Lions Gate Films | Release Date: October 7, 2005
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
14
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ScottMay 21, 2007
This is a movie in which you have to work in a restaruant to fully enjoy it.. its so realistic. If you have never worked in a restaruant, you'll be disturbed but the truth is, this stuff actually happens.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JustinOct 9, 2005
I dont think that most of you even watched the same movie that I did. Being a fan of Ryan Reynolds' delivery, although it seems forced, its so awesome, i may be a little biased. But i thought that it was hilarious. I think you guys who I dont think that most of you even watched the same movie that I did. Being a fan of Ryan Reynolds' delivery, although it seems forced, its so awesome, i may be a little biased. But i thought that it was hilarious. I think you guys who gave it zeros probably arent the kind of people who like this type of humor in the first place. I know its not the most witty and clever stuff ever, but it gets the job done. I think it is the third funniest movie this summer behind two hugely funny ones, 40 year old virgin and wedding crashers. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MathewD.Oct 12, 2005
I think anyone in the restaurant business can appreciate the accuracy of this film...i'm not kidding--some of the events that transpire have happened to me verbatim. i can see how the humor and message is lost (YES, there IS a I think anyone in the restaurant business can appreciate the accuracy of this film...i'm not kidding--some of the events that transpire have happened to me verbatim. i can see how the humor and message is lost (YES, there IS a message--or did you not notice that the industry makes people want to drink and drug themselves stupid??) the fact is, if you haven't lived it, the concept is foreign...this movie is a lot better than the critics say it is! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HenryL.Oct 7, 2005
Hilarious! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpencerD.Jul 10, 2006
I guess this is one of those love-it-or-hate-it movies. Don't go in expecting a work of art and genius... expect a pretty realistic show of regular people who work at a restaraunt. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.Mar 4, 2007
As a former Bartender/waiter I have to say that this movie is spot on at displaying the lifestyle of those not lucky enough to get paid big money to criticise something they don't understand. I feel sorry for those critics and to be As a former Bartender/waiter I have to say that this movie is spot on at displaying the lifestyle of those not lucky enough to get paid big money to criticise something they don't understand. I feel sorry for those critics and to be honest anyone giving this movie a bad review is portrayed in the movie as the woman who cant get her order right. It's scary how true to life this movie actually is, and I cant believe people dont understand that the crap they have to go through is so real. Power to the waiters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyOct 15, 2005
While I have never worked in the chain restaurant business in any capacity, I was nevertheless a cashier, at one time in my life, at a major retail outlet. Thus, unlike many of the inanely ignorant folks who've bashed "Waiting . . .", I While I have never worked in the chain restaurant business in any capacity, I was nevertheless a cashier, at one time in my life, at a major retail outlet. Thus, unlike many of the inanely ignorant folks who've bashed "Waiting . . .", I am able to appreciate both the slacker-based comedy and low-level humor. In addition, the ensamble cast -- Ryan Reynolds ("Two Guys, A Girl, & A Pizza Place"), Justin Long ("Ed"), John Francis Daley ("Freaks & Geeks"), Chi McBride ("Boston Public"), Luis Guzman ("Luis"), Anna Faris ("Scary Movie"), Andy Milonakis ("The Andy Milonakis Show"), Dane Cook ("Comedy Central Presents: Dane Cook"), Vanessa Lengies ("American Dreams"), et al. -- in this film is nothing short of amazing; there is no denying it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Oct 20, 2005
In Wes Craven's current Red Eye, the customer service attitude presented by Jayma Mays' endearingly beleaguered hotel clerk can be summed up as, "Sir and ma'am, I'm really, really trying hard to do the very best job I In Wes Craven's current Red Eye, the customer service attitude presented by Jayma Mays' endearingly beleaguered hotel clerk can be summed up as, "Sir and ma'am, I'm really, really trying hard to do the very best job I can. Could I possibly ask you to maybe slow down and lower your voices just a little so I can get caught up? Please?" In Waiting..., on the other hand, Shenaniganz' waiter Ryan Reynolds' philosophy is more like, "Better treat me and my crew nice...unless you want me to take your steak back to the kitchen and have the cook put a little bit...uh, shall we say, too much of himself into it!" (Unsavory, yes...but it beats the Flightplan airline crew's "Hey, some woman lost her kid! Let's have a quickie in the closet!") A definite beneficiary of The Great R-Rated Comedy Resurgence of 2005, led by Wedding Crashers and The 40-Year-Old Virgin, Waiting...is barely a sprig of parsley on those films' ample plates: it's unapologetically sexist, homophobic, slides past sophomoric in the first 10 minutes and WAY past childish in the next 15...and with the exception of the attempt to imitate Brian DePalma's endless camera tracks midway through (with speeded-up motion thrown in), the photography makes some of the entries on America's Funniest Home Videos look like Caleb Deschanael ghosted them. But the funnybone wants what it wants, and this rude, crude 1980s throwback succeeds in the only way that really matters for movies like this: it made me carefully time sips of my Diet Pepsi for fear I'd spit it out all over the couple in front of me. In short, it's damn funny, but here's a litmus test for you: if you rolled on the floor during the girls' shower scene in Porky's, waste no time buying a ticket; if not, Elizabethtown is probably playing down the hall. Criticisms that Waiting...is virtually plotless don't fly for two reasons: like Thank God It's Friday and Car Wash, it's a one-day-in-the-life-of movie, and besides, National Lampoon's Animal House, the granddaddy and all -time champion of this genre, didn't have any storyline either (other than Us/The Deltas vs. Them/The Omegas), and it's still great. Obviously this is no Animal House either, but many of the running gags really work, the actors (including a surprisingly up- to- speed Reynolds, old pros Chi McBride, Luis Guzman and Wendie Malick, a hysterically funny Alanna Ubach as a prime anger-management candidate, and David Koechner--who looks and sounds a lot like Larry Miller but has better comic timing--as the restaurant's alternately villainous, clueless and pathetic manager) help immeasurably, and director Rob McKettrick's script even includes some pertinent and even poignant observations reminiscent of Dilbert and Office Space. And if the antics of Shenaniganz' staff manages to convince a few audience members to spend their Friday night cash in a good old-fashioned mom-and-pop bar and grill rather than a corporate monstrosity like Bennigan's, TGIF's or Applebee's, McKettrick will have done more than just make an above-average raunchcom: he'll have performed a public service. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahOct 7, 2005
I continuously cracked up through the whole movie! We are still laughing and retelling the jokes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpongeeeK.Mar 5, 2006
This movie has a no holds barred comedic style that leaves no room for soft, mushy stuff. The pacing of it is great, the writing is even better, the acting just on point, and the overall this movie rocks! If you're offended by it, then This movie has a no holds barred comedic style that leaves no room for soft, mushy stuff. The pacing of it is great, the writing is even better, the acting just on point, and the overall this movie rocks! If you're offended by it, then you just may be to soft for the dark comedy in this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenOct 18, 2005
Anybody that takes this movie seriously is missing the point. It is Juvenile, Stupid, and Pointless.....and that's why its so funny! Loved it and will DEFINITELY buy the DVD!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulF.Oct 6, 2005
Saw this at the premiere - 650 people, including me, thought it was hysterical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelB.Oct 9, 2005
I think most people dismissed this as 90 minutes of bad gay jokes, and, in doing so, missed the point completely. This movie is really about the kind of relationships that are created between young people who work together in a service I think most people dismissed this as 90 minutes of bad gay jokes, and, in doing so, missed the point completely. This movie is really about the kind of relationships that are created between young people who work together in a service industry occupation. On the other hand, if you haven't worked in a setting like this, you very possibly could hate this movie. My only complaint with this film is that it was too short. There are a few characters who could have been given more focus and maybe more closure at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DouglasH.Feb 12, 2006
This movie was funny and sick at the same time. Ryan F'ing Rocks!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
silkwormOct 11, 2005
Its crude humor. it aims low... blah blah blah... but its still funny. its a frickin riot. movies like "rushmore" approach comedy in a very sophisticated manner and while that all well and good, sometimes you just want good old lockerroom Its crude humor. it aims low... blah blah blah... but its still funny. its a frickin riot. movies like "rushmore" approach comedy in a very sophisticated manner and while that all well and good, sometimes you just want good old lockerroom humor and this movie has it in spades. i saw it before it came out and my first comments after the movie were that i could guarantee that it would get slaughtered in the press, not because its a bad movie because the critics are old and cant relate to today's humor. its crude, its outrageous, its shocking and its absolutely hilarious. there are no boundaries here. everyone and everything is a target and thats what makes good humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeyGOct 14, 2005
This movie was damn funny! Maybe because it's not the same pace and style as all the other crap that is labeled as comedy these days, that's why people don't like it. It's refreshingly realistic and if people don't This movie was damn funny! Maybe because it's not the same pace and style as all the other crap that is labeled as comedy these days, that's why people don't like it. It's refreshingly realistic and if people don't like the way the characters act and speak, then they really haven't been around a lot. Check it out and make up your own mind, but don't go eat afterwards. Wait 'til the next day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillS.Oct 19, 2006
Ever worked in a restaurant? Then you'll appreciate this film more than anyone else. Very entertaining, and I've experienced most of it when working in a kitchen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
C.LawrenceC.May 13, 2006
Man, people seem to hate this movie, it's a perfect bad movie, I was more surprised than dissappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
istoleyourpopeOct 19, 2010
How it got so many low scores is beyond me. The movie is fantastic. Sure, there are plenty of dick jokes and adolescent humor. But since when is that a bad thing? If it makes you laugh, then it's doing what it's supposed to. There haveHow it got so many low scores is beyond me. The movie is fantastic. Sure, there are plenty of dick jokes and adolescent humor. But since when is that a bad thing? If it makes you laugh, then it's doing what it's supposed to. There have been many gross out comedies that are considered legendary. But as soon as one is made in modern times, it's "cheap". Ryan Reynolds as Monty is perfect. Justin Long is hilarious. Everything is great about this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Waiting is hilarious! It took me a while to get this movie, because I thought it was just another overrated trendy comedy and because of Andy Milonakis, who is the single most disgusting creature God has ever put on this planet. The movie isWaiting is hilarious! It took me a while to get this movie, because I thought it was just another overrated trendy comedy and because of Andy Milonakis, who is the single most disgusting creature God has ever put on this planet. The movie is truly hysterical, but it lacks any real storyline. It's just people working in a restaurant and what happens during a busy shift. While the lines, characters, and game they play are hilarious, that's all there is to this film. It has no real story, discernable plot, or substance to it. It's the perfect movie to watch if you just wanna sit down and watch something stupid that you don't really have to think about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
metalupyourassApr 17, 2015
Never go into a movie taking it serious, i loved this flick i've been watching it alot, my preference though are independent goofy movies. (pretty much what this movie is). just sit back and relax to this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews