Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1885 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,541
Mixed:
150
Negative:
194
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ZapperC.Mar 6, 2009
This was the least impressive files I've seen in years. The gratuitous violence was detracting and distracting. The massive time spent on character development was painful yet uniforming. There were no redeeming story lines, characters This was the least impressive files I've seen in years. The gratuitous violence was detracting and distracting. The massive time spent on character development was painful yet uniforming. There were no redeeming story lines, characters or actors. All this and three hours of it too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianMar 6, 2009
Good movie, very long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeremyH.Mar 6, 2009
I was excited to see this film, but the misleading trailer was only the beginning of the dissapointment. An existential discussion through fantasy characters blah blah.... this film was garbage. And i dislike few films
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KentG.Mar 6, 2009
The filmmakers did a decent job of actually adapting the movie from the comic book. However, they really missed the boat by explicitly showing too many things that were merely hinted at in the books. Overall, it made for a really flat adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredMar 6, 2009
Love it!, though i missed like 5 - 10 minutes of the movie because the stupid ppl playing it. Good enough story and action to keep me enjoying it while never reading a comic in my life, let alone watchmen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HankB.Mar 6, 2009
Extremely well done - the critics be damed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackS.Mar 6, 2009
Ok so i just got back from watching the watchmen 15 min ago and i have to say. Star wars new hope + V for Vendetta + Good years of Indiana Jones + The Dark night X7 = WATCHMEN I really loved the movie. It was ind of weird at first. I think Ok so i just got back from watching the watchmen 15 min ago and i have to say. Star wars new hope + V for Vendetta + Good years of Indiana Jones + The Dark night X7 = WATCHMEN I really loved the movie. It was ind of weird at first. I think the fight scene at the begining dragged on for a bit. And some of the music was WAY out of place. But overall i don't think i have ever seen a movie so close so intertwined with the source material. And you know what? Thats a good thing. This movie was over the top epic and awesome. Dark Knight is not my favorite movie anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredB.Mar 6, 2009
Great movie for fans of the graphic novel, but I'd imagine newcomers would have a harder time getting into it. They left out a few parts that I think should have been included (but hey every Watchmen fan probably thinks this).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilG.Mar 7, 2009
Beautifully filmed, just the right amount of action and realistic dialogue. Better than the comic book. See it in IMAX
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Mar 7, 2009
I've never read the comic books but I really enjoyed this movie. It was a bit long, but I would've come out pissed off it had been chopped up or had stopped in some random place. Watchmen definitely deserves much much more than a 56.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RhettR.Mar 7, 2009
This movie is not going to be everything to everyone. If you enjoy comic book movies, particularly the high quality films lately, you will definitely enjoy this movie. Yes, there are some parts with poor acting, but hey! comic books can be This movie is not going to be everything to everyone. If you enjoy comic book movies, particularly the high quality films lately, you will definitely enjoy this movie. Yes, there are some parts with poor acting, but hey! comic books can be cheesy sometimes too! You have to take it all, including the eccentricities. that is what makes a comic book a comic book. If you pay attention, and you already know the storyline (or at least the background of the characters) you will appreciate all of the subtle details that reference the comic. It is apparent that the production crew put alot of heart into the movie simply for that fact. Aside from some awkward (and steamy, and IMO hilarious, and drawn out all at the same time) sex scenes the movie was a smash. Even the ending, considering since it IS a movie, wasn't too bad, although it felt a bit numb given the situation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KatyDMar 7, 2009
A great adaptation, true to the original themes and tones. Great cast and visual style. An excellent movie going experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanR.Mar 7, 2009
I was blown away! It was so much deeper and visceral than I ever expected. I can't wait to see it again. Bravo to the team who brought this graphic novel to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanliMar 7, 2009
Truthful enough to the book (with the notable exception of the squid), and a great piece on its own.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillS.Mar 7, 2009
This is the 1st movie in a very very very long time I'd actually pay $10 again to see it a second time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillR.Mar 7, 2009
"Watchmen" was one of those projects that, quite frankly was way too vast to tackle in film.. No matter how much fans of the graphic novel will want it, it won't include the totality of the novel. With that said, they did an excellent "Watchmen" was one of those projects that, quite frankly was way too vast to tackle in film.. No matter how much fans of the graphic novel will want it, it won't include the totality of the novel. With that said, they did an excellent job cutting down to the baseline of what make the essence of 'Watchmen". It wasn't sincerely a movie for the stringent fan, but for an audience willing to give a movie with a comic book heritage a fair chance of proving the medium past the shallow, direct, action orientated that sticks as a stigma to the genre, and as a potential output for sincere philosophical waxing. While nowhere as deep as the novel, its one of those movies that you can sit through several times, and get something new out of it, giving it a great deal of replay value. If its going over your head, you probably should watch it again, and think onto the 'whys' of things happening, instead of presuming you should be force-fed info like the dumbed-down population Hollywood generally takes us for. In short, deep enough to be gratifying, while controlled enough to be intellectually condescending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LisaH.Mar 7, 2009
This is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life! I cant believe anyone said it was good. It was like Quentin Tarantino and Xmen made a baby and the babys name was soft porn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinB.Mar 7, 2009
Excellent movie, similar to The Dark Knight in visual and intellectual stimulation. Tells you to keep an eye on the smart people, and Richard Nixon ;). All in all, a fantastic movie with breathtaking actors, and action. Would highly Excellent movie, similar to The Dark Knight in visual and intellectual stimulation. Tells you to keep an eye on the smart people, and Richard Nixon ;). All in all, a fantastic movie with breathtaking actors, and action. Would highly recommend it to anyone who likes a good superhero movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamC.Mar 7, 2009
Honestly, I was expecting this movie to blow pretty hard. After I read the comic, I didn't think it could be turned into a movie without significant changes. The movie, however, stays true to the comic, and I was thoroughly entertained Honestly, I was expecting this movie to blow pretty hard. After I read the comic, I didn't think it could be turned into a movie without significant changes. The movie, however, stays true to the comic, and I was thoroughly entertained throughout. They managed to introduce almost all the characters without losing much depth and recreate many of the comic's best moments on screen. For what it is, watchmen is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavjdP.Mar 7, 2009
I have been looking forward to this film since it's trailer debuted, and while there were parts of the film that disappointed, mainly the acting by Mathew Goode and Mailin Ackerman, I was pleasantly surprised by the performances given I have been looking forward to this film since it's trailer debuted, and while there were parts of the film that disappointed, mainly the acting by Mathew Goode and Mailin Ackerman, I was pleasantly surprised by the performances given by the rest of the cast, particularly hollywood's resurrected Jack Earle Haley, who singlehandedly makes the film worth the money. The look of the film is exquisite, and though I found the soundtrack to be much more heavy handed than necessary, the title sequence set to Bob Dylan is brilliant. The story was of course truncated but it never feels rushed, and the drama is left to unfold at a pace that is quite unusual for a superhero film (I think a lot of the negative reviews have settled on this point, though I found it to be one of the film's greatest strengths). Was it a masterpiece on par with The Dark Knight? Of course not. No actor here, not even Haley, comes close to the transcendent performance by Heath Ledger in the latest Batman film, and Goode's villain, if you can call it that, is distractingly bad. But perhaps it's unfair to compare the two movies. The Dark Knight tried hard NOT to be a comic book tale, where as Watchmen is the ultimate comic story. Watchmen, the film, does more than a journeyman's job of bringing that story to the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EmmaG.Mar 7, 2009
it's not perfect, but the high points more than make up for the low moments. Some excellent performances shine through, and it is generally true the source material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NitaB.Mar 7, 2009
The best adaptation from comics to cinema ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelB.Mar 7, 2009
Because I believe it should be seen for what it is... a classic! Sure there are flaws if you want to find them but I found it brilliant and I found it was as good as the novel was... at the least :P
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatS.Mar 7, 2009
I have never read the graphic novel, and I thought the movie was awesome. What I would say is that you don't need to know the story, and in fact it may be an advantage, since I'm sure there was more suspense in it for me than for I have never read the graphic novel, and I thought the movie was awesome. What I would say is that you don't need to know the story, and in fact it may be an advantage, since I'm sure there was more suspense in it for me than for others who knew the ending. I loved it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BethanyS.Mar 7, 2009
I swear this was the absolute worst movie i have ever seen bar none! the best part was the opening credits. it was too long, and filled with pointless and lengthy talking. the plot was thick and filled with riddles and the "action" scenesI swear this was the absolute worst movie i have ever seen bar none! the best part was the opening credits. it was too long, and filled with pointless and lengthy talking. the plot was thick and filled with riddles and the "action" scenes were not very action packed. ....and i was so sick of the naked blue guy. this movie was a let down. if you want to enjoy watchmen, go see the previews, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelS.Mar 7, 2009
Excellent adaptation!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerrmanMar 7, 2009
I just want to say that I had never even heard of the Watchman graphic novel prior to this movie, but I got it nonetheless. This is a thinking man's story with some pretty deep thoughts. But lets not forget the unforgettable characters, I just want to say that I had never even heard of the Watchman graphic novel prior to this movie, but I got it nonetheless. This is a thinking man's story with some pretty deep thoughts. But lets not forget the unforgettable characters, astounding production design, action sequences, and visual effects. Also there was some just plain great movie-making like the prison sequence involving a men's room and a swinging door - brilliant. If you like movies for all elements that make a movie, you will love this one. It's got them all in spades. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SammyR.Mar 7, 2009
To be honest, about an hour and a half into Watchmen, I walked out. It is truly to see one of the most brilliant works of literature butchered in the way it was on film. The acting is dreadful across the board, and for the most part Snyder To be honest, about an hour and a half into Watchmen, I walked out. It is truly to see one of the most brilliant works of literature butchered in the way it was on film. The acting is dreadful across the board, and for the most part Snyder chose to use the same dialogue as the comic, which comes off stilted and awkward on screen. For such a brilliant and thought provoking novel, it is incredible to see such a dull and mindless adaptation. I needed a long break, so I went to Chipotle, grabbed some tacos, and still had time to catch the ending, which for some reason was heavily altered from the source material, and not for the better. For anyone that respects the graphic novel, watching Watchmen is akin to watching it die. I honestly believe that they could not have done a worse job with the adaptation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DerekS.Mar 7, 2009
Soundtrack was good.....that's about all I have to say positively about this movie. The absolute disregard for the source material and the obvious liberties taken by the studios were more than enough for me to side with Alan Moore (the Soundtrack was good.....that's about all I have to say positively about this movie. The absolute disregard for the source material and the obvious liberties taken by the studios were more than enough for me to side with Alan Moore (the writer of the original books) in his opinion that this is an unadaptable work of fiction. Wait for it on DVD if you must see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LinhN.Mar 7, 2009
Watchmen was and still is one of my favourite Alan Moore's series, so expectations weren't that high for me (knowing how MOST comic-to-movie adaptation have been crap with some exceptions, not by Snyder though). And I was Watchmen was and still is one of my favourite Alan Moore's series, so expectations weren't that high for me (knowing how MOST comic-to-movie adaptation have been crap with some exceptions, not by Snyder though). And I was pleasantly surprised. Snyder did his best to stay very true to the comic book. Excellent decision. It would've pissed many people to no end to see the plot Hollywoodified. @Bethany, the movie was a let down for you? I guess you've never even heard of Watchmen before it became the movie to see of 2009. I doubt you would've had understood the comic anyway. I guess the previews were misleading people to believe that this is a typical all action superhero movie. Definitely not. You need a brain to appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DeafHeavenMar 7, 2009
This may be the first time I've gone to see a movie where I was first intimately familiar with the book. Does the movie succeed? Sort of. The director did treat the source material with all due respect. All the key notes are there. This may be the first time I've gone to see a movie where I was first intimately familiar with the book. Does the movie succeed? Sort of. The director did treat the source material with all due respect. All the key notes are there. It's the adagio, the espressivo, the intermezzo that are missing. Some here say there was too much exposition. I have to disagree... there was too little. I look forward to seeing the super extended director's cut which will probably push it to a 7 or 8 on my scale. I give the excellently done motion capture comic a 9 (would have been a 10 had they had a female actor do the female voices). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tekoMar 7, 2009
A great movie, and also a faithful graphic novel adaptation. It's slow at times, but never boring. Lots of violence and nudity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SevanMar 8, 2009
The movie itself was great, but the changes from the book were terrible. Pinning the blame on Dr. Manhattan? And even making him the cheesy one ("I think I finally believe in miracles")? Seriously. And way too many sex scenes. Even the book The movie itself was great, but the changes from the book were terrible. Pinning the blame on Dr. Manhattan? And even making him the cheesy one ("I think I finally believe in miracles")? Seriously. And way too many sex scenes. Even the book didn't have THAT much sex. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeP.Mar 8, 2009
Despite its flaws this was one of the most special movie-going experiences of the decade. Stunning visuals, beautiful music and photography combined with extreme violence, sex, nudity and above all a deep meaning and thought provocative Despite its flaws this was one of the most special movie-going experiences of the decade. Stunning visuals, beautiful music and photography combined with extreme violence, sex, nudity and above all a deep meaning and thought provocative plot...this isn't X-Men, this is truly unique and despite what some fans of the Watchment graphic novel may say, as a movie-going fan, this is a must see. There are negatives, for one it feels like a 3 hour + movie yet it clocks under 2 hours + some of the scenes are too graphic and violent yet it all works, perfect it may not be but it is still a big achievement and highyl original/entertaining Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Mishimay.Mar 8, 2009
A flawed masterpiece and a great meditation on utilitarianist ethics. I have the feeling that like "Bladerunner", this will gain similar cult and critical currency over time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MateM.Mar 8, 2009
Zack Snyder has successfully and - more important - quite authentically brought Alan Moore's brilliant Graphic Novel to the big screen. A fantastic cast, up-beat 80s-music and great shots are only a few of the film's advantages, Zack Snyder has successfully and - more important - quite authentically brought Alan Moore's brilliant Graphic Novel to the big screen. A fantastic cast, up-beat 80s-music and great shots are only a few of the film's advantages, making it a gain for Graphic Novel-fans and newbies alike. However, the ending has been changed slightly... Still, best movie ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonoymous]Mar 8, 2009
This is a great adaptation of the book, although it may be difficult for viewers to digest if they have no prior knowledge of the plot...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrbitalshiftMar 8, 2009
Great adaptation, probably not what most will expect. The Original book was great for how it was written and drawn as much as for what it had to say.Snyder got the essence of that, though the change in medium loses the subtlety of the Great adaptation, probably not what most will expect. The Original book was great for how it was written and drawn as much as for what it had to say.Snyder got the essence of that, though the change in medium loses the subtlety of the printed page. People walking in expecting Ironman will be disappointed. This is pure nihilism from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidC.Mar 8, 2009
Excessive use of slow motion, violence, nudity= awesome. It is a little slow, but that's also what makes it realistic. Less Hollywood fight scenes, more in your face, gritty, nasty deaths. The best part of the film is the fact that the Excessive use of slow motion, violence, nudity= awesome. It is a little slow, but that's also what makes it realistic. Less Hollywood fight scenes, more in your face, gritty, nasty deaths. The best part of the film is the fact that the villain makes you think, whether or not you would do the same thing for the sake of saving others. One of the best comic book adaptations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeG.Mar 8, 2009
It is amazing to me how polarizing this movie is for audiences. Obviously I loved it! Great music, beautifully crafted scenes, interesting and memorable characters, and about as faithful to the source material as a fan like me could hope It is amazing to me how polarizing this movie is for audiences. Obviously I loved it! Great music, beautifully crafted scenes, interesting and memorable characters, and about as faithful to the source material as a fan like me could hope for. Be prepared for a little violence, nudity, and political commentary and you will be well served. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NickS.Mar 8, 2009
Great visuals but a big disappointment. All efforts were made to stay true to the book. Most people came out of the cinema feeling indifferent. I personally felt like I wasted 3 hours of my life, the movie wasn't bad, I just didn't Great visuals but a big disappointment. All efforts were made to stay true to the book. Most people came out of the cinema feeling indifferent. I personally felt like I wasted 3 hours of my life, the movie wasn't bad, I just didn't care. At first I thought the book was not as good as I first thought, then I realised I just didn't care either way. i couldn't recommend it to someone who hasn't read watchmen because its very hard to follow and I can't recommend it to someone who has read Watchmen because there's just no point. Great visuals though but still indifferent to the experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AustinB.Mar 8, 2009
I thought it was better than the comic. The critics are unfairly harsh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GusMar 8, 2009
Synder knows how to shoot a sleek, clinical action sequence with exaggerated physics and gorgeous ballet-like twisting and turning of bodies. But he knows nothing about the subtleties of human emotion. He is a lousy dramatist who depends on Synder knows how to shoot a sleek, clinical action sequence with exaggerated physics and gorgeous ballet-like twisting and turning of bodies. But he knows nothing about the subtleties of human emotion. He is a lousy dramatist who depends on dumb Hollywood convention to create character. His actors don't gel. They look hogtied, uninspired and shallow, as if they are walking through the motions like some robot. There are moments of overdone violence that jars the audience back, who don't need anymore help to feel distant from the story. A story, by the way, which is a pretentious mess of pseudo-philosophical nonsense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RicC.Mar 8, 2009
I don't really see what the problem everyone has with it being faithful to the source material - It's fans of a comic or tv show that generally provide the drive to make the movie in the first place, what's wrong with making a I don't really see what the problem everyone has with it being faithful to the source material - It's fans of a comic or tv show that generally provide the drive to make the movie in the first place, what's wrong with making a movie that actually pleases them? Would the Xmen movies have existed if they hadn't sold thousands of comics to practically rabid fans? Or the ever-successful Dark Knight? And yet they only seem to be universally well-received when they are noticeably changed from the original material - I loved the comic when I first read it, and got more out of a re-read than I ever have out of any other comic - The idea of peace coming at such a heavy cost raising an ever-relevant question of what, exactly, is actually right - Costumed vigilantes are portrayed as HUMAN, not just a one-dimensional boy scout in tights who never has more than a one-shot, easy-to-solve moral quandary. It goes against the standard formula for a comic movie, basically because the original was written by Alan Moore, a write who stands so far away from the rest of comic writers with his gritty, realistic storywork. So the movie isn't something totally different to the comic. I frankly wouldn't go to see a movie called Watchmen if I thought I was getting an atrocity like Spider-man 3 or Constantine, movies only really associated with the comics of origin by similar names of some of the characters, when you get down to it. Watchmen was exactly what something produced from the comic could only, and had to, be - a near-perfect reproduction. Jackie Earl Haley made me love Rorschach all over again, and Patrick Wilson perfectly captured Nite-Owls insecurity and the intrinsic sadness that he always seemed to carry in the comic stayed with the character - Manhattan's nudity isn't something I had a problem with, though due to certain alterations to the ending and elsewhere, many of the biblical links that his gradual 'de-clothing' was meant to show are missed or glossed over, which, while a little sad, is completely understandable - I didn't have the required seven hours it would have taken to tell properly. Near-perfect, only gets a nine because they changed the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrevorMar 8, 2009
I'm quite mystified by SOME of the negative reviews suggesting that people who haven't read the original won't get into this. I came to the movie with only the faintest idea of what it was all about, and found it utterly I'm quite mystified by SOME of the negative reviews suggesting that people who haven't read the original won't get into this. I came to the movie with only the faintest idea of what it was all about, and found it utterly fascinating and quite unlike any other movie I've seen. That alone is refreshing. It is definitely unlike the standard Hollywood 'comic book' film. I hadn't seen any promos, so I can understand that if people thought this was an action movie they would be disappointed. It's not an action movie. It is so much more. An exploration of characters struggling to make sense of their purpose in the world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlistairM.Mar 8, 2009
As close as you could get to the Graphic novel in 2 1/2 hours of time. Rorschach was as close to perfect as could be expected. It would seem no one has a problem with female nudity, but it would seem if you have a problem with male nudity As close as you could get to the Graphic novel in 2 1/2 hours of time. Rorschach was as close to perfect as could be expected. It would seem no one has a problem with female nudity, but it would seem if you have a problem with male nudity there are a few scenes you may be uncomfortable with. If you read the Graphic novel however, you will know what to expect. Zack Snyder delivered a great revisioning of the printed work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobbyNizMar 8, 2009
a 9.2 to be specific,
great soundtrack,
i just read a shitload of shitty reviews for the movie wah wah wah about it being a)too gory (then go see high school musical3) b)too much sex scene (then go see coraline) c) they left so much out
a 9.2 to be specific,
great soundtrack,
i just read a shitload of shitty reviews for the movie
wah wah wah about it being a)too gory (then go see high school musical3) b)too much sex scene (then go see coraline) c) they left so much out (true, but you try to fit the epicness that is watchmen into 2 hrs and 45 min and see what you have to leave beind. the original was 3hrs 45 min i would have sat for that and would have been thoroughly pleased. there is a lot cut out but that it what you get with movie adaptations.) d) they changed the ending (yeah i know, i like the monster better HOWEVER, not too bad switch either, in fact i thought people who havent read the book would like it a bit more.) /rant

anyway
a really good movie
saw it in Imax
would pay to see it again and buy merch
oh and by far the most idiotic reviewer on this website "Daren M."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PVMar 8, 2009
I can't believe people have given this a 10. You fanboys need to understand that even if it's a good adaptation of the comic, it doesn't make this a good movie. Most of the acting sucked, the action scenes were weak and the I can't believe people have given this a 10. You fanboys need to understand that even if it's a good adaptation of the comic, it doesn't make this a good movie. Most of the acting sucked, the action scenes were weak and the story was dull. I want my 3hrs back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrunoMazzolliMar 8, 2009
A flawless adaptation of the graphic novel, underrated by those who were expecting the next Dark Knight from a movie that is really on another intellectual level. This film may not offer more than the original work did, but it's an A flawless adaptation of the graphic novel, underrated by those who were expecting the next Dark Knight from a movie that is really on another intellectual level. This film may not offer more than the original work did, but it's an amazing and thought-provoking film by itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeT.Mar 8, 2009
As along time watchmen fan, I am disgusted with Zack Snyder's Watchmen. The acting is appalling, the writing terrible, and the music off. The violence in this film is excessive, grotesque and serves no real purpose. This story is based As along time watchmen fan, I am disgusted with Zack Snyder's Watchmen. The acting is appalling, the writing terrible, and the music off. The violence in this film is excessive, grotesque and serves no real purpose. This story is based on characters, and the movie disregards that by giving the viewer bad writers and bad actors. I love the book, but the movie was awful. Also, for all you that gave this a good rating, I have one thing to say: "Joking, of course." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AnonymousMCMar 8, 2009
You should not have to read the source material to enjoy a movie. It's pretty much a requirement here. Once you get over the initial geek out moments of seeing your favorite characters come to life (well...they aren't reallyYou should not have to read the source material to enjoy a movie. It's pretty much a requirement here. Once you get over the initial geek out moments of seeing your favorite characters come to life (well...they aren't really brought to life...at least not well) you slowly see that the movie is boring and soulless. Alan Moore was right, the graphic novel is unfilmable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SethM.Mar 9, 2009
My wife and I both loved this film. I've been a fan of Moore for years, and the only familiarity she had with The Watchmen was seeing it on our book shelf. The film adaptation manages to stay true to the original and still entertain the My wife and I both loved this film. I've been a fan of Moore for years, and the only familiarity she had with The Watchmen was seeing it on our book shelf. The film adaptation manages to stay true to the original and still entertain the uninitiated. It did not feel long and the nudity and violence are consistent with the source material. I'm not giving a 10 because I would rather have seen the invasion ending from the novel, although I understand why it was changed. Highly recommended to adults. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SchmidtyTMar 9, 2009
The movie was not as great of an experience as reading Watchmen, but Snyder did a commendable job of making the classic graphic novel come to life. Most of those who dissed this film probably didn't even read the original comic. I would The movie was not as great of an experience as reading Watchmen, but Snyder did a commendable job of making the classic graphic novel come to life. Most of those who dissed this film probably didn't even read the original comic. I would say it's definitely better than most of the comic adapted films that have come out over the past decade, with the exception of Sin City and The Dark Night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NamK>Mar 9, 2009
I could not believe that this movie was even put on screen. I brought my boys to watch it as I see many parents did thinking it another super hero movie and was shocked to fins it was just a soft porn movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheCaptainMar 9, 2009
A movie that would be more perfect if it were less of a special effects super hero movie and were a little more about the people. Still, it's a great story and one that makes more sense in a literal way than most Hollywood movies with A movie that would be more perfect if it were less of a special effects super hero movie and were a little more about the people. Still, it's a great story and one that makes more sense in a literal way than most Hollywood movies with their focus-group tested endings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexL.Mar 9, 2009
Very good movie...but won't be great until the Directors Cut is released.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCMar 9, 2009
Having read the graphic novel I was not expecting the movie to be of the same importance to film as it was to graphic novels and comics. I feel that with the time the studio gave the director he did a great job. Ideally it could have been aHaving read the graphic novel I was not expecting the movie to be of the same importance to film as it was to graphic novels and comics. I feel that with the time the studio gave the director he did a great job. Ideally it could have been a mini-series with the same or a bigger budget, but what company, especially in this economy, would risk that on a mini-series. I agree that some of the music choices were questionable. I also think that Ozymandias should have been portrayed as less of a mean character, at the end of the book he still questions if he did the right thing, giving him a more human and less robotic quality. Still though I really enjoyed the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobS.Mar 9, 2009
This may be the worst movie I ever saw. I saw 3 couples leave before it ended. I was determined to see the end. I kept thinking how great "300" was and that this director might never work again after this. It was a high budget train wreck. This may be the worst movie I ever saw. I saw 3 couples leave before it ended. I was determined to see the end. I kept thinking how great "300" was and that this director might never work again after this. It was a high budget train wreck. The acting was ok. But the story was disappointing. The sex scene was like a bad porn movie. This should have been R for the violence and sex. I can compare it as worse than the Ang Lee "Hulk" movie for the comic book genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteC.Mar 9, 2009
Just because this is a superhero movie doesn't mean that it's for kids! Nor does it mean that it will be a happy-go-lucky film. This is a dark story. And it has tons of convolutions and characters. To parse it down to its length Just because this is a superhero movie doesn't mean that it's for kids! Nor does it mean that it will be a happy-go-lucky film. This is a dark story. And it has tons of convolutions and characters. To parse it down to its length now is amazing. People who complain about length are the same who have no appreciation for the original text. To me, the critics who are complaining about this movie should also complain about "Macbeth" because they "talk funny" in it. This movie was great, and I applaud Synder's application of it onto film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeL.Mar 9, 2009
"I'm not locked in here with you. You're Locked In Here With Me!" - Quote of the month.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PaulCMar 9, 2009
Loved the novel, hate the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JargeM.Mar 9, 2009
Good film for a team in a hard situation. Too much like the novel makes people unhappy, not like it enough makes people unhappy. For those of you looking for action and fighting, this is not the movie. This a movie that is a philosophical Good film for a team in a hard situation. Too much like the novel makes people unhappy, not like it enough makes people unhappy. For those of you looking for action and fighting, this is not the movie. This a movie that is a philosophical meditation on heroics, just like the book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWMar 9, 2009
It makes "Dark Knight" look like Barney.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshJ.Mar 9, 2009
I can't understand how any fan of the series or graphic novel wouldn't love this movie. The fidelity is incredible and the story is awesome to watch on the big screen. Rorschach is as perfectly realized in the film as he was on the I can't understand how any fan of the series or graphic novel wouldn't love this movie. The fidelity is incredible and the story is awesome to watch on the big screen. Rorschach is as perfectly realized in the film as he was on the page. The rest of the cast is fine, too. The criticism of the actors playing Nite Owl II and Silk Spectre II has been overly harsh, in my opinion. I'm looking forward to the director's cut DVD including the Black Freighter animation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AntonioR.Mar 9, 2009
Some people will say that is bad, other will say that is good.. I only say that is a movie that you "have to See".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MasonW.Mar 9, 2009
Why stay so faithful to the first half of the book...yet butcher the second half? What about Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" during the sex scene? Yikes...I mean I understand the joke since Dreiburg couldn't get it up but c'mon Why stay so faithful to the first half of the book...yet butcher the second half? What about Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" during the sex scene? Yikes...I mean I understand the joke since Dreiburg couldn't get it up but c'mon man. But hey it's just a movie folks. Can't wait for the super extended blu-ray myself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeremyEMar 9, 2009
The first thing that u should know about this movie is that u HAVE to read the book first. The book is basically the exact same script as the movie, with very few things changed, but the things that are changed will leave you very confused The first thing that u should know about this movie is that u HAVE to read the book first. The book is basically the exact same script as the movie, with very few things changed, but the things that are changed will leave you very confused about the movie if you have not read the book. That being said, the book is definitely better, but the movie is still good. The acting is great, and the special effects are magnificent. My biggest gripe is the song selection. In the midst of all the blood and violence, a happy rock and roll song would be playing and totally kill the mood. *SPOILER* One more thing, the ending is very disappointing and anti-climactic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyOApr 2, 2009
Entertaining take on pseudointellectual hokum (sort of like Dark Knight) about superhero angst and (Shock! Horror!) alienation from society. Frankly, the original comic book was not the overwhelming masterpiece everyone is now claiming it Entertaining take on pseudointellectual hokum (sort of like Dark Knight) about superhero angst and (Shock! Horror!) alienation from society. Frankly, the original comic book was not the overwhelming masterpiece everyone is now claiming it was, and this movie does a very creditable job of distilling something approaching a watchable spectacle from a jumbled storyline and unsympathetic characters. What does it all really mean? Not much. But the film is rarely boring - which is more than can be said for most of the other blockbusters this year. And the opening credits are masterful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FabioTApr 3, 2009
Really nice movie. Close to the comic, which is even better. Comic gets 10/10 from me. Read it! Different approach to the topic of super heroes. In Watchmen they are normal guys, with normal problems. Not all is super in their lives. A story Really nice movie. Close to the comic, which is even better. Comic gets 10/10 from me. Read it! Different approach to the topic of super heroes. In Watchmen they are normal guys, with normal problems. Not all is super in their lives. A story about (little different) history, humans, america and so on. Worth it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DamonMApr 4, 2009
Overall I thought it was both a pretty decent adaptation of the comic and also a good stand-alone movie. A couple of points really didn't work (Fucking to Cohen, for example) and Synder needs a bit to trust the audience a bit more Overall I thought it was both a pretty decent adaptation of the comic and also a good stand-alone movie. A couple of points really didn't work (Fucking to Cohen, for example) and Synder needs a bit to trust the audience a bit more sometimes instead of hammering a point home (Big Figure's death in the prison riot would have been much better without the camera pointlessly going back to reveal the blood coming out from under the bathroom door) - but these are small points in an overall damn good effort. I'm looking forward to seeing the extended Director's cut which might add more screen time for the smaller characters (such as the owner and customers of the news stand) and get it up to a 9; as it stands an 8 I'd say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerRMay 15, 2009
Brilliant piece of filmmaking. Visually superb, and spot on the mark adaptation of the graphic novel. Can't wait for the Director's Cut bluray!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StefanKMay 17, 2009
Amazing Movie! Wish the Director's Cut Blu-Ray was out! Hey if I have ADHD and was able to sit through the movie, it was damn good! Leaving the theater wanting to see the supposed theatrical release of the Director's Cut, it had to Amazing Movie! Wish the Director's Cut Blu-Ray was out! Hey if I have ADHD and was able to sit through the movie, it was damn good! Leaving the theater wanting to see the supposed theatrical release of the Director's Cut, it had to be even better! Why did it get such mixed reviews? The critics expecting a carbon copy of the book or just hated the movie before release, likely due to their opinions that it was the "unfilmable novel," were disappointed, due to very unfair biases. I can attest to the fact that some frames of the movie, could be digitally enhanced to look like frames from the comic book and visa-versa, meaning if that frame of the movie were an actual photograph, the comic panel would be a tracing of that photograph! But you can't expect everything to match! Some comic book elements don't translate to a perfect screenplay. Why wasn't Spider-Man criticized for giving Spidey the power to naturally produce web, instead of using cartridges, and making the Green Goblin a high-tech, glider-riding psycho, instead of the original Halloween costume wearing weirdo, even depicted as riding a broom in the original animated series? That movie was adored by most critics, and me. You can't expect a movie to get enormous critical success when it has such a devout cult following. It's sort of like my favorite music; heavy metal, heavy, heavy metal. Most people hate it, but all the underground headbangers and metalheads love it! Then when a softer, mainstream metal band hits, most devoted underground listeners hate it, even if critics praise the music! As for Watchmen; if you are a typical moviegoer, you will enjoy Watchmen, however, if you are a not-so-underground, die-hard, cult, original comic book worshiper, than you will hate it. Hopefully, as I have, you can appreciate both works, for the separate forms of art they are, and understand they aren't meant to kill one another, they just appeal to different crowds, and be part of both those crowds! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackPMay 30, 2009
Amazing Movie. Jackie Earle Haley, Patrick WIlson, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, and Billy Crudup were all excellent. Go see this movie right now!!!! Fan of the original comic book or not, you will love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EduardoMMay 5, 2009
Really good for those familiar with the graphic novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JosephTMay 8, 2009
I don't know why I stayed to finish this, even as several people got up and left during the movie. I think it was because I hoped it wouldn't get worse. Now, I see what they were trying for - I really do, and I give them marks for I don't know why I stayed to finish this, even as several people got up and left during the movie. I think it was because I hoped it wouldn't get worse. Now, I see what they were trying for - I really do, and I give them marks for that. My failure to enjoy it wasn't because of a short attention span - I'm a very patient person. Otherwise, it was a tasteless experience that somehow offended me and everybody in that room. The previews sold us on a summer action movie, what happened instead was families went to see this thinking it was standard Rated "R" action fair, only to be proven very wrong. I felt bad for those parents who could do nothing as scenes that should have been rated "X" made their appearances in front of their kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimVMay 8, 2009
I'm only giving it a 2 because of the ironic hilarity it provided. The plot chokes on itself, the dialogue is at best silly, and the movie tries to take itself very seriously, but so many things are contrary to the solemn atmosphere it I'm only giving it a 2 because of the ironic hilarity it provided. The plot chokes on itself, the dialogue is at best silly, and the movie tries to take itself very seriously, but so many things are contrary to the solemn atmosphere it tries to present. I understand that the movie was supposed to be gritty and violent, but the fighting was used wantonly, and it barely drove the plot forward. There are too many wandering flashbacks, and I couldn't contain my laughter for a majority of the scenes. This movie is a failure as a devotion to the comics - as well as to dark and dramatic storytelling - but a stunning success as a campy comedic masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelCMay 9, 2009
Good movie, at some times it is slow paced and a little disappointing in the plot but is made up by great action sequences and some excellent dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregPJun 12, 2009
One of the few times I've seen the Metacritic system fail. The reviews are so polarized that the average hovers just above 50%, which might cause people to think it is an average film. It is not an average film. I found it entirely One of the few times I've seen the Metacritic system fail. The reviews are so polarized that the average hovers just above 50%, which might cause people to think it is an average film. It is not an average film. I found it entirely engrossing and entertaining, despite the few obvious flaws (a glowing blue phallus onscreen far too often was a bit much; no true purpose was given to certain scenes). If you're on the fence about this one, I think you're better off seeing it than not. The visuals and characters are interesting, the premise is unique if a little wacky, and the very genre requires suspension of disbelief that I imagine you will have already gone through by the time you're seeing it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoelSJun 17, 2009
Zack Snyder couldn't have missed the point further. 1 point for the believable Rorschach and Nite Owl characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroelsSJun 19, 2009
Either you love it or hate it. Being a superhero-movie it is too extreme to just let it pass you by as a regular one. It's nasty, it's evil and it's good, it's long, it's complex (the way of filming and telling a Either you love it or hate it. Being a superhero-movie it is too extreme to just let it pass you by as a regular one. It's nasty, it's evil and it's good, it's long, it's complex (the way of filming and telling a story brings memories back to Sin City) and I love it. This is one of the few movies, where I left the theater not wanting to talk to anyone. Just think. Get in there and watch it - don't expect anything, 'cause it's meaner than any superhero-movie you've ever seen. The most extreme, yet beautiful, movies I've ever seen. You will have to take a side in it, but none of the sides you pick are necessarily better or worse than the other one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobinRJun 7, 2009
This was the worst movie ever. But unfortunately, it was not so badd it was good. It was just bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Jul 19, 2009
The best thing about the film are the visuals and special effects, the biggest flaw - bad miscasting. Malin Akerman doesn't come close to having the range needed for the role. Great action sequences, awesome score but way way overlong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonR.Jul 22, 2009
All I have to say is, read the book. The movie could never achieve the amount of emotion and depth the book had. I have to say they really tried, but it just didn't translate well. So if u want to read the best graphic novel ever, All I have to say is, read the book. The movie could never achieve the amount of emotion and depth the book had. I have to say they really tried, but it just didn't translate well. So if u want to read the best graphic novel ever, definitely pay 20 bucks for the book instead of the DVD. You won't regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PattyHJul 20, 2009
One of the best movies Ive ever seen in my entire life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZacharyHJul 22, 2009
Horrible boring and not true to anything of the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanMJul 26, 2009
I really liked this film, and to be quite honest it was relatively close to the graphic novel despite the change to the ending, which I think only makes sense on the big screen considering the original ending might have completely lost some I really liked this film, and to be quite honest it was relatively close to the graphic novel despite the change to the ending, which I think only makes sense on the big screen considering the original ending might have completely lost some people. I didn't think it was too long or winded, I can say thanks to my attention span for that one. I thought it was a great movie that some people are clearly just angry that it wasn't exactly like the GN or some people just don't like using that thing in their heads to formulate ideas without being spoon fed. I guess without an explosion happening every 5 seconds its hard to concentrate for some. And this to parents who brought their children to see this; it was rated R for starters, and another thing is as a responsible adult background information or a little bit of homework should be done on the movie so you don't have children watching how babies are made. I think this will stand well over time and it Zack did a fine job attempting to translate the "untranslatable" to the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexMJul 26, 2009
When I saw this movie in theaters for the first time, I absolutely loved it; however, the extravagant experience that movie theaters dish out can often make any movie seem amazing. Having seen the movie a second time, I began to dislike it When I saw this movie in theaters for the first time, I absolutely loved it; however, the extravagant experience that movie theaters dish out can often make any movie seem amazing. Having seen the movie a second time, I began to dislike it more and more. The movie starts out interesting, but after the first hour, it begins to drag on, and on, and on, for a whopping two hours and forty-five minutes, and soon the audience's attention to the apparent doomsday clock is transferred to the watches on their wrists. Also, the plot has numerous inconsistencies, such as the lack of depth of all of the heroes and the pointless subplots associated with the over-exaggerated ongoing conflict between the U.S. and U.S.S.R. I believe that only the apostles of the graphic novel will remain faithful to its unconventional film adaption. Although the movie has numerous holes to trip in, there is amiable land to run on as well. The action scenes satisfy the hungry, and the small humorous moments capture the moviegoer's attention, even if just for a moment. The distinct type of hero portrayed in the film (tough-fisted, clever, and strong). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanS.Jul 29, 2009
Watchmen has great characters, great story and great special effects. I watched it twice and enjoyed it even more the second time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KDWJul 7, 2009
Having never even heard of this subject matter, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this movie. It was quite long, but as a good movie can do, I didn't even notice the time had passed until looking at a clock after it had finished. Having never even heard of this subject matter, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this movie. It was quite long, but as a good movie can do, I didn't even notice the time had passed until looking at a clock after it had finished. The ending was great - not the typical superhero ending, where everything ends 'nicely'. Plus, Silk Spectre II in nothing but those boots - HELLO! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MekuraKJul 8, 2009
The only redeeming quality was Lucy Lawless' body, and even that was most certainly not worth the hours of torture one has to endure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
doogieasdAug 13, 2009
this has to be one of the best films i have seen in a long long time... zack snyder delivers such a well crafted film!
the characters are so dynamic and well thought up it is mindblowing. this film will be mindblowing for any1 who looks
this has to be one of the best films i have seen in a long long time... zack snyder delivers such a well crafted film!
the characters are so dynamic and well thought up it is mindblowing. this film will be mindblowing for any1 who looks deeper into films and has a godd knowledge about them. if however your the kind of person that wathed this film ignoring evry bit of detail to the film, and instead started shouting in joy when a fight broke out in the movie - then u will probably not like this film. simply becos this film isnt made for you. so ye i rate it as my 10th favourite film of all time; which is a lot by the way seeming i have seen almost evry great film ever made
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PsychicMASTERAug 15, 2009
This film is nothing short of genius. I rate it on par with The Dark Knight, which is similarly superb. However they are superb for different reasons. Watchmen is a beautiful, witty, poignant, bittersweet, breathtaking, dreamy, heartaching, This film is nothing short of genius. I rate it on par with The Dark Knight, which is similarly superb. However they are superb for different reasons. Watchmen is a beautiful, witty, poignant, bittersweet, breathtaking, dreamy, heartaching, beautiful film. But it also has moments of awesomeness, fun, gory violence and layered humour, sardonic dialogue, wryness, irony and a complex interesting narrative. I feel I must comment on the negative reviews this gets from a wide amount of people. Excluding those people who simply turned off by it for some reason, I really feel there is a HUGE amount of sour, humourless critics, and even some political activists (let's say christians-just read their reviews), trying to damage this film, Watchmen. They seem to hate the film for what makes it so successful. It challenges many assumptions, which is what makes it so great. anyway, it's sad to see these negative, sometime politically motivated attacks.....I really hope the people who created it know why it's being attacked like it is and can ignore these haters who want films like this crushed. Why would they do this? I can only give this film 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelF.Aug 23, 2009
Whats up with the low scores? I mean does Zach Snyder owe some of the critics money. This movie not only sticks true to the graphic novel (Which I loved) it transfers it perfectly on screen and maybe he used a little to much slow motion but Whats up with the low scores? I mean does Zach Snyder owe some of the critics money. This movie not only sticks true to the graphic novel (Which I loved) it transfers it perfectly on screen and maybe he used a little to much slow motion but it adds style to the best graphic novel in history. You may hate but it has a great soundtrack, it does Alan Moore justice and Rorschach was perfect maybe the Silk Spectre could have done a better job but she is hot so who cares and futhermore Zach did a great job of elimanting "Under The Hood" and "The Black Freighter" because it would have confused anyone who hasn't got a chance to read the novel. And for those who did and wanted see both of those segments can rent it on a seperate disc. I guess the guys who went to see it and gave it a low score expected to see another spider-man. I understand Alan Moore does want to see this movie get done but it doesn't mean it's gonna suck. For Gods sake just apperciate the film and Zach's god given talent to transfer graphic novel to the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertMAug 25, 2009
This movie deserves praise if and only if you've read the graphic novel. This was a story written on such a high level of intelligence and ingenuity you would have to re-read the comics several times to fully grasp what was being said This movie deserves praise if and only if you've read the graphic novel. This was a story written on such a high level of intelligence and ingenuity you would have to re-read the comics several times to fully grasp what was being said and told. Having ready the book, watching the movie was like a visual orgasm. No expense was spared to produce the film's outstanding visuals and visceral scenery. We already had the story as the movie keeps the script word for word with the graphic novel. True and authentic justice was done here. As for the critics who hated it, they must of been reading Droopy the dog comics all the while forging their exams to become journalists! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeenanSAug 9, 2009
Many complaints of among the idiots who hate this film is that it was "boring" or "confusing". Confusing? Maybe for some. Boring? If you think this is boring, go back to watching Fantastic Four, you impatient people. Go back to watching your Many complaints of among the idiots who hate this film is that it was "boring" or "confusing". Confusing? Maybe for some. Boring? If you think this is boring, go back to watching Fantastic Four, you impatient people. Go back to watching your crappy films. If you truly have any kind of taste in film, you must see Watchmen because this easily stands as one of the best films of the decade. Hell, I loved it so much I even liked it better than The Dark Knight and Iron Man. This film was superb in every way and I don't think they could have made a better Watchmen film because this is incredibly faithful. Don't listen to the haters, because they have no patience for anything and just let them go back to watching garbage like Fantastic Four. This film is truly a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithPSep 15, 2009
I like Watchmen. I don't care what anyone says about the movie. The film is boring and I like the action in it. I give this movie an A+.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcDSep 7, 2009
I doubt anyone will read this far in the reviews, but bad ratings for this movie come mostly from those offended by its R rating or not learned in movies enough 2 understand its points. Watch it with an open mind. I thought it was brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarveyBSep 7, 2009
A great film on par with The Dark Knight. the film is long by today's standards and the action isn't constant but this film transcends beyond your normal comic book movie. Dark and gritty, Watchmen not only evokes a world without A great film on par with The Dark Knight. the film is long by today's standards and the action isn't constant but this film transcends beyond your normal comic book movie. Dark and gritty, Watchmen not only evokes a world without hope, but also questions whether we have lost hope as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JLNov 20, 2009
Watchmen delivers a great cinematic experience with a complete helping hand towards pure escapism. Zak Snyder may not be the best director, but he sure as hell pulled out all the stops with Watchmen, and created something that any fan of the Watchmen delivers a great cinematic experience with a complete helping hand towards pure escapism. Zak Snyder may not be the best director, but he sure as hell pulled out all the stops with Watchmen, and created something that any fan of the graphic novel SHOULD be proud of. Although, considering the flack the film gets, I'm deeming it the Blade Runner of our time. Panned by many, loved by many, with three different versions, and promise to be a cult favorite in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattFOct 18, 2009
This 300 like superhero film is an awesome form of entertainment, though, it is not a great movie because of its weird soundtrack and its distraught and unaccomplished plot, untill a 5 minute scene at the end where if you blink you wont get This 300 like superhero film is an awesome form of entertainment, though, it is not a great movie because of its weird soundtrack and its distraught and unaccomplished plot, untill a 5 minute scene at the end where if you blink you wont get the whole movie or where 30 minutes of the movie has anything to do with the plot. It has a great daily dose of action, sex, and gore, so it deserves a good solid 6. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful