Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 16, 2009
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 383 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
226
Mixed:
57
Negative:
100
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
EricAOct 28, 2009
Enjoyed this very much and brought back memories of time with my mother as a little boy. Great work from Jonze
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
pHOct 27, 2009
Not perfect by any means but a brilliant effort that almost succeeds. Sorta long, sorta slow but a slightly flawed masterpiece in the end. I saw it in a theatre full of kids of all ages and not a peep from any of them
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayGOct 27, 2009
Depressing. Dark. Violent. Inconclusive. Mr. Sendak must have needed some money desperately. I wouldn't take my kids to see it. Read them the book and let their imaginations soar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarveyBOct 27, 2009
"Where the wild things are" is an extraordinary film about a young boy who filled with a plethora of emotions goes to a world in his imagination. it is funny, sad and incredibly well made. i have gone to see this movie twice, once for the "Where the wild things are" is an extraordinary film about a young boy who filled with a plethora of emotions goes to a world in his imagination. it is funny, sad and incredibly well made. i have gone to see this movie twice, once for the plot, the other for the subtleties. Go and watch this film. you owe it to yourself why this film is so special. I am deeply sadden that this generation of children prefer the blasting and action of films like "Astro Boy" and therefore will not enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
nanekimOct 27, 2009
This is not an easy-going movie, for sure. I think what it can teach us is that issues don't get resolved just because you "run away," and no friend is perfect--we all have our good and bad sides. I think the Wild Things helped Max to This is not an easy-going movie, for sure. I think what it can teach us is that issues don't get resolved just because you "run away," and no friend is perfect--we all have our good and bad sides. I think the Wild Things helped Max to grow up, and vice-versa. My daughter (9) and I liked the movie, but we were warned that it's really not for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveHOct 26, 2009
I was very emotionally affected by this film, which is, despite the hi-tech vibe attached to it, a very subtle work. It gets inside the head of a young boy whose family has shattered and whose life is spent imagining a world where he is I was very emotionally affected by this film, which is, despite the hi-tech vibe attached to it, a very subtle work. It gets inside the head of a young boy whose family has shattered and whose life is spent imagining a world where he is strong, happy and in control. The central fantasy element is a beautiful and perceptive representation of a child's imagnation. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
sebastianl.Oct 26, 2009
For those of us who remember--or faithfully engage the vestiges of--an imagination worthy of childhood, this film underestimates the continuities of that imagination. Max looks like nothing more than a series of Freudian ejaculations of For those of us who remember--or faithfully engage the vestiges of--an imagination worthy of childhood, this film underestimates the continuities of that imagination. Max looks like nothing more than a series of Freudian ejaculations of creativity, with that creativity accomplishing little more than assuaging or redirecting his psyche. Children--and human beings in general--tend to construct more from their relationships with ids and moms. I understand the desert loneliness thing, but come on, credit the kid with some color in his world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BigEOct 26, 2009
A wonderfully melancholic movie. It's uncertain plot line is off putting, but I kinda think that's the point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TROct 25, 2009
This movie made me extremely uncomfortable, like sitting in on an hour 40 of a kid's therapy session. This isn't a movie I'd want to take a kid to. They chose to flesh the story out with dysfunction, and that's not what I This movie made me extremely uncomfortable, like sitting in on an hour 40 of a kid's therapy session. This isn't a movie I'd want to take a kid to. They chose to flesh the story out with dysfunction, and that's not what I thought I was getting into. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
fwOct 23, 2009
Horrid. Boring. Tedious. Aimless. Pointless. Weary-making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KatBOct 23, 2009
What in the World? This movie sucked! Well, maybe that's harsh...but the best scenes were the "real" life scenes with his family/mother. I certainly appreciate the suffering and confusion this child lives with at the hands of his What in the World? This movie sucked! Well, maybe that's harsh...but the best scenes were the "real" life scenes with his family/mother. I certainly appreciate the suffering and confusion this child lives with at the hands of his "broken" family, but the fantasy in the movie does NOT live up to the hype and was really goofy. I'll bet the book was better! The child was a great little actor! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrianROct 23, 2009
This is basically a bore. It's nearly two hours of depressed muppets.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristopherCOct 23, 2009
The cinematic adaptation of one of the greatest children's books of all time is strangely... not for kids. Not having any children myself, I found the movie enthralling. I went in expecting it to be light hearted and formulaic, but what The cinematic adaptation of one of the greatest children's books of all time is strangely... not for kids. Not having any children myself, I found the movie enthralling. I went in expecting it to be light hearted and formulaic, but what I saw sincerely made me feel, and for that I was grateful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebHOct 23, 2009
I've seen it twice now and still can't get enough of it! One of the most multi-layered movies I have ever seen. I could eat it up, I love it so!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanDOct 22, 2009
A beautiful film. One of the best of 2009 with great voice work and one of the best performances ever by a child actor by Max Records. a gem of a film that should receive oscar consideration.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KirkGOct 22, 2009
Visually stunning and emotionally exhilarating! A true work of art not to be missed on the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobbROct 21, 2009
Over hyped, over rated movie! I could not wait for the end of the LONG movie. DO NOT SEE AT THE THEATERS, bad enough to rent on DVD. Trust me you will see! THere is a reason why it was only on book form.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulSt.Oct 21, 2009
Beautiful, complex and moving. It stayed with me all week.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CranstonSOct 21, 2009
Is this some kind of joke. They marketed a kids movie only to find out it borderlines a horror film. The costumes were amazing but it all stops there. My favorite book as a kid was slaughtered when it was translated into this joke of a Is this some kind of joke. They marketed a kids movie only to find out it borderlines a horror film. The costumes were amazing but it all stops there. My favorite book as a kid was slaughtered when it was translated into this joke of a movie! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND MORE IMPORTANTLY YOUR TIME. IT WILL CAUSE YOU TO NEVER LOOK AT THE BOOK THE SAME WAY. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CodyB.Oct 21, 2009
Is this some kind of joke??? I read this story to my 3 year old at least twice a week. So before the movie came out I was excited to go see it with him. During the movie I was bored and depressed and covering my boys eyes a lot. After the Is this some kind of joke??? I read this story to my 3 year old at least twice a week. So before the movie came out I was excited to go see it with him. During the movie I was bored and depressed and covering my boys eyes a lot. After the movie, I was confused and let down. ABSOLUTELY NO STORY LINE!!! Thanks to Spike Jonzes for turning a classic book into a dud of a movie. My boy is now terrified of the book. What a joke. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucaTOct 20, 2009
Not a kids movie, but a movie for the kid in us all. Every line of dialogue was reminiscent of being a kid, if not word for word interactions I've had in my own past. Never once does it coddle. A true exploration of the ups and downs of Not a kids movie, but a movie for the kid in us all. Every line of dialogue was reminiscent of being a kid, if not word for word interactions I've had in my own past. Never once does it coddle. A true exploration of the ups and downs of our own emotions. Reminds me of what it was like to be a kid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveAOct 20, 2009
This movie was gorgeous to look at. The scenery was beautiful; the wild things were spectacular. The acting was great. Keener was impressive as usual. The kid was awesome. He gave a subtle, nuanced performance, as opposed to the Ace Ventura This movie was gorgeous to look at. The scenery was beautiful; the wild things were spectacular. The acting was great. Keener was impressive as usual. The kid was awesome. He gave a subtle, nuanced performance, as opposed to the Ace Ventura acting that Disney bombards us with. Even the wild things conveyed a lot of emotion. Furthermore, the soundtrack was very cool. Unfortunately, this movie was also a huge depressing bore. It was so bogged down in pessimism that it was impossible to enjoy. The last half dragged forever. In the end, the wild things were either depressed or deranged. The plot was too simple and had no twists or surprises. It was very unfortunate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MFOct 20, 2009
I think a lot of people rate this movie so high because they loved the book and feel a responsibility toward protecting the reputation of the movie. I feel the book was excellent, but this movie completely failed. If you want to see a movie I think a lot of people rate this movie so high because they loved the book and feel a responsibility toward protecting the reputation of the movie. I feel the book was excellent, but this movie completely failed. If you want to see a movie that looks like it was made by a CGI expert with too much time on his hands and a low budget for everything else, go see this movie. If you want to see a movie that's slightly better, go see Gigli. If you want to actually enjoy seeing movies, go see something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AtticusMOct 20, 2009
Beautiful... A very symbolic movie. A true work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
THOct 20, 2009
This movie is neither trippy nor is it's indie-pop soundtrack "avant-garde". This is Jonze's adaptation of a children's book updated for the pretentious Pitchfork generation. It's not as deep as it thinks it is, This movie is neither trippy nor is it's indie-pop soundtrack "avant-garde". This is Jonze's adaptation of a children's book updated for the pretentious Pitchfork generation. It's not as deep as it thinks it is, isn't very engaging to watch, and doesn't have anything very original to say. It sure is pretty looking though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricKOct 20, 2009
This movie is not for kids. Take them if you want but most children will not understand and might feel frustrated watching a psycho-analytical drama about youth. As an adult who did not read the book and never will, I truly enjoyed this This movie is not for kids. Take them if you want but most children will not understand and might feel frustrated watching a psycho-analytical drama about youth. As an adult who did not read the book and never will, I truly enjoyed this movie and the way it delivered its message. This movie is about life. Regular life. People speak of Max like he has a terrible childhood and is just a bad kid. You would be surprised how many kids have behavioral problems or simply put conflict in their lives that they are not sure how to deal with. IT'S LIFE. I thought this movie made us look at things the way a child might in a fictional way that is at times magical, funny and then dark and scary. I loved the way he captured the sense of intense playing with abrupt stopping and then someone being very upset for little or no reason. And it's done in a very unusual way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatrickMOct 20, 2009
I can't say enough about how painful it was to sit through this slow drudge of a movie. Nearly 1/2 the film centers around one of the characters pouting, screaming, breaking things, threatening and fighting each other. I'm a big I can't say enough about how painful it was to sit through this slow drudge of a movie. Nearly 1/2 the film centers around one of the characters pouting, screaming, breaking things, threatening and fighting each other. I'm a big fan of Spike Jonez (really like Adaptation), but he fumbled the ball on this clunker. If I want to watch spite filled people yell at each other for an hour and 1/2 all I have to do is watch my 3 year olds pre-school class. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveM.Oct 20, 2009
This was the worst movie I have ever seen, and I've seen The Patriot and Transformers. It mistakes misery for profundity and strips all joy from childhood. Enjoy kids!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AnonymousMCOct 20, 2009
I'm going to go ahead and agree with everyone else; visually, this movie is stunning. Aside from that, I didn't like it. The whole movie was largely forgettable and boring. The music is distracting and it often took me a minute toI'm going to go ahead and agree with everyone else; visually, this movie is stunning. Aside from that, I didn't like it. The whole movie was largely forgettable and boring. The music is distracting and it often took me a minute to discern the music from the actual audio of the film. The events are disconnected and just sort of happen one after another with no real flow or sense of plot. More than that, though, the movie seems to illustrate the point that life is terrible and no matter what you do to try and fix it, it will only get worse. Certainly not a message for a kids movie. And on that note, the movie seems to reward bad behavior more than it does anything else. The boy throws a tantrum for no reason and is gifted a kingdom. When he returns home, he gets cake. We leave the movie with nothing resolved, and I myself was annoyed.

It's apparent that many people liked this film. I want to say people liked it because they expected to. I personally would recommend watching the trailer instead. It's much more moving and exciting than the film was.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonathanF.Oct 19, 2009
A strikingly beautiful, and touching story of a lonely boy finding comfort in the escape of his vast imagination. And was it just me or is it surprisingly political, too?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CWOct 19, 2009
I don't get it. This is a very trippy movie. Maybe it's better while high. Also, the whole thing has a tragic and overly-dramatic feel to it. Which young children won't even get, or probably just be scared by. However, there I don't get it. This is a very trippy movie. Maybe it's better while high. Also, the whole thing has a tragic and overly-dramatic feel to it. Which young children won't even get, or probably just be scared by. However, there are some hijinks kids will enjoy. The avant-garde music is quite good. As art, I suppose it's worth seeing. It will leave you saying "WTF?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Oct 19, 2009
Cinematic Bliss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
R.T.Oct 19, 2009
Fun, imaginative, creative and interesting --- all about the peek into a 10yr old's mind... and it's exactly what you get, including personifications of himself and stereotypes/people in his life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayL.Oct 19, 2009
I really like reading the reviews for this film; it seems that everyone is polarized by this film. People either love it or don't. For me, it was a magical experience. A lot of people say that this is not a children's film. I really like reading the reviews for this film; it seems that everyone is polarized by this film. People either love it or don't. For me, it was a magical experience. A lot of people say that this is not a children's film. However, I would have loved to have watched this when I was little. This film is something that grows with you and it hits the crux of what it is being a child. I feel that some critics missed some of the crucial things that makes this film a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ADOct 19, 2009
Not a kids movie, but super funny & deep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SusanW.Oct 19, 2009
Dark and moping with no resolution; you get the feeling it's all deep and allegorical, and like Max, you just don't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rickmOct 19, 2009
As you can see from the scores, it would appear you either love or hate this movie. If you know what you are getting into before you see this movie, you will know it is not really a "children's" movie .. it is a movie ABOUT childhood. As you can see from the scores, it would appear you either love or hate this movie. If you know what you are getting into before you see this movie, you will know it is not really a "children's" movie .. it is a movie ABOUT childhood. If you like movies that have the guts to go "outside the box" a little, you will appreciate this movie. It is an amazing accomplishment. Very powerful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Oct 18, 2009
The wild things aren't so worldly-wise. Cut off from civilization, the limited experiences of these bipolar monsters inform how they talk, which can best be described as being absurdist, but having a prosaic naturalism, a style that The wild things aren't so worldly-wise. Cut off from civilization, the limited experiences of these bipolar monsters inform how they talk, which can best be described as being absurdist, but having a prosaic naturalism, a style that will frustrate less adventurous moviegoers, so used to hip and witty cartoon animals well-versed in popular culture, as if the environs they inhabit were an extension of the human world. The harrowing "Where the Wild Things Are" is an ethnographic film, a coming-of-age film, and most remarkable of all, a handmade film that doesn't bombard you with a glut of computer graphics wizardry. Intentional or not, "Where the Wild Things Are" shares some of the same aesthetics that Jim Henson brought to "The Dark Crystal"; it's also like watching Muppets under the influence of a medicated Ingmar Bergman, or some dour filmmaker with a European sensibility, who just discovered his unbeknownst funny bone. Max(played by the remarkable newcomer Max Records), a loner, finds refuge in storytelling, introduced at the outset as he relates a story to his mother(Catherine Keener), who transcribes her son's words onto her computer. This posterity, this transformation of the oral tradition into immutable proof of the spoken word, foreshadows Max's journey to where the wild things are, an imaginary place made corporeal through his mother's hardware documentation. (I think Max told her this story before, offscreen.) In the original version, Max took the form of Carol(James Gandolfini), a wild thing with abandonment issues, a thinly-veiled reference to the boy's relationship with his sister. This time, he's the king, and has unfettered access to the source of Carol's angst, KW(Lauren Ambrose), who he relates with as somebody else, a friend, rather than a blood relative, reflecting the boy's own wish fulfillment to know Claire in that same capacity. The film captures with raw precision, that moment when siblings grow apart, when age becomes a divide, because of the older one's need to spread her(or his) wings. (KW's friends just happen to be birds.) It's good to be king. Max can be Carol(-like) once he gets back home. This is, unquestionably, the best major studio film of 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StevenZOct 18, 2009
The cinematography was stunning, Max's world was beautiful, and the view of the world from the eyes of a child were fantastic. Other then that you have a very drawn out story. Yes, there is great symbolism and all that, but who cares to The cinematography was stunning, Max's world was beautiful, and the view of the world from the eyes of a child were fantastic. Other then that you have a very drawn out story. Yes, there is great symbolism and all that, but who cares to make those connections when the movie is just so boring. If you see it, great, if you miss it...you're not missing out on anything huge. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobM.Oct 18, 2009
Great movie, some acting issues but very minor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonM.Oct 18, 2009
Beautiful, intelligent, Genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobCOct 18, 2009
A masterful film that perfectly captures the emotional confusion of being a kid. It's not a conventional kid's movie by any means, nor is it a fun family hug-fest. This is a deep, powerful, and emotional film and it's one of A masterful film that perfectly captures the emotional confusion of being a kid. It's not a conventional kid's movie by any means, nor is it a fun family hug-fest. This is a deep, powerful, and emotional film and it's one of the best movies I've ever seen. You owe it to yourself to see this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KamsleyBOct 18, 2009
This was NOT an enjoyable movie for any child and I have four who hated it... It was nothing short of a psychotherapy session for any adult who has felt the cruelty of divorce in their lifetime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyMOct 18, 2009
Patricia S., you are stupid. This film is beautiful. Movie popcorn with butter-like chemical sludge is gross.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnnySOct 18, 2009
Visually stunning, but incredibly boring and twee. The kid is annoying and unlikeable, and it is difficult to care about any of the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterJ.Oct 18, 2009
This was a really good movie. I had read the story to my kids many times, and they did a really good job not getting too far away from the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshC.Oct 18, 2009
Moving, subtle film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieT.Oct 18, 2009
A beautiful and I think perhaps misunderstood film. This is not a Hollywood formula film. But to mistake that a child cannot enjoy this or relate to the film is unfortunate. My 9 year old daughter loved this film. This is not a film with a A beautiful and I think perhaps misunderstood film. This is not a Hollywood formula film. But to mistake that a child cannot enjoy this or relate to the film is unfortunate. My 9 year old daughter loved this film. This is not a film with a morale. It is a portrait of a child's emotions in a breathtaking format. My daughter giggled at the appropriate times. My daughter was quiet and thoughtful at appropriate times. The film is an accurate portrayal of a child in our modern world and all the feelings that get wrapped up into it. I'm not sure what folks were looking for. But it was sweet, heartbreaking and charming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JacobPOct 18, 2009
Some people may walk into this show thinking it's a children's film, understandably as it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BenJ.Oct 18, 2009
Just plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyK.Oct 18, 2009
I found this movie delightful in a most refreshing non-Disney, non-pop-culture spouting, non-bosom baring princess sort of way. I disagree that this movie is not for children - and don't understand why it's "better" to feed I found this movie delightful in a most refreshing non-Disney, non-pop-culture spouting, non-bosom baring princess sort of way. I disagree that this movie is not for children - and don't understand why it's "better" to feed children such a sanitized, marketable version of reality. Visually beautiful, emotionally real, and yes, "wild" in the truest sense - in that emotions, relationships cannot be tamed, nor should they be feared for this. Not a message I think we should keep from our children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BridgetC.Oct 18, 2009
While the story sagged a bit in the late middle, the rest had me gripped and enmeshed in the head of a 9 year old ( hard to do that with my mind).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SophiaB.Oct 17, 2009
This is a juvenile reminicence of the "Cell". Max is obviously an Aspergers or High Functioning autistic with serious problems and an inept, absent mother. This could have been the prequel to "Adam'. This poor child desperately needs This is a juvenile reminicence of the "Cell". Max is obviously an Aspergers or High Functioning autistic with serious problems and an inept, absent mother. This could have been the prequel to "Adam'. This poor child desperately needs help. The characters are as atrocious as Grimms Brothers renderings, but unlike fairy tales, there is not a single useful message or symbol available to help this kid or any that go see it. How did Jonze accomplish that? The chicken, goat and owls will completey alienate even the occassional child who responds to petting zoo therapy. To top it off, Jonze uses Gandolfini from the Sopranos to whack this kids chances of ever developing into an adult. Sorry kids. Besides the suns dying and the planets going dark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KalinA.Oct 17, 2009
Great costumes, painful to sit through. Was confusing and lacked any sort of entertaining or smart dialogue. Doesn't capture the book or your attention. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeW.Oct 17, 2009
THIS IS NOT A MOVIE FOR KIDS. ITS ABOUT AS KID-FRIENDLY AS PAN'S LABYRINTH. THE YOUNG KIDS WERE TRAUMATIZED, AND I HAD TO LEAVE EARLY WITH MY 5 YEAR OLD.

But it is a really excellent adult move. It's unbelievable how that the
THIS IS NOT A MOVIE FOR KIDS. ITS ABOUT AS KID-FRIENDLY AS PAN'S LABYRINTH. THE YOUNG KIDS WERE TRAUMATIZED, AND I HAD TO LEAVE EARLY WITH MY 5 YEAR OLD.

But it is a really excellent adult move. It's unbelievable how that the excellent young actor carried the entire feature.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Oct 17, 2009
The finest film of this year and one of the 10 best of the decade!!! My children, my wife, my mother, and I all cried in the closing credits of this film. Not because it was depressing but, because all of us really cared about Max, his mom, The finest film of this year and one of the 10 best of the decade!!! My children, my wife, my mother, and I all cried in the closing credits of this film. Not because it was depressing but, because all of us really cared about Max, his mom, and the wild things that represent the subconscious of a child. This film is like Miyazaki for the mainstream American movie audience. I cannot say enough good things about the emotional complexity with which this film treated children. It was actually the most respectful look at at young children I have ever witnessed in all my many years of film going. However, the true amazement of this film is how it will play to your children. There will be many parents who treat there children like they are to young to understand and become emotionally involved. This is because many parents do not give their kids the credit they deserve. My daughter Jolie looked up at me in the movie (I actually had to tell her to whisper) to tell me how Carol (the leader of the Wild Things) felt and how closely that was to the way her and her sister act. She told me that sometimes she does mean things because she wants everything to be perfect and her sister sometimes doesn't want to hang out with her. She was sad for Carol and understood his sadness. My daughters are both 7. My son, who is for also spoke about these same feelings (with slightly less detail) to his sisters after the film. They also told me that they thought the end made them feel like Max was a good boy who realized how much he loved his mommy. Then they told their mommy how much they loved her and went outside to let their own little wild rumpus start. Kids are extremely intelligent and will do amazing things if parents do not hold them back out of fear. Knowledge is good, not the enemy. So, in conclusion, I believe that this film is for everyone from 4 to 94. It is a film that will reward it's viewers for being intelligent and emotionally involved. I loved this film so much I could eat it up! If there is a better film this year I can't wait to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeneS.Oct 17, 2009
At the heart of this movie is sorrow and the way it expresses itself is through joy. The monsters are all aspects of Max's interior life and feelings and so they, like Max, think and behave like 9 years olds do. To see monsters act as At the heart of this movie is sorrow and the way it expresses itself is through joy. The monsters are all aspects of Max's interior life and feelings and so they, like Max, think and behave like 9 years olds do. To see monsters act as such is an experience that's unforgettable. You'll be hard pressed to find a more poignant and beautiful movie that has as much integrity as this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulBOct 17, 2009
This is a deep and both intensely joyful and deeply sad story about growing up. A true masterpiece of cinema that takes anyone with a heart on a journey that makes them feel more alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TaylorF.Oct 17, 2009
Not very many redeeming characters in this movie....it is very sad without really giving us any real change in any of the characters. It is a well done movie and very visually stimulating, just didn't get much out of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanM.Oct 17, 2009
I really liked it. Max's feelings were so real and difficult. James Gandolfini's voice so completely embodied Carol it amazed me. It may have been a little slow in parts, but not in a way that it woke me from the "dream". I am not I really liked it. Max's feelings were so real and difficult. James Gandolfini's voice so completely embodied Carol it amazed me. It may have been a little slow in parts, but not in a way that it woke me from the "dream". I am not a child anymore, and I don't know if a child would be riveted to it the way I was, but it had that true quality that I remember from childhood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ScottM.Oct 17, 2009
This film constructs and simultaneously deconstructs itself in each scene. The film's honest ending is a meager consolation prize for those patient enough to endure the existential vacuity of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SawyerC.Oct 17, 2009
DEPRESSING! DARK! AWFUL!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GabrielS.Oct 17, 2009
A well built movie! Note: not for kids. Lots and lots and lots of emotional depth. GREAT ACTING.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AmberM.Oct 17, 2009
This is not a kids movie!!! The kid is naughty, and the monsters are very negative. All my kids got out of it, is that it is funny to hit your friends and its okay to throw tantrums.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AJOct 17, 2009
I found it rather dull and the thin plot of romantic angst between the beasts more than a little silly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
QuentinV.Oct 17, 2009
By far the greatest, most imaginative, and clever film adaptation of a children's book ever done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.Oct 17, 2009
I know giving it a 10 makes it look like I either like a movie, or I don't, but this movie really deserves more than a 71. I came into the theater not expecting much. I was blown away. I liked it as much as The Dark Knight. The film I know giving it a 10 makes it look like I either like a movie, or I don't, but this movie really deserves more than a 71. I came into the theater not expecting much. I was blown away. I liked it as much as The Dark Knight. The film style was great. The soundtrack suited the movie so perfectly with the mood. Now this is a children's movie, but is actually better for ages 13-40. A kid will definitely like the movie, but they won't get how powerful the plot is. The story is happy, and there isn't a looming problem that the main character is trying to solve before something happens. Everything just kind of happens. I really loved how powerful the images were. There is this one part at the beginning where Max's sister has friends over. Max then starts a snowball fight with them, and runs to take cover in a snow cave he built. Then one of the friends jumps on it while Max is inside and destroys it. Max is standing in the ruins of his fort bawling, and looks at his sister getting in the car with her friends leaving, and she just forgets about Max. Max then runs into the house, still snowy, goes into his sister's room, and destroys a card shaped like a heart that said "from Max to Claire. It really, really sent a strong feeling of loneliness, and sorrow. Another thing about the plot was what Max did and said. The things he was doing and wanted to do, really felt like something I would want to do when I was little, so for me, this was a personal movie. If you don't see this movie in theaters, or rent it when it comes out, then you are missing out on the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TedJ.Oct 17, 2009
Nothing redeeming about this film. You'll want your money back halfway through. Boring story, no characters to get behind, Max is unlikable and annoying, the movie is dark and seems to carry no message. A terrible self indulgent effort Nothing redeeming about this film. You'll want your money back halfway through. Boring story, no characters to get behind, Max is unlikable and annoying, the movie is dark and seems to carry no message. A terrible self indulgent effort by the director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CPOct 17, 2009
This is a beautiful movie that exceeded all of my expectations. Not for kids, but for thoughtful adults. For me it was magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jerradDOct 17, 2009
A well crafted and uniquely stylized film. i loved every minute of it. for the people who are mad that its not a kid movie why do you care? you can't even enjoy a movie for yourself? stop looking at it as a childrens book and start A well crafted and uniquely stylized film. i loved every minute of it. for the people who are mad that its not a kid movie why do you care? you can't even enjoy a movie for yourself? stop looking at it as a childrens book and start seeing the real morals that are presented in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RossOct 17, 2009
This movie was a massive disappointment. It offered very little beyond the outstanding design and the well-done intro portion. Just watch the trailer 5 times and you'll be better off. Beware of critics who WANT to support the new Jonze movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohannaE.Oct 17, 2009
I really love this movie. I'm quite sure how my 7 and 9 year old children really felt about it. I'm hoping that it left them thinking. We talked about the themes of the film that they may not have understood on the own. I think I really love this movie. I'm quite sure how my 7 and 9 year old children really felt about it. I'm hoping that it left them thinking. We talked about the themes of the film that they may not have understood on the own. I think it's a complex story, ideally for involved parents to take their older children too and discuss afterward. Don't expect children to fully enjoy or comprehend it without you. However, isn't that what parents are for? I enjoyed the absolute beauty and poignancy of the film. It was bittersweet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewA.Oct 17, 2009
Spike Jonze is 3 for 3 and has created the most perfect realization of Sendak's book that could have possibly been conceived. The negative reviews miss the point of Jonze's vision entirely. Dana Stevens (maybe you should have stuck Spike Jonze is 3 for 3 and has created the most perfect realization of Sendak's book that could have possibly been conceived. The negative reviews miss the point of Jonze's vision entirely. Dana Stevens (maybe you should have stuck with your job as an Avon lady?) says that it adds nothing to know the backstory of Max, his mom, and the Wild Things. If you don't get the importance of those backstories then it will be impossible to appreciate this movie. David Denby similarly says that he can picture little kids being confused as to why the wild things are so dysfunctional. It baffles me that professional film critics would fail to understand such a fundamental part of the story. How else did they expect Jonze to flesh out such a slight children's book? In my mind (and Sendak's apparentely) he has done it perfectly and I couldn't have been more pleased with or touched by the film. Simply perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewF.Oct 17, 2009
Absolutely stunning movie, visually, tonally, thematically. I'm amazed that a film like this, that treats its audience, kids and adults alike, without a hint of condescension, could be made in today's market. It's a rich and Absolutely stunning movie, visually, tonally, thematically. I'm amazed that a film like this, that treats its audience, kids and adults alike, without a hint of condescension, could be made in today's market. It's a rich and beautiful piece of work, and bravo to Spike Jonze, Dave Eggers, Maurice Sendak, and all the cast and crew for making it happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielW.Oct 17, 2009
Wow. I was not ready for this. I have read the book to all three of my kids, and it has been part of the pantheon of great kids' books that don't pander to children, but rather engage their fears and anxieties, and thus establish a Wow. I was not ready for this. I have read the book to all three of my kids, and it has been part of the pantheon of great kids' books that don't pander to children, but rather engage their fears and anxieties, and thus establish a connection with them that is deep and longlasting. Cat in the Hat is another one of these books (child abandonment, anyone?), and it was butchered so egregiously at the movies that the thought that Hollywood was going to have a stab at Sendak was terrifying. Not to worry: Jonze and Eggers, with a mighty musical assist by Karen O. and some wild thing costumes that are wonderfully evocative, come up with an interpretation of the 338 word classic that feels right at every turn. There is an integration of all kinds of narrative and stylistic element that could easily have fallen apart completely (Cassavetes-style naturalism as a vehicle for a fantasy?), and yet they are held together by the integrity of the artists' vision. My 5 year-old daughter has been asking me questions about this movie incessantly since we saw the movie 24 hours ago. It is living with her in a way that no kids movie she has seen thus far has, and it lives with me to. The final, emotionally devastating but entirely earned final scenes are among the most truly moving moments I have had at the movies in years. I can't wait to see the movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SanjayGOct 17, 2009
Well shot, hilarious yet incredible dark at times. Incredible soundtrack. I don't think the kids are going to get it so much. Regardless for those who have been waiting a long time coming, Spike Jonze has made a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelH.Oct 17, 2009
I was highly anticipating this film. This film is a 9 year old's snowball fight writ-large, and one of the strangest coming of age films. The plot: boy gets mad at mom, runs away from home, becomes king of Wild Things, gets bored and I was highly anticipating this film. This film is a 9 year old's snowball fight writ-large, and one of the strangest coming of age films. The plot: boy gets mad at mom, runs away from home, becomes king of Wild Things, gets bored and goes home for dinner. End plot. Max Records put in an excellent performance as the boy, contrary to some reports. The creatures are a bit creepy, but iconic as the stills suggest. To grow the story to feature length, we are treated to the personality conflicts of the Wild Things. This seemed to flatten the story a bit, rather than fill it out as they become too recognizable somehow. // The film itself was either projected badly at my cinema, or was itself out of focus half the time and washed out. This film is on my list of Bluray must-buys. // Overall I enjoyed the film. I can't put it in any category really. It is not childrens entertainment. But it is not really a 'mature' look back on childhood, either. Appropriately, it sits awkwardly in between. This film is more suited to older, thoughtful kids. It is a psychodrama for 10 year olds, reflecting back to them their way of thinking and experiencing. If this appeals to you, you must see Where the Wild Things Are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenSOct 17, 2009
This truly was - A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius. I've never left a theater so emotionally devastated in my life. Frame after gorgeously shot frame just aches with sadness in this beautiful meditation on what childhood is like This truly was - A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius. I've never left a theater so emotionally devastated in my life. Frame after gorgeously shot frame just aches with sadness in this beautiful meditation on what childhood is like growing up in a broken home. My hat is tipped and my hand is over my heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCOct 16, 2009
Classic Spike Jonze, very complex, introspective, and dark at times but equally sweet and warm, captures very much more than any film I can remember what it was like to be kid and in the final years before adolescence, it takes every emotionClassic Spike Jonze, very complex, introspective, and dark at times but equally sweet and warm, captures very much more than any film I can remember what it was like to be kid and in the final years before adolescence, it takes every emotion children feel and takes it as seriously as they would and does this in an understated way more in creating a tone and atmosphere than overwrought melodrama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ScottR.Oct 16, 2009
This film is like an $80 million lament on the childhood of someone who didn't really enjoy that period of his or her life. I didn't connect with the film on any emotional level, and there's only so far that a cerebral This film is like an $80 million lament on the childhood of someone who didn't really enjoy that period of his or her life. I didn't connect with the film on any emotional level, and there's only so far that a cerebral experience can carry me in terms of liking something. Do I appreciate this film? Sure. Do I like it? Not really. Would I take my kids to see it if they were younger than 12? Absolutely not. This film tries to dissect how a child sees and interprets the world, but it does so from a very adult perspective. It takes almost all the fun and magic out of being a kid and replaces those fundamentals of childhood with imaginary realism. Is childhood discovery of right and wrong really such a dramatic event? No. I find this film to be much more of an examination of Spike Jonze's views on how mis-parented youths look back on their childhood than anything else. Basically, it was the polar opposite of "Up", which I consider to be the best film of the year thus far. Does that make it an awful film? Of course not. But it's like Spike Jonze wants us all to live in the melancholy of his childhood, and that bored me to tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChandlerW.Oct 16, 2009
Excellent film. Truly moving. Great story, plot, moral. A must see for everybody!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DannyROct 16, 2009
I am very much ambivilent about this film. It's certainly not for the kids, nor is it a great representation of the book. It's weak points were that it was fairly unfocused and it was a HUGE downer; I didn't leave the theatre I am very much ambivilent about this film. It's certainly not for the kids, nor is it a great representation of the book. It's weak points were that it was fairly unfocused and it was a HUGE downer; I didn't leave the theatre with a smile on my face. It was, however, beautifully produced and now I want to buy plush animals of the monsters. Definitely worth seeing, I just didn't like the movie as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnzoP.Oct 16, 2009
Where the Wild Things one of the most anticipated films of the year is not a let down like many other films this year. But, if you are a parent and you are going to bring your children to see this film watch out. I think that this film is Where the Wild Things one of the most anticipated films of the year is not a let down like many other films this year. But, if you are a parent and you are going to bring your children to see this film watch out. I think that this film is for 2nd grade and up and possibly 1st grade. This movie is appropriately rated PG not G. It's not that this film is to inappropriate for them well it little bit is but they probably won't get it. Just like what Julie N said don't go in expecting a kids movie. Now going on the specific's of the film you are probably wondering how did the little boy act. Well, Max Records that is his name is terrific except for when he is crying. He really has to work on that a lot. The role he plays is not an easy role. He has to play a boy who has more imagination then Walt Disney and highly sensitive. But what really surprised me was that he was really funny. Spike Jonze the director and the co writer really captured a lot of funny moments and I didn't think it would've been all that funny. For instance Max when he was mad and it was time for dinner he stood up on the table and said FEED ME WOMEN. It might not sound that funny but it is. Also Spike Jonze decided to use a hand held camera for some of the most of the film. If it wasn't a hand held camera I do not know what shaking that entire time. Gosh it felt like the Blair Witch Project sometimes. Also a mistake in the writing was that it wasn't descriptive enough some things about the film it never told us. To add on to that in the ending it started to get out of control. The critic inside me was not happy about the weirdness and craziness but the fan inside me loved it. So it was very hard to give a score on this movie. Mainly because it was very fun, wild and out of control but so enjoyable. That it twisted my brain around. I just couldn't decide. Overall a wonderful film not so much as a family film but still one of the year's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JeffH.Oct 16, 2009
WAY too artsy and too much symbolism for kids to "get". He took a wonderful idea and butchered it to the point that the imagination of Max was really properly illustrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimOct 16, 2009
Visually amazing but slow and depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KieranM.Oct 16, 2009
The absolute most meaningful movie I've ever seen. That's maybe because I feel like I can relate to Max. I've felt emotions that I've never felt before. Truly amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronL.Oct 16, 2009
my wife and I are huge fans of the book from growing up and now our 4 year old loves the book. the 3 of us went to the movie today and could not be happier with it. it captures everything we loved about the book and doesn't try to hide my wife and I are huge fans of the book from growing up and now our 4 year old loves the book. the 3 of us went to the movie today and could not be happier with it. it captures everything we loved about the book and doesn't try to hide anything. our 4 year old girl also enjoyed it, the things that were to old went over her head, but she was very able to follow along. the more intinse scene's she just held my hand but was fine. want to see it MANY more times and will recommend it to EVERYONE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BillyG.Oct 16, 2009
Terrible! Way too long and depressing. Feel bad for all the kids who had their hopes dashed at this sad and boring film. Save your money and take the kids out bowling instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamLOct 16, 2009
Absolutely Fantastic! The film invites you in as part of the experience and is truly a classic escape from the everyday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricE.Oct 16, 2009
Amazing, Beautiful, Life-Changing, Stunning, Magical, Astonishing. these are all words that come to mind after having seen this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulieNOct 16, 2009
This movie is absolutely incredible. Don't go into it expecting a kids movie, though, because this movie reflects real life. It is not an movie about the spunky troubles of bees or woodland creatures. It's about real problems--and This movie is absolutely incredible. Don't go into it expecting a kids movie, though, because this movie reflects real life. It is not an movie about the spunky troubles of bees or woodland creatures. It's about real problems--and it shows them beautifully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PatriciaS.Oct 16, 2009
Don't waste your time bringing the kids, this is definitely an adult film. It was too long and way too emotionally involved. The most my children could gain from watching it was bad behavior. The best part of the movie was the popcorn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
h_e_n_r_yOct 16, 2009
I really cannot properly describe the way this movie made me feel. It's a film everyone needs to see, not expecting a blockbuster or a 'magical'/cliché Disney film, but rather an experience you haven't had since I really cannot properly describe the way this movie made me feel. It's a film everyone needs to see, not expecting a blockbuster or a 'magical'/cliché Disney film, but rather an experience you haven't had since your best childhood moment. The melancholy lies in the fact that our childhood has been dead for decades, but we have our children to look forward to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.P.Oct 16, 2009
I never do these things, never comment or follow through with films after seeing them (unless with friends). Nevertheless, this movie was stunning. My vocabulary is limited and my mind is weary after seeing the 12 O'clock showing, but I I never do these things, never comment or follow through with films after seeing them (unless with friends). Nevertheless, this movie was stunning. My vocabulary is limited and my mind is weary after seeing the 12 O'clock showing, but I will try to express how I feel. Every frame in this movie could be a photograph, every interaction between the characters is captured so strongly through the cinematography and the perfect setting (Australia). The Wild Things are all brilliantly played out and the pacing of the film is hurried (to accentuate the childlike impulsiveness of Max's mind). As a forewarning, this is not a film for children. It is a brutally dark and emotional film. The simple message from the story, some may have a problem with this, has been expanded into something incredibly large. It has become a tale about self reflection and allowing your mind to look at itself in order to learn what you are doing wrong. Max, the main character, is childish and immature. His anger is often untamed and he allows his sadness turn into aggression. The Wild Things are all branched out of his personality though and he has the opportunity to observe himself from an outside perspective. Its all so simply developed and displayed. There is not a moment in this movie that is misplaced or lacking of beauty. Enjoy it with an open mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful