Willow Creek

Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jun 5, 2014
    60
    Mr. Goldthwait exercises so much caution that you want to get behind his characters and push.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 5, 2014
    60
    The parts are greater than the whole, but there’s a lot to like here, including the easy interplay between the leads.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    May 30, 2014
    60
    An unlikely but effective found-footage horror from Goldthwait.
  4. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    May 30, 2014
    60
    As a horror film using that now-tired device, "found footage" supposedly shot by the characters themselves, it's quite passable.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Willow Creek doesn’t take us anywhere new – the climax is abrupt and unsatisfying – but it’s a whole lot of jarring, juddering fun while it lasts.
  6. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jun 5, 2014
    50
    This disappointingly conventional effort pales in comparison to the filmmaker's wildly audacious comedies.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Aug 25, 2013
    50
    In angling for suspense, this low-budget stunt relies a bit too heavily on our suspension of disbelief.
  8. Reviewed by: John Bleasdale
    May 3, 2014
    40
    It soon becomes difficult to dismiss the suspicion that Goldthwait had set out to make a comic horror but forgot to insert any laughs.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    An excellent, near perfect little winner. I wasn't looking forward to Willow Creek, because the day I found about the movie is the same day IAn excellent, near perfect little winner. I wasn't looking forward to Willow Creek, because the day I found about the movie is the same day I watched, also a found footage movie, called SX_Tape, which wasn't fresh.
    However, Willow Creek is one of those few movies (Blair Witch Project, Paranormal Activity 1, VHS series) that prove found footage is in good hands. While Willow Creek succeeds in not dooming the found footage genre, it manages to terrify you, leave you goosey and nauseated. Bravo!
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    Scary as hell and well acted, I love this type of little horror movies. That scene in the tent was scary and very clever, it couldn't be more perfect.
  3. Sep 29, 2014
    2
    A good example of bad writing coupled with bad directing. Notwithstanding the fact that the film brings nothing new to the table conceptuallyA good example of bad writing coupled with bad directing. Notwithstanding the fact that the film brings nothing new to the table conceptually speaking, the performances are very average.

    There are more than a few moments that can act as an excuse for you to drop it, out of boredom or hatred towards nonsensical film-making. Some images make no sense (especially at the end); the flow of action is completely disconnected from any form of logic - in both fiction and non-fiction.

    As a result of all that, I did not buy into it. I wasn't captivated either, and I found that the ending was just silly. Without such a bad ending I'd give the film a weak 6/10.

    Again - poor writing and nonsensical directing in my humble opinion.
    Full Review »