Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 602 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Ralph is tired of being overshadowed by Fix-It Felix, the "good guy" star of their game who always gets to save the day. But after decades doing the same thing and seeing all the glory go to Felix, Ralph decides he's tired of playing the role of a bad guy. He takes matters into his own massive hands and sets off on a game-hopping journey across the arcade through every generation of video games to prove he's got what it takes to be a hero. On his quest, he meets the tough-as-nails Sergeant Calhoun from the first-person action game Hero’s Duty. But it’s the feisty misfit Vanellope von Schweetz from the candy-coated cart racing game, Sugar Rush, whose world is threatened when Ralph accidentally unleashes a deadly enemy that threatens the entire arcade. Will Ralph realize his dream and save the day before it’s too late? (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 3, 2012
    100
    Wreck-It Ralph is smart, funny, sweet and sassy. And that's just Sarah Silverman's character... The movie is a treat for kids and the parents they drag to see it. Or maybe it'll be the other way around. Either way. It doesn't matter how you get to it. Just get there.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 26, 2012
    100
    With plenty to appeal to boys and girls, old and young, Walt Disney Animation Studios has a high-scoring hit on its hands in this brilliantly conceived, gorgeously executed toon, earning bonus points for backing nostalgia with genuine emotion.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Oct 26, 2012
    90
    With a mix of retro eye-candy for grown-ups and a thrilling, approachable storyline for the tykes, the film casts a wide and beguiling net.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 31, 2012
    75
    There's something very old fashioned about the core ingredients of Wreck-It Ralph; these blend well with the "hip" elements. Still, I can't help but wonder whether this is all just one big product placement for something aimed at the home video market. It seems like a game designer's wet dream.
  5. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    A lot like video games and candy: light entertainment but fun while it lasts.
  6. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 4, 2012
    60
    Still, it does eventually become a bit tedious, and for all the breathless kineticism of the film's second act, you may find yourself twiddling your thumbs. It's a cool game, to be sure, but watching someone else play it gets old after a while.
  7. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Oct 28, 2012
    38
    Nothing but broad, pandering indexes tailored to appeal to the arcade wistfulness the film never even bothers to convincingly evoke.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 165
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Above all other entertainment mediums I am a gamer first and foremost so when I heard about Pixar making a Toy Story esque film about a videogame arcade I was a little worried, especially when I heard that real game characters such as Sonic Bowser would make an appearance...oh how wrong I was to worry.
    Wreck-It Ralph tells the story of Ralph, the bad guy in the arcade game Fix-It Felix. Ralph doesn't like being a bad guy because bad guys dont win medals or get celebrated so when he is shunned from the games 30th anniversary party Ralph decides to leave his game, join a different one and win a medal for being a good guy. However in his disappearance the game Fix-It Felix is continued to be played and is reported broken due to a missing Ralph. Felix realises how much of a role Ralph plays and must track him down and get him back in the game before they are unplugged forever.

    Wreck-It Ralph is incredibly well animated, has a brilliant voice cast and some great cameo's of real game characters and their voice actors. Gamers and non-gamers alike will enjoy it for its modern take on the 'Toy Story' tale and for its hilarious references, the most notable being the Konami Code.
    Wreck-It Ralph is this generations Toy Story and a film that should not be missed by anyone of any age.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Best movie I have seen in years. Funny quips, nostalgic video game characters, comedy for young and old, heartfelt story line. This movie has it all. Disney has a real winner on it's hands. I saw the movie 2 months before release and couldn't want to line up at a theater to pay my money to go see it again. This is a movie you will have to get on Blu-Ray and pause just to catch all the hidden "easter eggs' if you will. LIke "No Campers" written in graffiti on the walls or coins coming out of Sonic when he gets bumped into. The very opening scene blows you away when you go from 2D view of the Fix it Felix Jr. game into the 3D immersive world. Ralph is a great hero to root for and Vanellopee is lovable and cute with just the right amount of feisty-ness. Over a great cast, many laughs, and a great ride into the world of video games new and old. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    Wreck-it Ralph is the best animated film since Toy Story 3. All the characters in this film help to create a story that could become a very nice franchise. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    "I'm Gonna wreck it!" Once I saw the trailer for the first time I was hooked and knew I had to see it. I loved the very cool idea of video game characters in an arcade that had homes they went back to after their "work day" in the arcade game was over. It is jam packed with references to old school arcade games and being 40 I remember playing Q-bert and Pac-man etc. in the arcade. I like how it fused a character from a more modern game into the plot which was centered on an older 8-bit game. A large part of it takes place in a game called 'Sugar Rush' which was cute and funny but a little too cutsie for me. It seemed to be aimed more at kids than adults, which is a no-brainer but many movies like this have a ton of jokes for adults too and some of the retro game stuff was but it was just very cutsie. The script was good with decently fleshed out main characters and overall it was a good amount of laughs and entertainment. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    8
    I wanted to love Wreck-It Ralph, and while I do liked it a lot, there's certain missed opportunities. The movie starts great, it seamlessly introduces the concept in a very easy and interesting format. I couldn't just but giggle with joy through the first part trying to find as many video-game cameos as I could. There's just something special about seeing characters you know and love on the big screen. The problem is that it eventually stops. The movie starts venturing into its own territory and it never looks back. For one, I am glad the movie doesn't just rely on cameos to win people over, but when there are so many possibilities and so many chances it is also hard to conceive that after 20 minutes or so of the movie; Ralph stays the rest of the film in only one video-game space, Sugar Rush. I expected, and I think everybody expected that Ralph would have taken the opportunity into wider conceptions. That out of the way, there's no deny that the movie has heart, and a lot of it. The chemistry between Ralph and Vanellope is unquestionable and makes for a very understandable and unique couple of characters. Its funny, its visually attractive, and has at it's heart a great story. Ralph makes up for the best animated movie of 2012. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    i think disney should allocate more resources to making a quality film rather than paying ppl to write glowing reviews about this terribly unfunny and boring POS. i can't believe anyone would be that entertained by this movie to give it a 10 let alone an 8 or 9 unless they were being paid to promote this film under false pretenses. i saw 30 minutes of this movie and had to walk away. really bland, desperately trying to be funny, creatively bankrupt waste of time. if i had anything to do w/ this production, i'd insist on having my name removed from the credits or at least listed under a pseudonym.

    this movie is a train wreck and a far cry from pixar gems like wall-e, up!, monster's inc. etc... even decent disney films like entagled which had great characters and quality writing. anyone who *sincerely* believes this movie deserves anything above a 4 is only lying to themselves. absolutely abysmal. but having said that... i still encourage you to watch it if you have a chance just to get a better understanding of how marketing and hype have permeated everything we are exposed to in our daily lives from media to politics to consumerism.
    Expand

See all 165 User Reviews

Trailers