Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 894 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Up is a comedy adventure about 78-year-old balloon salesman Carl Fredricksen, who finally fulfills his lifelong dream of a great adventure when he ties thousands of balloons to his house and flies away to the wilds of South America. But he discovers all too late that his biggest nightmareUp is a comedy adventure about 78-year-old balloon salesman Carl Fredricksen, who finally fulfills his lifelong dream of a great adventure when he ties thousands of balloons to his house and flies away to the wilds of South America. But he discovers all too late that his biggest nightmare has stowed away on the trip: an overly optimistic 9-year-old Wilderness Explorer named Russell. (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Winsome, touching and arguably the funniest Pixar effort ever, the gorgeously rendered, high-flying adventure is a tidy 90-minute distillation of all the signature touches that came before it.
  2. 100
    Rarely has any film, let alone an animated one powered by the logic of dream and fantasy, been able to move so successfully -- and so effortlessly -- through so many different kinds of cinematic territory.
  3. A thoroughly uplifting bit of cinema.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    Extending the patented Pixar mix of humor and heart, Up is the studio's most deeply emotional and affecting work.
  5. We will be comparing Up with classics like "The Wizard of Oz" for years to come.
  6. As a piece of poetic compression, it ranks with the opening of Orson Welles's "The Magnificent Ambersons."
  7. Reviewed by: Matthew Sorrento
    50
    After a strong takeoff, the film lands on dead grounds.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 293
  1. BryanK.
    May 30, 2009
    10
    After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious After viewing this film, I found it very well made. It was dark, even by the standards of a mainstream childrens film. It has a serious storyline which deals with a wife unable to bear children and a man who sees his home as if his wife's soul remains there each day. There were comical moments throughout the film which were done well including a sequence in which a dog which speaks through a collar to other dogs speaks in a funny voice, which when fixed sounds like an evil scientist from a 1930's serial. The final thirty minutes are not only action filled, but comical and heartwarming. The characters were well-designed with unique characteristics which added to the enjoyment and allowed for the people viewing the film to connect with the characters. Very-well made film and one of the best Disney films of the first decade of the 21st century... Expand
  2. BryanL.
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. I think the one thing I can count on in about 90% of all rated movies is the poor rating coming from Salon.com's Stephanie Zacharek. This is a beautiful film with nary a flaw to it. Miss Zacharek, perhaps you should step aside and let someone who actually enjoys watching movies do the critiquing. Expand
  3. RobertB
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best This film was much better than pixar's previous film. I could feel for the characters. The first 10 minutes were wonderful, and the best that pixar ever produced.This should easily win best animated picture and should, although unlikely, be nominated for best picture at the Oscars. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    "Up" is charming, heartwarming, and a clever movie that proves that there are always good films out there, even animated. "Up" deals with the"Up" is charming, heartwarming, and a clever movie that proves that there are always good films out there, even animated. "Up" deals with the strong relationships that we all deal through in life when someone dies, and even though we've dealt with movies like this before, "Up" has human-like emotions, that it exceeds several of other love stories produced. Up's characters are wonderful Carl Fredrickson is an old man who is cranky after his wife's death, but yes, he is likable as his story is so tragic. Russel is the annoying kid, but he deals with the fact that his parent's don't pay attention to him, and... it is emotional. "Up"'s plotline in impeccably told, and deals with the beauty of our world love. After watching "Up", it makes you realize our world and our people, and how we are all connected to others by love and this is beautiful to realize in times like these. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    Up was so much better then I thought. Why give it a 6 A 5 or 2 out of 10? This film was amazing so just watch it. Up 9.5/10
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    in my opinion this is the best actual film that walt disney pixar made,that is a lot of good characters in this film and almost all of themin my opinion this is the best actual film that walt disney pixar made,that is a lot of good characters in this film and almost all of them have their touch. Expand
  7. baycrum
    Oct 22, 2009
    0
    NOT funny in the least.WORST Pixar movie EVER. The critics are just giving it good reviews because they are too afraid to say it was bad.Okay NOT funny in the least.WORST Pixar movie EVER. The critics are just giving it good reviews because they are too afraid to say it was bad.Okay the plot was almost close to a bad lifetime movie and the only thing keeping it from going to that level was the kid and the dogs.DO NOT waste your money on this film in 3D like I did:no reason for it to be in 3D whatsoever,Don't fall for the colors are more vivid scam ethier.The emotions also felt pushed. Don't be afraid to say it was bad. Expand

See all 293 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.
  3. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.
  4. Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to "Locker"

    Hurt's So Good: More Critics Lock on to
    Published: December 14, 2009
    The New York Film Critics Circle added to The Hurt Locker's growing list of honors, while another critic organization sided with Up in the Air.
  5. AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009

    AFI, Boston Critics, L.A. Critics Name Top Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: December 13, 2009
    The awards season kicks into high gear this week, and three separate organizations have given a big boost to The Hurt Locker, while another favors Avatar.