Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Dec 20, 2013
    38
    A film that is not so much bad — although it is quite bad — as it is utterly inexplicable.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 20, 2013
    38
    Poor John Leguizamo, who hopefully got well-paid to voice a stereotypical Latino bird providing a stream of nonsensical narration.
  3. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Dec 20, 2013
    38
    Unfortunately, the only thing that dies harder in the movies than natural selection is careworn cliché, and Barry Cook and Neil Nightingale’s movie about a plucky, lovestruck pachyrhinosaurus named Patchi subjects our long defunct earthly ancestors to a fate arguably worse than extinction: a life lived in a world of cheese.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Dec 19, 2013
    38
    However well-intentioned the movie may be, it spills over with flat cutesy humor, making a slog out of an experience that should be filled with wonder.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Dec 19, 2013
    37
    Like an elaborately decorated wedding cake, the kid-friendly Walking With Dinosaurs 3D may leave you wondering how something so stunning could end up being so bland.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Dec 20, 2013
    30
    The film aspires to educate as well as entertain, rattling off the names and relevant distinctions of various dinosaurs as they appear onscreen for the first time. But the overwhelming impression the film leaves is that dinosaur poop was enormous.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Dec 19, 2013
    25
    The strain to make the film both an educational tool and a child-minded entertainment is noticeable throughout.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 19, 2013
    20
    It's unlikely that a dinosaur wrote the script — the Writers Guild of America makes no provision for Cambrian membership — but this animated feature is dimwitted all the same. The title should be "Trudging With Dinosaurs" (in 2.5-D, for all the grandeur the glasses confer), because the only semblance of a plot is provided by a long migration to winter grounds.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 19, 2013
    20
    Yes, the film’s CG dinos look great tromping in the Alaskan wilderness, but children deserve better than such unchallenging fare.
  10. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Dec 18, 2013
    20
    It was maddening and frustrating to watch so much ambition wasted on delivering such lame junk. Very young children, I suspect, will like it, but the closer viewers are to puberty, the less likely it is to hold their interest.
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. May 17, 2014
    0
    If I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste ofIf I could give this a negative 1, I would. I was a huge fan of the classic TV shoe on BBC, but this is just plain stupid. It's a waste of time, believe me. Whoever made this movie obviously never even heard of the show. Full Review »
  2. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify theThis is a great kids movie with plenty of humour & my son & I really enjoyed it. I liked that they paused every now & again to identify the different types of dinosaurs, making it educational as well. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    For those who watched the excellent "Walking With Dinosaurs" series on the BBC many moons ago, don't expect anything approaching that levelFor those who watched the excellent "Walking With Dinosaurs" series on the BBC many moons ago, don't expect anything approaching that level here. It's harmless and inoffensive, but TOO harmless and inoffensive. Full Review »