Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: What would you do if a millionaire offered you a chance to solve all your life’s problems? After the tragic death of her parents, Iris (Brittany Snow) is desperate to make ends meet while caring for her terminally ill younger brother. When a seemingly philanthropic aristocrat invites her to an exclusive dinner party that offers the chance at untold riches, she arrives to find herself in a group of similarly desperate individuals and forced to play a sadistic game of Would You Rather, where only the winner will get out alive. As the game progress Iris must decide how far she will go to save her brother… and herself. [IFC Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Feb 6, 2013
    70
    You'll never play the titular parlor game again after watching Would You Rather, director David Guy Levy’s clever exercise in torture porn that manages to display as much restraint as genuine sickness.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Feb 6, 2013
    50
    Would You Rather verges on genuine intrigue at times, but it's ultimately just a slasher without the gore.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 6, 2013
    50
    It reminded me of everything from "Ten Little Indians" to a low-budget take on Neil Simon’s "Murder by Death" without the laughs. It’s diverting for people who love games, but not for the squeamish.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 6, 2013
    25
    Would You Rather has one major asset in an appropriately gothic, larger-than-life performance by Jeffrey Combs, the great, chameleon-like character actor best known for playing a mad scientist in "Re-Animator."
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Macfarlane
    Feb 7, 2013
    25
    A shrill Indiewood torture porn that, despite promised shocks and revulsions, doesn't even have the conviction to hold its camera on the story's most appalling twists.
  6. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Feb 15, 2013
    20
    Results are simple-minded at best, contemptible at worst; most audiences would rather watch anything else.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Feb 7, 2013
    0
    Would you rather . . . watch this movie, or spend an hour and a half having your arm hairs plucked out with a rusty pair of tweezers? I’d have chosen the latter if it’d been on offer.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    i've got to say, i've been hearing plenty of praise for this film, (in the horror circuit, of course), so, coupled with the surprisingly original premise, i was eager to see it... and... well... DAAAAAAAAYUM... this movie is superb. for starters, the acting, especially from jeffrey combs, is great, combs is both unnerving and interesting in equal measure as your otherwise standard crazy millionaire, brittany snow is a good lead, a monumental step up from prom night, sasha grey is good as amy, and whoever played lucas, (his name sounds russian), did a great job.

    and then, there's the fact that this film is SCARY, it is SUSPENSEFUL, there are very few jump scares, and they're mercifully not accompanied by an ear-piercing boost of volume, the suspense also has a good payoff as the things they end up doing are disturbing to watch, and right after it's over, the suspense comes rushing back, the violence is actually handled in a rather tasteful manner, it's not gratuitous, and yet the film manages to maintain it's shock value consistently.

    the way the film looks is also highly commendable, it is shot very well, the mansion looks amazing, (danny boyle could take a few notes), apparently, david guy levy's first film was terrible, if so, this is an incredible change for the better from this director, the script is also very well-written, it's admirably paced, tasteful, the dialogue fluctuates sometimes, but otherwise, it's well-written and incredibly well-directed.

    i seriously can't believe how underrated this film is, it's like ghost rider: spirit of vengeance all over again, if this is bad, and paranormal activity was good, then i will wear my lack of taste like a badge of honor.
    Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    This film is for some reason one of the best horror movies that I have seen. It gives what the audience wants violence,blood, suspense and a really good ending, which was a little predictable but was still really good. The story was truly original and the cast was better than I expected. The whole movie was more sadistic than Saw and it was really shocking and terrifying I even felt like I was playing that game. If you like the Saw movie you will love Would you rather. This film is one of the most disturbing ,yet entertaining and really good, movie and if you like horror movies this one is a must-watch Expand
  3. May 6, 2013
    7
    Low budget movie but with a very creative concept. You kinda knew what was gonna happen by the middle of it but this twist on saw (little bit) was fun to see. Its a good movie to watch from red box if one has some time Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    Well, Would you Rather can not be one of the best movies of this year, but the movie has interesting ideas, the development is good and strong, the performances (in my opinion) are great, and the script maybe has some problems, but is good. Would you Rather is a good movie, not perfect, but is good. Collapse
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    5
    "Would You Rather" was interesting, I found It's concept unlike any other. I guess you can say It's a good thing. It is shocking and has plenty of interesting scenes which all come down to the final scene. Which was good. I would not recommend the film, but I would give it a 3/5 Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    Oh Jesus Christ!!!! Why do you people like it??? It was an unwatchable mess!!! Rubbish!!! When someone reminds me of that movie I am getting very angry!! Stay away!!! Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers