X-Men: Days of Future Past Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1634 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: The ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - toThe ultimate X-Men ensemble fights a war for the survival of the species across two time periods in X-Men: Days of Future Past. The characters from the original X-Men film trilogy join forces with their younger selves from X-Men: First Class in an epic battle that must change the past - to save our future. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 22, 2014
    91
    Once every couple of years, a movie comes along to remind us how satisfyingly complex the genre can be. Christopher Nolan’s reimagining of the “Batman” saga did that masterfully. On a slightly less ambitious scale, so does X-Men: Days of Future Past.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 22, 2014
    88
    To reboot the X-Men franchise, director Bryan Singer, who first gave these characters screen life fourteen years ago, has crafted a continuity-lover's nightmare.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    May 22, 2014
    83
    I couldn’t follow many of the ins and outs of the time-travel scenario, and I’m not altogether sure that the filmmakers could, either. It doesn’t really matter. It’s enough that the movie is fun. We shouldn’t also expect it to make sense.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    May 21, 2014
    75
    For better or worse, X-Men: Days Of Future Past is the first Marvel movie to truly embrace comics-style storytelling.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 22, 2014
    75
    “Days” is fast, smart, well-acted, and intermittently inspired, and if you don’t know or care who Beast or Blink or Storm are, you can safely skip it.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 22, 2014
    70
    As usual, the characters — and the performers playing them — step unto the breach to provide just enough wit and feeling to make Days of Future Past something other than a waste of a reasonable person’s time.
  7. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    May 12, 2014
    40
    The film squanders both of its casts, reeling from one fumbled set-piece to the next. It seems to have been constructed in a stupor, and you watch in a daze of future past.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 309
  1. May 28, 2014
    10
    simply put...the best most refreshing entry to the series. Fixes many plot holes from previous entries and puts the movie franchise in asimply put...the best most refreshing entry to the series. Fixes many plot holes from previous entries and puts the movie franchise in a better future. I think it's the movie of the half year...lets see where the other half takes us....if i were a betting man, I can place my money that this film will be the one beat. Expand
  2. May 26, 2014
    10
    Uh 10 out of 10. I loved it so much. Would see again. But not immediately. As the theatre manager got mad at me for **** on this girl's chestUh 10 out of 10. I loved it so much. Would see again. But not immediately. As the theatre manager got mad at me for **** on this girl's chest when she said she didn't like Wolverine's bare ass. Expand
  3. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded myThis is the best X-Men movie so far, the story is great, the cast is incredible, the action scenes are amazing. This movie exceeded my expectations and I'm sure it will surprise you from the beginning to the end... and, I have a new favorite movie now... Expand
  4. May 28, 2014
    9
    Yes, the best X-men movie yet. Everything about this movie was great. I saw it in a sold out theater so I had to sit really close to theYes, the best X-men movie yet. Everything about this movie was great. I saw it in a sold out theater so I had to sit really close to the screen but I still really enjoyed it. The action scenes were amazing with some great special effects. The storyline was also great it got confusing near the very end which is awesome leading into the next movie. The finale scene of the movie and the after credit scene were both really good and it makes me excited and happy for the next X-men movie in the great franchise. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2014
    8
    As a huge x-men fan growing up, I liked this movie a lot; however, I didn't think it was AS great as people are proclaiming it to be. It's aAs a huge x-men fan growing up, I liked this movie a lot; however, I didn't think it was AS great as people are proclaiming it to be. It's a good story, but it could be difficult for younger viewers to follow. Also, the movie does deviate from the source material quote a bit, but that's not a big deal.
    Also worth nothing is that there really isn't that much action in it. That's not to say that the lack of action makes it any less of a movie, but it's just something to note before going into watching this movie.
    Overall, this is a really good movie.
    Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2014
    8
    This is the newest X-men movie and is pretty much a setup for the next one" X-Men:Apocalypse" It's directed by Bryan Singer the guy whoThis is the newest X-men movie and is pretty much a setup for the next one" X-Men:Apocalypse" It's directed by Bryan Singer the guy who brought us the first two X-Men movies but also Superman:Returns....But push that all aside and Days of Future past is still a very entertaining movie. Hugh Jackman gets to be the star again in this movie like most of the others, but at least he's not to bad at it. It's nice to see the use of characters in this movie to, seeing they are dealing with time travel and to sets of mutants it gives them lots to work it. The story is can seem very complex at times witch is a nice change but some may get lots in the time travel and who is who.
    All in all If you watched any of the X-Men Movies in the last couple years you owe it to yourself to see this one. Then prepare yourself for "Apocalypse".
    Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    0
    terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terribleterrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible Expand

See all 309 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of May 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: May 30, 2014
    Browse our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during May.