Magnet Releasing | Release Date: October 5, 2012
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 121 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
32
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
youlouzJun 1, 2016
Not excellent but not awful.

This movie VHS was a grotesque and edgy film that was put together well but had some major flaws. The main downside of this movie is it ends leaving you confused and not understanding what happened.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Hallow_99Mar 23, 2015
OK, part 1 of the V/H/S franshise is not the best, but also not the worst. Well, I enjoed some momets of this film, but they can't make this film good. It's an average picture, I think the sequel (V/H/S/2) is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RemJun 4, 2014
Allow me to start off by saying that the movie takes far too long to get any sort of momentum going. I was tense in many moments of the movie, but the scares ultimately fall short. This being a horror movie, that is a complete sin. But I didAllow me to start off by saying that the movie takes far too long to get any sort of momentum going. I was tense in many moments of the movie, but the scares ultimately fall short. This being a horror movie, that is a complete sin. But I did like how the 5 stories were not interwoven and just have that mysterious X-Files vibe as to nothing was going to be explained. The movie also does not hold back, but I did not enjoy its reklance on blood horror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
vKaiApr 17, 2014
Extremely fresh on the scares, definitely scarier than most of the found footage films. Although the plot remains unexplained and the camera work is sloppy, the movie delivers for the horror fans. 5.5/10 for me if judged fairly. 8.5/10 as aExtremely fresh on the scares, definitely scarier than most of the found footage films. Although the plot remains unexplained and the camera work is sloppy, the movie delivers for the horror fans. 5.5/10 for me if judged fairly. 8.5/10 as a horror fan. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
necrochaosNov 3, 2013
this was an interesting movie. This had plenty of interesting stories.

I would have given this an 8 or 9. However, the first person perspective was terrible. The shaking cam turned me off. I would have turned of the movie, but my
this was an interesting movie. This had plenty of interesting stories.

I would have given this an 8 or 9. However, the first person perspective was terrible. The shaking cam turned me off. I would have turned of the movie, but my girlfriend wanted to finish. The perspective killed the great action. Too much shaking and wondering what was showing the frame.

I hope that the sequel doesn't film in the same way. You can have a first person perspective without the shaky camera work.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Luke_McLaughlinOct 17, 2013
V/H/S takes a completely different spin on the horror genre with multiple episodic plots loosely connected through the findings of VHS tapes. Though extremely dated, even for its release date I may add, the concept is refreshing in comparisonV/H/S takes a completely different spin on the horror genre with multiple episodic plots loosely connected through the findings of VHS tapes. Though extremely dated, even for its release date I may add, the concept is refreshing in comparison to other "found footage" pieces of the past few years. Though several of the episodic plots are legitimately scary, inventive, and suspenseful, others seem to be thrown together to make V/H/S a feature length film. Had the plots connected in a more rewarding way, the main story line been explained more fully, and the question of "why?" been addressed the film would succeed on all fronts.

Story discrepancies aside, the acting is decent for low budget performers, special effects are simple yet stunning, and the use of perspective is appropriately and creatively used. For those interested in the horror genre this is an interesting watch. The payoff falls short, but the individual stories are worth a view.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AReviewsJun 17, 2013
This is a movie that is extremely different than other horror movies, it is chilling and scary, at the same time it gets funny but ridiculous, the story is unexplained a lot, it is just a group of people, who broke into an abandoned house toThis is a movie that is extremely different than other horror movies, it is chilling and scary, at the same time it gets funny but ridiculous, the story is unexplained a lot, it is just a group of people, who broke into an abandoned house to steal a V/H/S tape, but they find collection of tapes and they start watching them, the tapes are wired and way too different, it is like short horror stories, and while they are watching them, scary things happen around them, things change, this movie is a good horror, but if you are looking for an explanation and detailed plot this isn't one of this explained movies, you just watch and enjoy, and yes, change your pants form one tape to another. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BrianMcCriticMar 14, 2013
Besides the first story the rest were pointless. V/H/S is not the worst horror movie of the year, but the gimmick in this movie doesn't make the movie better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LevelSevenMar 9, 2013
This movie started on a high note, ended disappointingly. This is basically a anthology of horror shorts. The way they go in between the shorts is actually good. But unfortunately the shorts are far from good. They are entertaining but notThis movie started on a high note, ended disappointingly. This is basically a anthology of horror shorts. The way they go in between the shorts is actually good. But unfortunately the shorts are far from good. They are entertaining but not scary at all. The first short with the woman from the previews is actually really creepy and actually kinda scary, the others aren't. Also this movie has a lot of nudity so don't watch it with anyone you'd be embarrassed to watch that with like parents. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jackcarlin96Feb 10, 2013
I didn't really expect much from a film named "V/H/S" but to be honest i was surprised with the delivery. although there were a few stinkers in this film most of them were enjoyable and frequently scary. Would it be the best film of 2012? NO!I didn't really expect much from a film named "V/H/S" but to be honest i was surprised with the delivery. although there were a few stinkers in this film most of them were enjoyable and frequently scary. Would it be the best film of 2012? NO! is it close? maybe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jnova80Oct 8, 2012
Not a horrible movie by any means, but not exactly a good one either. It has it's moments, incredible special effects and kills for a low budget horror flick. But the majority of the stories fall flat and some of the acting is just plainNot a horrible movie by any means, but not exactly a good one either. It has it's moments, incredible special effects and kills for a low budget horror flick. But the majority of the stories fall flat and some of the acting is just plain awful. I give it credit for trying something different in this as good as dead gimmick of found footage movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Friskytiger81Oct 5, 2012
No, it's not different from any other horror anthology. The only satisfaction is that all the annoying hipster victims get deserving deaths. The VHS stylization is a welcome change, and the effects look decent enough to be believable, but theNo, it's not different from any other horror anthology. The only satisfaction is that all the annoying hipster victims get deserving deaths. The VHS stylization is a welcome change, and the effects look decent enough to be believable, but the whole film approaches a campy horror film than a snuff film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews