Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 13, 2011
    100
    One of the truest, most beautiful movies ever made about two strangers.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Sep 21, 2011
    100
    Bittersweet, achingly authentic, and so intimate it almost feels invasive.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Sep 21, 2011
    91
    British filmmaker Andrew Haigh's background in editing (from Gladiator to Mister Lonely) is evident in the casual beauty of moments that only appear "found," giving Weekend an engrossing documentary feel.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 21, 2011
    91
    Weekend builds into a powerful encapsulation of an identity crisis over the course of three passionate days.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Sep 22, 2011
    90
    There is also a need for stories that address the complex entanglements of love and sex honestly, without sentiment or cynicism and with the appropriate mixture of humor, sympathy and erotic heat. Weekend, Andrew Haigh's astonishingly self-assured, unassumingly profound second feature, is just such a film.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Henderson
    Sep 18, 2011
    88
    A ticking stopwatch hangs over Weekend that amplifies the intensity of every conversation, every fight, every drink, every copulation. In other words, it's a device.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    "Weekend" is such a delicate, modest little love story that even writing about it seems like it'll ruin the movie's spell. It's a slight film and hardly groundbreaking, but it's so lovely that you almost feel protective of it. Just like you want its main couple to find love with each other, you don't want anyone's snark ripping this sweet film to shreds. And I hope at some point in the future the most "interesting" thing about "Weekend" isn't that it's a gay love story. Maybe eventually people will just like it because it's a good love story, period. Full Review »
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Stunningly realistic and perfectly acted, WEEKEND surprised me in that I had no idea how hooked I had become until I found myself utterly moved by the end. Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    A beautiful movie that captures what it is like to be a gay man, looking for a connection (or not). It is a rare opportunity to see our lives on film that doesn't resort to the use of the sassy best fiend, mincing drag queen, or homophobic father to flesh out our lives. It just shows how we might spend one weekend making a connection with another human being. Full Review »