Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2005
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1051 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
737
Mixed:
134
Negative:
180
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
KenWApr 27, 2008
I must admit that I agree with alot of the other reviews in regaurds to the fact the movie could have been better. I personally do not like Tom Cruise an any way, shape or form, but at least the movie did keep me going. Yes the constant I must admit that I agree with alot of the other reviews in regaurds to the fact the movie could have been better. I personally do not like Tom Cruise an any way, shape or form, but at least the movie did keep me going. Yes the constant screaming of Dakota Fanning did get on the nerves, but given the point of view of a little girl in a crazy situation, it could be understood. Overall though the movie was definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DenonL.Nov 21, 2005
Best damn movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maryNov 21, 2005
Goergous movie. Cruise -Spielberg collaborations are productives. Very good acting and direction. The tripods look fabulous. I love this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnSNov 26, 2005
Aside from the excellent job of things "blowed up good" this was a horrible movie. Only watchable when the aliens got on screen, then it was kind of fun. And why do they do this? Smart people like speilberg, the world is being invaded and we Aside from the excellent job of things "blowed up good" this was a horrible movie. Only watchable when the aliens got on screen, then it was kind of fun. And why do they do this? Smart people like speilberg, the world is being invaded and we have to spend the whole movie listening to an unlikeable family whine to one another. That is not hard to find, so give us the aliens destroying cities, please. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JakeDec 18, 2005
Most of the blame for this movie not being as good as it should have been lies with David Keopp, the screen writer. Having written the screenplays of many successful action movies (Jurassic Park, Mission: Impossible, Spider-Man, etc.) he Most of the blame for this movie not being as good as it should have been lies with David Keopp, the screen writer. Having written the screenplays of many successful action movies (Jurassic Park, Mission: Impossible, Spider-Man, etc.) he definately knows how to write a story around a montage of action shots......usually decent, he seems to have left his script for War of the Worlds unfinished, judging from the way the story ends so suddenly and without a major climax. All of the inconsistencies and the convienient plot wholes (the son disappoears for the final third only to be at home at the end? WTF!!!) are his fault, and Spielberg can only be blamed for accepting such an average screenplay.....at the hands of someone else, this story could have been very compelling....and it had some moments, mostly thanks to Steve, where it was (the scene where the van gets mobbed! That was some great stuff!). It was entertaining, and the action was great, but I just can't get over the fact the story could have been much, much better! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesBDec 28, 2005
I have just finished watching this movie for the second time and can say in all honesty that Speilberg's update of the classic War Of The Worlds tale is a complete disappointment. This picture could have been one of the best science I have just finished watching this movie for the second time and can say in all honesty that Speilberg's update of the classic War Of The Worlds tale is a complete disappointment. This picture could have been one of the best science fiction epics in recent years, however its success was inevitably going to be mared by the lack of scope and imagination implemented by those producing it. The trailer made the film look nothing short of breathtaking, hinting and teasing audiences with samples of the Spielberg and Cruise creativity madjesty that we've seen before in the likes of Minority Report. Unfortunately, this is exactly what the movie itself demonstrates; pure speculation. At the best of times the film is prolonged, slow and uninspired, and whenever the amazing special effects that the film makers have created are shown, they are again limited to a smattering of brief action sequences that you hope will accure countless times throughout the course of the picture. however this is not to be. Overall War of the Worlds is an underdeveloped experience that could have been so much more. I personally am a huge fan of Tom Cruise and feel incredibly disappointed to see him placed in role where he can cannot fully express his true talent and form as his character is hardly ever given anything demanding to do besides runaway and act dumb. This movie is a victim of its own limitations and if more time was spent illustrating epic encounters between the invaders and us humans instead of focusing on a dead end plotline about a single family, this film could have ultimately been much improved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJonesDec 29, 2005
Very intense! I enjoyed every minute of it. The 0 scores are just plain ridiculous. Even if you don't like the the original HG Wells story, you have to give it props for the mind blowing special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RONGIUDec 3, 2011
Lightning storm.

"At the end of the nineteenth century no one would believe that things of the earth were keenly and closely by intelligences greater than those observed in men ... » HERBERT GEORGE WELLS Man is able to
Lightning storm.

"At the end of the nineteenth century no one would believe that things of the earth were keenly and closely by intelligences greater than those observed in men ... »

HERBERT GEORGE WELLS

Man is able to theorize, invent, build. It can create. The creation is quite another thing, is not yet within his reach, and perhaps never will be and maybe it's all well and good. "The War of the Worlds" has a deeper meaning in itself, rigid, introverted.

And 'the act of the mirror, I understand, the true ruler of the narrative, that's where you find the starting point to delve into a story far from simple you see, do not listen / emotionally strong, because for many verse in terms of asynchronous communication and achromatic visual one. Dropped the mirror, as perverse as a catalyst for feelings is healthy nothingness, absence, emptiness.

But, man, that's true, that is not wounded and bent soul immortality by an irresistible urge to imperialism, still able to find in the tears of a child, to give the world a teenager hungry for love of one's gender it is from this type of man that the world expects to see the spark to rise to a new time dimension.

This world, upon reflection, is chock full of tripods as small as powerful for their destructive capacity. We begin our defuse; those from higher intelligence to us, we can do, quietly without.

Good Click!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobFeb 23, 2014
The film doesn’t have much substance but it is still pretty entertaining. The film is well shot and knows how to pull at your heart strings. If you want good visuals, emotional connection, and be midly entertained check this out. If you wantThe film doesn’t have much substance but it is still pretty entertaining. The film is well shot and knows how to pull at your heart strings. If you want good visuals, emotional connection, and be midly entertained check this out. If you want something more sophisticated this isn’t it is just one long chase/survival movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CollinPJul 18, 2012
The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure,The ending was indeed lame, but taken exactly from the book. You got a problem with the ending, take it up with H.G. Wells. In terms of "disaster" movies, this is as good as they get - Spielberg is a master filmmaker. It has heart, adventure, and terror (a river of dead people!!) not seen in normal movies of the same ilk. All in all, a worthy picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJul 6, 2014
When I first saw War of the Worlds at the time of release, I thought; "meh... It's alright". At that time I was young and single. I'm now married with two daughters. When I returned to the film recently, it had a much more profound effect onWhen I first saw War of the Worlds at the time of release, I thought; "meh... It's alright". At that time I was young and single. I'm now married with two daughters. When I returned to the film recently, it had a much more profound effect on me. The family stuff was riveting and the action sequences actually quite terrifying. I guess being able to identify with the movie's themes makes all the difference! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JAM123Oct 22, 2011
Amazing movie! Steven Spielberg yet again, brings his movie magic to the big screen and astonishes us all. Amazing special effects(helped by the big budget) was only one of the many characteristics that made it an unforgettable movie. AmazingAmazing movie! Steven Spielberg yet again, brings his movie magic to the big screen and astonishes us all. Amazing special effects(helped by the big budget) was only one of the many characteristics that made it an unforgettable movie. Amazing plot line and awesome cast was what made it an awesome film. The cast included Tom Cruise, Dakota Fanning, and a lot more. The plotline of this sweet alien invasion adaption of H.G. Wells' 1898 award winning classic novel is another of Steven Spielbergs masterpieces and great adaptions to books. Like Minority report this one made it, with a four star rating and a 73/100 on this website. In this movie the world really is invaded. A lot of destruction and devestation in this horror/sci-fi about a dad trying to find a safe haven for his two children. I love this movie and highly reccommend to all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DukeJonOct 1, 2014
A great film, faithfully recreating the essence of the book. Tense and forboding throughout, the Martiain invasion is brilliantly paced and handled expertly. Cruise gives a workmanlike performance. The ending, however, is dissapointing andA great film, faithfully recreating the essence of the book. Tense and forboding throughout, the Martiain invasion is brilliantly paced and handled expertly. Cruise gives a workmanlike performance. The ending, however, is dissapointing and although it follows the book closely I do feel they wrapped it all up too quickly. One of my favourite science fiction films of recent years Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EssenceOfSugarFeb 14, 2012
I could see that the expectations for this sort of film would be mixed, but, for me, in a sense, I was optimistic about seeing Tom Cruise in a different film rather than Mission:Impossible. Funnily enough, Spielberg managed to pull if off,I could see that the expectations for this sort of film would be mixed, but, for me, in a sense, I was optimistic about seeing Tom Cruise in a different film rather than Mission:Impossible. Funnily enough, Spielberg managed to pull if off, especially filming an American adaptation. But that didn't bother me, because I was gripped more or less by the time the tripods arrived. There are quite a few unnerving moments which made my skin crawl. It was worth watching, because it felt quite real, especially how the characters were feeling. A thrilling ride - Tom Cruise should do more of this. Great how the Americans could have a shot at this. The special effects were mind-blowing.The beginning felt a little stretched out, but at least the pace was relaxed halfway through the film. Overall, a film definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jedi_JettsonDec 28, 2011
Great movie and I'm very much impressed with Steven Spielberg's work and the visual effects. It takes the survival and family plot seriously. Its also one hell of a thrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
javis10Dec 14, 2011
I've alreday watched the film of 1953, it was enterteining, but the adaptation was awful as well the story. But this one was better. Enterteining, awesome, the effects are thrilling and the story too. Steven Spielberg will always make good movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oxanaSep 12, 2014
A good movie in my opinion: dark, beautiful, stunningly visualized. Even if there's a happy ending of sorts to be found, I think the whole world of the film was pretty real in its cruelness.

I was expecting a longer beginning before the
A good movie in my opinion: dark, beautiful, stunningly visualized. Even if there's a happy ending of sorts to be found, I think the whole world of the film was pretty real in its cruelness.

I was expecting a longer beginning before the actual action began to take place, but was surprised how quickly things got onto move - and after that, there was not a moment of peace before the ending titles.

The movie seems to lack something, but I think it's mostly because most of the questions remained unanswered. It is not the mission of the movie to give us everything, though, and it makes your mind work rather than leaves it numb and bored. I can imagine watching this many times again, and perhaps find something new in the chaotic attempt of survival.

The actual plot might have a little more in it, but then again, the concept of the movie doesn't really allow that (and the concept is very good in itself).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FatspudJun 15, 2013
Pretty good film, if it wasn't for the BLOODY little girl; seriously, kills so much of the otherwise immersive atmosphere. But yer, the rest is good enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
An exhilarating re-imagination of Orson Welles' classic. Spielberg brings the story and the genre into the modern era. Nevertheless, I cannot help but feel War of the Worlds would have benefited from casting another actor instead of Tom Cruise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Mar 30, 2012
War of the Worlds is an excellent sci-fiction movie. The visuals were truly amazing but what makes this movie so good is that it comes across as very scary and that is were Spielberg shines. I only wished for slightly more battle scenesWar of the Worlds is an excellent sci-fiction movie. The visuals were truly amazing but what makes this movie so good is that it comes across as very scary and that is were Spielberg shines. I only wished for slightly more battle scenes between the humans and aliens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DiscordMay 28, 2012
A solid piece. Good acting, as well as a believable plot, rather nice effects. Only qualm I had was the minor issues with the H.G. Wells novel, but those can be overlooked. Overall, a rather nice film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 1, 2016
I am not sure why audiences were lukewarm to War of the Worlds. For me, this shows Steven Spielberg at peak Spielberg. Heartwarming and built around family with childlike wonder, the film also shows Spielberg's great ability to create thrillsI am not sure why audiences were lukewarm to War of the Worlds. For me, this shows Steven Spielberg at peak Spielberg. Heartwarming and built around family with childlike wonder, the film also shows Spielberg's great ability to create thrills and scares along the way. Tom Cruise is great in the lead role and really does a great job as the deadbeat dad tasked with saving his kids who do not really like him too much. Dakota Fanning does very well as his daughter, though she does become annoying a few times. The special effects and creature design are incredible, while also demonstrating why everybody is so paranoid. The film also does a great job drawing parallels with historical occupations (French in Algeria, Britain in the United States), while capturing the paranoia of post-9/11 America all in one swoop. Overall, War of the Worlds is a fantastic science fiction film that really is a testament to Spielberg's skill in the director's chair. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 29, 2016
Spielberg successfully adapts H.G. Wells' classic science-fiction novel into a more intimate and human tale of survival for modern audiences. And, though the film's infamous ending may indeed be worthy of all the infamy it has accrued overSpielberg successfully adapts H.G. Wells' classic science-fiction novel into a more intimate and human tale of survival for modern audiences. And, though the film's infamous ending may indeed be worthy of all the infamy it has accrued over the years, "War Of The Worlds" is still a pretty fantastic film. The thrilling set piece design, engrossing performances, and surprisingly enduring visual effects all add up to an incredibly memorable and occasionally horrifying experience that shouldn't go unnoticed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Badger01Jul 26, 2013
I don't know how one of the greatest film makers alive (Steven Spielberg) managed to turn one of the most iconic pieces in early sci fi literature in to just another bland boring action film. It reminds me a lot of 'Independence Day', exceptI don't know how one of the greatest film makers alive (Steven Spielberg) managed to turn one of the most iconic pieces in early sci fi literature in to just another bland boring action film. It reminds me a lot of 'Independence Day', except with out even the pluses of saying it's special effects are (comparative to the time) very good or having a memorable, stirring speech. In fact, that's a problem of the whole film, not one god damn thing in it is memorable, just Tom Cruise and his constantly screaming daughter driving every where. I think the big problem was that setting it in the modern era removes any sort of tension at all. When all the alien just have big anti-everything shields that can't be hurt by squat, there's no sense of humanity fighting back, so it turns from "War" of the Worlds in to "Ants on poking at an exterminators shoe" of the Worlds. Bland, samey, dull, boring, lazy, cliche, and all other manor of adjectives. And the worst thing is, this means it'll be far longer until someone is allowed to actually make a GOOD adaptation at last. (Stick with the radio drama/rock opera). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
einvolkermannSep 1, 2013
Its really great and interesting movie. Its not only about alien invasion, but although this movie shows society in unusual conditions. Best movie in its kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
War of the Worlds only battles with viewers interest.
Based on the classic sci-fi novel; War of the Worlds is somewhat limited by design. Characters are left as shells, and the ongoing threat never is really addressed with any rhyme or reason.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
calhouniteDec 20, 2013
Guess the overacting was appropos given this was a cataclysmic alien invasion, but when the supposedly hyper-advanced super sophisticated beings show up as naked savages suspension of disbelief ends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
Not so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of the Third Kind and Minority Report, to deliver another thought-provoking, visually striking sci-fiNot so great and amazing. I actually demanded much more from my favorite director, Steven Spielberg - creator of E.T, Close Encounter of the Third Kind and Minority Report, to deliver another thought-provoking, visually striking sci-fi thriller rather than this somewhat flat, boring, tension-free summer blockbuster. I even fell asleep for the last 20 minutes of the film, which, i was told later by one of my friends, "explained" the sudden fall of these machines rising from the deep ground beneath Earth's surface. I don't know, to tell the truth, because after staying tuned for over the first hour, i don't care much about what happened in the end. I suppose a 6 would be rational, as sound editing, color blending and interesting description of the three-leg machines, to some extent, made up for the film's lack of good ideas to work on Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bfoore90Jun 19, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To put it in perspective, I like everyone else enjoyed 70-75% of this movie. Spielberg brings it all into this movie, the themes and imagery come with a purpose to frighten and disturb rather than thrill, making ingenious use of familiar 9/11 imagery along with clear references to the Holocaust and the war in Iraq. The references and themes are so chilling that its almost to the point its as if the movie is a post 9/11 propaganda film. Tom Cruise, who was excellent in Collateral also brings it in this film by delivering a very committed and tense performance as a seemingly failed father. Then comes the second act, the movie begins to stumble and fall leading up to a clear Dues Ex Machina conclusion that almost makes me wonder as if Mass Effect 3 took a page out of Spielberg's book to deliver a unsatisfying conclusion to an otherwise satisfying movie. The film tragically changes and almost with no regard for itself violates its carefully established tone and internal logic to become a typical and cliche summer action film where our hero valiantly goes one-on-one with an alien invader to eventually turn the tide in humanities favor. The transition is jarring almost to the point to where you feel disconnected from the story. It's also troubling that the guy who created Jaws and Jurassic Park also couldn't hold himself in check before misfiring and showing his badly designed and poorly CGI'd alien invaders. Still, War of the Worlds is well worth a view for fans and movie goers. Whereas, despite it's otherwise weak second half, it's an excellent film. Considering it was made in the wake of 9/11, its not hard to view the film as a form of post 9/11 or Iraqi war propaganda. Its almost brilliant when you think about it, America under attack by technologically advanced "sleeper cell terrorists" coming from within, hellbent on destroying America with extreme prejudice. The only thing that would make it more evident would be if Spielberg decided to put beards and turbans on the aliens while having them speak a strong middle eastern dialect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MuddsjrAug 10, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very good stuff that is regularly scary and irregularly boring. it had me hurriedly making sandwiches (and throwing them at windows in despair) each time a patch of dark clouds and thunder came over days afterwards. the scariest parts for me were the aliens themselves and Tom Cruises acting (which was good!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
joegFeb 21, 2014
Way too much Tom Cruise in this movie. They took a great story line and made it about Tom Cruise rather than about alien invasion. They didn't do justice to the wonderful HG Wells story
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 23, 2014
That's what i call a good sci-fi movie.Tom Cruise is brilliant in his irresponsible dad role. There is always action and some awkward characters like the guy in the house in the middle of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
QuelhasSep 15, 2015
This site doesn't allow me to write just one word, that for me, best describes this movie, so I'm writing this just to submit that word that best describes the feeling I had watching this at the cinema: Painful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
smilzobobozJul 2, 2017
When a dramatic movie makes you laugh the point was lost somewhere...
Extremely boring plot, totally uninteresting plot-twists, very nice CGI effects (that's good), alien invaders.
The plot goes more or less like this: good-for-nothing
When a dramatic movie makes you laugh the point was lost somewhere...
Extremely boring plot, totally uninteresting plot-twists, very nice CGI effects (that's good), alien invaders.

The plot goes more or less like this: good-for-nothing ex-husband needs alien invaders to prove his ex-wife he's not good-for-nothing, constantly screaming little-girl included.

This movie was such a disappointment that up until the end I was waiting for something to happen and then the movie ended and yet nothing happened.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
It was unbelievable what I saw an incredible , unexpected and chilling alien , well even if it comes from a book invasion, unspoilable the movie eh !. And that good performance from Tom Cruise . Good job Tom !
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RickyReviewsFeb 22, 2016
In my personal opinion, I think this is not as good in Independence Day in some ways, better in some ways. Overall, this film doesn't have the suspense Independence Day had or even the realism. I'm giving this film a solid mixed review of 6/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZerpnosMar 25, 2017
Küçüklüğümde Film satan bir yerden, boş zamanımda izlerim diyerek, kutusunu ve adını beğenerek aldığım fakat izlerken o yaşlarda bile uzaylı kavramını kötü hissettiren film olmuştur. Ayrıca filmin sonunda tek yaprağın bile ne kadar önemliKüçüklüğümde Film satan bir yerden, boş zamanımda izlerim diyerek, kutusunu ve adını beğenerek aldığım fakat izlerken o yaşlarda bile uzaylı kavramını kötü hissettiren film olmuştur. Ayrıca filmin sonunda tek yaprağın bile ne kadar önemli olduğunu göstermesi, doğaya karşı daha dikkatli olmamızı gösteren bir şeydi. Kötünün iyisi olarak değerlendirdiğim bu filme puanım 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JPKMay 1, 2017
Decent Spielberg
This film does have a pretty flawed story structure, but the action and characters are well done (Except for Dakota Fanning's constant screaming)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews