Volver

Volver Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Three generations of women survive the east wind, fire, insanity, superstition and even death by means of goodness, lies and boundless vitality. (Sony Pictures Classics)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    The great Spanish director's fourth triumph in a row--following "All About My Mother," "Talk to Her" and "Bad Education"--Volver (which means "coming back") flows effortlessly between peril and poignancy, the real and the surreal, even life and death.
  2. Raimunda believes that dirty linen should be washed at home: Thank goodness Almodóvar hangs some of it up on the screen to dry.
  3. 90
    Part noir-comedy, part ghost story, but it's mostly a potent reflection on how where we come from shapes us, in ways we can't understand until we've been away for a long, long while.
  4. As down-to-earth as a ghost story gets.
  5. Cruz is tough and sexy as the no-nonsense Raimunda and she's being deservedly talked up for an Oscar nomination in a tight best actress year.
  6. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    80
    It's hard to say if Volver is a great film -- hard because every woman and girl in it is so damned endearing (the men are either impediments or bystanders to the real business of life) -- but safe to say it's right up there with Mr. Almodóvar's best.
  7. Reviewed by: Graham Rae
    30
    Speaking as a reviled straight male, I would say that the only true saving grace about this film is Penelope Cruz's performance.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 70
  2. Negative: 7 out of 70
  1. LuisG.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Cruz finally won me over. She conveys so much poise and here she shines. Great ensemble, Almodovar really knows his woman characters a true Cruz finally won me over. She conveys so much poise and here she shines. Great ensemble, Almodovar really knows his woman characters a true male feminist. Cruz should of won the academy award. Expand
  2. davido.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    A Maestro´s masterpice, a colored definition of the women courage.
  3. ScottS.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Wonderful movie. Funny, sad, with strong female characters and great acting. Penelope Cruz is fantastic in this.
  4. FrennB
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    The guy's done it again. After a pretty weak "Bad education", which made me remember why I usually go to watch his movies in The guy's done it again. After a pretty weak "Bad education", which made me remember why I usually go to watch his movies in apprehension, Almodovar gives us yet another master piece. I tend not to go for the mixing of ghosts, and the unreal, with real life, but this movie pulls it off brilliantly. Cruz is, besides to-die-for gorgeous, at her very best acting level, in a performance brimming with talenet and "justesse". And the rest of the cast does not lag behind. A joy to watch, a must-see, even for those who are not fans of this director/actress. Believe me, you won't regret it. Expand
  5. May 30, 2016
    9
    Another great movie from my fave writer/director Pedro Almodovar. His movies are always so quirky and engrossing.

    Watch it online for free:
    Another great movie from my fave writer/director Pedro Almodovar. His movies are always so quirky and engrossing.

    Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-15e2-Volver-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  6. BillyS.
    Jan 13, 2007
    8
    Though I don't consider Volver to be Almodovar's best film to date, it is easily his most accessible. Volver is the closest he will Though I don't consider Volver to be Almodovar's best film to date, it is easily his most accessible. Volver is the closest he will probably ever come to a "conventional Hollywood" comedy. With an ensemble cast of mostly all actresses lead by the Radiant Penelope Cruz, Almodovar has written his sharpest, funniest screenplay yet, holding back on his usual outrageous elements in order to let the talented ladies of the cast work their magic with his words. This is clearly Cruz's best performance to date, and her love and trust for Pedro is evident in every frame, the same holds true for Carmen Maura, Yohana Cobo, Blanca Portillo and Lola Duenas who are all given ample screen time to shine as well. You can count on seeing the names Penelope Cruz and Pedro Almodovar on your Oscar Pool Ballots for 2006!! Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2011
    0
    Another wonderful film from the Spanish maestro, wonderful female characters which you wam to, Cruz is excellent.

    You really care about the
    Another wonderful film from the Spanish maestro, wonderful female characters which you wam to, Cruz is excellent.

    You really care about the characters, funny, eccentric, simply charming cinema at it's best!
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.