Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Who decides what is normal? A unique love story about friendship and a view of the world from different perspectives, Waiting for Forever explores the connections people make in the face of life's changes. Best friends while they were growing up, Emma and Will lost touch a long time ago—asWho decides what is normal? A unique love story about friendship and a view of the world from different perspectives, Waiting for Forever explores the connections people make in the face of life's changes. Best friends while they were growing up, Emma and Will lost touch a long time ago—as far as she knows. To Will, Emma never stopped being the most important person in his life. Believing them to be forever linked, he goes wherever she goes. Will doesn’t have a home, a car, or a “real” job. He survives on his talent as a juggler and entertainer—talents honed through years of showing off for Emma. When her father gets sick, Emma returns to their hometown, trying to leave behind her complicated love life and failing career as a TV actress. As its characters face love, death and their own preconceptions, Waiting for Forever questions the realities of life. (Freestyle Releasing) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 10 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Feb 2, 2011
    80
    A refreshingly pure, honest and original love story, Waiting For Forever is one from the heart with superb performances from a talented cast.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Feb 1, 2011
    40
    Strangely unaware of its overt creepiness.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Feb 3, 2011
    40
    I felt tentative stirrings of admiration for an indie movie that so aggressively flouts the hard-shelled conventions of romantic comedy. But more often than not, I felt suffocated by the gaseous sentimentality and lightheadedness of a story that drops in subplots that it can't begin to develop.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 1, 2011
    30
    It takes too long for the story to come around to the fact that Will is just plain nuts - and even then, he gets over it in a heartbeat.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Feb 5, 2011
    25
    A suggestion to screenwriters: Stop telling stalkers that their passion isn't misplaced and that the girl will come around in the end. It is, and she won't. Just give it up.
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 4, 2011
    25
    A drippy romance that makes Nicholas Sparks look like Leo Tolstoy.
  7. Reviewed by: Lisa Rosmon
    Feb 1, 2011
    20
    Maybe it's this soapy saga's cocktail of the worst of both the Lifetime network and self-consciously quirky indie cinema, but the strong supporting cast (including Jenkins and Blythe Danner) looks downright queasy in every frame.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    Though movie might seem a bit akward, weird and it certanly has a different perspective on what a true love is like, it's also well developedThough movie might seem a bit akward, weird and it certanly has a different perspective on what a true love is like, it's also well developed with believable performance. Expand
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    I'll be honest, I only bothered watching this movie because of Rachel Bilson. However, it was not at all the chick flick I expected it to be.I'll be honest, I only bothered watching this movie because of Rachel Bilson. However, it was not at all the chick flick I expected it to be. Actually, I would say that it's not a chick flick at all. What it is is one of the saddest movies I've ever seen. Not sad in the "Hachi" or "Green Mile" sense where it's a tear-jerker because it had incredibly sad scenes. It's more sad in a depressing and realistic way where the foundation of the movie is essentially how life kinda sucks and is very hard and isn't all "peachy". Is there a love story mixed in? Sure, but there's a love story mixed into a lot of movies, TV shows, and even video games so I don't think "love story = chick flick" automatically. I thought the acting was solid, the story was very original and well told, and the development of the characters and plot was outstanding. The story was incredibly slow and I thought the ending of the movie went against what the purpose that the plot was all about so they kind of sold out there but it was still a solid movie. It's not great by any means of the imagination and most people might not have the patience to allow themselves to get wrapped up into the film but it's a much better movie than all of those soulless critics made it out to be. Collapse

Trailers