Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: August 15, 2008
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 232 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
166
Mixed:
36
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
If you're looking to continue traveling the world with Woody Allen--Vicky Cristina Barcelona is your film. VCB is your film, regardless. Allen has outdone himself with complex characters and complex relationships. Scarlett Johansson isIf you're looking to continue traveling the world with Woody Allen--Vicky Cristina Barcelona is your film. VCB is your film, regardless. Allen has outdone himself with complex characters and complex relationships. Scarlett Johansson is wonderful alongside a fiery Penelope Cruz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
I had this movie borrowed from a colleague, and decided to watch it. I've liked most of Woody Allen's newest movies (Match Point and Cassandra's Dream), and Scarlett Johansson is never a downer either.

The narration in a movie really set
I had this movie borrowed from a colleague, and decided to watch it. I've liked most of Woody Allen's newest movies (Match Point and Cassandra's Dream), and Scarlett Johansson is never a downer either.

The narration in a movie really set it apart from most films I've seen, but not necessarily in a good way. Frankly, the narration really threw me off; whenever you started to get into the movie, the scene changed and there was that voice again. You were told what was going on instead of figuring it out for yourself.

The plot of the movie in itself moved in plunges; the narration set up a scene, and then it slowed down again. The film wasn't exactly boring, but sometimes it felt like nothing was going on. It was missing something meaningful. The little pieces did not create one, big image after all.

While the actors were pretty good, in the beginning of the film they seemed very stiff and unreal. Like they weren't really in the scene at all.

Not my favorite movie of all time, but not a bad one either. It had a good story to tell, leaving the end rather open for possibilities. That, of course, made the film feel sort of inconclusive and pointless; they were back to square one after all that trouble. Perhaps the point of the movie was to show that no matter what, a human nature never truly changes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Gamer147Jan 31, 2014
Damn. Not bad, didn't think I'd like a Romantic Drama movie, but I enjoyed it thoroughly.
A lot of the movies I watch seem to drag on at some points, some are tedious to watch at some parts. This one doesn't have that, and that's precisely
Damn. Not bad, didn't think I'd like a Romantic Drama movie, but I enjoyed it thoroughly.
A lot of the movies I watch seem to drag on at some points, some are tedious to watch at some parts. This one doesn't have that, and that's precisely why I believe it deserves around 8.5 (closer to 9 though).
Woody Allen is really good at character development, and the actors really did a good job of conveying Woody's characters.
Recommended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
duko_goFeb 3, 2013
this movie should be watch as (Annie Hall 2), Allen ended the earlier by describing relationships "They’re totally irrational and crazy and absurd", and after many years he completed his idea and made it crystal clear, and now I can see thethis movie should be watch as (Annie Hall 2), Allen ended the earlier by describing relationships "They’re totally irrational and crazy and absurd", and after many years he completed his idea and made it crystal clear, and now I can see the whole artistic work of Woody Allen as a masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochAug 5, 2012
Woody Allen has made a fantastically played romantic drama which besides also is a wonderful homage to Barcelona. The end may let you think the whole movie is useless, but that is definitely not true! It's just extremely beautiful. One and aWoody Allen has made a fantastically played romantic drama which besides also is a wonderful homage to Barcelona. The end may let you think the whole movie is useless, but that is definitely not true! It's just extremely beautiful. One and a half hours are very good spent with this work. It's strange and let's you think about the meaning of love, like it was supposed to be. A perfect cast, wonderful pictures of this gorgeous city and an amazing soundtrack - but there are also the bothersome voice-over and the confusing ending. But all in all this is a very good movie for almost everyone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Feb 8, 2012
Vicky Cristina Barcelona is one of the strangest movies of Woody Allen, because it is extremely artistic, also the point of view towards art is unique and not influenced by the consumerist society. So if art is out of influence, humanVicky Cristina Barcelona is one of the strangest movies of Woody Allen, because it is extremely artistic, also the point of view towards art is unique and not influenced by the consumerist society. So if art is out of influence, human relations work in the same way, that is why the affairs between two, three and even four people are normal and accepted.
Another remarkable thing is that the character of Woody Allen, who is well expressed in Annie Hall and Zelig, jumps from person to person; the first in line is Cristina, because she is looking for true love knowing what she does not want and settling for nothing; second we have Juan Antonio, who is trying to defend his concept of art and balancing it with his relationships; third it is Vicky who is doubting about her marriage and husband; then we see Maria Elena, she wants to get back what she had, no matter what she must do; finally it is Judy, who tries to fulfill her dreams using other people.
This film has amazing performances, but the one of Penelope Cruz is the most outstanding, the academy award for best supporting actress is definitely well deserved. Also the script is one of the bests from this director. All this is surrounded by peculiar music and the beautiful environment of Spain.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
PeterWhatAug 31, 2011
I fell in love with this movie. I fell in love with the story, the passion and the acting. The direction is really good and the story too. Rebecca Hall, Scarlett Johansson, Javier Bardem and super super Penélope Cruz all actedI fell in love with this movie. I fell in love with the story, the passion and the acting. The direction is really good and the story too. Rebecca Hall, Scarlett Johansson, Javier Bardem and super super Penélope Cruz all acted really great. All the bad comments go to hell... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BonesMay 25, 2011
A well-made comedy directed by the man who proved once again to be a genius - Woody Allen.
Penelope's performance is brilliant! and the movie had a lot of funny moments.
but all of that is not enough to distract us from the cheesy script,
A well-made comedy directed by the man who proved once again to be a genius - Woody Allen.
Penelope's performance is brilliant! and the movie had a lot of funny moments.
but all of that is not enough to distract us from the cheesy script, cheep-looking movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GuavoonApr 18, 2011
Amusing, airy, fun, and incredibly artistic, Vicky Cristina Barcelona is beautiful in every possible way. This movie is Woody Allen's true masterpiece. The screenplay, direction, acting, cinematography, music, and location came together inAmusing, airy, fun, and incredibly artistic, Vicky Cristina Barcelona is beautiful in every possible way. This movie is Woody Allen's true masterpiece. The screenplay, direction, acting, cinematography, music, and location came together in a beautiful, remarkable, revolutionary way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoannaNov 12, 2009
Wise! Woody was so wise when he created these characters in these situations. I don't think a young person will understand the poignant point, but, I surely do. Cruz in her neurosis was like my alter ego. I related to the characters, Wise! Woody was so wise when he created these characters in these situations. I don't think a young person will understand the poignant point, but, I surely do. Cruz in her neurosis was like my alter ego. I related to the characters, the scenery, the message, all of it. And I laughed aloud at the hysteria. Wonderful and wise! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisaAug 9, 2009
I really enjoyed this film. It was simply romantic & funny . The actors beautiful and I liked that it did not have sweaty sex scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CarlosF.Jul 18, 2009
It's a film to love or hate because it's a very complex film, reflecting the complexity of human relationships. Johanson and Cruz are amasing here. And the way Barcelona is shot is visually beautiful. Woody Allen is a master.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SumitD.Jul 3, 2009
An excellent film about how we love. The romanticism of picturesque locales and beautiful people in a film that, despite being sent in the 21st echos an almost Renaissance-esque devotion to cultural achievement and academic pursuits. The An excellent film about how we love. The romanticism of picturesque locales and beautiful people in a film that, despite being sent in the 21st echos an almost Renaissance-esque devotion to cultural achievement and academic pursuits. The film ends on a slightly melancholy note but on the whole is an extremely satisfying picture. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlaD.Apr 23, 2009
Great, clear, funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ClifCMar 9, 2009
Art, pure art. Simple art. A demonstration of feelings and relationships's complexity. Penelope Cruz's performance is a standout performance. The narration is weak sometimes. But the movie doesn't lose its gentleness.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
EvanWMar 4, 2009
An overall good film. The setting itself becomes a character with rich portraits of Spain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jasperLFeb 16, 2009
This was great. Woody's back to his best. The dynamics of the relationships between the leading characters was nicely judged and Mr Bardem and Penelope Cruz were outstanding. It had a lovely continental and arthouse feel.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BecquerM.Jan 31, 2009
Unlike many triangular-love films, Vicky Cristina Barcelona has achieved the important feat of making a point and few (perhaps only those who have lived in Spain) have the capacity to understand the degree of perfection achieved by Penelope Unlike many triangular-love films, Vicky Cristina Barcelona has achieved the important feat of making a point and few (perhaps only those who have lived in Spain) have the capacity to understand the degree of perfection achieved by Penelope Cruz's portrayal of Maria Elena, the half psychotic, half genius artist who teeters on the brink of insanity; she makes this movie, and for that reason alone, this movie should be regarded as Woody Allen's best. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BartS.Jan 27, 2009
Gripping, well written and well casted. Overall excellent!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
VerminDeathstackJan 27, 2009
Thinking about this movie after seeing it, I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.D.Jan 26, 2009
One of the best films I've ever seen. Catches very well a lot of human experiences and feelings and it's very nicely done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayHJan 18, 2009
Woody Allen is a genius when it comes to character development. That is what makes his films so rich and interesting. He ingeniously weaves the characters together and it makes the story fascinating. Excellent performances, particularly Woody Allen is a genius when it comes to character development. That is what makes his films so rich and interesting. He ingeniously weaves the characters together and it makes the story fascinating. Excellent performances, particularly Penelope Cruz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyOJan 15, 2009
Come on guys! Why all the moaning? This is a funny, funny film. Lots of little homages to European film (Jules et Jim, etc) but at no stage does Woody's respect and fondness for film history overwhelm the entertainment. And the star Come on guys! Why all the moaning? This is a funny, funny film. Lots of little homages to European film (Jules et Jim, etc) but at no stage does Woody's respect and fondness for film history overwhelm the entertainment. And the star quality on show here is a delight. In particular, Javier Bardem is an absolute hoot, but everyone else is in there having a great time as well. It is an ensemble show through and through. Not perfect - the film is made on a tight budget and sometimes it shows - but this is so much better written than every other American comedy this year (apart from Burn After Reading) that it is embarrassing. I chuckled about all sorts of elements of this film for a week afterwards. Great fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EnriqueP.Jan 12, 2009
Overall it is a great movie! Woody Allen does a very good job in this romantic and extraordinary movie taking place in the beautifulcity of Barcelona. Penelope Cruz does a great job and truely needs to have an Oscar nomination. The story is Overall it is a great movie! Woody Allen does a very good job in this romantic and extraordinary movie taking place in the beautifulcity of Barcelona. Penelope Cruz does a great job and truely needs to have an Oscar nomination. The story is great and very well handed. It is fun and good to watch! Now, Scarlett Johansson's character is so boring actually! For being Allen's favourite, he really puts her in the second place. She does not shine in any part of the filma nd that's sad. The beginning is not as strong as well as the end. The middle point is awsome! You must watch the film because it is one of the best movies of the eyar nd one of the ebst comedies of the era!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnSDec 18, 2008
Fun exciting, portrays real questions that people have about real relationships.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillN.Nov 28, 2008
Same great discussion, new venue.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronL.Sep 21, 2008
The best woody allen film in many years, the writing feels like his old films, but wiser. Fun, sexy, surprising, witty, well worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Sep 18, 2008
In my 40 years of movie going there's been two constants that are a dependable annual reason to remind me why I love the movies - The Oscars and a film by Woody Allen. Sometimes I'm not happy with the Oscars, I've never been In my 40 years of movie going there's been two constants that are a dependable annual reason to remind me why I love the movies - The Oscars and a film by Woody Allen. Sometimes I'm not happy with the Oscars, I've never been unhappy with Woody. He's made a few classics and many great films and the rest are just very good. Vicki Cristina Barcelona is a great film and Spain is the perfect location in which Woody makes a city another character in his film the same way he canonized NYC for all those years. Looks like this will be another year when Woody and the Oscars will be together again!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AlanG.Aug 28, 2008
YES, Male fantasy, but it makes senset hat women should reallly get along and support one another; what woman really wants a full-time man anyway ? IF other American Writers were authoring, the ending might have been more formulaic and less YES, Male fantasy, but it makes senset hat women should reallly get along and support one another; what woman really wants a full-time man anyway ? IF other American Writers were authoring, the ending might have been more formulaic and less believable; but perhaps more satisfying and with slightly higher audience reviews/satisfaction. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomH.Aug 24, 2008
Quite entertaining with excellent performances by all, especially Rebecca Hall. The narration was the only part I didn't like, but you sort of get used to it by the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Aug 24, 2008
This movie was throughly engaging from the first moment to the last. He writes a diverse cast of characters with such virtuosity. The cast is spot on perfection. And though I was looking forward to seeing it from the bouncy title and great This movie was throughly engaging from the first moment to the last. He writes a diverse cast of characters with such virtuosity. The cast is spot on perfection. And though I was looking forward to seeing it from the bouncy title and great cast, I was not prepared for what I saw and how deeply it reverberated. The melancholy story is punctuated by lots of laughs. If you have ever liked a Woody Allen film...GO! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnP.Aug 24, 2008
It is profound creative genius which combines cast and script toward the result of Scarlet Johansen kissing Penelope Cruz. There is not an Oscar category for this. But there should be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JadeI.Aug 21, 2008
Wow! As much as I defend Woody and try to find encouraging signs of regained competency when he misses the mark, I have to admit, to my shame, I didn
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeR.Aug 21, 2008
Woody Allen can still create a film that weaves between comedy and drama and give the viewer something to retain when the lights go on
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
IqbalF.Aug 20, 2008
Woody Allen's best in years with a very refreshing set of themes and dialogue among the Spaniards. A very poignant story that's also funny. What a pleasant surprise!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
CasperAug 20, 2008
Perhaps it's only flaw (and the same that beset Cassandra's Dream) is that lately Allen has a tendency to send all of his thoughts out to character's incapable of truly expressing them. In other words, on occasion, Perhaps it's only flaw (and the same that beset Cassandra's Dream) is that lately Allen has a tendency to send all of his thoughts out to character's incapable of truly expressing them. In other words, on occasion, they're simply offshoot personalities of Allen's own worldview & set of expressions, resulting in dialogue that seems a little too intellectual or esteemed for some of the personalities involved. Now, Cassandra's Dream didn't suffer from highbrow dialogue but rather that it had working class stiffs using Allen's own ideas in less educated language. Don't get me wrong, when he reigns it in as he did in his earlier work or features believable upper-class representatives, then I can totally buy it. Here there's a few times, usually involving the straight-edged grad student where I feel the characters would be over-reaching in order to utilize such lofty language. Other than that, it's probably his strongest overall work since Husbands & Wives. There's great cinematography, a well-balanced story (NEVER one of Allen's shortcomings) and fabulous acting all around. Go check it out and try and ignore the forced lines in the first half hour. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
VanceD.Aug 18, 2008
One of Woody's best in years. The hopefulness of Hannah and her Sisters meets the cynicism of Husbands and Wives.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KRAug 18, 2008
Very confused as to why The New York Times score is a 70 even though it's only movie highly recommended by one critic at The Times. Really enjoyed this movie from start to finish. I think it also dealt very well with the struggle to Very confused as to why The New York Times score is a 70 even though it's only movie highly recommended by one critic at The Times. Really enjoyed this movie from start to finish. I think it also dealt very well with the struggle to find and maintain passion versus love. Woody was smart to stop making movies in New York. He had really gotten into a rut. Although it's sad that a lot of people won't see this movie simply because they hate woody as a person. My response always is would you not read a great book or not listen to great song just because you object to the artist's personal life? Would you not go see a Bruce Willis movie, for example, if you're a Democrat since Willis is a die hard Republican? Anyway... Woody does it again. Now if only Scarlett Johansson can learn to act. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JG.Aug 17, 2008
Loved it! Kept me interested the entire time... made me want to move to spain :)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamieS.Aug 17, 2008
Well crafted, highly watchable, best character development I've seen in quite some time. Enjoyed the narration throughout... kept the movie flowing... more movies should employ that simple technique. But towards the end some events were Well crafted, highly watchable, best character development I've seen in quite some time. Enjoyed the narration throughout... kept the movie flowing... more movies should employ that simple technique. But towards the end some events were unneeded and confused the story line. All n all, Rebecca Hall was the unexpected star, she's hawt in a repressed, smoldering kind of way, while Scarlett Johansson was boorish this time around. In sum, worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JW.W.Aug 17, 2008
This film is outstanding! A must see for all ages.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
liliJAug 16, 2008
This is one of the best movies lately with astonishing performances by most of the cast
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
jeffhAug 15, 2008
A wonderfully written and acted tale of love.Especially Rebecca Hall who is mesmerizingly beautiful and talented.Say what you want about Woody but he is a master of dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackFriedmanAug 15, 2008
There isn't anyone who can depict neurotic, paranoid, erotic characters like Woody Allen. IMO he's also the women's director. This romantic humorous spicy comedy isn't new material, but it's mood and spirit makes for There isn't anyone who can depict neurotic, paranoid, erotic characters like Woody Allen. IMO he's also the women's director. This romantic humorous spicy comedy isn't new material, but it's mood and spirit makes for a satisfying film. Penelope Cruz doesn't appear until the hour mark, but lifts the film in her spitfire tongue to a whole new level. I'm sure there will be some consideration for a Best Supporting Actress Oscar nomination. Rebecca Hall looks like a rising star.....perhaps Woody's new muse..... and maybe the next Annie Hall. IMO the weak link is Scarlett Johansson. And sorry to say Patricia Clarkson...a favorite and queen of indies....in a minor role. I liked the use of narration, since it moves the film along at a nice pace. It's not Hannah or Annie Hall, but it's a pleasure to see Woody's standard style.. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MauriceAug 14, 2008
One of Woody's best!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
YvesMortonAug 13, 2008
Unforgettable film. One of the best works by Woody Allen. Superb Penélope Cruz.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
chessbAug 13, 2008
Rarely do the emotions of quiet people get as much interesting attention as the emotions of the extroverts. This film lavishes insight on them both, wonderfully and wittily. Oh yes, and lots of pretty people having sex. Beautiful Rarely do the emotions of quiet people get as much interesting attention as the emotions of the extroverts. This film lavishes insight on them both, wonderfully and wittily. Oh yes, and lots of pretty people having sex. Beautiful architecture, beautiful shots of Barcelona and surrounding countryside. In my fantasies, I now live in the artist's studio in this film, with or without Javier Bardem. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful