Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 26, 2006
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 758 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
353
Mixed:
253
Negative:
152
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JonC.Aug 6, 2006
Terrible. I'm glad I waited this long, but I still wish I hadn't seen it. Idiots! They totally messed up the series. There is so much wrong with this movie, I would hardly know where to begin. It doesn't make sense on its own, Terrible. I'm glad I waited this long, but I still wish I hadn't seen it. Idiots! They totally messed up the series. There is so much wrong with this movie, I would hardly know where to begin. It doesn't make sense on its own, much less in context with its two excellent predecessors. It is ridiculous at best and jarring at worst. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MyAug 8, 2006
Nobody did anything right with this movie. The writer's had no clue or interest or both in regards to making anyone other than Halle or Wolverine matter. They were too dumb to commit to the sense that this was the end of anything, so Nobody did anything right with this movie. The writer's had no clue or interest or both in regards to making anyone other than Halle or Wolverine matter. They were too dumb to commit to the sense that this was the end of anything, so they brought back Professor, Magneto's powers, and didn't show Scott die. Jean had no business with Magneto, she was just there so that we knew where she was until the writers needed a climax, which is where she dies. A mess that hopes the audience is so distracted by these (meaningless) deaths, that we won't see the how contrived the bad excuse for emotional value is. And all those mutants fighting on that planet and only 5 of them seem to actually have powers other than super-jumping? Spit in the face of your audience why don't you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MikeR.May 29, 2006
In a category with T3, Johnny Pneumonic, the Matrix 2, and Stars Wars Episode One. If you liked those movies, by all means, feel free to check out X-3. (all six of you).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SteveO.May 30, 2006
I never comment about bad movies. I usually just let them be. I could not stand to not warn people about X-Men: The Final Stand. It was horrible. It had no character development for any new characters. Absolutely made NO SENSE at all. I hope I never comment about bad movies. I usually just let them be. I could not stand to not warn people about X-Men: The Final Stand. It was horrible. It had no character development for any new characters. Absolutely made NO SENSE at all. I hope Ratner's "last stand" is Rush Hour 3! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TarynMay 30, 2006
The best analogy I can use to describe X-Men United is like eating at Benihana. You meet your chef, he makes you delicious fried rice, asks you about your day, tells you jokes, takes your order, and begins to prepare the raw ingredients into The best analogy I can use to describe X-Men United is like eating at Benihana. You meet your chef, he makes you delicious fried rice, asks you about your day, tells you jokes, takes your order, and begins to prepare the raw ingredients into something you can taste as it cooks. He portions everything, cuts it up, slides it into your bowl as you hold your chopsticks ready... ...And pulls his pants down, takes a massive leaky dump all over your food, calls you a white honky, and walks off. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PatrickB.Jun 1, 2006
Worst of the series. Should have been called "the Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry film" Very disappointing, convoluted plot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LynnL.Jun 1, 2006
This x-men movie is like some kind of overly-commercialised crap movie filmed in cheesy mtv-style and has practically no intellectual depth other than the old sing-song story of discrimination of being a mutant or whatever. A lot of silly This x-men movie is like some kind of overly-commercialised crap movie filmed in cheesy mtv-style and has practically no intellectual depth other than the old sing-song story of discrimination of being a mutant or whatever. A lot of silly and completely unnecessary action-thriller moments and much more inrellectual depth could have been put into the issues of choice and change in the story plot. It's nothing compared to the previous 2 x-men movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoshuaE.Jul 1, 2006
This was actually considerably worse than I thought it would be. Poorly executed at every turn, X Men 3 was obviously placed in the wrong hands. Not even the terrible , but frenetic, action scenes could inject any life into the limp story This was actually considerably worse than I thought it would be. Poorly executed at every turn, X Men 3 was obviously placed in the wrong hands. Not even the terrible , but frenetic, action scenes could inject any life into the limp story and characters. There was no drama, no humor, and especially no brains. Brett Ratner is the Joel Schumacker of the X Men franchise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BuckShotOct 7, 2006
One of the sure tests of how much I like a movie is how anxious I am to see it again. If I never watch this sorry excuse for a movie again it will be too soon. I could watch X-Men or X-Men 2 anytime and enjoy it every time, but watching X3 One of the sure tests of how much I like a movie is how anxious I am to see it again. If I never watch this sorry excuse for a movie again it will be too soon. I could watch X-Men or X-Men 2 anytime and enjoy it every time, but watching X3 again would be like pulling weeds. In fact, I'd rather pull weeds. Bret Ratner achieved one thing I've never heard of before; he managed to destroy 4 movies in the process of making one movie. He took everything good about the first two X-Men movies and ruined them, then he made this abomination, then he made me not care about any sequel. You could write a book about all the things wrong with this movie. [***SPOILERS***] But the worst thing of all is the logic (?) of the final battle. If Magneto has the power to pick up and move the Golden Gate Bridge (a VERY big bridge), which is power more on the scale of Superman than the Magneto of the first two films, why would he need any help from anyone in trying to kill one little boy? He could easily destroy the whole island of Alcatraz by his own lonesome self! The people who rated this movie higher than a 3 have obviously never seen a good movie or are on drugs. Or are lying for whatever mysterious motive. Worthless garbage. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JudS.May 26, 2006
I'm very sad the trilogy had to end like this. Brett Ratner just took a dump on his predecessor's legacy. It's like he took every X-men comic book not used in the first two movies and jammed it all into a 100-minute action I'm very sad the trilogy had to end like this. Brett Ratner just took a dump on his predecessor's legacy. It's like he took every X-men comic book not used in the first two movies and jammed it all into a 100-minute action movie gumbo from hell. Filled with cheesy one-liners not seen in the first film, lousy character development and hastily-assembled plot twists, this film is crap, crap, crappy crap. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JarrodG.May 26, 2006
If you actually know the comics and your not your average movie-goer dullard, your going to hate this movie. The movie is very rushed and it pisses me off that they take no respect in finishing a franchise that Singer worked so hard to get If you actually know the comics and your not your average movie-goer dullard, your going to hate this movie. The movie is very rushed and it pisses me off that they take no respect in finishing a franchise that Singer worked so hard to get it were it was in the last film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
WAKOJAKOMay 28, 2006
The minute (spoiler omitted) gets offed early in the movie, I knew this was going in the wrong direction. I really, Really, REALLY hate Brian Singer for leaving what should have been a thrilling capstone to this previously very smart seriesThe minute (spoiler omitted) gets offed early in the movie, I knew this was going in the wrong direction. I really, Really, REALLY hate Brian Singer for leaving what should have been a thrilling capstone to this previously very smart series in the hands of such lesser talent. I wish I had not seen this film, for in my imagination would have lived a much better version of what this third film might have been, than what Ratner & Co. deliver. Pity. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JohnnyA.May 31, 2006
While there are many suspects to this crime, Brian Singer is the prime one for not going the distance. I mean two thirds the way of making the first good super hero trilogy, and ironically going to do Superman, the super series that first While there are many suspects to this crime, Brian Singer is the prime one for not going the distance. I mean two thirds the way of making the first good super hero trilogy, and ironically going to do Superman, the super series that first screwed up on it's third installment. I have many problems with X3 but I'll some them up in Juggernaut. If CG Hulk can be done, CG Juggernaut is the only way to go. If you are not going to do something right, don't do it. Especially if you want me to pay $6 and moments of my life on it. I bought the first two movies on DVD, I won't be buying the third. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
jeremyW.May 30, 2006
3 Points! 1 for the flashback recruitment of Jean, 1 for Magneto moving the bridge, and 1 for including Beast. Otherwise, a complete waste of 1:45!!! Ratner direction never draws you in, leaving you to feel like you are simply watching not 3 Points! 1 for the flashback recruitment of Jean, 1 for Magneto moving the bridge, and 1 for including Beast. Otherwise, a complete waste of 1:45!!! Ratner direction never draws you in, leaving you to feel like you are simply watching not experiencing a movie. Also, the writiers absolutely butchered 1 of the greatest X-men stroy arcs of all time. Where is Claremont when you need him? We are now supposed to believe that Jean was always always the most powerful mutant in the world and only Prof. X held her back. Give me a break! Let's toss aside the fact that Prof. X can kill everyone on the planet with a thought (X-men 2, anyone?). Also, Juggernaut is brough in as a mutant??? He's never been a mutie, his powers are magical. To add insult to injury, they ignore the story of Prof. X and he are brothers and they use a guy in a rubber suit rather than a body builder or CG making him ridiculous to look at. I know I must sound like a rambling "fan boy", but if you don't follow the comics or even the set-up of the 1st 2 movies, how can you call this "X-men 3"? [***SPOILER***]: Now that they have killed off or neutralized everyone from the original cast with the exceptions of Wolverine and Storm, I think they have successfully set the stage for the Wolverine movie that they always wanted. Now, at tleast they won't get my hopes up that Cyclops (my all-time favorite X-man) will do ANYTHING. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MusicaliD.Jun 12, 2006
This movie is an insult, put together poorly, written poorly and acted poorly. Why not make a movie that is entirely made of stuff getting blown up? Apparently that's the formula. The cinematography was pathetic. Nowhere near as good as This movie is an insult, put together poorly, written poorly and acted poorly. Why not make a movie that is entirely made of stuff getting blown up? Apparently that's the formula. The cinematography was pathetic. Nowhere near as good as the previous two. I thought this could have been a great movie, but it looks like no one involved was even trying. Who needs to try when you can be lazy and careless and still make hundreds of millions. A sad commentary on the movie-going public. Could have been so, so much better. An embarrasment. Where is the heart? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
FabioP.Jun 2, 2006
This is definitely one of the worst movies i've seen in recent times. The script sucks ass, characters are flat, dramatic moments are acted and directed so badly that they make you laugh. Then, the action sequences are just ridiculous, This is definitely one of the worst movies i've seen in recent times. The script sucks ass, characters are flat, dramatic moments are acted and directed so badly that they make you laugh. Then, the action sequences are just ridiculous, and the dialogues were so banal...i swear i heard many of the movie's lines in at least a hundred movies before. This movie is just stupid. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
jasMSep 8, 2006
the movie wasn't as impressive as the first, the storyline was hopeless, it made no sense, and the young actors need to go back to acting school.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Cyclops1987Feb 4, 2007
Belive me I can write at least two best selling books about how much this movie sucks. As a true X-men lover I was devestated after watching this movie and went into coma for a week. Such a pathetic story it seems Ratner was completely Belive me I can write at least two best selling books about how much this movie sucks. As a true X-men lover I was devestated after watching this movie and went into coma for a week. Such a pathetic story it seems Ratner was completely unware of X-men comics, cartoons and previous movies. [***SPOILER***] I am one of biggest fan of Cyclops and the fate he met in the movie was toally disgusting. It would have been better ending if Pheonix had killed Cyclops in the end and Jean angered by watching her lover die took control of her power and Pheonix just like professor was saying when he was dying. Summing it all up it was not X-men 3 it was Wolverine 3. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ScottC.Mar 5, 2007
This is a horrible movie. It is souless, for one, and the only way a person would enjoy it at all is if they were a mindless comic book fan - making it already a different type of movie from the previous X-mens, which had heart and This is a horrible movie. It is souless, for one, and the only way a person would enjoy it at all is if they were a mindless comic book fan - making it already a different type of movie from the previous X-mens, which had heart and characters who were real people. When you have major characters being killed off one by one, and as an audience member (and avid comic book fan, to boot) you could literally care less, I think that's a sign someone screwed up. This is to the X-men franchise what Batman & Robin was to the Batman franchise, in terms of jumping the shark. The only difference is superficial - the latter drove it into the ground by being campy, but Ratner drives this into the ground by being pretentiously "serious". I hated this. Don't see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MikeMay 26, 2006
This movie was really bad. The effects were cool but for some reason it all felt ridiculous. The plot didn't make much sense either. A lot of holes. The death of some major characters were unnecessary and disheartening. Finally, some ofThis movie was really bad. The effects were cool but for some reason it all felt ridiculous. The plot didn't make much sense either. A lot of holes. The death of some major characters were unnecessary and disheartening. Finally, some of the lines were so lame that I cringed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ChrisD.May 26, 2006
What a godawful movie - stunning how much the loss of Bryan Singer means to the series, and how much more I'm suddenly looking forward to Superman Returns. Cheesy fX, bad acting, a script so bad I laughed out loud at parts that clearly What a godawful movie - stunning how much the loss of Bryan Singer means to the series, and how much more I'm suddenly looking forward to Superman Returns. Cheesy fX, bad acting, a script so bad I laughed out loud at parts that clearly weren't meant to be funny... awful. Plus, the scene of Angel bursting through a window, shirtless with gelled hair, soaring over San Francisco, out-gays anything in Brokeback Mountain... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
joshMay 26, 2006
It was like leafing through one of the best comic book story lines ever and only catching a handful of the frames, and even those are blurry. Rattner made a mockery of this, what had been to this point, great series, and single handedly It was like leafing through one of the best comic book story lines ever and only catching a handful of the frames, and even those are blurry. Rattner made a mockery of this, what had been to this point, great series, and single handedly trashed all of the great development and continuity Singer had created. There were too many characters, with minute development, and too little story, jumping from sequence to sequence with reckless abandon. Thank god Vinnie Jones, as the Juggernaut, spawned a few laughs. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DavidC.May 26, 2006
X3 is too absurd even for the X-Men universe. I have no problems with people having mutant powers, but having those powers doesn't mean they lack common sense. No one would ever be as grossly inefficient and ridiculous as this film X3 is too absurd even for the X-Men universe. I have no problems with people having mutant powers, but having those powers doesn't mean they lack common sense. No one would ever be as grossly inefficient and ridiculous as this film portrays. Also, if you know anything about technology you'll laugh at how bad it is. A typical blow-em-up, shallow, waste-of-money miss by Hollywood. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EricD.May 27, 2006
Its an action movie period. It doesn't follow the ending of the 2nd movie. Remeber the Firebird in the water, the reassuring words of Xavier and message of hope at the epilogue? Well forget it all ... Worse it completly fails to present Its an action movie period. It doesn't follow the ending of the 2nd movie. Remeber the Firebird in the water, the reassuring words of Xavier and message of hope at the epilogue? Well forget it all ... Worse it completly fails to present the loving, self sacrificing Jean Grey "Phoenix" that was present in the comic book. I dont mind artistic creativity. But it has to be true to the spirit of the books. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KalvinL.May 28, 2006
This movie totally lacked the emotion of the first two. The story line was clunky and disjointed. At no point during the film did I care what happened to the characters, who seemed to have all changed for this film. Particularily Wolverine This movie totally lacked the emotion of the first two. The story line was clunky and disjointed. At no point during the film did I care what happened to the characters, who seemed to have all changed for this film. Particularily Wolverine has become a sissy who cares about everyones feelings and when he does let loose and kill people it feels wrong. They can keep my money. I want my time back. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
OrsonO.May 28, 2006
One step for mankind - one giant leap backward for mutants! Director Ratner just turned the most intelligent comic book film series into a generic action picture. Toss in a ressurected Jean Gray doing a Carrie impersonation, and that's One step for mankind - one giant leap backward for mutants! Director Ratner just turned the most intelligent comic book film series into a generic action picture. Toss in a ressurected Jean Gray doing a Carrie impersonation, and that's what you get at the end. The trouble is there was and remains so much thought provoking potential in X-Men. The scriptwriiter's toss all that right out the window for brand-X instead. I cringed sitting through the last 45 minutes. I would have left except for being crammed into an Imax theater with its long rows of poor souls to crawl over. Even the film score was a waste of sacharine, rehashed, trash. Where did all those mega-bucks go, recycling Vancouver and BC Coast Range locales? - they think we haven't seen them all over TV ad nauseum before? Now, I will go and vomit and try and forget the "characters" that I saw abused on screen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MikeP.May 28, 2006
Are people insane?! Get over this spite for X-Men fans and understand that anyone who ever saw the first two movies (which you obviously should) or any good movie would realize how poorly made this film was! I can't count on my fingers Are people insane?! Get over this spite for X-Men fans and understand that anyone who ever saw the first two movies (which you obviously should) or any good movie would realize how poorly made this film was! I can't count on my fingers the number of fatal choices that were made. I didn't feel any emotional attachment to anyone in here, and that's a real problem. You want to make a good action movie? Leave this franchise that was successfully sparked by Singer alone and make your own! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AndrewC.May 29, 2006
Quick capsule review: Piece of sh.., walk away!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SteveJun 11, 2006
Bad. Just really bad. And surprisingly boring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JustinN.Jun 12, 2006
It really is so hard to put a finger on what irked me about this movie, but I'll try. First of all, the screenplay was quite bland, with very little interesting dialogue and a complete lack of character development. Some may say: "But It really is so hard to put a finger on what irked me about this movie, but I'll try. First of all, the screenplay was quite bland, with very little interesting dialogue and a complete lack of character development. Some may say: "But it's just a comic book movie! What do you expect, a masterpiece?" Well, after Spiderman 2 and Batman Begins, yeah, I expect a little more than super heroes jumping around attacking each other. [***SPOILERS***] They could've gone deeper and explored Jean Grey's madness, but instead just sort of glossed over everything. The dialogue was a lot less entertaining as well, with very few laughs. My next point: the action was pretty bland as well. There were far fewer "F--- YEAH!" moments and just a lot of Jean Grey disintegrating stuff with her mind. Compared to Wolverine's fight against Uriko in the second movie, X3 really was a let down. Lastly, and this is somewhat minor but needs to be said, the movie seemed to lack continuity with the other installments. With Nightcrawler gone and the Beast coming out of nowhere (as well as certain mutants just dying), the movie felt separate from X2. Strangely, the Phoenix took on a different look from the last movie as well. This could also be because of the new director I suppose. All in all, a fairly crappy movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
RayK.Jun 25, 2006
A formulaic, uninspired, by-the-numbers action movie. Plot and pacing is awful, no character development, and audience is given little reason to care about anything that transpires throughout the course of the movie. Sadly, it's not A formulaic, uninspired, by-the-numbers action movie. Plot and pacing is awful, no character development, and audience is given little reason to care about anything that transpires throughout the course of the movie. Sadly, it's not even fun to make fun of. I very nearly walked out halfway through, but decided not to out of courtesy for my companions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RogerK.Jun 4, 2006
After two films that succeeded as movies, if less so as X-Men movies, comes a pale desperate stab at summer box-office, lacking all integrity. Strip mining the comic books, not only for plot points but even for shots and composition, XM:TLS After two films that succeeded as movies, if less so as X-Men movies, comes a pale desperate stab at summer box-office, lacking all integrity. Strip mining the comic books, not only for plot points but even for shots and composition, XM:TLS does so with no regard for meaning or content. Lines are apportioned based on each star's box-office receipts (most egregiously with Halle Berry's Storm, lots of dialogue, zero characterization), resulting in over-exposure for Wolverine, whose character is thus watered down to a fairly mild leading man, with none of the danger hinted at in earlier installments. The misuse of James Marsden's Cyclops (a vital, central character in the original story) will live in comic-to-movie infamy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EfeB.Jun 7, 2006
Haha...i was reading sarah g.'s post where she says "x-men movies are the greatest films ever made"!...and i thought what kind of an utterly un-educated and un-immaginative mind can create a sentence like that...the answer to myHaha...i was reading sarah g.'s post where she says "x-men movies are the greatest films ever made"!...and i thought what kind of an utterly un-educated and un-immaginative mind can create a sentence like that...the answer to my confusion came with her second briliant sentence "hugh jackman is so hot!!!". no wonder. thats EXACTLY what is wrong with this movie. this movie is for all the sarah g.'s out there, not for the intelligent movie goers, not for the fans of x-men, but for highschool idiots who think muscle men and exploding cars are cool. why in the hell would you replace a successful director who made good fist and second films, with this idiot who seems like have shot the film with his ass and edited it with his teeth. and dont get me started on casting that frazier guy as a blue furred man beast thing....that was a genius idea....NOT. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NaturalHMay 17, 2007
It sucked balls at the end it had a whole bunch of mutants that didnt even use there powers they should of fucked wolverine and them up and they didnt even have all the x-men and how the fuck is professor x gonna fucking die DAT SHIT SUCK 4 DA DAYS
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LaurenU.May 25, 2006
This movie was so nonsensical, it was insulting. Why was this movie even made? Nobody involved in it seems to know.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]May 25, 2006
If you like x-men at all don't bother with x3. If your looking for a consistant plotline or consistant characters, watch the first two. The new director basically uses x3 as a sounding board for social/political views spewed into an If you like x-men at all don't bother with x3. If your looking for a consistant plotline or consistant characters, watch the first two. The new director basically uses x3 as a sounding board for social/political views spewed into an action packed (quite possibly the only decent part of the movie) piece of garbage. His introduction of new characters only serves one purpose, to see what cool new powers we can look at, and that's it. I wish someone had warned me about this, the dissapointment in not worth 9.75. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JeffW.May 25, 2006
Wow, I'm depressed... This is the worst of the three and I don't know how Ratner messed it up this bad. Admittingly there are some huge, surprising moments, but the last 45 minutes of the film is utter garbage. Ben Foster as Angel Wow, I'm depressed... This is the worst of the three and I don't know how Ratner messed it up this bad. Admittingly there are some huge, surprising moments, but the last 45 minutes of the film is utter garbage. Ben Foster as Angel is the most wasted character in history. [***SPOILERS***] There is a war at the end where hordes of bad mutants take on Beast and Wolverine, but none of the mutants have powers except one guy who can grow back limbs. So Wolverine and Beast just plow through them like nothing. So much potential completely wasted. I am utterly depressed... Hopely a few years from now someone goes back and makes a sequel that completely ignores X3 just like Superman Returns is ignoring the horrible Superman 3 and 4... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LeeF.May 26, 2006
What a boring, soulless, crass mess -- I loved the first two so am crushingly disappointed by this version. Don't waste your money - get it from the library in six months.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ArthurM.May 26, 2006
A terrible bit of screen writing. too much information thrown into one story. new characters like, jugganaut, beast, kitty, and angel have little if any character development. certain classic x-men storylines are patched together with littleA terrible bit of screen writing. too much information thrown into one story. new characters like, jugganaut, beast, kitty, and angel have little if any character development. certain classic x-men storylines are patched together with little logic included. the direction and acting are satisfactory but even the great work of patrick stewart and sir ian mckellen cannot save this horrid piece of writing. i hope this will be an example to film studios that they shouldnt put successful movie franchises with immense potential in the hands of third rate writers, whose shining glory is penning xxx: state of the union, inspector gadget, and electra. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GaborA.May 26, 2006
[***SPOILER***] There were a few moments when they used certain mutants creativly, but most of the action was absurd. The fundamental flaw, however, was the plot. I recall that the plot of the first installment revolved around Magneto trying[***SPOILER***] There were a few moments when they used certain mutants creativly, but most of the action was absurd. The fundamental flaw, however, was the plot. I recall that the plot of the first installment revolved around Magneto trying to forcefully turn all the humans into mutants. All of a sudden humans have a cure for the mutants and are letting mutants take it willingly and this is of course is an outrage that demands ridiculous fighting sequences. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DevonMay 27, 2006
With all the good plots in the x- men universe they could have com up with something much better than this.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
CurtisW.May 27, 2006
I almost peed my pants trying to hold it during X-Men 2 and left excited about the next installment. During the Last Stand was constantly checking my watch and didn't mind taking a restroom break during the film's climax.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
K.H.May 27, 2006
Absolutely horrible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
StuartS.May 28, 2006
This was the single worst film I have seen all year. I enjoyed the first two very much, X3 turns into a strange and possibly unintentional argument for sterilization and places the supposed heroes in a highly dubious moral position. Beyond This was the single worst film I have seen all year. I enjoyed the first two very much, X3 turns into a strange and possibly unintentional argument for sterilization and places the supposed heroes in a highly dubious moral position. Beyond all this, the film lacks any sense of structure and has the X-Men playing defense the entire time, culminating in their second string replacement for the hapless military. Well beyond moronic, some of this material would be better suited to those cheesy and satirical movie within a movie clips in better films. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexK.May 29, 2006
This film is a travesty -- not just for X-Men fans, but movie fans in general. It's slow-moving and talky, but at the same time the plot is boring and convoluted. There's practically no action aside from the Phoenix scenes until This film is a travesty -- not just for X-Men fans, but movie fans in general. It's slow-moving and talky, but at the same time the plot is boring and convoluted. There's practically no action aside from the Phoenix scenes until the very end. Dialogue is embarrassing. So many characters are thrown about that none of them come forward as driving forces of the story. This movie mutilates the X-Men canon, as well as the work done in the previous two films (particularly the excellent X2). I don't understand why reviewers are so unwilling to blame a large portion of this mess on Ratner, but that's all right, Penn and Kinberg deserve a lot of criticism as well. Bottom line, the movie is terrible and pointless. Bobby and Kitty go iceskating? Really guys? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BernardN.May 31, 2006
I understand that Brett Ratner was under a lot of pressure to get this film done at a certain time and that Bryan Singer is a punk for leaving the franchise at the last second for an inferior superhero in superman, but nevertheless such I understand that Brett Ratner was under a lot of pressure to get this film done at a certain time and that Bryan Singer is a punk for leaving the franchise at the last second for an inferior superhero in superman, but nevertheless such drastic changes to a beloved franchise should never be done in haste and those in charge of this movie should realize that they broke the hearts of many fans worldwide by producing a bad film that portrayed major events of the X-Men series in such a terrible manner. Rushed film, campy one-liners, bad special effects, and a total demoralation of all the glory the first two films created for the best comic book characters of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
VincentJun 23, 2006
terrible. dissapointing. worst of the trilogy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EddieEJun 16, 2008
Bret Ratner ruined the series. He has no idea what the xmen are all about he just wanted some special effects. There was such a good foundation built by singer in the first two films.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StephanieN.May 27, 2006
It was horrible.
5 of 8 users found this helpful
3
JonathanH.May 26, 2006
Very Good special effects, very bad story. I was extreemly disappointed that they made a movie based on a very popular comic series, but followed none of the mythology based on the comic series.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
TonyB.Jun 27, 2006
How can you take a well known comic book series and screw it up in one movie? That's what I saw in this installment. Where do I begin? You bring in Juggernaut and don't explore the half-brother relationship with Dr. Xavier? You How can you take a well known comic book series and screw it up in one movie? That's what I saw in this installment. Where do I begin? You bring in Juggernaut and don't explore the half-brother relationship with Dr. Xavier? You change the Phoenix saga into a split personality plotline? Storm finally can fly (somewhat) but Rogue still seems to be grounded (I guess it'll be difficult to introduce those origins into the film just for the sake of continuity). Add Hank McCoy in a very weak character role and mutants actually getting cured (that was never the goal of the medicine in the 1st place), and you have a film that Stan Lee should have felt ashamed making a cameo appearance in. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
VerbalKinchMay 29, 2006
One point for premise. A really brillant premise. Second point for the ole' Colossus Wolvie fastball special. Third point for the full Iceman transformation. Thats all folks. This is a ROTJ-go-out-with-a-bang installment that RUINs the One point for premise. A really brillant premise. Second point for the ole' Colossus Wolvie fastball special. Third point for the full Iceman transformation. Thats all folks. This is a ROTJ-go-out-with-a-bang installment that RUINs the comic book cannon. At least Jabba and the Warwick Davis in a teddy ruxpin getup looked good on a BURGER KING glass back in '84.The twist after the credits was the smartest move of the whole flick. The flashback recruitment of. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ChrisJ.May 26, 2006
Overall I felt X3 was a sticky pile of inconsistency and absence of detail. The dialogue was poorly written and poorly delivered. The characters seemed hollow and pointless. The directorial change is something everyone must accept, however I Overall I felt X3 was a sticky pile of inconsistency and absence of detail. The dialogue was poorly written and poorly delivered. The characters seemed hollow and pointless. The directorial change is something everyone must accept, however I would have rather seen and entirely new character roster than have so many favorites dismissed so casually, permanent or otherwise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
z3r0sumJun 4, 2006
Even if you like the fact that the plotline developed similarly to a commercial (cut to this--cut to that). Even if you enjoyed the parsimonious screenplay that only grudgingly allowed the action to develop. The darn thing was only 90 Even if you like the fact that the plotline developed similarly to a commercial (cut to this--cut to that). Even if you enjoyed the parsimonious screenplay that only grudgingly allowed the action to develop. The darn thing was only 90 minutes! No wonder they are making bank in sales. They only have to sell two-thirds the amount of tickets with XM-3 that they sold with XM-2. As I left the cinema, I thought back and recalled what I had for dinner more graphically than what I saw in the theater only moments before. The actors perform well, but the editing flutters around without a cohesive understanding of plot and of the background. As one person, more versed in XM than myself noted, wny did they choose phoenix when that tale takes place in the future? Seems they passed over a decade of XM so that they could rip out a story that does not hold true to the story's context. But in doing so they lost the bedrock that made the story more popular than this piece of homogenized pop-claptrap. Real ripoff. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MartinL.May 26, 2006
I don't blame Ratner for this mess. 20th Century Fox should not have rushed this movie to the box office as if there was no tomorrow. The potential was seen all over this movie... all it needed was a little TLC. With its sub-par I don't blame Ratner for this mess. 20th Century Fox should not have rushed this movie to the box office as if there was no tomorrow. The potential was seen all over this movie... all it needed was a little TLC. With its sub-par scripts... honestly, how you can "cure" a genetic mutation with just a child named Leech, is beyond me... what is he? JESUS? Plus the director was topsy turvy with prioritizing the X-men characters. The movie was in the end... very comic booky... which is not what you wanted it to be. Because THAT is what drew more people than usual to the big screens. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JerkGuySep 28, 2007
This film and all the X-Men films are garbage, pure garbage, they should have called it
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NecromusDec 6, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh my god, what a horrible movie! I absolutely hated this movie! What a disappointment after the two awesome previous X-men installments. OMG Pheonix kills cyclops? - blasphemy! Pheonix kills Xavier? - blasphemy! Rogue chooses to medically opt-out of having super powers? - blasphemy! Pheonix dies in the end? - blasphemy! Ok I never read the comics as a kid so all I have to go by were the old X-men cartoons but in that wasn't Pheonix alive and well as a flaming flying heroin long after she got here omega-super powers? But the way everyone dies in this movie is absolutely lame and pointless. If people were self-sacrificing in a heroic manner to die it would be a bit better. Also, there was a better possible ending to this where Pheonix would not have to die, I was very surprised they didn't choose this ending, it was such an obvious choice: The mutant kid who had the ability to take away other mutant's super powers! They could have just sent him in at the point where Pheonix could no longer control her own powers, and presto! -- Problem solved and Pheonix lives! But noooo! Let's just kill off another beloved X-Men character, afterall, we've already killed 2 others in this movie... I guess the director knew he wasn't going to make an X-Men 4 that occurs after this movie, so what the heck let's just kill everyone off and take away the superpowers of others that live. OMG if I could give this a negative rating on Metacritic I would. The two other movies I've rated 0/10 I rated that way because they just bored me to death. But X3? This would get a -5/10 since it actually pissed me off it was so bad! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Rox22Jan 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely terrible. A real shame as it had so much potential, but I believe that was also its problem, it was trying to do too much. Introducing too many new characters and giving them little to no back story. Also bastardizing most of the lesser characters to an unforgiving degree. While Vinnie Jones performance as the Juggernaut was ...... OK at best, it was unforgivable that they made him a mutant. The Juggernaut was Xavier's half brother and his powers were mystical in origin. The Juggernaut absolutely hated Xavier and mutants. Psylocke is even credited to being in the movie, but is barely even noticeable (I only noticed as her name is listed in the credits. Jamie Madrox is a bad guy ...... WTF? Angel is a cowering child? And why on earth is Magneto the villain again? The X-Men have had more than one opponent in the last 35 years! What can I say positively about this movie? Special effects were good, lots of action, Kelsey Grammer as Beast was just perfect casting (a shame how little he was in it.) Jean Grey turning into the Dark Phoenix (while toned down) was pretty good, Famke Janssen portrayal of the character was fantastic. Same goes for Hugh Jackman, still great as Wolverine (if not a little tall for the part.) As a fan of the comics, this movie was just a slap in the face and an insult. This movie just caters to the masses and completely ignores the original fans that made the series popular in the first place! Brett Ratner ..... may you burn film hell for making this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonJul 29, 2013
As an aside, if you’re really interested in seeing the biggest f**k you that X-Men: The Last Stand can throw at you, stick around after the credits for a brief, disappointing bonus clip that throws away everything you’ve just spent the pastAs an aside, if you’re really interested in seeing the biggest f**k you that X-Men: The Last Stand can throw at you, stick around after the credits for a brief, disappointing bonus clip that throws away everything you’ve just spent the past two hours watching to set up a sequel that 20th Century Fox insists it will never allow to happen. Or just download it off the internet somewhere. It’s not worth the wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
LaGuertaMar 4, 2013
The Last Stand abandons the characters and neglects the story X-Men 1 and 2 spent so much time carefully developing and instead focuses on the crushing of motor vehicles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lordmoo_23Sep 23, 2014
If you have seen the first two X-Men movies, then you know that X-Men 3 feels different. Of course with a new director changes are to be expected, but how much can be different till we can't tolerate them anymore. The first half of this movieIf you have seen the first two X-Men movies, then you know that X-Men 3 feels different. Of course with a new director changes are to be expected, but how much can be different till we can't tolerate them anymore. The first half of this movie was very good, but I started to check my phone a lot after the midpoint. The film wasn't flowing uniformly, but in all types of directions mixed with questionable pacing. Another thing that kept distracting me was the awful CGI, which surprised me because of how well done the CGI was in this film predecessor. The last two X-Men films had really good and enthralling stories which to me felt absent in X3. The acting was still very good, especially from Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart, but the chemistry between the characters was poor and made me feel, dare I say, quite bored. Also, the film's third act feels very rushed in wrapping up the character's journey and the film itself. Now let us move on to the good things about this film. As always the score is fantastic and is, in my opinion, one of the best superhero themes in film. As mentioned above, the individual acting is good but the collective chemistry is off. Overall I wouldn't recommend watching this movie unless you are a big X-Men fan, which is not a bright idea as you might feel even more disappointed than the rest of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews