpful of elders and other people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeeThinkJul 30, 2009
A masterpiece in every way that you can call a movie one. A direct insult to all who create "trash" film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseJJan 10, 2010
AMAZING! Enjoyed it as much as Wall-E but a bill less than Rattatouile (donno how to spell it :S). I recommend any one to watch it! The dog is sooo funny. "OH BOY OH BOY, I WILL GO GET THE BALL THEN BRING IT BACK"!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahRNov 28, 2009
By far, the best animated movie I have ever seen. I didn't think I'd like it because I've never really enjoyed pixar that much. But, it's funny, beautiful, heartworming, worth every dime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanS.Oct 21, 2009
Never has a Pixar film moved me in such a way as "UP". With plenty of laugh out loud moments, it also has heart, and will almost certainly bring you to tears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FeliciaN.Oct 3, 2009
Well worth seeing. Good for all ages, Adults won't be bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeSOct 9, 2009
Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking Having fallen in love with this film even before its delivery, I must say here and now that Up both fulfilled and surpassed my expectations. Flawless animation is coupled here with a story and plot which are both hilarious and tear-jerking at the same time. I would happily call Up my film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyP.May 30, 2009
Funny and heartwarming. A great movie is always first and last about a great story, the amazing animation just happens to be the vehicle. Fabulous!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronG.May 30, 2009
A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us A beautiful masterpiece, like a rose in a grassy hill. The folks at Pixar Studios should be proud of their tenth Triple-A production in a row. What starts out as an innocent little dream, turns into a jaw-dropping adventure, taking us through the clouds, the highest peaks of mountains, through the jungle, and raging through the sky. Although it might not look as good as Wall-E and the 3D was unneeded, UP comes through as an outstanding picture for the whole family to enjoy. Two thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronBJun 1, 2009
For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life For years we have been waiting for the folks at Pixar falter, wondering how far the earth will shift off of its axis when they drop their first bomb, lay their first egg. When you read the premise for "Up" -- a man in the twilight of life embarks on a journey by attaching several thousand balloons to his home -- I thought this was going to be that streak ender. Boy was I wrong. Touching from beginning to end, with some of Pixar's most humorous moments yet easily some of it's most poignant, "Up" soars high above the clouds of Paradise Falls. Particularly impressive is the opening montage that explains the lives of Ellie and Carl Frederickson without as much as a word, but left many in the theater where I saw it in tears. One could argue that the most recent slate of Pixar Movies (Up, Ratatouille and Wall-E) are deeper, richer and greater achievements than their predecessors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeMJun 17, 2009
UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed UP is, dare I say it, .the best film I've seen so far this summer. It's just a very refreshing diversion from all the Wolverine and Terminator travesties we've endured. Our main character Carl starts out as a little wide-eyed boy who dreams of adventure who later becomes a rather bitter old man after the death of his wife and building contractors wanting to bulldoze his house, so instead...he ties a bunch of balloons to his house and off he goes with a miniature wilderness explorer, Russell, along for the ride. UP is just a great film for all ages...it has goofy stuff for the kids (that I must admit, I found funny at times) and it simply oozes "heart". The film does carry some interesting tones that I imagine are aimed more at adults...the idea of getting old or the horrible feeling of losing someone very dear to you and learning to let go...there really is something for everyone in UP. I loved the little side-characters in this film that provide some of the funniest moments...the speaking dog (who you can't help but like) and the bird (does not speak, but lights up the screen with a physcial presence) back up the film very nicely and they both chew up the scenes when on screen. UP is what "good clean fun" is all about when it comes to movies...you dont need explosions, morphing robots, and guys with claws...you just need great adventure, memorable characters, and like I mentioned earlier....heart. HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamonPJun 1, 2009
Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie Up is another Pixar gem. I'm not sure this studio can do anything wrong. If you would have told me I would have loved a movie about an Old man and some Kid, I would have laughed at you. I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tugs at your heartstrings for the entire running time.And was a joy to watch through and through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnLJun 1, 2009
Animation is similar to that found in the Incredibles, but improved. The movie entertains a pretty sad story with various adverntures throughout. Well done. One of my favorite characters had to be Doug the dog, he was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimRJun 1, 2009
Amazing in it's depth and width - Not a wasted frame in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArthurC.Jun 2, 2009
Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely Pixar is unstoppable. Now, this isn't as good as Ratatouille or Wall-E or The Incredibles, but it's still jaw droppingly amazing. The film is beautiful filled with great characters and some terrific gags. The message was definitely more adult, dealing with aging and appreciating the life you had as well as continuing forward with new adventures. No other animation studio gets characterization and theme right like Pixar. And they do it without referencing pop culture. Why can't producers take a lesson from these guys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful