United Artists | Release Date: December 25, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 246 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
149
Mixed:
52
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
fantasyJan 2, 2009
The movie is definitely skillfully done. It captures the era of the 1940's perfectly from the phonograph to the typewriter. However there's one basic flaw in the entire movie. There were 14 failed assassinations against Hitler The movie is definitely skillfully done. It captures the era of the 1940's perfectly from the phonograph to the typewriter. However there's one basic flaw in the entire movie. There were 14 failed assassinations against Hitler before this one. Does anyone truly believe that you could bring anything near Hitler without the SS checking? We know Hitler was insane, but stupid, never. You have to suspend all intelligence at the door to buy into this as it is never discussed or explained. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
LandFApr 22, 2012
Adolf Hitler committed suicide April 30, 1945. Valkyrie is about a group of men who are plotting to assassinate Hitler. Due to the information I have just given to you, you now know that by the end of the movie, Hitler will still be alive.Adolf Hitler committed suicide April 30, 1945. Valkyrie is about a group of men who are plotting to assassinate Hitler. Due to the information I have just given to you, you now know that by the end of the movie, Hitler will still be alive. This is a bit of a problem for Valkyrie, but this film does a relatively good job of making you forget about this conclusion. The A-list cast does a more-than-excellent job at acting, though the actual character development is extremely minimal for most characters. Valkyrie does something very smart at the beginning of the movie. We understand that the characters are all speaking German, but they speak English anyway. This eliminates the need for silly German accents, and is much less distracting. There are times when this is contradicted though, such as one scene where there is a woman singing in German, but these are forgivable. Unfortunately, my compliments must end here. Valkyrie is not an action movie. It is not placed under the action genre, and there are almost not action scenes in the movie. Valkyrie is a war movie. Does this seem contradictory to you? I was surprised by the lack of action in Valkyrie, but a lack of action isn't necessarily a bad thing if the movie is entertaining enough. Unfortunately, Valkyrie is mostly just people talking and planning. The reward for waiting through all the talking? One explosion. Really, that's all. For all the planning and talking and such, I expected a very elaborate plan to take place. The plan, though, is really not much more then setting a bomb next to Hitler during a meeting. So I ask, how did a film with such a simple plot manage to stretch to a unnecessarily long, 2 hours? It seems that more time was spent thinking of one liners, than developing an interesting plot. What was most agonizing though, was all the potential Valkyrie. Imagine if we were given flashbacks to Hitler's childhood. And what if there was some more background about the main character's marriage? More story, a little more action, and some decent character development would've gone a long way for turning this mostly mediocre film into the masterpiece it just missed out on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Vincnet&JoannaMay 19, 2009
My main issue with this film is the lack of authenticity created by the use of British and American speech by 'German Characters'. The film lacks continuity because you have all of these 'non-germans' reciting their lines My main issue with this film is the lack of authenticity created by the use of British and American speech by 'German Characters'. The film lacks continuity because you have all of these 'non-germans' reciting their lines when there should have been a larger effort for authenticity. I would have loved to sense that these were Germans conspiring against the Nazis, but I just didn't get that total feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanielM.Jan 1, 2009
A fascinating story, but not that well told by this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoetheCriticblackJan 4, 2009
Overall it was a good movie with a daring plot to kill Hitler, although it didn't show the wrong doings of the Nazis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KenSJan 6, 2009
The cast does a fairly decent job, but the movie didn't have any hope to be great. We know from the beginning that the plan will fail, so all we're doing is watching some scenes that lead up to a climax that has been spoiled for The cast does a fairly decent job, but the movie didn't have any hope to be great. We know from the beginning that the plan will fail, so all we're doing is watching some scenes that lead up to a climax that has been spoiled for everyone that's ever taken a world history class. The movie leaves you wanting to root for the traitors but you can't because you know they don't succeed. It's really all rather disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
M.AMay 20, 2009
Pretty much OK to watch, but you forget it fairly quickly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobertI.Jan 1, 2009
Undramatic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonathanCApr 11, 2009
This would have been a great movie if Tom Cruise hadn't been in it. Every other character was truly brought to life, and I actually cared and cried over their deaths. But Cruise's performance cut them movie off at the knees. While This would have been a great movie if Tom Cruise hadn't been in it. Every other character was truly brought to life, and I actually cared and cried over their deaths. But Cruise's performance cut them movie off at the knees. While I find the whole story fascinating I just couldn't bring myself to like or care about Cruise's von Stauffenberg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayHMay 14, 2009
Two big flaws: It should have gone the route of "Downfall", and been a historical drama instead of a routine thriller. Second, I could not help but think of how many many actors would have been sooooo much better cast than Tom Cruise. He is Two big flaws: It should have gone the route of "Downfall", and been a historical drama instead of a routine thriller. Second, I could not help but think of how many many actors would have been sooooo much better cast than Tom Cruise. He is not the least bit convincing. The production is excellent - good art direction, cinematography etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RandyADec 25, 2008
A movie about something so gloomy as a failed assassination attempt on one of history's most notorious genocidal maniacs should be reason enough for this movie to not do well at the box office. The problem for me is that the movie fails A movie about something so gloomy as a failed assassination attempt on one of history's most notorious genocidal maniacs should be reason enough for this movie to not do well at the box office. The problem for me is that the movie fails at feeling as though it has the strength that other great bigraphical films has had. And where it falls down is that Tom Cruise is in the presence of actual actors and no amount of PP or hype or appearances on Leno, Letterman, or Oprah can change the fact that Cruise will always be a Hollywood one-tricvk pony. He is and always will be Tom Cruise and that is the movie's biggest downfall - the casting of Tom Cruse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeyT.Dec 27, 2008
The movie was okay in my opinion but it would have been good or even excellent if someone else played Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg. Tom Cruise's acting was really annoying to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FezzwickM.Jan 11, 2009
Tom Cruise nearly ruins the film with his lukewarm performance. On the other hand, the historical accuracy is impressive (by movie standards), and Bill Nighy deserves at least a nomination for Best Supporting Actor, as his performance was Tom Cruise nearly ruins the film with his lukewarm performance. On the other hand, the historical accuracy is impressive (by movie standards), and Bill Nighy deserves at least a nomination for Best Supporting Actor, as his performance was both top quality and the only one in the movie with any real depth. Had someone other than Cruise been cast for the leading role, this film could have been a solid 8 or 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JesusH.ChristJan 11, 2009
Someone in the previous reviews stated "It was about time someone made a film on the topic." That's ironic because this is actually the third film about the Stauffenberg affair. In fact, "The Plot to Kill Hitler" was about it, and is a Someone in the previous reviews stated "It was about time someone made a film on the topic." That's ironic because this is actually the third film about the Stauffenberg affair. In fact, "The Plot to Kill Hitler" was about it, and is a fairly well-known, classic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
smijatovDec 30, 2011
The film is indeed entertaining, and very suspenseful at times. Cruise shines at what he does best - action. The issue here is that there is very little of that action that he's best at. All we are left with is the drama. Which is notThe film is indeed entertaining, and very suspenseful at times. Cruise shines at what he does best - action. The issue here is that there is very little of that action that he's best at. All we are left with is the drama. Which is not necessarily bad, but it does not quite work as well as it was anticipated. While the film is interesting enough to keep you entertained and watching, overall, it does not really succeed in feeling like a "real WW2 film," whatever that might be like. It almost feels as if it was a "what if" scenario where we see all these things that could have been, but never really happened. That is the critical flaw of the film, indeed: the fact that it feels fake, when it actually is based on reality. Nonetheless, there are some good thrills, very good production and a good (but mismanaged) cast. A good film, but noting special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
Valkyrie is filled with ample potential for an excellent look at Nazi-controlled Germany. Unfortunately between a weak screenplay and another poor performance from Tom Cruise, Valkyrie is shelved with the group of unsuccessful Holocaust films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Jan 5, 2015
Valkyrie isn't particularly lacking in aspects but it also doesn't excel in any. The costumes are great but other than that there isn't anything about it that can be considered great. It's just decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CynicalJohnsonNov 16, 2012
Not the worst film that I've seen. As a fan of History, especially the WW2 era, I found this film rather interesting. The cast did a relatively good job of playing their characters but there was no reel boom to it. Nothing that exciting orNot the worst film that I've seen. As a fan of History, especially the WW2 era, I found this film rather interesting. The cast did a relatively good job of playing their characters but there was no reel boom to it. Nothing that exciting or thrilling, it got a little boring at times. I enjoyed it a little but I doubt I'll ever watch it again. It's worth a watch if you're interested in WW2 and Nazi Germany but if not then I'd give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 29, 2014
Valkyrie, which is pretty historically accurate, has moments of sheer suspense and well-spoken dialogue, but too much of the movie is just talk, and no action. Also, the film could use a tighter editing job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Valkyrie is a very solid film.
The film is well paced and well written. The actors especially Tom Cruise do their jobs and the directing is also very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews