Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1075 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
749
Mixed:
145
Negative:
181
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
ArkonBladeAug 28, 2010
the plot of the original war of the worlds film was better then this. the original was about how helpless we where against a aliens invasion focusing on the the military just getting beatin down . the new one is all about the survivle of tomthe plot of the original war of the worlds film was better then this. the original was about how helpless we where against a aliens invasion focusing on the the military just getting beatin down . the new one is all about the survivle of tom cruises charicter and his 2 obnoxous kids. the aliens are only there to chase him down . while this is not completely unentertaining it just doesnt bring what the original had to the table . woulda been better served being called some thing els . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
Not the best film, but it certainly delivered. It was smart of Spielberg to leave the audience wanting more. I totally picked up on the frightening vibe and the movie was intense. Still... I thought it was boring and don't really have aNot the best film, but it certainly delivered. It was smart of Spielberg to leave the audience wanting more. I totally picked up on the frightening vibe and the movie was intense. Still... I thought it was boring and don't really have a desire to watch it again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
JogiliusSep 4, 2005
A thrill-ride with a crappy ending. Could have been a 9 with a less stupid and less hasty ending (and perhaps not so humanoid-like aliens).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PatC.Feb 10, 2006
Good special effects, but once again Tom Cruise plays a character with the depth of personality of a potato. Whether this movie is about humanity's best or worst tendencies under stress, it is painful to contemplate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelPSep 1, 2005
After the previous Spielberg/Cruise/sci-fi combination of Minority Report, I had high hopes for this. Consequently I was very disappointed - it starts off convincingly, but once the tripods arrive it alternates between schmaltz and aliens After the previous Spielberg/Cruise/sci-fi combination of Minority Report, I had high hopes for this. Consequently I was very disappointed - it starts off convincingly, but once the tripods arrive it alternates between schmaltz and aliens incompetently attempting to kill everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CaioO.Jul 10, 2006
Critic seems to like it, but to me it was just a bunch of aliens coming and killing everybody during the whole movie, until a stupid end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanC.Aug 6, 2006
Sure, it looks great, the special effects are seamless, but is it any good? Nope. It's weak sauce, as the kids say. Nothing compelling, a lot of awkward missteps (everything from the missed details of newscasters referring to "THE Sure, it looks great, the special effects are seamless, but is it any good? Nope. It's weak sauce, as the kids say. Nothing compelling, a lot of awkward missteps (everything from the missed details of newscasters referring to "THE Ukraine" to Tom Cruise unconvincingly being unpleasantly surprised by the taste of humus to the son's inexplicable behavior after the invasion). But the biggest misstep is the casting of Cruise as the everyday working stiff just waiting to be a hero. Weak sauce indeed, Mr. Spielberg, Mr. Cruise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HadynW.Nov 9, 2005
Ok i guess but to be honest it was all run a bit, hide a bit, run a bit. not forgetting scream ALOT (which is all the girl ever did). Also a pity that it was so far away from the original story - its now the story of cruise trying to get to Ok i guess but to be honest it was all run a bit, hide a bit, run a bit. not forgetting scream ALOT (which is all the girl ever did). Also a pity that it was so far away from the original story - its now the story of cruise trying to get to his wife, nothing more, nothing less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JesseM.Dec 4, 2005
Surprisingly terrible movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RaschidA-MDec 5, 2005
The first 15 to 20 minutes are excellent. You'll be grinning from ear to ear if you have a projector and digital surround, but the little girl and the son are unbearable. It's absolutely outrageous. I found it physically The first 15 to 20 minutes are excellent. You'll be grinning from ear to ear if you have a projector and digital surround, but the little girl and the son are unbearable. It's absolutely outrageous. I found it physically uncomfortable to sit through the screaming and the bickering amongst the family when the real movie was going on all around them. It's not the acting, it's just those Spielbergo moments that drive me... Anyway, for me this has everything you could ever love and hate in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
UnagiboyDec 5, 2005
Neat visual effects. Cruise and family must be the luckiest people to survive all their obstacles - over the top.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
brianDec 6, 2005
5 mins, ok 15 mins, got very intrested 20 mins,wow im gonna love this 30 mins, gonna put the kettle on 45 mins, getting bored but im sure it will pick up again 60 mins, hang in there im sure something spectacular will happen any min now 80 5 mins, ok 15 mins, got very intrested 20 mins,wow im gonna love this 30 mins, gonna put the kettle on 45 mins, getting bored but im sure it will pick up again 60 mins, hang in there im sure something spectacular will happen any min now 80 mins, ok im starting to get worried now im sure it will start to get intresting 100 mins WTF is going on i thought this was War Of The Worlds 105 mins, is that it 110 mins, OMFG what a dissaster of a movie and it started so amazingly with me on the edge of my seat. i give it a 4 because i thought the tripods saved the film from a total disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
C.B.BrowneSep 20, 2005
Not horrible, but not good. Predictable, sappy ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AJHDec 7, 2006
First off, this movie was visually stunning. Some of the best sets and special effects I've seen. I was definitely on the edge of my seat throughout most of the film. However, this movie is hampered by the minor detail that the entire First off, this movie was visually stunning. Some of the best sets and special effects I've seen. I was definitely on the edge of my seat throughout most of the film. However, this movie is hampered by the minor detail that the entire premise makes absolutely no sense. Morgan Freeman's opening narration tells us that the aliens have grown envious, watching humanity. But then it turns out that they buried "tripods" millions of year ago, before humans were even here. Then for some reason the aliens waited for a few million years, until our civilization thrived, and then came to blow us up. That's quite a lot of foresight...I wonder if they bury their spaceships on every planet, just in case they need them millions of years later? This is just one of the massive plotholes (never mind the "I survived somehow" ending). Blah. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PeterB.Feb 23, 2006
Overly exaggerated acting (if you could call it that). This was just one of those movies that revolved around special affects, and used acting to fill the gaps. Although the effects really were neat, they did not carry the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewH.Jun 23, 2006
This was a really exciting and entertaining movie....until you watch the last ten minutes of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdamE.Apr 19, 2007
What could have been an awesome alien movie is crippled by the fact that most of the movie is "Tom Cruise hiding in a basement" and the story is riddled by innumerable flaws: Why didn't anyone find a tripod? Why does some American What could have been an awesome alien movie is crippled by the fact that most of the movie is "Tom Cruise hiding in a basement" and the story is riddled by innumerable flaws: Why didn't anyone find a tripod? Why does some American nutjob now about events in Osaka? How does Robby survive "going to fight" an alien death machine? If aliens observed people, wouldn't they notice disease? Why do the tripods store people when all they want is blood? Why are the aliens nude? How did a plane crash next to the house Cruise and kids were hiding in without vaporizing it? Why did Dakota Fanning's character not stop screaming? Why are clothes not vaporized when people are? I could just keep going, but you get the idea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayHOct 5, 2008
Between my dislike of tom cruise, the poor acting and average special effects this wasn't a very good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ConnieS.Oct 22, 2005
AAAhhhhhh! The Ending! the horrible ending! Scarier than aliens and Tom Cruise put together is the tacked on, cheezy whimper of a finale. What a terrible way to end a movie that was scary, laden with 9/11 symbolism and true xenophobia! I AAAhhhhhh! The Ending! the horrible ending! Scarier than aliens and Tom Cruise put together is the tacked on, cheezy whimper of a finale. What a terrible way to end a movie that was scary, laden with 9/11 symbolism and true xenophobia! I hope the DVD has an alternative ending or an explanation for such a waste of a classic American sci fi. btw: Kudos once again to Dakota Fanning who continues to act circles around her adult 'star' coworkers. she deserves better than this and bumped my grade up. tip of the film: exit stage right about 3 minutes early and don't look back the ending will be gaining on you!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeDec 20, 2005
This movie is what is wrong with movies. You find a big name director, a big name actor, and then people will actually think it's a good movie. This movie had a dead plot to begin with, and they didn't make it anymore interesting. This movie is what is wrong with movies. You find a big name director, a big name actor, and then people will actually think it's a good movie. This movie had a dead plot to begin with, and they didn't make it anymore interesting. Just like any other action film out there: mindless and hopeless. So over-rated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JWAug 23, 2005
Are you telling me than during an alien invasion that is destined to distroy the world, the most interesting story is a bad father and his two kids? Cool special effects but a worthless story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KenWApr 27, 2008
I must admit that I agree with alot of the other reviews in regaurds to the fact the movie could have been better. I personally do not like Tom Cruise an any way, shape or form, but at least the movie did keep me going. Yes the constant I must admit that I agree with alot of the other reviews in regaurds to the fact the movie could have been better. I personally do not like Tom Cruise an any way, shape or form, but at least the movie did keep me going. Yes the constant screaming of Dakota Fanning did get on the nerves, but given the point of view of a little girl in a crazy situation, it could be understood. Overall though the movie was definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesBDec 28, 2005
I have just finished watching this movie for the second time and can say in all honesty that Speilberg's update of the classic War Of The Worlds tale is a complete disappointment. This picture could have been one of the best science I have just finished watching this movie for the second time and can say in all honesty that Speilberg's update of the classic War Of The Worlds tale is a complete disappointment. This picture could have been one of the best science fiction epics in recent years, however its success was inevitably going to be mared by the lack of scope and imagination implemented by those producing it. The trailer made the film look nothing short of breathtaking, hinting and teasing audiences with samples of the Spielberg and Cruise creativity madjesty that we've seen before in the likes of Minority Report. Unfortunately, this is exactly what the movie itself demonstrates; pure speculation. At the best of times the film is prolonged, slow and uninspired, and whenever the amazing special effects that the film makers have created are shown, they are again limited to a smattering of brief action sequences that you hope will accure countless times throughout the course of the picture. however this is not to be. Overall War of the Worlds is an underdeveloped experience that could have been so much more. I personally am a huge fan of Tom Cruise and feel incredibly disappointed to see him placed in role where he can cannot fully express his true talent and form as his character is hardly ever given anything demanding to do besides runaway and act dumb. This movie is a victim of its own limitations and if more time was spent illustrating epic encounters between the invaders and us humans instead of focusing on a dead end plotline about a single family, this film could have ultimately been much improved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
War of the Worlds only battles with viewers interest.
Based on the classic sci-fi novel; War of the Worlds is somewhat limited by design. Characters are left as shells, and the ongoing threat never is really addressed with any rhyme or reason.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
calhouniteDec 20, 2013
Guess the overacting was appropos given this was a cataclysmic alien invasion, but when the supposedly hyper-advanced super sophisticated beings show up as naked savages suspension of disbelief ends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
Not so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of the Third Kind and Minority Report, to deliver another thought-provoking, visually striking sci-fiNot so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of the Third Kind and Minority Report, to deliver another thought-provoking, visually striking sci-fi thriller rather than this somewhat flat, boring, tension-free summer blockbuster. I even fell asleep for the last 20 minutes of the film, which, i was told later by one of my friends, "explained" the sudden fall of these machines rising from the deep ground beneath Earth's surface. I don't know, to tell the truth, because after staying tuned for over the first hour, i don't care much about what happened in the end. I suppose a 6 would be rational, as sound editing, color blending and interesting description of the three-leg machines, to some extent, made up for the film's lack of good ideas to work on Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
smilzobobozJul 2, 2017
When a dramatic movie makes you laugh the point was lost somewhere...
Extremely boring plot, totally uninteresting plot-twists, very nice CGI effects (that's good), alien invaders.
The plot goes more or less like this: good-for-nothing
When a dramatic movie makes you laugh the point was lost somewhere...
Extremely boring plot, totally uninteresting plot-twists, very nice CGI effects (that's good), alien invaders.

