User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2014
    6
    Forget the critic scores.This movie is mostly enjoyable to horror movie fans. Not to bash the critics, but don't they read the movie description before watching? Wouldn't this line turn them off to the movie, or at least force these critics to put themselves in a horror aficionado's shoes while watching the flick?

    "she arrives to find herself ... forced to play a sadistic game of Would
    You Rather, where only the winner will get out alive."

    The movie has a great premise AND original story with fine acting to boot (rare in a B-movie). Budget limits are effectively managed so that you barely notice the low budget impact. In fact, because some of the more horrific scenes are not shown they are more cringe-worthy as your mind gets to fill in the details.

    But the standout is Jeffrey Combs of Reanimator/From Beyond fame that plays the host of the WORST DINNER PARTY GAME EVER! He balances his sociopathic morality with a genteel propriety that makes his character stand out of the very-disposable extras.

    The twist ending is predictable and you wish the more dastardly character deaths were more horrific, but overall it is a very entertaining horror flick. The excellent Roger Ebert, God rest his soul, would hate this movie, but I would never use his reviews for horror movies.
    Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    5
    "Would You Rather" was interesting, I found It's concept unlike any other. I guess you can say It's a good thing. It is shocking and has plenty of interesting scenes which all come down to the final scene. Which was good. I would not recommend the film, but I would give it a 3/5
  3. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    A movie that keeps you on the edge of your seat for something great to happen. That moment never comes. Predictably cheesy scenes and characters that serve no purpose.
  4. RRJ
    Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Very good movie. One of the best of this 'type'. You know the type, certain amount of characters are stuck in a room and they have to find a way out or solve how to get out. Similar films? Clue, Cube, Saw 2-7 etc. I found this film very enjoyable and the main 'villain' or well antagonize was hilarious. I'd say its worth a watch. It's not even full of a bunch of blood and gore either. Honestly, I think this movie deserves more love. I gave it a 9.

    Thanks for reading my review. Check it out if you're a fan of...

    1. Horror films.
    2. So called 'torture porn' eh, I'm not a fan of that term because its honestly seen as negative but this film is more than just people getting tortured. Hope that didn't turn you off from the film.
    3. Characters in a room films. Seriously, I don't know what to call these types of films. Remember the Twilight Zone episode Five Characters In Search of an Exit? I like stuff like that. A bunch of characters stuck in a room and they have to figure out how to get out of the room. Well in this movie they have to play a game. You like the SAW films? Hey you might like this. Or maybe you won't but I still say its worth checking out.
    Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What absolute dross. Just a painfully bad torture porn flick with little to no real plot. Utterly predictable also, it doesn't take an idiot to work out what will happen to the main character and her brother from five minutes in. Some may find enjoyment, but I imagine that they are those with time to kill and low expectations for movies. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    Oh Jesus Christ!!!! Why do you people like it??? It was an unwatchable mess!!! Rubbish!!! When someone reminds me of that movie I am getting very angry!! Stay away!!!
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    Well, Would you Rather can not be one of the best movies of this year, but the movie has interesting ideas, the development is good and strong, the performances (in my opinion) are great, and the script maybe has some problems, but is good. Would you Rather is a good movie, not perfect, but is good.
  8. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    I really liked this film. The tension remains with you throughout the film, and the transformation of the main character was especially well done. 8/10.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    This film is for some reason one of the best horror movies that I have seen. It gives what the audience wants violence,blood, suspense and a really good ending, which was a little predictable but was still really good. The story was truly original and the cast was better than I expected. The whole movie was more sadistic than Saw and it was really shocking and terrifying I even felt like I was playing that game. If you like the Saw movie you will love Would you rather. This film is one of the most disturbing ,yet entertaining and really good, movie and if you like horror movies this one is a must-watch Expand
  10. May 6, 2013
    7
    Low budget movie but with a very creative concept. You kinda knew what was gonna happen by the middle of it but this twist on saw (little bit) was fun to see. Its a good movie to watch from red box if one has some time
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    i've got to say, i've been hearing plenty of praise for this film, (in the horror circuit, of course), so, coupled with the surprisingly original premise, i was eager to see it... and... well... DAAAAAAAAYUM... this movie is superb. for starters, the acting, especially from jeffrey combs, is great, combs is both unnerving and interesting in equal measure as your otherwise standard crazy millionaire, brittany snow is a good lead, a monumental step up from prom night, sasha grey is good as amy, and whoever played lucas, (his name sounds russian), did a great job.

    and then, there's the fact that this film is SCARY, it is SUSPENSEFUL, there are very few jump scares, and they're mercifully not accompanied by an ear-piercing boost of volume, the suspense also has a good payoff as the things they end up doing are disturbing to watch, and right after it's over, the suspense comes rushing back, the violence is actually handled in a rather tasteful manner, it's not gratuitous, and yet the film manages to maintain it's shock value consistently.

    the way the film looks is also highly commendable, it is shot very well, the mansion looks amazing, (danny boyle could take a few notes), apparently, david guy levy's first film was terrible, if so, this is an incredible change for the better from this director, the script is also very well-written, it's admirably paced, tasteful, the dialogue fluctuates sometimes, but otherwise, it's well-written and incredibly well-directed.

    i seriously can't believe how underrated this film is, it's like ghost rider: spirit of vengeance all over again, if this is bad, and paranormal activity was good, then i will wear my lack of taste like a badge of honor.
    Collapse
  12. Mar 12, 2013
    1
    The premise of "Would You Rather" is superb; my praise, however, ends there. This movie is simply unpleasant to watch. The acting is, for the most part, sub-par; Snow, in particular, comes off very amateurish at times. From start to finish, the movie pushes the viewer away. The entire film is tense, cold, and hopeless, so, when the thrills come, and there are plenty (one of the few areas in which the movie did its job), they feel like little prods to the stomach while one is already experiencing bad indigestion. All the plot twists, and here I use the term lightly, are completely predictable. Movies like this are powerful because they let the viewer get close, even comfortable, and then pull the proverbial rug; "Would You Rather" lets all its nastiness hang out from the very moment the game begins. Movies like this also derive power from the close and complex relationships between their characters and their viewers; in "Would You Rather," every time a character dies, it just feels like some awful statistic. This film is very unapproachable; even film franchises like Saw and Hostel are more approachable than this film. "Would You Rather" left a bad taste in my mouth, and, yes, I would rather have not watched it. Expand
  13. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    'Would You Rather' is a smart and fresh new edition to the torture porn sub-genre although it doesn't quite fit the criteria of 'Saw' and 'The Collection' but that not necessarily a bad thing, considering Saw was only focused on the deaths and gore, whilst this film focuses a little more on character, bringing more depth to the film. There are elements of 2012 horror 'Truth or Dare (Die)' here, expect Would you Rather is miles ahead on inventiveness, character and overall story. All i can say is that this is one hidden gem that should not be missed Expand
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Feb 15, 2013
    20
    Results are simple-minded at best, contemptible at worst; most audiences would rather watch anything else.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Feb 14, 2013
    40
    Though assured in execution and not without a few moments of genuine tension — mainly emanating from Combs' flinty weirdness — Would You Rather is hardly a most dangerous game night at the movies.
  3. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Feb 9, 2013
    42
    Unfortunately, Would You Rather is content with being a risible borderline torture porn horror film.