User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 203

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    The film is indeed entertaining, and very suspenseful at times. Cruise shines at what he does best - action. The issue here is that there is very little of that action that he's best at. All we are left with is the drama. Which is not necessarily bad, but it does not quite work as well as it was anticipated. While the film is interesting enough to keep you entertained and watching, overall, it does not really succeed in feeling like a "real WW2 film," whatever that might be like. It almost feels as if it was a "what if" scenario where we see all these things that could have been, but never really happened. That is the critical flaw of the film, indeed: the fact that it feels fake, when it actually is based on reality. Nonetheless, there are some good thrills, very good production and a good (but mismanaged) cast. A good film, but noting special. Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2010
    1
    Tom Cruise is just really bad in this film and at points it verges on comedy. E.g The telephone call bits where it keeps being past on. We all know the story and yet there are no little details that are mildly interesting or exciting and after half an hour you can't wait until Cruise is put in front of that firing squad. Oh Dear Tom, Oh Dear.
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    Pretty terrible. The entire film is insanely boring until the last 20 minutes or so, Even then its not that good. The acting was ok but I expected far better. Overall it was very disapointing.
  4. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    A very interesting historical piece, and entertaining the whole way through. The end result seems to be worth the struggles endured in production, to film at some of the original sites.
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed watching this film, which may sound like sacrilege seeing as I am a History Undergraduate, but I did. People will say that german characters being played by actors from America and Britain is silly, but I would have found it a much less enjoyable experience if they had TRIED to put on an accent. A good film when all is said and done, one of Tom Cruise's less tedious performances.
  6. Apr 22, 2012
    5
    Adolf Hitler committed suicide April 30, 1945. Valkyrie is about a group of men who are plotting to assassinate Hitler. Due to the information I have just given to you, you now know that by the end of the movie, Hitler will still be alive. This is a bit of a problem for Valkyrie, but this film does a relatively good job of making you forget about this conclusion. The A-list cast does a more-than-excellent job at acting, though the actual character development is extremely minimal for most characters. Valkyrie does something very smart at the beginning of the movie. We understand that the characters are all speaking German, but they speak English anyway. This eliminates the need for silly German accents, and is much less distracting. There are times when this is contradicted though, such as one scene where there is a woman singing in German, but these are forgivable. Unfortunately, my compliments must end here. Valkyrie is not an action movie. It is not placed under the action genre, and there are almost not action scenes in the movie. Valkyrie is a war movie. Does this seem contradictory to you? I was surprised by the lack of action in Valkyrie, but a lack of action isn't necessarily a bad thing if the movie is entertaining enough. Unfortunately, Valkyrie is mostly just people talking and planning. The reward for waiting through all the talking? One explosion. Really, that's all. For all the planning and talking and such, I expected a very elaborate plan to take place. The plan, though, is really not much more then setting a bomb next to Hitler during a meeting. So I ask, how did a film with such a simple plot manage to stretch to a unnecessarily long, 2 hours? It seems that more time was spent thinking of one liners, than developing an interesting plot. What was most agonizing though, was all the potential Valkyrie. Imagine if we were given flashbacks to Hitler's childhood. And what if there was some more background about the main character's marriage? More story, a little more action, and some decent character development would've gone a long way for turning this mostly mediocre film into the masterpiece it just missed out on. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Director Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects) brings to life one of the most bold and daring plots in history. Colonel Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) rewrites Hitler's Valkyrie so that his band of German rebels, genuinely concerned for their country's future, may initiate it and bring about the downfall of Hitler, and consequently, peace. Overall, the film was excellent. It dramatized the incredible events leading up to and during the assassination attempt very well, the acting was incredible, the characters very well developed, with a moving finale that is guaranteed to give you goosebumps. How many of us would actually stand up for what we believe in? Expand
  8. Aug 31, 2014
    4
    Valkyrie is filled with ample potential for an excellent look at Nazi-controlled Germany. Unfortunately between a weak screenplay and another poor performance from Tom Cruise, Valkyrie is shelved with the group of unsuccessful Holocaust films.
  9. Apr 2, 2014
    7
    This one is not bad at all. The thrills are there and the ending sequence, even though we know it is coming, is as tragic as it should have been. However, in spite of that, the story feels...rushed. For example, the story felt a little on the short side and the character development, as seems to be the case with many films based on military actions, seems to be pretty thin as well. But, on the plus side, the acting was really good across the board. Tom Cruise caught a lot of flack here, but I enjoyed his performance here. It was a really nice, reserved, dramatic, and thoughtful, performance, that was by no means the best acting job I have seen, but it was far from the worst. Expand
  10. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    Not the worst film that I've seen. As a fan of History, especially the WW2 era, I found this film rather interesting. The cast did a relatively good job of playing their characters but there was no reel boom to it. Nothing that exciting or thrilling, it got a little boring at times. I enjoyed it a little but I doubt I'll ever watch it again. It's worth a watch if you're interested in WW2 and Nazi Germany but if not then I'd give it a miss. Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    After I've read some of the negative reviews of this movie, I was kind of unmotivated to watch this one. However, right now I'm glad I did give it a try. This is one of the few cases where I believe the negative reviewers are wrong.

    A lot of historical facts pass by in this movie, during World War II. Those facts were well-researched, and I couldn't really find false facts. It gives a
    very good view on what Operation Walküre is about. I strongly suggest this movie to everyone who's interested in war movie's. No matter what, you will have learned something afterwards.

    There's also a continuous tensions that won't let you go. Don't let the negative reviews mislead you, I strongly recommend this one!
    Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2014
    5
    Valkyrie, which is pretty historically accurate, has moments of sheer suspense and well-spoken dialogue, but too much of the movie is just talk, and no action. Also, the film could use a tighter editing job.
  13. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    Valkyrie is a very solid film.
    The film is well paced and well written. The actors especially Tom Cruise do their jobs and the directing is also very good.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Singer has crafted a fine film. One just wishes for greater details -- and a different ending.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Has visual splendor galore, but is a cold work lacking in the requisite tension and suspense.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Mendelson
    70
    Valkyrie just misses out on being a great film (it’s no Black Book), but it easily merits mention as a good one.