The plot goes more or less like this: good-for-nothing ex-husband needs alien invaders to prove his ex-wife he's not good-for-nothing, constantly screaming little-girl included.

This movie was such a disappointment that up until the end I was waiting for something to happen and then the movie ended and yet nothing happened.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RickyReviewsFeb 22, 2016
In my personal opinion, I think this is not as good in Independence Day in some ways, better in some ways. Overall, this film doesn't have the suspense Independence Day had or even the realism. I'm giving this film a solid mixed review of 6/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZerpnosMar 25, 2017
Küçüklüğümde Film satan bir yerden, boş zamanımda izlerim diyerek, kutusunu ve adını beğenerek aldığım fakat izlerken o yaşlarda bile uzaylı kavramını kötü hissettiren film olmuştur. Ayrıca filmin sonunda tek yaprağın bile ne kadar önemliKüçüklüğümde Film satan bir yerden, boş zamanımda izlerim diyerek, kutusunu ve adını beğenerek aldığım fakat izlerken o yaşlarda bile uzaylı kavramını kötü hissettiren film olmuştur. Ayrıca filmin sonunda tek yaprağın bile ne kadar önemli olduğunu göstermesi, doğaya karşı daha dikkatli olmamızı gösteren bir şeydi. Kötünün iyisi olarak değerlendirdiğim bu filme puanım 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FilipeNetoFeb 12, 2018
Entertaining, but disappointing

In this film, directed by Steven Spielberg, Earth is attacked by aliens with giant mechanical tripods in a contemporary approach of the famous H.G. Wells sci-fi novel, and a remake of a homonym film by 1953.
Entertaining, but disappointing

In this film, directed by Steven Spielberg, Earth is attacked by aliens with giant mechanical tripods in a contemporary approach of the famous H.G. Wells sci-fi novel, and a remake of a homonym film by 1953. Has Tom Cruise in the lead role, Ray Ferrier, a father who seeks to put his daughter, Rachel (Dakota Fanning) in a safer place.

Although Steven Spielberg have used enough computer special effects and killed half of mankind, this film isn't only a human calamity, but the drama of a father trying to save his daughter from alien invasion, a theme who has been subject of several stories. In fact, most of them has been, directly or indirectly, influenced by the novel "War of the Worlds" ("Independence Day", just to quote one of them).

The tension follows all the film, where action and special effects scenes are mixed with suspense and expectation enlivened by scenes that remind us of the Holocaust or 9/11. The two main characters easily captivate the audience's sympathies and make us become more anxious and "clinging" to the film, which is always good. Tom Cruise managed to come out very well in his role, despite a certain ambiguity of his character, who only thinks about running away during the first half of the movie and spends the second half acting like the hero of "Mission Impossible", without we understand why exactly he changes his attitude. Another problem of this movie are the fairly obvious plot holes that we don't like to see in a Spielberg's film (I would even say that they aren't forgivable in a film directed by him).

For all this, this film leave some critics a bit disappointed, having just been nominated for Oscars in three technical categories (Sound Editing, Sound Mixing and Special Effects). Commercially, however, it was a success, largely due to the fame of Spielberg and Cruise, but also due to the special effects and the fact that is able to achieve its main goal: entertain who pays to see him.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews