Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 16, 2009
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 388 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
57
Negative:
101
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TimBNov 1, 2009
It's a beautiful film that explores the nature of childhood and imagination to brilliant effect. I think many of the negative reviews come from people too sadly far removed from their own childhoods.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamLOct 16, 2009
Absolutely Fantastic! The film invites you in as part of the experience and is truly a classic escape from the everyday.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronL.Oct 16, 2009
my wife and I are huge fans of the book from growing up and now our 4 year old loves the book. the 3 of us went to the movie today and could not be happier with it. it captures everything we loved about the book and doesn't try to hide my wife and I are huge fans of the book from growing up and now our 4 year old loves the book. the 3 of us went to the movie today and could not be happier with it. it captures everything we loved about the book and doesn't try to hide anything. our 4 year old girl also enjoyed it, the things that were to old went over her head, but she was very able to follow along. the more intinse scene's she just held my hand but was fine. want to see it MANY more times and will recommend it to EVERYONE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChandlerW.Oct 16, 2009
Excellent film. Truly moving. Great story, plot, moral. A must see for everybody!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamPNov 6, 2009
An incredibly solid interpretation of a snippet from boyhood (Jonze's intention in the first place). Anyone putting this movie down for "trying to be philosophical" is an idiot, because the film never does that. It certainly tries to be An incredibly solid interpretation of a snippet from boyhood (Jonze's intention in the first place). Anyone putting this movie down for "trying to be philosophical" is an idiot, because the film never does that. It certainly tries to be PSYCOLOGICAL, laying out incredibly blatant symbolism via the wild things; the film succeeds as a strictly psychological narrative. The fact that many people also find it too "sad" is due to the film's uncanny ability to magnify the problems of a child. The viewer is sad because Max is sad, but when you look at the issues (a neglectful teenage sister, a preoccupied parent) they are temporary experiences of growing up. It's not a very "deep" movie, gang--just different than some may have hoped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewF.Oct 17, 2009
Absolutely stunning movie, visually, tonally, thematically. I'm amazed that a film like this, that treats its audience, kids and adults alike, without a hint of condescension, could be made in today's market. It's a rich and Absolutely stunning movie, visually, tonally, thematically. I'm amazed that a film like this, that treats its audience, kids and adults alike, without a hint of condescension, could be made in today's market. It's a rich and beautiful piece of work, and bravo to Spike Jonze, Dave Eggers, Maurice Sendak, and all the cast and crew for making it happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewA.Oct 17, 2009
Spike Jonze is 3 for 3 and has created the most perfect realization of Sendak's book that could have possibly been conceived. The negative reviews miss the point of Jonze's vision entirely. Dana Stevens (maybe you should have stuck Spike Jonze is 3 for 3 and has created the most perfect realization of Sendak's book that could have possibly been conceived. The negative reviews miss the point of Jonze's vision entirely. Dana Stevens (maybe you should have stuck with your job as an Avon lady?) says that it adds nothing to know the backstory of Max, his mom, and the Wild Things. If you don't get the importance of those backstories then it will be impossible to appreciate this movie. David Denby similarly says that he can picture little kids being confused as to why the wild things are so dysfunctional. It baffles me that professional film critics would fail to understand such a fundamental part of the story. How else did they expect Jonze to flesh out such a slight children's book? In my mind (and Sendak's apparentely) he has done it perfectly and I couldn't have been more pleased with or touched by the film. Simply perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CPOct 17, 2009
This is a beautiful movie that exceeded all of my expectations. Not for kids, but for thoughtful adults. For me it was magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanM.Oct 17, 2009
I really liked it. Max's feelings were so real and difficult. James Gandolfini's voice so completely embodied Carol it amazed me. It may have been a little slow in parts, but not in a way that it woke me from the "dream". I am not I really liked it. Max's feelings were so real and difficult. James Gandolfini's voice so completely embodied Carol it amazed me. It may have been a little slow in parts, but not in a way that it woke me from the "dream". I am not a child anymore, and I don't know if a child would be riveted to it the way I was, but it had that true quality that I remember from childhood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Oct 17, 2009
The finest film of this year and one of the 10 best of the decade!!! My children, my wife, my mother, and I all cried in the closing credits of this film. Not because it was depressing but, because all of us really cared about Max, his mom, The finest film of this year and one of the 10 best of the decade!!! My children, my wife, my mother, and I all cried in the closing credits of this film. Not because it was depressing but, because all of us really cared about Max, his mom, and the wild things that represent the subconscious of a child. This film is like Miyazaki for the mainstream American movie audience. I cannot say enough good things about the emotional complexity with which this film treated children. It was actually the most respectful look at at young children I have ever witnessed in all my many years of film going. However, the true amazement of this film is how it will play to your children. There will be many parents who treat there children like they are to young to understand and become emotionally involved. This is because many parents do not give their kids the credit they deserve. My daughter Jolie looked up at me in the movie (I actually had to tell her to whisper) to tell me how Carol (the leader of the Wild Things) felt and how closely that was to the way her and her sister act. She told me that sometimes she does mean things because she wants everything to be perfect and her sister sometimes doesn't want to hang out with her. She was sad for Carol and understood his sadness. My daughters are both 7. My son, who is for also spoke about these same feelings (with slightly less detail) to his sisters after the film. They also told me that they thought the end made them feel like Max was a good boy who realized how much he loved his mommy. Then they told their mommy how much they loved her and went outside to let their own little wild rumpus start. Kids are extremely intelligent and will do amazing things if parents do not hold them back out of fear. Knowledge is good, not the enemy. So, in conclusion, I believe that this film is for everyone from 4 to 94. It is a film that will reward it's viewers for being intelligent and emotionally involved. I loved this film so much I could eat it up! If there is a better film this year I can't wait to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelH.Oct 17, 2009
I was highly anticipating this film. This film is a 9 year old's snowball fight writ-large, and one of the strangest coming of age films. The plot: boy gets mad at mom, runs away from home, becomes king of Wild Things, gets bored and I was highly anticipating this film. This film is a 9 year old's snowball fight writ-large, and one of the strangest coming of age films. The plot: boy gets mad at mom, runs away from home, becomes king of Wild Things, gets bored and goes home for dinner. End plot. Max Records put in an excellent performance as the boy, contrary to some reports. The creatures are a bit creepy, but iconic as the stills suggest. To grow the story to feature length, we are treated to the personality conflicts of the Wild Things. This seemed to flatten the story a bit, rather than fill it out as they become too recognizable somehow. // The film itself was either projected badly at my cinema, or was itself out of focus half the time and washed out. This film is on my list of Bluray must-buys. // Overall I enjoyed the film. I can't put it in any category really. It is not childrens entertainment. But it is not really a 'mature' look back on childhood, either. Appropriately, it sits awkwardly in between. This film is more suited to older, thoughtful kids. It is a psychodrama for 10 year olds, reflecting back to them their way of thinking and experiencing. If this appeals to you, you must see Where the Wild Things Are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SanjayGOct 17, 2009
Well shot, hilarious yet incredible dark at times. Incredible soundtrack. I don't think the kids are going to get it so much. Regardless for those who have been waiting a long time coming, Spike Jonze has made a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielW.Oct 17, 2009
Wow. I was not ready for this. I have read the book to all three of my kids, and it has been part of the pantheon of great kids' books that don't pander to children, but rather engage their fears and anxieties, and thus establish a Wow. I was not ready for this. I have read the book to all three of my kids, and it has been part of the pantheon of great kids' books that don't pander to children, but rather engage their fears and anxieties, and thus establish a connection with them that is deep and longlasting. Cat in the Hat is another one of these books (child abandonment, anyone?), and it was butchered so egregiously at the movies that the thought that Hollywood was going to have a stab at Sendak was terrifying. Not to worry: Jonze and Eggers, with a mighty musical assist by Karen O. and some wild thing costumes that are wonderfully evocative, come up with an interpretation of the 338 word classic that feels right at every turn. There is an integration of all kinds of narrative and stylistic element that could easily have fallen apart completely (Cassavetes-style naturalism as a vehicle for a fantasy?), and yet they are held together by the integrity of the artists' vision. My 5 year-old daughter has been asking me questions about this movie incessantly since we saw the movie 24 hours ago. It is living with her in a way that no kids movie she has seen thus far has, and it lives with me to. The final, emotionally devastating but entirely earned final scenes are among the most truly moving moments I have had at the movies in years. I can't wait to see the movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterJ.Oct 18, 2009
This was a really good movie. I had read the story to my kids many times, and they did a really good job not getting too far away from the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZXNov 8, 2009
Really something different. Suspenseful, scenically and musically beautiful. The kid was spot on. In fact, all the acting was engaging, even as delivered through the scariest Muppets ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyMOct 18, 2009
Patricia S., you are stupid. This film is beautiful. Movie popcorn with butter-like chemical sludge is gross.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobCOct 18, 2009
A masterful film that perfectly captures the emotional confusion of being a kid. It's not a conventional kid's movie by any means, nor is it a fun family hug-fest. This is a deep, powerful, and emotional film and it's one of A masterful film that perfectly captures the emotional confusion of being a kid. It's not a conventional kid's movie by any means, nor is it a fun family hug-fest. This is a deep, powerful, and emotional film and it's one of the best movies I've ever seen. You owe it to yourself to see this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonM.Oct 18, 2009
Beautiful, intelligent, Genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobM.Oct 18, 2009
Great movie, some acting issues but very minor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Oct 19, 2009
Cinematic Bliss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricKOct 20, 2009
This movie is not for kids. Take them if you want but most children will not understand and might feel frustrated watching a psycho-analytical drama about youth. As an adult who did not read the book and never will, I truly enjoyed this This movie is not for kids. Take them if you want but most children will not understand and might feel frustrated watching a psycho-analytical drama about youth. As an adult who did not read the book and never will, I truly enjoyed this movie and the way it delivered its message. This movie is about life. Regular life. People speak of Max like he has a terrible childhood and is just a bad kid. You would be surprised how many kids have behavioral problems or simply put conflict in their lives that they are not sure how to deal with. IT'S LIFE. I thought this movie made us look at things the way a child might in a fictional way that is at times magical, funny and then dark and scary. I loved the way he captured the sense of intense playing with abrupt stopping and then someone being very upset for little or no reason. And it's done in a very unusual way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulSt.Oct 21, 2009
Beautiful, complex and moving. It stayed with me all week.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucaTOct 20, 2009
Not a kids movie, but a movie for the kid in us all. Every line of dialogue was reminiscent of being a kid, if not word for word interactions I've had in my own past. Never once does it coddle. A true exploration of the ups and downs of Not a kids movie, but a movie for the kid in us all. Every line of dialogue was reminiscent of being a kid, if not word for word interactions I've had in my own past. Never once does it coddle. A true exploration of the ups and downs of our own emotions. Reminds me of what it was like to be a kid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StuartC.Dec 20, 2009
Easily one of my favorite films of the year, and possibly the decade. A beautifully constructed tale of childhood, told in a majestic way by Jonze. A masterful combination of CGI and real costumes and locations allows for a greater emotional Easily one of my favorite films of the year, and possibly the decade. A beautifully constructed tale of childhood, told in a majestic way by Jonze. A masterful combination of CGI and real costumes and locations allows for a greater emotional impact, bringing the Wild Things out of the pages and into our hearts. Fantastic Film 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KrisTDec 3, 2009
I loved this film. It really searches and finds that inner-child of yours just waiting to be released. Max was great and is truly the most adorable twelve year old ever. The film is amazing and deserves it's rating by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveHOct 26, 2009
I was very emotionally affected by this film, which is, despite the hi-tech vibe attached to it, a very subtle work. It gets inside the head of a young boy whose family has shattered and whose life is spent imagining a world where he is I was very emotionally affected by this film, which is, despite the hi-tech vibe attached to it, a very subtle work. It gets inside the head of a young boy whose family has shattered and whose life is spent imagining a world where he is strong, happy and in control. The central fantasy element is a beautiful and perceptive representation of a child's imagnation. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BigEOct 26, 2009
A wonderfully melancholic movie. It's uncertain plot line is off putting, but I kinda think that's the point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarveyBOct 27, 2009
"Where the wild things are" is an extraordinary film about a young boy who filled with a plethora of emotions goes to a world in his imagination. it is funny, sad and incredibly well made. i have gone to see this movie twice, once for the "Where the wild things are" is an extraordinary film about a young boy who filled with a plethora of emotions goes to a world in his imagination. it is funny, sad and incredibly well made. i have gone to see this movie twice, once for the plot, the other for the subtleties. Go and watch this film. you owe it to yourself why this film is so special. I am deeply sadden that this generation of children prefer the blasting and action of films like "Astro Boy" and therefore will not enjoy this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
nanekimOct 27, 2009
This is not an easy-going movie, for sure. I think what it can teach us is that issues don't get resolved just because you "run away," and no friend is perfect--we all have our good and bad sides. I think the Wild Things helped Max to This is not an easy-going movie, for sure. I think what it can teach us is that issues don't get resolved just because you "run away," and no friend is perfect--we all have our good and bad sides. I think the Wild Things helped Max to grow up, and vice-versa. My daughter (9) and I liked the movie, but we were warned that it's really not for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricAOct 28, 2009
Enjoyed this very much and brought back memories of time with my mother as a little boy. Great work from Jonze
0 of 0 users found this helpful