Water for Elephants Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Water for Elephants presents an unexpected romance in a uniquely compelling setting. Veterinary school student Jacob meets and falls in love with Marlena, a star performer in a circus of a bygone era. They discover beauty amidst the world of the Big Top, and come together through theirWater for Elephants presents an unexpected romance in a uniquely compelling setting. Veterinary school student Jacob meets and falls in love with Marlena, a star performer in a circus of a bygone era. They discover beauty amidst the world of the Big Top, and come together through their compassion for a special elephant. Against all odds -- including the wrath of Marlena's charismatic but dangerous husband, August -- Jacob and Marlena find lifelong love. (20th Century Fox)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Apr 21, 2011
    90
    The filmmakers clearly value their public, crafting a splendid period swooner that delivers classic romance and an indelible insider's view of 1930s circus life.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 21, 2011
    75
    Reese Witherspoon can do a lot of things as an actor but playing a damaged-goods Depression era dame isn't one of them.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 21, 2011
    75
    In Water for Elephants, Waltz plays a circus owner and ringleader during the Great Depression, and when he's onscreen, every eye is on him, no matter who is talking.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 22, 2011
    60
    The primary drawback is the lack of chemistry between the leads, Reese Witherspoon and "Twilight's" Robert Pattinson.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 22, 2011
    50
    The most rewarding way to watch Water for Elephants is to focus on the sideshow of costumes and craftsmanship, because the romance in the center ring smells like trained animals going through the motions.
  6. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    Waltz is the highlight of this glossy but plodding drama, a live wire in a movie that sorely needs a jolt.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 21, 2011
    20
    How do I count the ways this movie goes wrong?

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 72
  2. Negative: 5 out of 72
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Good movie, depicts the harshness of live during the 1930's Proof that simple movies without major unnatural computer inhancements areGood movie, depicts the harshness of live during the 1930's Proof that simple movies without major unnatural computer inhancements are possible today. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    My husband watched the trailer and based on that was happy to take me to see WFE today and he liked it as much as I did. The script madeMy husband watched the trailer and based on that was happy to take me to see WFE today and he liked it as much as I did. The script made improvements on the book, all the acting was above par, and the sets, locations and costumes couldn't have been better. A very satisfying and moving film. Makes a great date movie, too. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    WOW! More than I expected! Great entertaining movie for both men and women. Rob Pattinson just jumps off the screen. He is excellent inWOW! More than I expected! Great entertaining movie for both men and women. Rob Pattinson just jumps off the screen. He is excellent in this. Christoph plays the villain magnificently. Great film with excellent cinematography and costuming. All around a must see movie. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2016
    8
    A very inspiring love story about two people who fell in love truly. I just feel good watching this kind of movie.

    Watch this movie online
    A very inspiring love story about two people who fell in love truly. I just feel good watching this kind of movie.

    Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2987b1-Water-for-Elephants-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Water for Elephants is a pretty good movie. The love triangle aspects are easily the weakest elements but are thankfully not too overpoweringWater for Elephants is a pretty good movie. The love triangle aspects are easily the weakest elements but are thankfully not too overpowering or heavy handed. The real delights of Water for Elephants are it's excellent period detailing, creeping tension and decent performances. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Same old story, water for Elephants was just fine. Characters were good enough but story was something, i would say, boring or at least closeSame old story, water for Elephants was just fine. Characters were good enough but story was something, i would say, boring or at least close to that. It was one of those typically predictable movies. Expand
  7. May 12, 2011
    0
    How can Hollywood not know these animals were abused. They are always abused. And of course, there is now video to back it up. Good workHow can Hollywood not know these animals were abused. They are always abused. And of course, there is now video to back it up. Good work Reese Witherspoon! Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.