Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1418 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - toThe ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - to save our future. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 22, 2014
    91
    Once every couple of years, a movie comes along to remind us how satisfyingly complex the genre can be. Christopher Nolan’s reimagining of the “Batman” saga did that masterfully. On a slightly less ambitious scale, so does X-Men: Days of Future Past.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2014
    88
    To reboot the X-Men franchise, director Bryan Singer, who first gave these characters screen life fourteen years ago, has crafted a continuity-lover's nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 22, 2014
    83
    I couldn’t follow many of the ins and outs of the time-travel scenario, and I’m not altogether sure that the filmmakers could, either. It doesn’t really matter. It’s enough that the movie is fun. We shouldn’t also expect it to make sense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 21, 2014
    75
    For better or worse, X-Men: Days Of Future Past is the first Marvel movie to truly embrace comics-style storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 22, 2014
    75
    “Days” is fast, smart, well-acted, and intermittently inspired, and if you don’t know or care who Beast or Blink or Storm are, you can safely skip it.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    70
    As usual, the characters — and the performers playing them — step unto the breach to provide just enough wit and feeling to make Days of Future Past something other than a waste of a reasonable person’s time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 12, 2014
    40
    The film squanders both of its casts, reeling from one fumbled set-piece to the next. It seems to have been constructed in a stupor, and you watch in a daze of future past.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 296
  1. May 26, 2014
    10
    DoFP was an amazing movie. It will definitely be put down as one of the best super hero movies. By far better than all other X-Men moviesDoFP was an amazing movie. It will definitely be put down as one of the best super hero movies. By far better than all other X-Men movies including First Class. This movie is a must see in theatres. But, I recommend catching up on past X-Men movies if you haven't or else the plot could be confusing. DoFP was exciting, funny at the right moments, and had the right amount of action all super hero movies should have. Go see it in theatres before it's to late! I know I'm going back! Expand
  2. May 25, 2014
    10
    Being the oldest superhero franchise,the xmen series had a few flaws in some of its previous films but Singer was able to bring back the X-menBeing the oldest superhero franchise,the xmen series had a few flaws in some of its previous films but Singer was able to bring back the X-men grove and earn redemption in the latest instalment of the series.Totally satisfying and immensely Awesome Expand
  3. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded myThis is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded my expectations and I'm sure it will surprise you from the beginning to the end... and, I have a new favorite movie now... Expand
  4. May 28, 2014
    9
    This X-Men movie took the elements of all the past movies, failures and successes, and delivered a truly enjoyable experience. While someThis X-Men movie took the elements of all the past movies, failures and successes, and delivered a truly enjoyable experience. While some parts of the movie were a tad repetitive I still enjoyed the movie very much. We finally were able to see all of the characters actually use their powers! Not filled with so much dialogue, but an even balance of action and story. Go see this movie if you're an action film lover... Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    8
    It isn’t just the Xs and Os that make the film special; it’s also the film’s ambition, which cannot be understated. This film is beingIt isn’t just the Xs and Os that make the film special; it’s also the film’s ambition, which cannot be understated. This film is being released in a post-Avengers world, where culmination is king (see DC/WB’s recent Justice League-related moves as evidence), and the X-Men franchise comes into this picture as considerably fractured. The original “modern day” team – Wolverine, Professor X, Cyclops, Storm, etc. – petered out with the third entry, only Wolverine has had any success as a stand-alone spinoff, and the First Class “prequel” was immediately hailed as the best of the entire lot, leaving the original to be forgotten. Rather than reboot the whole shebang or focus on a specific First Class sequel, Singer instead doubles-down and incorporates old and new. Granted, he mitigates some risk by keeping the focus on only the best characters from the two worlds, but his faith in incorporating anyone from the old world other than Wolverine, and his willingness to cut bait on some of the lesser characters from the new world, speaks to his confidence as a filmmaker. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    Bryan Singer sabe como hacer cine de buen entretenimiento, no se necesita de suecuencia de accion desenfrenada para contar una historiaBryan Singer sabe como hacer cine de buen entretenimiento, no se necesita de suecuencia de accion desenfrenada para contar una historia maravillosa pero que peca de alguno que otro agujero, las interpetraciones son soberbias, escenas bien rodadas como el escape del pentagono, sin duda mi favorita de la saga de los mutantes. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    BY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and suchBY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and such a terrible movie that i dont even know where to begin to criticize ...
    But above all the sentinels kicking mutant as* 'es like its nothing is what killed it for me i mean come on ... Anyone who has watched the xmen - tas and read the xmen comics would say the same thing about this terrible excuse of an xmen movie my overview opinion is that marvel should stop making movies and ruining childhoods because this thing totally ruined mine ...
    Collapse

See all 296 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.