Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2007
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 115 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
77
Mixed:
19
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JimmyS.Jan 6, 2008
What's the message of this little movie? - Motherhood is the only way to exist for a woman. Very narrow-minded, very conservative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GrazziY.Mar 10, 2008
One of the very worst movies I've seen in years. The dialogue is beyond ludicrous, unless everyone in small southern towns cannot master basic grammar (wrong double negatives abound!) Everything is foreshadowed to such a ludicrous One of the very worst movies I've seen in years. The dialogue is beyond ludicrous, unless everyone in small southern towns cannot master basic grammar (wrong double negatives abound!) Everything is foreshadowed to such a ludicrous degree that you can't believe it when it actually HAPPENS JUST THAT WAY. And, in the center of it all is a strains-credulity-completely, illicit affair between a pregnant woman and her married doctor, played for laughs. Andy Griffith is superb; Keri Russell, well, let's just say this was not the role she was born to play. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkM.Dec 7, 2007
I'm amazed at the high marks - this movie is quite bad. My wife 1/3 way through states "I'm waiting for someone who can act" and really that sums this up. Personally, I thought the major problems were with tone, with ill-conceived I'm amazed at the high marks - this movie is quite bad. My wife 1/3 way through states "I'm waiting for someone who can act" and really that sums this up. Personally, I thought the major problems were with tone, with ill-conceived flourishes of music and sensual pie-making collages throughout. Try "Junebug" if you are looking for a small town dramedy or "Hairspray" for 10x the fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GeneJun 10, 2007
I haven't walked out on a movie in a long time, but I did on this one. Nothing rings true. Plot points are beaten over the head with cliche music. It might make a passable Hallmark movie of the week. Might.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShannonP.Jan 10, 2008
Very over-rated. Also, very inauthentic unless one thinks most people from small towns are dumb. The script is based on the central premise that people are essentially bad, especially men and children, but fortunately is too disconnected Very over-rated. Also, very inauthentic unless one thinks most people from small towns are dumb. The script is based on the central premise that people are essentially bad, especially men and children, but fortunately is too disconnected from anything real to be that depressing. Besides that, to warm the unearned cynicism are several stunningly sentimental cliches, including a crusty but lovably world-wise old man who dies of cancer, and a woman who is redeemed by a child she didn't want. Skip this one unless you're a beautiful and selfish young woman stuck in a marriage with a moronic monster and you need a cartoon character to identify with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelBApr 25, 2007
This film included hackneyed elements and unremarkable characters aplenty. Worst of all, I found it to be rather boring throughout long stretches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnB.May 12, 2007
I think this movie is probably a 3 or a 4, but I gave it a zero to cournter balance the overly inflated scores because the director died. It's sad, yes, but the movie is REALLY mediocre. Keep up the lame illusion that this is the best I think this movie is probably a 3 or a 4, but I gave it a zero to cournter balance the overly inflated scores because the director died. It's sad, yes, but the movie is REALLY mediocre. Keep up the lame illusion that this is the best movie of the year and it will rob a deserving movie of an Oscar Nod. Get over it. It isn't that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DarlaMAug 12, 2007
Crap movie. Totally sexist and awful. When does having a baby allow you a way out of an awful marriage? In reality, the baby would have kept in that marriage longer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FrankDFeb 22, 2008
The good news: Keri Russell is luminous! The camera loves her. I rented this movie for two reasons: 1) out of curiosity for tragically slain director/screenwriter/actor Adrienne Shelly; and 2) the high ranking from Metacritics. I understand The good news: Keri Russell is luminous! The camera loves her. I rented this movie for two reasons: 1) out of curiosity for tragically slain director/screenwriter/actor Adrienne Shelly; and 2) the high ranking from Metacritics. I understand how critics wanted to offer a sensitive assessment for Shelly's post-murder release, but please! This movie is quite poor! It simply has little or no psychological logic. It makes no sense that the lead character can be assertive with her doctor and others, and yet cannot stand up to her controlling/abusive husband (until she holds her newborn). Why does she just now meet the diner's long-term owner, Old Joe? She is obviously pivotal to his business -- as the central and essential pie-maker -- but her barely seems to know of her before the film begins. (And by the way, she seems to be a one-woman pie factory, but also has time to wait tables.) The whole movie lacks logic and multiple levels, and serves up every possible negative cliche regarding "small town" folk. Shelly might have indeed made some decent films had she lived, but this is not one of them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
lizJan 19, 2011
Awful, truly awful, this was without a doubt the worst film I've ever seen. I can't get that incessant pie song out of my head... gonna make a pie.. AHHHHH :(
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews