Vacancy

Vacancy Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: When David (Wilson) and Amy Fox's (Beckinsale) car breaks down in the middle of nowhere, they are forced to spend the night at the only motel around, with only the TV to entertain them... until they discover that the low-budget slasher movies they're watching were all filmed in the very roomWhen David (Wilson) and Amy Fox's (Beckinsale) car breaks down in the middle of nowhere, they are forced to spend the night at the only motel around, with only the TV to entertain them... until they discover that the low-budget slasher movies they're watching were all filmed in the very room they're sitting in. With hidden cameras now aimed at them... trapping them in rooms, crawlspaces, underground tunnels... and filming their every move, David and Amy must struggle to get out alive before whomever is watching them can finish their latest masterpiece. (Sony) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Vacancy is a schlock surprise: a no-frills motel-hell slasher film -- with a bit of soul.
  2. 75
    Stylish and surprisingly effective thriller.
  3. 70
    Antal smartly adheres to the no-frills demands of B-movie horror, eliciting impressive chills from old-fashioned suffocating dread rather than the now usual gore. And Wilson and Beckinsale superbly execute everything that's required of their characters--namely, yelling and running.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    63
    At its worst, Vacancy is merely the kind of taut B-chiller they don't make any more, other than to riff on them in "Grindhouse."
  5. If "Psycho" and "Peeping Tom" are the seminal killer-as-voyeur movies, Vacancy is the nasty little runt offspring with no other purpose in life but to gnaw on you.
  6. This ghastly swatch of pulp horror is compelling at the most basic level, but so little is going on in it that you might as well be watching a sadistic lab experiment performed on mice.
  7. This is a no-cable, no-wake-up-call, cash-only dump of a film, where you breathe through a hankie and bring your own Lysol.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    10
    Vacancy is an intense thriller with stylish scares and visuals. Vacancy will surprise you and captivate
    you with its refreshing style and
    Vacancy is an intense thriller with stylish scares and visuals. Vacancy will surprise you and captivate
    you with its refreshing style and plot. One of the best thrillers in years.
    Expand
  2. SophiaH.
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    I can't understand why this movie are gonna to be a big boxoffice flop??? Too many thrillers in theaters. I just saw Fracture and this I can't understand why this movie are gonna to be a big boxoffice flop??? Too many thrillers in theaters. I just saw Fracture and this one last weekend and I liked more Vacancy. Expand
  3. kamil
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    Great horror. Sometimes little B-movie miracle happens. Just don't take it seriously and enjoy beautiful beckinsale and surprisingly Great horror. Sometimes little B-movie miracle happens. Just don't take it seriously and enjoy beautiful beckinsale and surprisingly good wilson in this frightening and entertaining flick. More quality horrors please. Expand
  4. AMovieCritic
    Apr 22, 2007
    8
    A surprisingly effective horror/thriller. The atmosphere is excellent, the movie is almost always suspenseful, the villain is very creepy, A surprisingly effective horror/thriller. The atmosphere is excellent, the movie is almost always suspenseful, the villain is very creepy, the movie does NOT rely on jump scares or excessive blood or gore...it's just a great, suspenseful horror movie. I'm glad the studio kept it with an R-rating. Hopefully it will find success on DVD. (After a relatively disappointing opening weekend.) Expand
  5. RobertI.
    Aug 18, 2007
    7
    Good scary flick, at a time when too much that passes for a nail-biter acts more like a manicure. Hold somebody's hand.
  6. May 1, 2013
    5
    I honestly want to rate it higher, but I can not! This movie was a totally average thriller, that is not really better than any other boring,I honestly want to rate it higher, but I can not! This movie was a totally average thriller, that is not really better than any other boring, ''we have seen this before'' horror/thrillers. The actors were not that bad I have to mention that, but they were nothing outstanding...Maybe a rent worthy survival/slasher. Expand
  7. RyanM.
    Apr 20, 2007
    1
    This bootleg piece of sh.t.damn last night i took a sh.. and i think vacancy came out of my ass ....literally..out of my ass....luke(no oneThis bootleg piece of sh.t.damn last night i took a sh.. and i think vacancy came out of my ass ....literally..out of my ass....luke(no one cares about me because i suck at acting) wilson cant act worth anything...kate beckinsale...looks like a beatup house wife.who in fact gets beat up..for not making din din...it should of been straight to sci fi. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.