Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Bryan Singer
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Fantasy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 131 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 22, 2014
    91
    Once every couple of years, a movie comes along to remind us how satisfyingly complex the genre can be. Christopher Nolan’s reimagining of the “Batman” saga did that masterfully. On a slightly less ambitious scale, so does X-Men: Days of Future Past.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2014
    88
    To reboot the X-Men franchise, director Bryan Singer, who first gave these characters screen life fourteen years ago, has crafted a continuity-lover's nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 22, 2014
    83
    I couldn’t follow many of the ins and outs of the time-travel scenario, and I’m not altogether sure that the filmmakers could, either. It doesn’t really matter. It’s enough that the movie is fun. We shouldn’t also expect it to make sense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 21, 2014
    75
    For better or worse, X-Men: Days Of Future Past is the first Marvel movie to truly embrace comics-style storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 22, 2014
    75
    “Days” is fast, smart, well-acted, and intermittently inspired, and if you don’t know or care who Beast or Blink or Storm are, you can safely skip it.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    70
    As usual, the characters — and the performers playing them — step unto the breach to provide just enough wit and feeling to make Days of Future Past something other than a waste of a reasonable person’s time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 12, 2014
    40
    The film squanders both of its casts, reeling from one fumbled set-piece to the next. It seems to have been constructed in a stupor, and you watch in a daze of future past.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 265
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marvel is really on top of their film game, with a great Captain America, a decent Spiderman, and now a truly excellent X-Men, all in the same few months. And if you think about it, they are veritably ruling the film world. Look at the ensemble of actors in this movie. Where other than a Robert Altman movie are you going to find a cast of people together like Ian McKellan, Hugh Jackman, Halle Berry, Jennifer Lawrence, James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Ellen Page - the list goes on and on. What's more remarkable is that this cast works deftly together in a film that could have been a sloppy disaster. Time-travel movies when done right are some of the most intriguing movies ever - but if done wrong, they are excruciating. Luckily, Days of Future Past gets it all right, and the only drawback is all the expository, supporting dialogue the audience must therefore endure along the way in order to understand it. The bad guys in this movie are truly bad. If the Sentinels show up, they are going to kill you, and this is established right away in one of the most exciting superhero/villain fight scenes in any comic book movie to date. Seeing Colossus become full metal at the same time Sunspot flames on at the same time Iceman (finally) goes and stays full Iceman - a very cool moment. Unfortunately even these powerhouses are no match for the Sentinels. The only option is for newly-introduced (but now regular X-Man) Blink to keep them moving around until Shadowcat (with a future developed time/spirit manipulation power) can send newly-introduced Bishop just far enough into the past to warn the team that the Sentinels are approaching - so they can not be there when the Sents arrive. This is layer one. Layer two then is this first group combining efforts with the other group (Storm, Wolverine, Prof. X, Magneto) to send someone way back in time to before the Sentinels were even created. This task falls to Wolverine and off he goes into the second layer (the 1970s, pre-Sentinels) in an effort to stop Mystique from.... wow. The more I write the more I realize how convoluted this plot is. It's like trying to explain to a non-viewer what's going on in Game of Thrones. Pretty soon you just throw your hands up and say, "You know what? Just watch it!" And so that's what I'll do. What works in this film is the excellent acting, the dark plot, the nearly-full roster of Superheroes, and the best scene in an X-Men movie since Nightcrawler's debut in X2 (hint: Quicksilver, and anyone dealing with a Quicksilver or Flash-type character in the future must now contend with this scene setting a certain bar for excellence). There are a few disappointments. Anna Paquin will show up as Rogue for a second at the end, and I understand her deleted scene(s) will make it onto a DVD/Bluray version. But for this primary showing, she's notably and confusingly completely absent. The action scenes in this movie range from the terrifying Sentinel attacks to the now-typical "huge Magneto scene" - this time with him moving an entire sports stadium, to a lot of smaller scenes spread throughout - and they all work. The special effects are fantastic and nothing feels gratuitous (except when they are going for 100% gratuitous, as in the Quicksilver scene). The story holds together and the dialogue, while mostly expository, is good. It's my personal favorite of the series so far (you might be surprised to know that The Last Stand was my favorite until now - typically the one everyone hates - but I'm a sucker for new heroes and villains showing up, and X3 brought a lot of new faces into the series - even if Juggernaut was a huge letdown - the Phoenix climax was epic). Days of Future Past ups the ante on everything and makes me hungry for the next installment. I think they're being smart with this series - phasing some actors out and others in - because this bodes well for this being a series with a real lifespan well beyond where we're at now. If you're new to the series, by all means don't start with this one. Start at the beginning. But if you're already an X-Fan, you're most likely going to love this movie. Expand
  2. May 27, 2014
    10
    Easily the greatest X-Men movie ever created in the history of ever. It blew minds. Go see it. Literally the best one released so far. Honestly, this is probably the best that super-hero movies are ever going to get to. The last superhero movie that I saw that I thought was this good was Spiderman 2 with Tobey Maguire (and can't forget that Willem Dafoe cameo) and X-Men blows that movie out of the water. I've seen it four times already, and I'm ready for a fifth. Seriously, no movie has had me this engaged. Michael Fassbender as Magneto and Patrick Stewart as Professer X had the greatest bromance since Brokeback Mountain, and it had me sobbing in the theatre, along with those next to me. You can't remember a greater post-credits clip than the one schwarma scene in the Avengers, and this movie annihilates that one. You gotta wait till the end of the credits. Words cannot express how much this movie means to me, and how much it has affected me in the days after I experienced the beauty that is X-Men: Days of Future Past. Go see it, and don't forget the Kleenex and Vaseline. Expand
  3. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded my expectations and I'm sure it will surprise you from the beginning to the end... and, I have a new favorite movie now... Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    Easily surpasses First Class and several of the other X-Men sequels and spinoffs to become one of the best entries yet! The whole cast from both the past and the present settings all gather together and no one disappoints to say the least. The action is better than ever and the story is engaging. The only thing I was a little bit lost on was the post-credits scene. Overall, I couldn't have asked for a better X-Men movie! Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    8
    Probably one of the most high-concept superhero films of recent years, Days Of Future Past is an exhilarating ride from start to finish. The innovative use of each mutant's powers make some of the action sequences utterly unique (the use of portals is particularly effective). There is a bit of an Inception feel to parts of the film flicking back between the past and the future. This is no criticism as far as I'm concerned. Even the 3D is pretty good, though not necessary.

    Given the sheer number of characters involved it is inevitable that some get a bit short-shrift: It is no understatement to say that Storm has about twenty words in the entire movie, Havoc gets about a minute, even Bolivar Trusk - ostensibly a main villain - does not have enormous screen time. However that serves even more to make sure you don't take your eyes of the film; this one requires far more engagement than, say, Godzilla. Again, not a criticism.

    The time travel element does raise a few contradictions - particularly for the ending. I won't spoil it as, despite its flaws, it is a brilliant end to a great film. One footnote: those waiting for the post-credit sequence will find it very confusing if not well-versed in the comics. It also really IS post credits, so you have to wait the best part of ten minutes for it.

    All in all, a good film that carries on from the excellent First Class and makes far better use of Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen than Last Stand did. Thoroughly recommend.
    Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    Bryan Singer sabe como hacer cine de buen entretenimiento, no se necesita de suecuencia de accion desenfrenada para contar una historia maravillosa pero que peca de alguno que otro agujero, las interpetraciones son soberbias, escenas bien rodadas como el escape del pentagono, sin duda mi favorita de la saga de los mutantes. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    BY FAR the worst xmen movie ever made the mistakes both logical and else where just all over the place it was just such a huge bummer and such a terrible movie that i dont even know where to begin to criticize ...
    But above all the sentinels kicking mutant as* 'es like its nothing is what killed it for me i mean come on ... Anyone who has watched the xmen - tas and read the xmen comics would say the same thing about this terrible excuse of an xmen movie my overview opinion is that marvel should stop making movies and ruining childhoods because this thing totally ruined mine ...
    Collapse

See all 265 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.