Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 6, 2009
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1831 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,495
Mixed:
146
Negative:
190
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
AlSAug 21, 2009
I have seen some bad movies in my life, and this is now in top of them. This movie just lacks composition and many scenes are just unnecessary, including some of the characters. If this was not an age of large high-definition TVs, where even I have seen some bad movies in my life, and this is now in top of them. This movie just lacks composition and many scenes are just unnecessary, including some of the characters. If this was not an age of large high-definition TVs, where even the dumbest movie looks great on the screen, most people would realize the shortage of anything good about it. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
3
TheGeneralAug 26, 2009
This movie is like watching high quality, very expensive paint dry. How anyone could make it through the Director's cut is beyond me. I thought the original release was slow as molasses.
2 of 8 users found this helpful
1
MistyMAug 1, 2009
This was indeed the worst movie I have ever seen. It made no sense - and has so many loose ends that after two weeks Im still trying to piece this movie together.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
TiberiuCJan 16, 2010
One hour into the movie I was still asking myself: who the fuck are these people and why should I care about them? If you want to waste your time, go watch G.I. Joe instead, it's crap, but it's many times more entertaining than One hour into the movie I was still asking myself: who the fuck are these people and why should I care about them? If you want to waste your time, go watch G.I. Joe instead, it's crap, but it's many times more entertaining than this piece of sh*t. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
NazguleroMar 11, 2011
There must be something like a manual for making movies. Plot, character development, pace, etc. Since apparently there isn't, abysmally awful flicks like this will continue to be made. What is the standard ? And what is the purpose ofThere must be something like a manual for making movies. Plot, character development, pace, etc. Since apparently there isn't, abysmally awful flicks like this will continue to be made. What is the standard ? And what is the purpose of submitting this to a paying audience ? Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
1
OcelotDec 5, 2010
This movie was awful. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, but you don't have to take my word for it.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
3
franklJul 9, 2009
This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple This movie has the graphics to score big as that part is very well done. The dialogues are also pretty good, but do get long and boring after a while. I'll admit I did not know Watchmen before, but it probably will not get many poeple interested in learning more. Again, it wreally starts to get boring after a while, you start to wonder where the movie is heading, or what did you actually learn after 2 hours watching the movie. Also, Dr. Manhattan is very well done, but most of his parts could have been summarized instead of long useless dialogues. Overall graphically this movie is splendid but it ends there. Way too long to get to the point, many dialogues that could have been shortened up, this can leave you wondering why u spent 3 hours watching it. Just my opinion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TedcookMar 6, 2009
Sieve with microscopic holes, looks fine, but all the meaning just pours right through.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
AndrewBurdickMar 8, 2009
They advertised this movie under the "who watches the watchmen" line. They also milked "from the creators of 300". Cool. I have been anticipating this movie for a year. Let me just say that out of the 2 hrs and 45 mins. I can think ofThey advertised this movie under the "who watches the watchmen" line. They also milked "from the creators of 300". Cool. I have been anticipating this movie for a year. Let me just say that out of the 2 hrs and 45 mins. I can think of maybe 15-20 mins of average/decent action.
If you are a fan of the book(s) then maybe its a good movie. I'm just glad though I'm not a fan cause this is really all just a bunch of trash. The killing of the Watchmen was a side dish to the "real" story. It was a back-story to keep the uneducated fans as myself who thought they were getting an action movie somewhat satisfied enough to not leave.

The visuals were average, nothing spectacular. I think its actually hillarious that they put it on the "Ultra" screen. Not necassary, there is no action or visualls worth it.
I've never honestly been so disapointed in a movie in my life. "I am Legend" is up there with the anticipation/hype leading to let-down. But this movie is not as advertised at all and is the biggest let down in at least the last 5 years of me being a movie-goer.
If your not a fan of the apparently garabage comic, than DO NOT EVEN RENT this crap!!! Not even close to an action movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ZachC.Mar 14, 2009
From someone unfamiliar with this (or any other) graphic novel: I felt too little was explained, which made me feel lost, and what was explained was overexplained, which made me feel insulted. It was fun to watch at many points, but dull and From someone unfamiliar with this (or any other) graphic novel: I felt too little was explained, which made me feel lost, and what was explained was overexplained, which made me feel insulted. It was fun to watch at many points, but dull and slow in many others, and the story was not believable. I loved X-men and don't demand fidelity to the laws of science, but I like humans to act like humans, and didn't buy into several characters in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JohnDisapointedMar 17, 2009
An astounding fail this movie is an abomination to the book it was spawned. It is no suprise what so ever that Alan Moore wants to disassociate himself with the movie. It was a terrible movie at best on its own, had there been no book to An astounding fail this movie is an abomination to the book it was spawned. It is no suprise what so ever that Alan Moore wants to disassociate himself with the movie. It was a terrible movie at best on its own, had there been no book to compare it to countless people would have lost interest and it would have scored a 6-7. BUT since the movie was based upon a deep and powerfull book when it kills the theme, mocks the ideas and charactors and acts as an embodiment of the cancer that is hollywood I cannot help but judge hardly. They overpowerd the charactors, they added excessive sex appeal, they skipped themes, they CHANGED THE CHARACTORS turning some into archetypal supervillian douchbags rather then taking any time to explain them, I loved watchmen because there were no archetypes, now theres a supervillian, a badass, a man reliving his glory days and a slut on the screen. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JoeSMar 19, 2009
Depressing and heavy handed, the story likes to pretend it has some deep philosophical statement about human kind, but mostly it just keeps slapping you in the face with mallet that has "Humans suck!" written on it in fingerpaint. An Depressing and heavy handed, the story likes to pretend it has some deep philosophical statement about human kind, but mostly it just keeps slapping you in the face with mallet that has "Humans suck!" written on it in fingerpaint. An undeniably beautiful film, its just depressing and dark. None of the characters are likeable or have any sort of redeeming quality, and the few actually fun parts are far too short. I haven't read the graphic novel, but I have no doubt this would be better shown in narrative form because this movie just drains the life out of itself. I give it a 3 for excellent visual appeal, but I could not recommend this to anyone. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AustinTMar 27, 2009
So who are these people? How are they super powerful (besides the trite radiation accident BS with Manhattan)? Why are some of the characters the same age 50 years ago, while others grow up? Why would the villain bother going after the So who are these people? How are they super powerful (besides the trite radiation accident BS with Manhattan)? Why are some of the characters the same age 50 years ago, while others grow up? Why would the villain bother going after the watchmen instead of just doing what he planned to do in the first place? What is that thing on Mars? Why does that one guy have a purple tiger? There is not a single character I could give a crap about in this film, not one. Unless you read the comic book (I beg your pardon, "graphic novel") there is absolutely nothing in this movie that is worth the cost of admission. For the record, I loved the 300 and Sin City, so it's not that I don't "get it". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MPMar 30, 2009
Ok, so it *looks* cool, but where's the plot?? Maybe it's my fault that I never read the "graphic novel" ... but should that really be a prerequisite?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BillyCJul 27, 2009
If you're sober when you watch this you'll feel as though you're high... If you're high you'll have NO IDEA what's going on here... Terrible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JohnRJul 29, 2009
Does anybody realize that this movie makes no sense? The ending is so whimsical you are driven to a Damocles sword. The elegance of the effects and the story are good until it just unravels!!! Even some earlier elements are a waste and Does anybody realize that this movie makes no sense? The ending is so whimsical you are driven to a Damocles sword. The elegance of the effects and the story are good until it just unravels!!! Even some earlier elements are a waste and contain no significance to the movie just a shame book = better! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
razburnknjMay 4, 2011
Too much long. Too much violence. I like the mature and realistic approach, but in some moment it loses its goals. It has a great ending endeed but you`ll have to wait...
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
CooterPatooterMar 22, 2012
Abysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way),Abysmally paced, ridiculous crybaby dialogue-filled, on-the-nose sexually exploitative, nearly action-free, cantankerous, dark (not in a noir-ish way but in a literal "it's difficult to tell what I'm looking at sometimes" sort of way), leaden, flabby, incredibly overlong train wreck of a bullsh** movie. I've NEVER walked out of a theater before a film ended until Zack Snyder decided to make me look at Dr. Manhattan's penis for one agonizing moment after another for absolutely no reason. The four of us, exasperated, worn out... utterly soul-crushed by what we had already been subjected to leading up to this moment, finally gave up and left... LONG AFTER EVERY OTHER PERSON IN THE THEATER HAD ALREADY DONE SO! There's a line between just making a crappy movie and actually showing bald-faced contempt for your viewing audience. I'd say Snyder is definitely toeing that line, if not stepping over it here. All I know is that I'm still waiting for him to personally refund my $20. Jerk! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
LynnHardyApr 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watchmen is a different sort of film: a superhero with E.D: and a villain who wins with a "the ends justifies the means" message. Add to that the giant blue guy that runs around with his penis waging about for the last quarter of the film and this movie was made to push the envelope. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
oblique15Feb 2, 2013
This movie is trash, I don`t care what anybody says. I like one of the characters, but man I should punch myself in the face for finishing this movie. I see it has good ratings from allot of people, That just makes it clear, that I am not aThis movie is trash, I don`t care what anybody says. I like one of the characters, but man I should punch myself in the face for finishing this movie. I see it has good ratings from allot of people, That just makes it clear, that I am not a zombie who just follows what other people like. I usually like "Super Hero" movies, Not this one! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
ViolettApr 15, 2013
This movie makes me puke. Seriously. How in the world you can rate this positive This "heroes" makes no sense. Plot is awful. Main heroes HeHero and SheHero (didnt bother to remember names) are ugly as hell. And this blue guy without pantsThis movie makes me puke. Seriously. How in the world you can rate this positive This "heroes" makes no sense. Plot is awful. Main heroes HeHero and SheHero (didnt bother to remember names) are ugly as hell. And this blue guy without pants every time I saw his huge blue penis my eyes were bleeding. I simply cant understand how you can rate this more than zero. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
KnightfallLAMay 4, 2013
I did not purchase a twelve dollar movie ticket to see terrible plot holes, poor character development, cheesy dialog lines, and a blue wang. Sure, it has mediocre fight scenes but overall, it is unbearable.This does not reflect the comicsI did not purchase a twelve dollar movie ticket to see terrible plot holes, poor character development, cheesy dialog lines, and a blue wang. Sure, it has mediocre fight scenes but overall, it is unbearable.This does not reflect the comics at all, whatsoever. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
913Feb 17, 2016
This film didnt grab me like the novel did, bad acting, great visual but no hart, felt empty and some times the dialogue felt flat, snyder is a great director but telling a story is not his thing
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
TheBaldProdMar 6, 2009
By sticking so closely to the original text, the film-makers have pickled, rather than adapted, Watchmen and delivered a film that could bore a tractor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlexR.Mar 8, 2009
Unrelentingly bad. It drags on in a way only acceptable in a book. Instead of choosing to retain all aspects of the original or conversely create an original take on the book, it chose to sat squarely in the middle, awkwardly swaying from Unrelentingly bad. It drags on in a way only acceptable in a book. Instead of choosing to retain all aspects of the original or conversely create an original take on the book, it chose to sat squarely in the middle, awkwardly swaying from one side to the other and completely alienating the unfamiliar audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
daemonmooreMar 10, 2009
I ranked it a three for the fight scenes, and that's it - what a waist of movie. Also, this movie is not for the non-comic book audience at all. This movie makes me wanna cuss...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
emilyaMar 10, 2009
This is possibly the most foul, violent, trite, morally reprehensible pastiche of American cinema ever. Even if I were blind to everything that is offensive about it, its pure aesthetic and entertainment merits alone are enough to make me This is possibly the most foul, violent, trite, morally reprehensible pastiche of American cinema ever. Even if I were blind to everything that is offensive about it, its pure aesthetic and entertainment merits alone are enough to make me want to nauseated. That it is earning millions of dollars in the box office and earning high ratings on every movie site suggests to me numerous choice reflections on American society. A brief, albeit comprehensive overview: So...the world is about to go into the last stages of annihilation and the only one that can save it is a blue full-frontal stand-in for god. The most eloquent ambassador that is sent on behalf of humankind is a leather booted large-breasted bimbo who stomps when she doesn't get her way? This is because our day-glo god left his loyal physicist wife for the tramp and apparently she is the most precious thing mankind has left to offer, even though she sluts it around with everyone else. Unfortunately for mankind, she seems more traumatized by the discovery of her illegitimate birth than the hundreds of millions of people that are about to die. But luckily for her, the people do get bombed to a grotesque withering mass death but we discover that her mother loves her so it's OK. It's offensive on every level imaginable. Pregnant women get shot. Women get raped, but return for more. Little girls are mutilated and fed to dogs, but this violence is justified by more violence (sound familiar?). Namely, in this case, the masked avenger hacking the kidnapper with an ax until there is nothing left but some bloody pulpy mass. But worse it doesn't just try to be gratuitous violence married with the most vulgar and cliché adolescent pornography--I'd let 300 slide--the sickening part is that it comports itself as a profound redemptive reflection on mankind. As if all that was done was justified by some shoddy mythological and not even arcane historical references and piss poor attempt at a discussion on Deism. The most ironic part of the film is its attempt to critique the violence and repulsive aspects of human nature but then perpetuates it by tainting the minds of anyone who watched with its filth. In my comfortable liberal existence, I never once considered censorship as an issue to be discussed, but I would happily censor this one. and, Anyone who enjoyed the movie should reconsider their consumptive and putrid existence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AliMar 7, 2009
I have read and enjoyed the comic book, however I found this film rubbish. The film was an almost direct translation of the book which was good for some short action sequences (the prison bit) but for the majority of the film caused the plot I have read and enjoyed the comic book, however I found this film rubbish. The film was an almost direct translation of the book which was good for some short action sequences (the prison bit) but for the majority of the film caused the plot to slow down to a crawl and become very very boring. I really like the book but I would not read it all in one sitting, same goes for this film and possibly a TV miniseries would have been better. The best advice would be just to read the comic and ignore this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeM.Mar 7, 2009
Much of what Rowdy R says is true, but i would go a step further and say this movie is boring. It can be cut into two halves -- the first half focusing on nothing but character development of boring characters, and the second half is where Much of what Rowdy R says is true, but i would go a step further and say this movie is boring. It can be cut into two halves -- the first half focusing on nothing but character development of boring characters, and the second half is where some plot finally tries to take place. The ending of course has a couple of predictable plot twists to stick with the formula. The script is all very confusing and the film itself is too long... about 30minutes too long. In its defense, the masked dude and his droning monologues is quite cool, as is the prison break scene. But great special effects dont make a movie great. If you're a fan of the comic book or the wave of comic movies that hollywood is pumping out these days, you might enjoy this. Otherwise save your money, go see Gran Torino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EHiJoshuaI.Mar 7, 2009
What is wrong, here? Am I the only user reviewer who sees this? The acting was terrible, the tone was off, it was less a movie and more a montage homage of the novel WITH ADDED sex scenes, all delivered with zero emotion. zero emotion. . So What is wrong, here? Am I the only user reviewer who sees this? The acting was terrible, the tone was off, it was less a movie and more a montage homage of the novel WITH ADDED sex scenes, all delivered with zero emotion. zero emotion. . So much did not make sense because so much was taken out and the criptwriters did not bother trying to use their noggin. We're talking about a movie of probably the greatest superhero comic ever written... it was terrible. It was horrible. It hurt. It Failed. It was worse than matrix reloaded. Christopher Nolan, please, make Watchmen in ten years time. You're all we have left. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful