Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1783 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,456
Mixed:
140
Negative:
187
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
XxKingLeonidasMar 17, 2011
A fantastic film. The story, the setting, the characters, everything works perfectly to create this dark alternate reality. Zach Snyder has done it again, creating another beautiful world for another great film.
31 of 33 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
8
CollinP.Mar 8, 2009
I have to respectfully disagree with someone's assessment below regarding the movies "gratuitous sexual scenes and nudity". The Dr. Manhattan "penis" shots were not gratuitous by any means, they were simply shots of him walking around. I have to respectfully disagree with someone's assessment below regarding the movies "gratuitous sexual scenes and nudity". The Dr. Manhattan "penis" shots were not gratuitous by any means, they were simply shots of him walking around. Hardly sexual, merely biologically natural. Secondly, the sex scenes involving Silk Spectre were far from gratuitous, they were side shot intercourse scenes with limited nudity, and nothing more than stylized sexual thrusting. Finally, I'm much more disturbed by the fact that this bothered you more than the excessive gory violence that occurred throughout this movie. I mean, limbs getting cut off, heads getting impaled. I would much rather that my child saw a little nudity and some sex scenes (which are natural human qualities and biological functions), than disgusting nihilistic violence (which is not a natural human function, and only breads hate and desensitization to the movie-watching crowd). The American public has it all wrong. While we should make sure that our children are indeed protected from adult sexual material, we should be much more concerned with the graphic violence that has permeated our culture and allowed people to grow sadly tolerant of it. That being said, the movie was indeed a faithful, wonderful adaptation of the novel, with only a few points lacking (i.e., the depth of some of the characters was never realized). I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning montage as well, it was quite a spectacle to behold! Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
KerryL.Mar 7, 2009
This is the best movie based on a comic book/graphic novel I have ever seen. The acting is spectacular, and every detail that had to be included is, without feeling watered down. The movie transitions between past and present well, not This is the best movie based on a comic book/graphic novel I have ever seen. The acting is spectacular, and every detail that had to be included is, without feeling watered down. The movie transitions between past and present well, not causing confusion about what is taking place. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
kSumJun 8, 2013
Watchmen is a halluzinogene, sharp and sterile adaption of the comics, which were regarded of being not filmable. But Zack Snyder's creation lives through the pain and insanity the fallen heroes are exposed to.
It is probably the best film I
Watchmen is a halluzinogene, sharp and sterile adaption of the comics, which were regarded of being not filmable. But Zack Snyder's creation lives through the pain and insanity the fallen heroes are exposed to.
It is probably the best film I have ever seen.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mams2000Nov 3, 2015
Amazing movie. Scott Snyder did an amazing job to adapt Alan Moore's Masterpiece and brought us a better ending. In my opinion, it is by far the best hero movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ChadS.Mar 7, 2009
Pants, stat! The glowing blue man with the transluscent appendage needs a pair of pants, like the lemur from "Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa" needs pants. Adrian(Matthew Goode) probably doesn't mind that the homoeroticism of "300" escaped Pants, stat! The glowing blue man with the transluscent appendage needs a pair of pants, like the lemur from "Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa" needs pants. Adrian(Matthew Goode) probably doesn't mind that the homoeroticism of "300" escaped its reels and found a new home, in which Dr. Manhattan's nudism probably throws the other Watchmen into a homosexual panic. Quite pointedly, Adrian seems to know Dr. Manhattan(Billy Crudup) better than Laurie(Malin Akerman). While the girlfriend claims that the ultramarine entity is devoid of any compassion towards mankind, Adrian's alter-ego, Ozymanidas, notices the worry creases in the former Jon Osterman's face whenever he's vexed. The Alexander-wannabe watches men, closely. But Laurie should be one to talk, the daring rescue of some people trapped in a burning high-rise that she and Dan a.k.a. Night Owl(Patrick Wilson) attend to, seems more about correcting her new beau's impotence and gettin' their middle-aged ya-yas out, than being selfless and valiant in a derring-do mission in the night air of this alternative New York. It's mere foreplay: the superhero suits they run around in are nothing more than provocative get-ups to get them in the mood. There's something faintly "Seinfeld"-esque about Night Owl and Silk Spectre, and "Watchmen", in general. Like the characters in the Larry David-created sitcom, these superheroes are more interested in saving their own skins- Rorschach(James Earl Haley) warns the other Watchmen about an assassination plot- than saving the skins of others. How apropos that there's a Comedian(Jeffrey Dean Morgan) present. During the interim years of Allan Moore and David Gibbons' breakthrough graphic novel being stuck in developmental hell, Terry Zwigoff's adaptation of Daniel Clowes' "Ghost World" had already lured a portion of the literati into accepting the long-form comic book as a viable art form. "Watchmen" won't convert the holdover naysayers(who pooh-pooh the thought of the comic book as literature, although Allison Bechdel's "Fun Home" and Adrian Tomine's "Shortcomings" are changing more minds), which is a crying shame, since in most fanboy circles, this is the standard-bearer. While it falls short on vision, "Watchmen", more or less, holds your interest for over two hours-plus, and that's no small feat. But still, the bloated thing lacks true transcendence(for instance, the Saul Bellow army won't lay down their dog-eared copies of "The Adventures of Augie March" for this); it's just a comic book movie, albeit a reasonably smart one(not smarter than "Ironman"). And it bears repeating: pants, stat! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WayneAMar 12, 2009
Great adult oriented superhero flick. Purists to the graohic novel either say he was too faithful or not faithful enough. I loved the source material but kept that seperate in my mind while watching the movie and loved the movie. Bravo for Great adult oriented superhero flick. Purists to the graohic novel either say he was too faithful or not faithful enough. I loved the source material but kept that seperate in my mind while watching the movie and loved the movie. Bravo for giving us a R rated superhero flick. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
rotkuAug 7, 2011
Alternative take on superhero movies with plenty of darkness in the characters and good use of the heroes interacting with moments in history. In fact some of their actions would cause you to question if they are even the good guys whichAlternative take on superhero movies with plenty of darkness in the characters and good use of the heroes interacting with moments in history. In fact some of their actions would cause you to question if they are even the good guys which added more of a human element to them. A good sci-fi movie which rises above the usual run of the mill plots. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
TheCritic1Sep 30, 2011
I'm going to sum this up in two words: The best. By that, I mean this is the best superhero movie I have ever seen ( compared to the Spider man movies, which were very bad). Watchmen isn't just superhero movie, it is THE superhero movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
Zack Snyder's "Watchmen" has it all; the dark tone/environment, insanely deep characters, powerful action, and profround ideas. It's very obedient to the comic and serves its purpose as a translator of modern heroes and what they represent toZack Snyder's "Watchmen" has it all; the dark tone/environment, insanely deep characters, powerful action, and profround ideas. It's very obedient to the comic and serves its purpose as a translator of modern heroes and what they represent to the society. Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
10
mitchellowenMar 7, 2009
Definitely one of the best comic book movies to date. It admittedly falls apart once it starts rushing things after the prison break scene, but the first two hours are so beautifully done, it makes up for it. Best viewed as an homage to theDefinitely one of the best comic book movies to date. It admittedly falls apart once it starts rushing things after the prison break scene, but the first two hours are so beautifully done, it makes up for it. Best viewed as an homage to the book. Voted 10 to balance out this ridiculous 56. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
IMO its the best film based off a comic book/graphic novel of all time. I had no idea what the Watchmen was about until I bought it on DVD and I watched it with my siblings and we were all blown away by how good it was. We all enjoyed it fromIMO its the best film based off a comic book/graphic novel of all time. I had no idea what the Watchmen was about until I bought it on DVD and I watched it with my siblings and we were all blown away by how good it was. We all enjoyed it from start to finish and I am sure a lot of others would too. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
Thought it was... ok. Definitely not a huge crowd pleaser like The Dark Knight. No real thrills or shocking payoffs. But this is coming from a guy who's read the book about 15 or 20 times, so maybe a newcomer to the story would beg to differ.Thought it was... ok. Definitely not a huge crowd pleaser like The Dark Knight. No real thrills or shocking payoffs. But this is coming from a guy who's read the book about 15 or 20 times, so maybe a newcomer to the story would beg to differ. But uh... just flat in a lot of areas where the book didn't translate well to the screen. What worked on the page was brought to the screen by Zach Snyder as best as anyone could've mustered, but it wasn't really brought to life in a meaningful, emotional way. The violence was fine for the few fight scenes where it was actually present, but that just made them stand out as peculiar, when 90% of the movie is about... talking. Sometimes talking with bad aged makeup.

That rape scene hit me hard. Geez. I knew it was coming, I'd read it plenty of times on the page, but the way it was filmed was just... awful, and you could feel the audience dying inside. Though that was one thing I was surprised about, the audience. I dunno if it was because I went to an 11:50 pm showing or what, but nobody at my screening laughed aloud at Dr. Manhattan's blue dong like so many other reviews have been describing. They were just... pretty much silent throughout. The biggest reaction was when Rorschach spilled the oil on the convict and yelled "I'm not locked up in here with you. You're locked up in here with me." Of course they would, it was a great line.

Yea, that Dr. Manhattan... I gotta say, he ended up falling short of my expectations. Not Crudup's voice, that was fine. But the entire CGI entity just... did not look right to me. Maybe it IS the uncanny valley, but I just thought he looked unreal, inhuman, and somewhat of a failure as a visual effect. Perhaps part of that was because he had no pupils. I just checked and he doesn't have any in the graphic novel either, but... perhaps in this case it would've been better to diverge from the source material.

Like I said before... Snyder did as good a job as anyone could've in bringing this book to the movie screen. And yet... I did miss all the material that was cut out. The stuff with the two Bernies, the Psychiatrist's marital problems, Hollis getting pumpkin'd... there was a feeling of loss throughout watching the film. So I dunno how any person who hasn't read the book will react to the movie.

The ending change? Yea, fine. It works logically. About as well as the original ending I suppose. Though the visceral impact of seeing six full pages of dead corpses in New York was completely missing here. Sorry dude, but showing us a giant blue CGI explosion just doesn't carry the same impact. We needed to feel those millions of dead. I did like the Rorschach pattern in the snow though, that was something new and worked pretty well.

Oh yea, one last thing... good god Zach, what were you thinking with that Hallelujah sex scene? Dude, I like porn and I like superheroes, but that scene... I could not have rolled my eyes any further. It was cringeworthy. And no, it was not as bad as the sex scene in 300, because I was perfectly fine with that sex scene. It was short, perfunctory, and did not have an incredibly odd soundtrack. In this case, less would've been more. The scene in the book was only 2 panels, that was about right. Mostly it was the song though... that Hallelujah song will never be the same to me again.

But I did really like the intro credits with Bob Dylan.

Again, thought it was ok. But no, not the greatest comic book movie ever. It's a mostly faithful retelling of the book in 2 and a half hours that, in my opinion, will completely fly over the heads of the mainstream audience. Let's say 3 and a half stars, and I'm being generous.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Jan 26, 2013
1985, the world is on the brink of nuclear war. After a superhero named the Comedian is killed, the rest of the superheroes that form the Watchmen must reunite to track down the killer and stop world war 3. A dark, gritty, ultra-violent1985, the world is on the brink of nuclear war. After a superhero named the Comedian is killed, the rest of the superheroes that form the Watchmen must reunite to track down the killer and stop world war 3. A dark, gritty, ultra-violent superhero story full of blood, guts, slaughter and sex, Watchmen is the superhero film for adults only. A great action film with a brilliant cast, great director and epic cinematography. Only drawback to the film is the heavy use of 80's politics, which if you are not overly clear on can become too much to handle. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
In the mid-’80s, writer Alan Moore began to imagine a world in which the superheroes and costumed crime-fighters he’d grown up reading helped shape the Cold War decades that had repeatedly brought humanity to the brink of extinction. ItIn the mid-’80s, writer Alan Moore began to imagine a world in which the superheroes and costumed crime-fighters he’d grown up reading helped shape the Cold War decades that had repeatedly brought humanity to the brink of extinction. It wasn’t a better world. Behind their masks and glowing eyes, the heroes Moore conceived and created with artist Dave Gibbons were hindered, and occasionally crippled, by the same conflicting impulses, childhood traumas, and redirected neuroses that drive everyone else. Moore and Gibbons’ graphic novel Watchmen helped redefine the types of stories superheroes could be used to tell, not just by freighting them with darkness—too many subsequent creators showed how easy that could be—but by weaving their capes and gadgets into a dense, deep narrative: a detective story played out against the apocalypse in a world so thoroughly realized that Charles Dickens would be jealous.

The same elements that make Watchmen a great book made a Watchmen film a difficult prospect. (Moore, on principle, removed himself and his name from the project, which probably didn’t help.) It’s remarkable that any Watchmen movie made it to the screen, after the years of false starts and litigation. And the one we got—directed by Zack Snyder, most recently responsible for the ably made, philosophically dubious Frank Miller adaptation 300—deserves credit for staying true to the characters, plot (up to a point), and look of the original material while still generating his own kind of energy. Sometimes that energy feels misapplied and overcranked, as the roar of the action drowns out the film’s human voices, but Snyder’s Watchmen keeps moving so assuredly, it’s nearly impossible not to get swept along.

Keeping Moore’s alternate-universe ’80s New York setting, Watchmen opens with the murder of The Comedian (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), a long-serving crime-fighter with a late-career sideline in covert ops. (The film keeps Moore’s dark joke that electing Nixon to multiple terms is one of his world’s problems.) A masked vigilante named Rorschach (Jackie Earle Haley)—the only one who didn’t hang up his disguise when the government outlawed civilian crime-fighters in the mid-’70s—launches an investigation and uncovers a much larger conspiracy, one seemingly tied to mounting nuclear tensions between the U.S. and the U.S.S.R., as well as a bunch of Rorschach’s old colleagues. These include the Silk Spectre (Malin Akerman), who inherited the title from her mother (Carla Gugino); Nite Owl (Patrick Wilson) a bookish, wealthy master of machines; Ozymandias (Matthew Goode), who’s since turned his remarkable intellect to acquiring wealth and power; and Dr. Manhattan (Billy Crudup), a lab-accident-created glowing godlike being whose connection to humanity remains an open question.

There’s sometimes too much Dr. Manhattan in Snyder’s Watchmen, which often feels like a feat of engineering first, an artistic expression second. But his source material keeps him grounded, as does solid work from Crudup, Wilson, and especially Haley, whose performance evokes pity, fear, sympathy, and revulsion as he goes about his single-minded pursuit of justice without compromise. Others bring less. Given a central role, the lightweight Akerman serves as an Andie MacDowell-in-Four-Weddings-And-A-Funeral-level distraction, and Snyder isn’t always well-served by his tendency to start at 11 and try to turn up the volume, particularly in a bunch of over-the-top, bone-cracking action scenes. The time spent developing watchmen-fu would have been better invested in not blowing one of the book’s big Mars setpieces, or figuring out a better alternate ending than the one dropped in the original’s place.

And yet in the end, the film’s ambitious drive to create a dread-soaked alternate America and people it with flawed, recognizable heroes carries it along. Snyder uses grand gestures to create a sense of world-imperiling doom rooted in another era, but equally at home in this one. But he also remains willing to slow down to capture the gravity of a funeral, or dwell on a moment between old partners patching up a friendship as doomsday approaches. Moore’s touch emphasizes how messed-up and needy comic-book people would have to be to do what they do. Missteps and all, Snyder’s film gets that right, and this as well: When we look up in the sky, we don’t see a bird or a plane, but a mirror.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MohamedAFeb 16, 2010
When I was watching Dark Knight in Imax a commercial came up for this movie. At first I thought 'another super hero movie'. After reading the comic and understanding each character well the movie just looked amazing to me. My When I was watching Dark Knight in Imax a commercial came up for this movie. At first I thought 'another super hero movie'. After reading the comic and understanding each character well the movie just looked amazing to me. My friends who read the comic liked it and the ones who didn't just thought it was crap. I agree that you have to read the comic to enjoy the movie, but I still watched it over 20 times. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
cabritaSep 22, 2011
This movie is a mixed bag. Brilliantly directed in some parts. However boring and poorly acted in others. Overall worth seeing with fantastic visuals.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
W3XCApr 7, 2013
Whats wrong with us you say? Whats wrong with you i ask! This movie is great! Sure, sex scenes where not neccesary but where not bloody offensive, neither was dr.manhattans penis. I image people that found this offensive has been raped orWhats wrong with us you say? Whats wrong with you i ask! This movie is great! Sure, sex scenes where not neccesary but where not bloody offensive, neither was dr.manhattans penis. I image people that found this offensive has been raped or something, so that any "sexual" related stuff is an horror to hear/watch. Terrible acting? nope, even though im not a top-notch movie critic i can tell you that its not horrible, its fairly good in my opinion. The story is interesting enough. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TimH.Mar 10, 2009
Interesting CGI; terrible prosthetics. That having been said, devotees of the comic will applaud the meticulous duplication in script and cinematography, smile at the costumes and casting choices, and cringe at the ending. Newcomers to the Interesting CGI; terrible prosthetics. That having been said, devotees of the comic will applaud the meticulous duplication in script and cinematography, smile at the costumes and casting choices, and cringe at the ending. Newcomers to the franchise will merely scratch their heads. Your girlfriend will probably fall asleep. Watchmen suffocates under the weight of its own fidelity, choosing safety over audacity in an attempt to lull basement-dwellers into shelling out cash for an overblown directors-cut Blu Ray of a film that should have stayed unmade. This adaptation suffers the fate of any facsimile of greatness: the failure to exceed its own predecessor, instead basking rigidly in its roomy shadow. This movie is brilliance decaffeinated. Read the comic and rent Dark Knight instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinFMar 10, 2009
Good movie. Had some really great parts in it but had some parts that seemed like they didn't belong as well. Didn't pull you into the story and make you feel what was going on. Really enjoyed the Dr. Manhattan backstory narrative Good movie. Had some really great parts in it but had some parts that seemed like they didn't belong as well. Didn't pull you into the story and make you feel what was going on. Really enjoyed the Dr. Manhattan backstory narrative though. I wouldn't put it anywhere near the far superior TDK though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonB.Mar 6, 2009
Great movie i really loved the comic book and i think that they did a wonderful job making it into a movie. would i go see it again? yes it was like the dark knight all over again i liked it that much. it did have its problems but it wasGreat movie i really loved the comic book and i think that they did a wonderful job making it into a movie. would i go see it again? yes it was like the dark knight all over again i liked it that much. it did have its problems but it was still a masterful movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlK.Mar 6, 2009
The best super hero movie ever made, and one of the best films ever made. Each character is distinct, all of their own unique perspective on the human condition, and all are terrible and terrific, just like us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelR.Mar 6, 2009
I absolutely loved this movie! Best superhero movie so far to be made, in my opinion. The special effects were amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaymondG.Mar 6, 2009
Loved it. Ignore Mainstream critics, unless you consider yourself mainstream, aka average and uninteresting. Movie is for those that don't grovel at Madagascar and Benjamin Button.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshD.Mar 6, 2009
Saw the midnight release and thought it was awesome! Great directing, acting, writing, and soundtrack. If you have read the comic go see it and if your new to watchmen then I think you'll find this to be a great movie on it's own merit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Mar 7, 2009
Snyder has done the impossible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidW.Mar 9, 2009
An outstanding achievement. Zach Snyder may not be an original, but he understands what makes his source material great and brings it brilliantly to life on the big screen. The film is wonderfully cast, especially Jackie Earle Haley as Rorschach.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PariahM.Apr 5, 2009
I never read the book, but I really enjoyed this movie. It was visually stunning and the characters were very well developed. It was nice to have superheroes who's motivations fall into a sort of a moral gray area.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewD.Aug 3, 2009
Pretty good, except for the fighting scenes, which were way below par.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lxlxlxllxlxlxlJan 30, 2010
Anyone that gives the movie a 0 needs to be ignored. This was an astoundingly good piece of filmmaking and this is coming from someone who absolutely love's Alan Moore and was so cynical about Hollywood adaptations of his work that I Anyone that gives the movie a 0 needs to be ignored. This was an astoundingly good piece of filmmaking and this is coming from someone who absolutely love's Alan Moore and was so cynical about Hollywood adaptations of his work that I avoided watching this until tonight. I vaguely remembered some of the some of the New Yorker, Village Voice, and NYTimes bashing of the film, and since I have a lot of respect for those critics (scott, hoberman, etc.) I avoided the movie. What a mistake. The movie is genuinely gorgeous at times, and the cynicism and projection that was at the heart of the original story are so well preserved. Only the dullest Axe Spray huffing idiot would think the movie is not worth seeing. Please watch and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieLMar 10, 2009
I can appreciate the generally mixed critic reviews, but happen to side with those who liked the film immensely. For the record, I did not read the graphic novel, and I think I understood enough from the film in one viewing not to need to I can appreciate the generally mixed critic reviews, but happen to side with those who liked the film immensely. For the record, I did not read the graphic novel, and I think I understood enough from the film in one viewing not to need to read it. Had I read it, I would've been too busy nitpicking about what was changed or missing to actually enjoy the film (I also saw the first Harry Potter film before reading the books, and enjoyed the film a lot more as a result.) So in this case, ignorance is bliss. This was a long movie, but I didn't leave my seat, because every moment was exciting. I also found it was more entertaining and less plodding than "The Dark Knight," a film many are comparing it too. In some regards, "Knight" even feels blander in my memory, although I loved it. But perhaps that's why Dark Knight was so much less polarizing. It wasn't as risky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TaylorCMar 11, 2009
As a person that did not read the graphic novel before watching this movie, I had no idea what to expect. I read up on the the story and was quite hyped for the movie. Well, my expectations were blown away. This movie is epic and is one of As a person that did not read the graphic novel before watching this movie, I had no idea what to expect. I read up on the the story and was quite hyped for the movie. Well, my expectations were blown away. This movie is epic and is one of my favorite superhero movies ever. The story apparently translates really well to a movie and I feel that I could understand all the plot elements that many like me that hadn't read the novel could not understand. If you have not read the book, I suggest that you at least read up a little about the characters to understand the deep stories behind them. The characters are what tmakes the movie shine. Most of the characters are well acted, most of all by Jackie Earle Haley as Rorshach. He was incredible and played one of the most impressive roles I've seen in years. The violence is quite over-the-top and is pretty awesome if you like that kind of stuff. This movie is definitely not for children; along with the obscene amounts of violence there is also a lot of nudity and some language as well. The script is well written and Zack Snyder does a great job of directing everything. Everything fits in well. The movie is pretty long at 2 hours and 43 minutes, but it is well worth the ticket price and I highly suggest. If you consider yourself a nerd or a fan of superhero movies at all, this is a must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMar 10, 2009
I couldn't get the hype behind Snyder's "300" even after seeing it a few times, but this, I understand. "Watchmen" is the glossiest form of grit you could ever imagine; think "Taxi Driver" and "The Warriors" with the sensibilities I couldn't get the hype behind Snyder's "300" even after seeing it a few times, but this, I understand. "Watchmen" is the glossiest form of grit you could ever imagine; think "Taxi Driver" and "The Warriors" with the sensibilities of Stanley Kubrick. It isn't a masterpiece, but it's absolutely in the same league of "The Dark Knight" as far as truly great, gritty popcorn entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TurnerMar 10, 2009
Just watched this for the second time, and enjoyed it vastly more the 2nd time. It's so true to the spirit of the graphic novel, it's a totally immersive experience. I really liked it the first viewing, but really loved it the Just watched this for the second time, and enjoyed it vastly more the 2nd time. It's so true to the spirit of the graphic novel, it's a totally immersive experience. I really liked it the first viewing, but really loved it the second. Can't wait for the blu-ray with all the additional scenes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronSMar 10, 2009
It was almost like the novel and i get that nowadays american public cannot sit or like a movie that makes you think that is what the american cinema once was in its hayday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
richardgMar 14, 2009
Glad to see this movie. It was awesome. It should please the fans of the comic. To me the movie matched exactly the comic. I can understand the hate, this ideas in this story are a bit complicated but the movie kept its form compared to the Glad to see this movie. It was awesome. It should please the fans of the comic. To me the movie matched exactly the comic. I can understand the hate, this ideas in this story are a bit complicated but the movie kept its form compared to the comic. The movie itself is a historic and visual restoration of the comic. For that am greatly thankful. That's all i wanted and i got it. I'm glad it was done this way. I didn't want watchmen story to change. It was the best! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PierceFMar 10, 2009
I had never heard of watchmen until the trailer appeared on xbox live, I was glad i saw the film! It was very enjoyable if a little graphic and you did not need to know any background info to find the film enjoyable at all!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenMMar 15, 2009
I thought this movie was truly great in nearly every respect. The acting was good, the plot was (obviously) comic book-esque, but still good. The acting clicked very well, and overall the movie feels like an adult super-hero epic. For not I thought this movie was truly great in nearly every respect. The acting was good, the plot was (obviously) comic book-esque, but still good. The acting clicked very well, and overall the movie feels like an adult super-hero epic. For not having experienced the graphic novel, I'm stunned, and very impressed with what Zack Snyder's done. It made me run out and buy the graphic novel the next day, and that's truly a testament to its power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gernickMar 19, 2009
The movie never feels overlong (quite an achievement at 2.44 hrs) and the acting is great. Seeing the movie after seeing it panned in so many reviews I was pleasantly surprised. I can absolutely recommend this film to anyone, comic geek or not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinM.Mar 6, 2009
Amazing! The closest adaptation to any graphic novel so far!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillMar 6, 2009
read "Watchmen" 7 days ago - that was great! just watched the film and i was blown away Great Film - Great Sound Track
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexB.Mar 6, 2009
Action sequences were perfectly shot, excellent casting, great direction, the acting really made you feel the hopelessness and despair of their world. Loved the book, loved the movie, enough said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachV.Mar 6, 2009
It has its problems, but the Manhattan sequence scored by recycled Philip Glass pieces is cinematic perfection. Not as good, but it will last longer than The Dark Knight simply because of the material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasC.Mar 6, 2009
It seems that everyone that panned this epic film forgot one thing...That it is not the graphic novel. And for someone who has not read the story since it was originally released I found the film disturbingly relevant and sublime in its It seems that everyone that panned this epic film forgot one thing...That it is not the graphic novel. And for someone who has not read the story since it was originally released I found the film disturbingly relevant and sublime in its dedication to the source. For under three hours I was transfixed by the beauty of the images and the violence of the story. A superb re-telling of a classic tale that unfortunately will not be appreciated. Its hypocritical that critics of the film have charged it with being to literal a translation when thier very reviews seem steeped in the lore of the graphic novel itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BretG.Mar 6, 2009
Saw it as a sneak peek early screening. Was blown away by how faithful many of the scenes were transferred from the graphic novel, a huge fan service. The altered ending was not surprising, but not a total loss either. For die hard fans, Saw it as a sneak peek early screening. Was blown away by how faithful many of the scenes were transferred from the graphic novel, a huge fan service. The altered ending was not surprising, but not a total loss either. For die hard fans, this is a must see. For people not familiar with the book, they may be less inclined to do so or care to understand the story. Overall, it's a beautiful story full of vengeance, carnage, and mystery that compels the viewer to want more. But don't bring your kids. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveR.Mar 6, 2009
Near perfect adaptation of the source, superb casting, the ending has been changed slightly to good effect. didn't pull any punches - very enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateR.Mar 6, 2009
It was extremely faithful to the book and was wonderfully well done. However, at times it was extremely cheesy at times (the sex scene)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BretMar 6, 2009
Everything the book was, with a better ending. Superb movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Mar 6, 2009
I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We I just saw the midnight viewing. This may already tip you off that I liked the graphic novel. If you also are a fanboy, you will love this movie. Hands down. I wish I could give it a different score for people who hadn't seen it. We brought along a friend who knew nothing about Watchmen except that it had a giant blue guy in it, and he loved it, too. Didn't understand it as much, though, so he said he'd give it an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Mar 6, 2009
As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then As a fan of Watchmen, this movie was great, like watching the graphic novel. Those negative reviews out there are absolutely ridiculous. Sure, I had high expectations, I did with the Lord of the Rings too, but I wasn't disappointed then and I haven't been now. What Peter Jackson did for fantasy, Zack Snyder has done for the graphic novel. He is a genius and this masterpiece shows it. It's gritty and epic, not missing out on the depth behind everything. But don't just take my word for it, sure Watchmen is not for everyone, it's a little more graphic than I expected, but it fit the setting. If you're up for a thrill ride, give Watchmen a shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinH.Mar 6, 2009
One of the most well paced, perfectly acted and socially relevant movies I have ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterS.Mar 6, 2009
Amazing movie followed the novel closely was not disappointing at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephD.Mar 6, 2009
This is easily the best movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevieMar 7, 2009
Don't know how this scored so low. It is incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantL.Mar 7, 2009
This movie is a visual masterpiece. All the characters are classic, and he story could not be any better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackC.Mar 7, 2009
This movie was great. I could see how people wouldn't like it, but personally I read and loved the comic and this was a very faithful and entertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewB.Mar 7, 2009
Great movie! I loved the novel, and I was very pleased with this interpretation of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaverS.Mar 7, 2009
I love the comic books. And I loved the movie. I mean, the comic book was epic and there was no way they were going to be able to fit all the information in the movie, unless the movie was about 6 or 7 hours long, perhaps longer. Yes the I love the comic books. And I loved the movie. I mean, the comic book was epic and there was no way they were going to be able to fit all the information in the movie, unless the movie was about 6 or 7 hours long, perhaps longer. Yes the movie looked like the cinematography was lifted straight out of the comic books, but i don't understand why some others think this is such a bad thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeL.Mar 7, 2009
I loved it. Perfect soundtrack, with Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen topping it perfectly. Stuck to the graphic novel only as much as it needed to. I loved the slow-motion scenes and the actor for the midget in jail. I expected Kramer to be I loved it. Perfect soundtrack, with Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen topping it perfectly. Stuck to the graphic novel only as much as it needed to. I loved the slow-motion scenes and the actor for the midget in jail. I expected Kramer to be running in any second. ("It's a riot, Mickey!") Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricF.Mar 7, 2009
Excellent adaptation from the graphic novel. The reviewers who gave it poor reviews didn't read the graphic novel... sorry for giving you a film that requires a little bit of work. I guess you're not used to that these days. Excellent adaptation from the graphic novel. The reviewers who gave it poor reviews didn't read the graphic novel... sorry for giving you a film that requires a little bit of work. I guess you're not used to that these days. Hollywood has gotten lazy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilipMitchellMar 7, 2009
I can understand why someone without patience would rate this movie poorly as it takes some time for the story to play out. It certainly doesn't deserve the lower ratings on Metacritic. If you are on the fence due to the mixed reviews I I can understand why someone without patience would rate this movie poorly as it takes some time for the story to play out. It certainly doesn't deserve the lower ratings on Metacritic. If you are on the fence due to the mixed reviews I say ignore them and go see the movie. It probably won't be what you are expecting but in a good way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaB.Mar 7, 2009
This is a movie without a roadmap. It heads for uncharted territory and doesn't give you a sense of where it is going. If you need the familiarity of the same old action film or ages old story told again and again, this movie is not for This is a movie without a roadmap. It heads for uncharted territory and doesn't give you a sense of where it is going. If you need the familiarity of the same old action film or ages old story told again and again, this movie is not for you. If you want something different and like doing unexpected things at 3am, then this is your movie. If Hollywood and the Academy are being honest about treating "Superhero Movies" as legit drama, then please consider Jackie Earle Haley for a Best Supporting Actor nod. Full disclosure: I am a female and although in general I have enjoyed graphic novels and comics in the past, I never read the Watchmen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnieH.Mar 8, 2009
Great flick!, I am a SciFi fan and never read the book, but it was a great flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanC.Mar 8, 2009
Very enjoyable movie. Not as good as the graphic novel, but for the most part, I appreciated how faithful the adaptation was to the book (especially compared to what other producers had in mind before Snyder took over). Jackie Earle Haley Very enjoyable movie. Not as good as the graphic novel, but for the most part, I appreciated how faithful the adaptation was to the book (especially compared to what other producers had in mind before Snyder took over). Jackie Earle Haley turned this movie into an 8.5 (rounded up to 9) from a 6.5-7.5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IainF.Mar 8, 2009
My expectations were so high, I was scared that the film wouldn't even closely resemble the picture in my head of how it would play out. Yes, I was a huge fan of the graphic novel, as was everyone who's read it, yet the film truly My expectations were so high, I was scared that the film wouldn't even closely resemble the picture in my head of how it would play out. Yes, I was a huge fan of the graphic novel, as was everyone who's read it, yet the film truly does it justice. Ignore the negative reviews, go and see it and make up a decision for yourselves. This film is the new Dark Knight: A new frontier in comic book movies. I was left on the edge of my seat for the entire duration of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonKMar 8, 2009
Visually stunning, and thoroughly thought provoking. While the theme of the movie might be a bit cliche, the execution and characterization is wonderful. An excellent movie if you have an open mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NicholasF.Mar 8, 2009
Probably an excellent movie for those who have not read the graphic novel, though those who have will recognize that it's the bare-bones of the original story. It is altered in some key points and subtle but important scenes have been Probably an excellent movie for those who have not read the graphic novel, though those who have will recognize that it's the bare-bones of the original story. It is altered in some key points and subtle but important scenes have been thrown out. Characterizations in the film are in a decent way, with Rorschach and The Comedian being brilliantly cast, but others like the Silk Specter and lots of side characters acting come off as camp and bring the movie down a peg with insincere and often bored portrayals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeamieD.Mar 8, 2009
Overall good job my Snyder. Faithfull to the graphic novel and a good show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasK.Mar 8, 2009
Although not quite as amazing as the original, this is by far the best graphic novel-to-film adaptation I have ever seen. The few changes that had to be made were intelligent and worked well. Overall this movie makes the great story that is Although not quite as amazing as the original, this is by far the best graphic novel-to-film adaptation I have ever seen. The few changes that had to be made were intelligent and worked well. Overall this movie makes the great story that is Watchmen accessible to all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JefframoneMar 8, 2009
No sure how anyone could give this a low rating and I think the "yellow" metacritic rating is bunk, since a huge chunk of critics rated it in the "green". This movie is thematically and visually unlike most squeaky clean superhero movies No sure how anyone could give this a low rating and I think the "yellow" metacritic rating is bunk, since a huge chunk of critics rated it in the "green". This movie is thematically and visually unlike most squeaky clean superhero movies (Dark Knight not withstanding). If big screen superhero action is not your think, don''t both. But I was enthralled from the opening/title sequence onward. Though I will admit it sorta conformed to some superhero cliches in the last act (hence the 8 rating instead of 10). A must see, for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveJ.Mar 8, 2009
I thought that this movie was a triumph. It had perfect casting, the music was excellent, and it captured the hopelessness of the graphic novel. The things that were different were very different, but without the additional sub-plots and I thought that this movie was a triumph. It had perfect casting, the music was excellent, and it captured the hopelessness of the graphic novel. The things that were different were very different, but without the additional sub-plots and extras from the novel, they helped to loop all the characters together in the end. Very good film adaption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickeyR.Mar 9, 2009
Watchmen follows the novel and turns it into a spectacular and awe-inspiring film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YuriMar 9, 2009
I absolutely loved this movie. I have yet to finish reading the novel but nonetheless I was amazed with the story and characters and how artful every detail was rendered. I loved how long the movie was too, I often feel when I walk out of I absolutely loved this movie. I have yet to finish reading the novel but nonetheless I was amazed with the story and characters and how artful every detail was rendered. I loved how long the movie was too, I often feel when I walk out of movie theaters that the movie that I saw was not long enough or that more could have been done but I had none of these feelings for Watchmen. See this movie and then read the novel. Both will blow you away! I cant wait for dvd release I'm getting the highest/best edition there is! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinceS.Mar 9, 2009
This movie was intended for the fanboys of the original graphic novel. It was the best adaptation I could have wished for from the original source material. This story is not the average super hero action film and is more of a psychological This movie was intended for the fanboys of the original graphic novel. It was the best adaptation I could have wished for from the original source material. This story is not the average super hero action film and is more of a psychological thriller that really needs intelligence to fully appreciate it's message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatLMar 9, 2009
Never read the novels (wanting to now though). An amazing, original movie for a change. Actually forces viewers to think, while providing amazing effects, and near-sickening brutality. A bit long, but never to a boring extent. Every ten Never read the novels (wanting to now though). An amazing, original movie for a change. Actually forces viewers to think, while providing amazing effects, and near-sickening brutality. A bit long, but never to a boring extent. Every ten minutes blood gushed, there was a smoking hot woman or something interesting was said. No complaints here...best comic book movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillR.Mar 9, 2009
I have never read the watchmen novel. I've never heard of the watchmen before this film and yet I understood the movie and loved it. These are imperfect characters, super heroes that are at times self-serving and all, very flawed and I have never read the watchmen novel. I've never heard of the watchmen before this film and yet I understood the movie and loved it. These are imperfect characters, super heroes that are at times self-serving and all, very flawed and one of the most ugly, flawed of all, stays true to his principles, his care for the humanity and justice even to the point of his death. Forget the time, just immerse yourself in the story, the world will still be there when you get out, only, you may view the world differently. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanH>Mar 9, 2009
10 thumps up gore,accion,story,great combination of music, certanly the best super hero movie of all times
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RafaR.Mar 9, 2009
An amazing adaptation.Jackie Earl haley owns the film in just a few minutes of screen time. Kudos to Z. Snyder and the whole crew. The production design was right out of the comic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyZ.Mar 9, 2009
I really liked it, but then, I read the original years ago, and re-read it recently. It's so close to the comic that I can't really say how it stands on its own as a movie. I recommend, it, but it may be more enjoyable if you read I really liked it, but then, I read the original years ago, and re-read it recently. It's so close to the comic that I can't really say how it stands on its own as a movie. I recommend, it, but it may be more enjoyable if you read it first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HudsonTApr 2, 2009
The reviewer below me, Tim, is an extremely ignorant human being. He claims that anyone who likes this movie lives in their parents basement, and has their head up their butt hole. Clearly ridiculous, with opponents like this I need to make The reviewer below me, Tim, is an extremely ignorant human being. He claims that anyone who likes this movie lives in their parents basement, and has their head up their butt hole. Clearly ridiculous, with opponents like this I need to make little argument to prove my point. To begin, I thought the fight scenes in the movie were very well done, and very exhilirating. I thought the story was an absolute classic, the ending probably being my favorite part. Yes I did have a few qualms with the movie, such as Silk Spectre's acting job, but nothing too serious. I thought the special effects were beautiful. The music during specific scenes such as "The Times are A-Changing" and "Sound of Silence" were meticulously placed. Overall I thought this movie was very good, not only was it thoroughly entertaining, but it also delved deep into philosophical and political issues and portrayed a message that left with each viewer. I truly think this movie is the best so far this year, and it clearly merits a 10/10 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertEApr 22, 2009
As not someone who had not heard of the watchmen, until this Film's release I went into the theatre with an open mind, not expecting anything too good. Boy I was satisfied with the visual feast on offering. I understand some parts are As not someone who had not heard of the watchmen, until this Film's release I went into the theatre with an open mind, not expecting anything too good. Boy I was satisfied with the visual feast on offering. I understand some parts are per the graphic novel almost on a short of shot basis, while other parts of the story are ignored. Personally I wouldn't have minded the extra length that this would have added to the films length. the 163 minutes flew by. Great Film. This will be a DVD must be on it's release. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SunilaApr 2, 2009
I wish tim actually gave a reason why he thought the movie was bad. all in all, fabulous movie. and i am a late 20's art snob who loved the graphic novel and has loved comic books his whole life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
buzznjackallastnameApr 4, 2009
Excellent comic book to movie translation. Visual effects were stunning, acting and plot were very good. I believe that people that didn't enjoy the film was for two major factors. 1. They didn't read the comic book and Excellent comic book to movie translation. Visual effects were stunning, acting and plot were very good. I believe that people that didn't enjoy the film was for two major factors. 1. They didn't read the comic book and couldn't follow the complex story involving multiple protagonist. 2. They read the comic and expected every single detail to be included in a two hour 40 minute movie, which of course would require the movie to have been over 6 hours judging by the motion comics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobBApr 5, 2009
Never read the graphic novel till after seeing this film. Info: I'm a huge film buff. Love independent and foriegn films due to philosophical content typically expressed. This film, though not perfect, was fascinating. If you pay Never read the graphic novel till after seeing this film. Info: I'm a huge film buff. Love independent and foriegn films due to philosophical content typically expressed. This film, though not perfect, was fascinating. If you pay attention to politics and the worldwide push for globalization and a NWO, this film is haunting. I went and read the graphic novel afterwards. It is, of course, better. Why make an exact copy in cinematic form? If you want an honest representation, read the novel. As a film, Watchmen was great. It was also fairly close to the novel and dead-on in many aspects. If you have the mental ability to fill in certain shoddy sections of the film, as one does when viewing/reading a comic, then it is pretty damn good. Use your brain, connect the dots, and see this. It is different, haunting, and different. Good stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamMJul 10, 2009
Knew nothing about the comic book, and i really enjoyed it not your average comic book film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EverettM.Jul 20, 2009
I won't say anything other than that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The fact that it is based on a graphic novel is irrelevant (I have never read it.) All that matters is that it explores real issues like hopelessness, I won't say anything other than that this is one of the best movies I have ever seen. The fact that it is based on a graphic novel is irrelevant (I have never read it.) All that matters is that it explores real issues like hopelessness, despair, loneliness and sense of self-worth more than almost any Oscar-caliber drama ever has. Much of the story deserves to be compared far more with Death of a Salesman than with Batman. Wonderful!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
wayneyJul 23, 2009
I have not read the graphic novel, and don't intend to. This film suffices as a wonderful testimony on all our dreams, faults and self delusions. The world we seek to dreate is the world we have and it is really ugly and dark. There are I have not read the graphic novel, and don't intend to. This film suffices as a wonderful testimony on all our dreams, faults and self delusions. The world we seek to dreate is the world we have and it is really ugly and dark. There are so many references here to religion, politics, relationships, greed, hope etc. and I found it literally amazing. It brought me back to the dyas I sneaked inot see Clockwork Orange and was never the same again. It is a superhero movie as a vehicle only to shatter our smugness and should not really be in the Spiderman and Batman argument (despite Heaths brilliant part coming close to the same mayhem in us all) but I think in Watchmen we have a much grander canvas and a more unsettling image. Beyond all the technical brilliance it has a real story to tell, and you wont feel the same way again. I bought the soundrack and each song now has new meaning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvinCAug 12, 2009
Cool but I think it could only be watched like twice and then every couple of years. Dean Morgan and Earle Haley are good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanS.Aug 1, 2009
Well I'm a type of person love to watch every type of movie and enjoy the movie i analyze the movie and i think watchmen is a great movie with amazing and the other that surprise me is the movie explained the origins and why the heroes Well I'm a type of person love to watch every type of movie and enjoy the movie i analyze the movie and i think watchmen is a great movie with amazing and the other that surprise me is the movie explained the origins and why the heroes take the path they take this is a good point but other movies don't explain very well the origins this movie is long but is a great movie i like the longest movies because if a pid for a blue ray or i go to theater i want to enjoy and stay for a long time this is great and i hate people don't appreciate and analyze the movies!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanFJan 10, 2010
An excellent film that I believe should certainly enter into the lists of best films of all time. Having no previous knowledge of the watchmen as I had never read the graphic novels I cannot compare the two media, however, I suspect that to An excellent film that I believe should certainly enter into the lists of best films of all time. Having no previous knowledge of the watchmen as I had never read the graphic novels I cannot compare the two media, however, I suspect that to do so would be a disservice to the film. Having spent years and years in development hell I can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TLOct 8, 2009
I tried watching this movie about a month ago and literally fell asleep 30 minutes in. I guess it wasn't what I expected. Still, I knew it had 'something'. I revisited it last night... with an open and focused mind. It really I tried watching this movie about a month ago and literally fell asleep 30 minutes in. I guess it wasn't what I expected. Still, I knew it had 'something'. I revisited it last night... with an open and focused mind. It really is quite brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnHMar 11, 2009
I read Watchmen this past summer after seeing the preview of the film version before The Dark Knight. Needless to say I became an instant fan and have been anticipating this film for quite some time. I recently saw Watchmen and was very I read Watchmen this past summer after seeing the preview of the film version before The Dark Knight. Needless to say I became an instant fan and have been anticipating this film for quite some time. I recently saw Watchmen and was very pleased with how much attention was given to detail by Zach Snyder. A few element of the story were left out, but the main elements were flawlessly portrayed throughout the entire film. I can see how someone could get lost in the film if they had not read the novel. However, anyone who enjoyed the film, will very much enjoy the graphic novel. GO READ WATCHMEN Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kcMar 10, 2009
I rate this movie two blue dongs down. The fanboys' perfect ratings are seriously misleading to the average movie-goer. The movie was boring, cliched, and devoid of sympathetic characters. By the end, i was rooting for the nukes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
gkMar 10, 2009
It wasn't bad. It wasn't amazing. It goes to show you that even if you recreated a masterpiece piece by piece it's not always going to be the same. The watchmen came out in the 80s and was unlike anything written before (that It wasn't bad. It wasn't amazing. It goes to show you that even if you recreated a masterpiece piece by piece it's not always going to be the same. The watchmen came out in the 80s and was unlike anything written before (that was over 20 years ago). Good attempt but it wasn't epic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WesleyWMar 10, 2009
As a fan of the original source material I have to say I love the bits they included from the graphic novel, sadly they left some bits out too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeansMar 12, 2009
I thought this movie was great very true to the book which is pretty hard to say for most books turned into movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AstridIMar 10, 2009
I went in the theatre having never read the graphic novel and emerged impressed with Snyder's portrayal of Watchmen, vowing to get my hands on the book. The sound and graphics were fantastic, and Rorschach was portrayed brilliantly by I went in the theatre having never read the graphic novel and emerged impressed with Snyder's portrayal of Watchmen, vowing to get my hands on the book. The sound and graphics were fantastic, and Rorschach was portrayed brilliantly by Jackie Earle Haley. Haley was perfect casting and made the film - certain dull scenes could have been the downfall of the movie if it were not for him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianRMar 12, 2009
The first thing you have to learn about this movie is: if you never read the book it's not for you. I read the graphic novel and therefore understand the subtleties in the film. There was absolutley no way anyone could put the entire The first thing you have to learn about this movie is: if you never read the book it's not for you. I read the graphic novel and therefore understand the subtleties in the film. There was absolutley no way anyone could put the entire novel in and keep a reasonable time limit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonDMar 13, 2009
I'm a fan of the graphic novel (but I don't weep over how good it is like some) and I thought the film was great. Was true to the novel (obviously they had to omit quite a bit) but overall it was just a condensed version of the I'm a fan of the graphic novel (but I don't weep over how good it is like some) and I thought the film was great. Was true to the novel (obviously they had to omit quite a bit) but overall it was just a condensed version of the book. Rorschach is perfectly cast and Dr Manhattan has a fat schlong. What more could you ask for? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JAMar 10, 2009
When watching those "official" reviews, you could actually just cut the lower half away, and then you'd get somewhat more realistic average. Naturally, when trying to turn a great graphic novel into a movie, it won't be as good as When watching those "official" reviews, you could actually just cut the lower half away, and then you'd get somewhat more realistic average. Naturally, when trying to turn a great graphic novel into a movie, it won't be as good as the original was, but Watchmen really does get close. Some things have been changed, but then again, some things really had to be changed in a movie version. In the end, it still is almost as worthy movie version the book could possibly get. About those reviews, I have no idea what kind of movies some of those "critics" usually watch and give good ratings, but they just might be in a wrong business. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful