User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 686 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ByungSuk
    Jan 3, 2007
    5
    I liked it at first but then I realized they totally destroyed the X-Men Lore. [***SPOILER***] I'm so sad that Professor X died. When I saw him explode in the theater, I was like "WHAT!! They can't do that" but then I realized that I was still in the movie theater.
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    One of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in the bum! Characters got killed left and right without any dramatic impact. Is the actor getting too expensive? Well, let's just kill him off. Is heOne of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in the bum! Characters got killed left and right without any dramatic impact. Is the actor getting too expensive? Well, let's just kill him off. Is he involved in another 'opposing project'? Well, let's kill him too. It's like the whole film is meant as a 'revenge picture' to Bryan Singer and Co, for taking in Superman Returns before shooting this flick. This is the film that sinks 20th century Fox's reputation for a number of years amongst blockbuster film enthusiasts! Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    This movie killed the whole series!! The script was really poor, the characters were stone-cold, the dialogue was just awful and they killed off too many of the good characters! It had some good action and visual effects, but overall it was overproduced and lacked the heart and soul of the first two films. Big disappointment.
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    5
    The movie is overall visually stunning, but "X Men: The Last Stand", unlike "X Men" or "X2", is ultimately a frantic war movie that contains extremely sparse character depth/development and simple, lethargic action that fails to appeal.
  5. JeanGrey
    Oct 9, 2006
    4
    I was really expecting more than this. Way too much Storm and Wolvie in this one. [***SPOILERS***] If this is the X series swan song I am truly disappointed. The Juggernaut is a mutant? Since when? I can't imagine Woverine holding a movie on his own. Everyone likes to see the different mutants and I just can't see a movie featuring only him succeeding. But then again, add Storm I was really expecting more than this. Way too much Storm and Wolvie in this one. [***SPOILERS***] If this is the X series swan song I am truly disappointed. The Juggernaut is a mutant? Since when? I can't imagine Woverine holding a movie on his own. Everyone likes to see the different mutants and I just can't see a movie featuring only him succeeding. But then again, add Storm and you basically have X-Men 3. Try harder next time guys....if there is a next time. Expand
  6. IvanC.
    May 26, 2006
    5
    Flat, cheap, dumb movie, which lacks all that good ideas of previous and is an insult for those, who prefer to be entertained well. Looks like trash-movie, actually. Where did all the money go? And this after such brilliant X2. Well, i suppose, most of the 7-s the movie gets here would be from 'under 16'-viewers.
  7. SteveG.
    May 27, 2006
    4
    If you think Beverly Hills Cop 2 was an american classic. You will love this move.
  8. NeilV.
    May 31, 2006
    4
    This movie was pretty poor. Horrible script and plot, poor execution, a terrible way to abuse the finest superhero team in history. A huge disappointment following X2.
  9. RIsinSon
    May 30, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] A very good start to a really lackluster ending. Being a comic book fan some of the character powers were potrayed wrong. For instance Juggernaut is not a mutant for one. When he entered the room with Leech he should have ran through the wall without a problem. He got is powers for a mystical crystal. The story line was so broken up and characters not really showing their[***SPOILERS***] A very good start to a really lackluster ending. Being a comic book fan some of the character powers were potrayed wrong. For instance Juggernaut is not a mutant for one. When he entered the room with Leech he should have ran through the wall without a problem. He got is powers for a mystical crystal. The story line was so broken up and characters not really showing their powers too much except the main characters. Killing off that many characters didn't leave much for another installment, accept when Magneto showed his powers were returning at the end of the movie. The only way I see there being another movie if they introduce Bishop going through time and all of the characters that died can be restored. So far I think Spider-Man is the best Marvel installment and if there is another X-Men movie I hope they get it right the next time around. Expand
  10. BonbonA.
    Jun 17, 2006
    6
    The opening was just great, but the whole movie itself is a failure. They wanna make new n fresh impressions by killing a lot of characters n more dark atmosphere, but the result was a disapointment as the story was just bad. I think they have problems because there's a lot of characters featured in the plot n it seems that the role of each characters were not organized correctly (I The opening was just great, but the whole movie itself is a failure. They wanna make new n fresh impressions by killing a lot of characters n more dark atmosphere, but the result was a disapointment as the story was just bad. I think they have problems because there's a lot of characters featured in the plot n it seems that the role of each characters were not organized correctly (I think some of them actually needed more role 2 play). The 1st n the 2nd were great, but this 1 need more improvement, n the worst thing is that this movie ends the story as the final part of a trilogy. Expand
  11. AlisterL.
    Jun 2, 2006
    5
    Well, they had me for the first two acts, and then it all fell apart. Even after some wincing at some really uninspired lines: 'If Magneto wants a war, we'll give him one!' (feh) I was actually having a great time and then... WHAT was that crap with the bridge? Why? So they could walk home if they were tired? Nope, just a nonsensical plot device to add some overblown Well, they had me for the first two acts, and then it all fell apart. Even after some wincing at some really uninspired lines: 'If Magneto wants a war, we'll give him one!' (feh) I was actually having a great time and then... WHAT was that crap with the bridge? Why? So they could walk home if they were tired? Nope, just a nonsensical plot device to add some overblown spectacle and allow for the timely arrival of more troops when the finale called for it. And the final battle was naff too. "Okay X Men, we're here! Everybody make an entrance- one at a time now! Okay, now stand in a line while we dolly past with the camera". Rubbish. Please Marvel, don't do another one. Expand
  12. TonyF.
    Jun 2, 2006
    4
    Really disapointing, halle Berry has way too much screen time, the chacters that have been developed in the past two movies are passed aside in this bizzare adaptation of two separate x-men plots gon crazy. Alot of oneliners is the majority of the script, if you are a true fan go see it, if not wait for it to play on tv, in like three years.
  13. JoeG.
    Jun 5, 2006
    4
    The first two weren't bad, but this one is pretty dumb. It felt like a pastiche of bad movie clichés, not to mention glaring plot holes. It's easy to see why a "Wolverine" spin-off is in the works and not an X-Men 4: almost every character is wasted. The redhead, Jean Grey, is given a great build-up, but after the first half is over, she basically stands in the background The first two weren't bad, but this one is pretty dumb. It felt like a pastiche of bad movie clichés, not to mention glaring plot holes. It's easy to see why a "Wolverine" spin-off is in the works and not an X-Men 4: almost every character is wasted. The redhead, Jean Grey, is given a great build-up, but after the first half is over, she basically stands in the background and keeps her mouth shut until the big, hokey climax. Yeah, I know it's "only" entertainment, but C'MON, I'm not asking for a masterpiece here, just something that isn't dumb, bloated, and hackneyed. (You want entertainment, save your $10 and go spend 2 hours at an arcade or an amusement park, it'll be much more fun and much more engaging.) There are some saving graces: the cast is pretty good and even the dumb parts can be unintentionally hilarious. Not great entertainment, but you can do much worse this summer. ("Da Vinci Code" anybody?) Expand
  14. scarecrow
    Jun 7, 2006
    5
    Im very dissapionted by this movie!. Changing the director that made the two previous masterpieces ( Bryan Singer ) was catastrophic. The new director created just another science fiction movie with nothing unique about it. It is fun and watchable but it should have been better than the previous movies as its probably the last. It seem that Bryan Singer was the soul leader of the X-men Im very dissapionted by this movie!. Changing the director that made the two previous masterpieces ( Bryan Singer ) was catastrophic. The new director created just another science fiction movie with nothing unique about it. It is fun and watchable but it should have been better than the previous movies as its probably the last. It seem that Bryan Singer was the soul leader of the X-men franchine and his absence is obvious and dissapionting. Marvel should have agreed with the director! Expand
  15. JackS.
    Oct 3, 2006
    4
    Wow. I didn't think a franchise could sink so low, but this last installment surely has changed my mind. None of the gritty tension, lost personality, psyche-navel-gazing from the first (and best, by far) film comes into this Hollywood-pumped eye-candy that passes as a movie. Alas, bored middle managers with MBAs continually wield way too much power in the creative fields, and like Wow. I didn't think a franchise could sink so low, but this last installment surely has changed my mind. None of the gritty tension, lost personality, psyche-navel-gazing from the first (and best, by far) film comes into this Hollywood-pumped eye-candy that passes as a movie. Alas, bored middle managers with MBAs continually wield way too much power in the creative fields, and like the crazed mutants and militant humans in the X-Men, must be squashed. Expand
  16. LawrenceM.
    May 26, 2006
    6
    Rater kills off character instead of showing character development. [***SPOILERS***] Two main players "die" only to come back at the end of the film. Too much corny action and not enough dialogue. X3 was a proverbial kick in the nuts to comic fans.
  17. NavarroM.
    May 26, 2006
    5
    It doesn't work. Popcorn entertaiment with not heart. Sad end for a great franchise.
  18. AlanO.
    May 27, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] Has some high points sure but not enough to make me feel this was as good as the previous 2. I
  19. RickyP.
    May 27, 2006
    5
    It kills me that I have to give this movie a 5. I have been waiting a long time for this, as have many others, and it just didn't deliver. Ratner can't direct is one of the big problems - the introduction of Angel is awful, to give one example. Also, the irreverence shown to the comics, which at times does work to create some shocking moments, is too much - it will be shocking, It kills me that I have to give this movie a 5. I have been waiting a long time for this, as have many others, and it just didn't deliver. Ratner can't direct is one of the big problems - the introduction of Angel is awful, to give one example. Also, the irreverence shown to the comics, which at times does work to create some shocking moments, is too much - it will be shocking, but in the wrong ways if you ask me (and it deprives the climax of two very important characters that should have been there). However, Ian Mckellan was great as Magneto, and I thought the closing sequence was very strong. Just too many mistakes, too much bad writing. Not the worst, it's entertaining, but a big letdown, especially for fans of the books. Expand
  20. SuzanneH.
    May 27, 2006
    5
    "the scene of Angel bursting through a window, shirtless with gelled hair, soaring over San Francisco, out-gays anything in Brokeback Mountain..." Chris D., that is the funniest thing I have ever read.
  21. PonR.
    May 27, 2006
    6
    I admit, right after seeing it I really felt blown away. But after a while, I started to feel let down. I think the overall issue was that very few of our beloved characters actually made it to the point where they were supposed to take that "last stand". That's kind of like a slap in the face. Instead of the renewed hope that the last film hinted at, we got utter obliteration. And I admit, right after seeing it I really felt blown away. But after a while, I started to feel let down. I think the overall issue was that very few of our beloved characters actually made it to the point where they were supposed to take that "last stand". That's kind of like a slap in the face. Instead of the renewed hope that the last film hinted at, we got utter obliteration. And it mostly came down to a bunch of minor characters facing off against other previously minor characters. There isn't even enough substance for a sequel after this. Oh Singer, you really killed us by not doing this one. Collapse
  22. DanB.
    May 28, 2006
    5
    I think the symbol of why this is only mediocre and not what it ought to have been is the fight between Iceman and Pyro. It's like, have I not seen this a thousand times before? I mean Harry Potter had the exact same scene. Star Wars had the exact same scene. Every time anyone who can shoot anything out their hands meets up with another person who can do that, they fight like this. I think the symbol of why this is only mediocre and not what it ought to have been is the fight between Iceman and Pyro. It's like, have I not seen this a thousand times before? I mean Harry Potter had the exact same scene. Star Wars had the exact same scene. Every time anyone who can shoot anything out their hands meets up with another person who can do that, they fight like this. So of course this new director just does it too? C'mon. That was lame. And why the heck does Magneto lift the Golden Gate Bridge!? Surely there was a simpler way for him to get his peeps onto the island (while also not making it easy for human reinforcments to come)?? I mean, it didn't look like he had so many people with him... could't he have commandeered a boat!? Anyway. It wasn't horrible, but it was pretty mediocre and that's probably worse than being horrible. I wish Singer had stayed on to this -- this story had potential I can't imagine any Superman movie having. Expand
  23. ScottG.
    May 30, 2006
    6
    WHY -in the name of all that is holy- would Singer leave X-Men unfinished to direct Superman??? Well Mr. Singer, your decision to leave *your* X-Men in the hands of this goon might possibly be the 4th sign of the apocolypse! You -Singer- did such a good job with character depth and emotion in the first two movies. Now that you made me such a huge fan of the X-Men...I obviously had to go WHY -in the name of all that is holy- would Singer leave X-Men unfinished to direct Superman??? Well Mr. Singer, your decision to leave *your* X-Men in the hands of this goon might possibly be the 4th sign of the apocolypse! You -Singer- did such a good job with character depth and emotion in the first two movies. Now that you made me such a huge fan of the X-Men...I obviously had to go and watch the 3rd movie; regardless of who directed it. And, well, let us just say that Ratner turned X-Men III into an over-glorified Jean-Claude Van Damne movie with mutants running rampant in his sted. To Singer: plz plz PLZZZZZZZZ re-make this movie....for the love of God, make this pain go away!!! Now, I'm not much of a comic reader, so I don't know if all the sub-main mutants were actual comic villains or not, BUT** there must've been a better mutant out there than "Porcupine Man"....give me a break! "I'm Porcupine Man, come close and I might just be able to hurt you with my deadly quills" ROFL!!! And now for the break down: I can only justify giving this movie such a high score for these reasons~~Ian McKellen is the bomb and makes Magneto come to life even in this poorly written movie. And, all of the returning cast are as solid in their roles as possible. The special effects were quite good. Also for the small amount of depth given to us in the beginning of the movie. Final note of interest: Why was Rogue cut out of the movie? (Unbelievable). Expand
  24. JoshB.
    Jun 12, 2006
    6
    To sum up, the original storyline is simply messed with too much to create a concoction of the strongest characters becoming the weakest and meaningless characters (storm) taking on an uneccesarily heightened role. Plot twists intended to shock confuse the audience and by the end I left feeling let down by the butchering of the comics.
  25. JimG.
    Jun 12, 2006
    4
    This is the kind of movie that I don't need to expect too much from---as long as the put the characters I love in a good story and pull it all together with competent effects, music, and so on, what do I care? I have to complain. [***SPOILERS***] This wasn't what it could have been. Lame Item #1 - covering plot failures with a mutant who's power is to detect what other This is the kind of movie that I don't need to expect too much from---as long as the put the characters I love in a good story and pull it all together with competent effects, music, and so on, what do I care? I have to complain. [***SPOILERS***] This wasn't what it could have been. Lame Item #1 - covering plot failures with a mutant who's power is to detect what other mutants powers are-- huh? Lame Item #2 - if you want to stop Jean Grey, why u gotta kill 'er Wolfie? Bring the magic boy forward and let his presence neutralizer her, stick her with one of the needles, what u thinkin'? Anyway, lots of sloppiness that didn't need to be there. But you have to see it anyway. Expand
  26. YoungS.
    Jun 15, 2006
    5
    It started off well. With the flashback to Gene Gray. Then it just got worse until the crappy ending. The acting sucked and I blame the director. All the internet geeks were pissed about Ratner as the director, but I thought he would do alright. I was so very wrong. This movie could have been so much better with another director.
  27. Eldon
    Jun 4, 2006
    4
    I'm not happy to be giving this movie a 4! But what a disappointment. After seeing this movie I watched my DVD of the second movie... night and day. The quality. Yes, the second has it's issues, but The Last Stand... it was painful at times. If only Brian Singer hadn't left Dodge.
  28. JosephB.
    Jun 6, 2006
    4
    Disappointing, many peeps who seen it also say it was a waste of there money and if they could get the money back they would. by the way Where is Gambit?? Huh? is he too much to ask for? another, Juggernaut is waaay tooo small. Is he Mini Me or something? Come on its call CG, remember the Hulk that worked and it would have worked here too. Hugh Jackman is the best person for Wolverine. I Disappointing, many peeps who seen it also say it was a waste of there money and if they could get the money back they would. by the way Where is Gambit?? Huh? is he too much to ask for? another, Juggernaut is waaay tooo small. Is he Mini Me or something? Come on its call CG, remember the Hulk that worked and it would have worked here too. Hugh Jackman is the best person for Wolverine. I think people here got lazy as heck and could have done some more work instead of rushing the series to three movies! Expand
  29. Andy
    Feb 13, 2007
    4
    The mystery and intrigue from the first two films is replaced with a dumbed-down storyline and mawkish jokes. The politics and character development are sent to the background while the over-produced special effects are brought to the foreground. Basically, everything good Singer brought to the first two films is what Ratner leaves out in the third.
  30. JakobK
    Apr 29, 2009
    6
    Nice special effects, but they killed scott :( that was really a breakdown for me. The "cyclops" is awsome. i dont know what happens in the comics to scott, do he die there too?
  31. ZixM.
    Nov 11, 2006
    4
    Like the Jean - Pheonix conflict it presents, this movies is so uncontrolled and raw that in the end it just asks to be killed. What happened to the atmosphere, the drama, and overall, the characterization? On its own merits, this movie cannot stand alone, and is merely hitching a ride on its predecessors.
  32. SHADOW
    Oct 17, 2006
    5
    The reason I rated this movie not so high was plain and simple and that is because it does not follow the story line of the comic book. That is why many people feel that the third movie was rushed and it is awkward at times although I liked the eye candy but compared to the first 2 movies this one has gone of track.
  33. MichaelA
    Oct 24, 2006
    6
    A dissapointment compared to the first 2 movies. [***SPOILERS***] Since when did they work on a cure? Too much of the wolf and storm. Plus there were many times when there was no action! Finally, why did they get rid of some of the best characters? Mirage and Cyclops! (I might not be getting the names right) I still liked the twists in the movie and the action they still had.
  34. Nick
    May 26, 2006
    5
    Good visuals. Good effects. Shockingly bad story.
  35. ReelWorld
    May 26, 2006
    4
    Brett Ratner should hand in his DGA card for this mess. Too many characters, no development at all for most of them, and a story line that jumped around so much I bet even the cast was wondering WTF? Killing off main characters is not the way to enliven a franchise and I think Ratner just did for X-Men what Clooney did for the Batman films. Sad, Sad, Sad. If only Bryan Singer had stayed Brett Ratner should hand in his DGA card for this mess. Too many characters, no development at all for most of them, and a story line that jumped around so much I bet even the cast was wondering WTF? Killing off main characters is not the way to enliven a franchise and I think Ratner just did for X-Men what Clooney did for the Batman films. Sad, Sad, Sad. If only Bryan Singer had stayed on as director for this project it might not have ended up the utter mess it was. Having been a fan of the comic for many years as a kid and being a fan of the first two films I am soaked in disappointment over this complete travesty. The film was overly violent, and I would suggest parents thinking of taking little Jimmy to see it should seriously think twice. Expand
  36. JacksonB
    May 27, 2006
    5
    The eye-candy is sweet, the action sequences snap like bubble wrap, and it's even shocking to see superheroes die. . . but the dialogue is fucking horrendous, the x-men aren't fleshed out, their characters aren't developed in any way, the plot is flimsy and what's worse, only the bad guys have any motivation for acting.
  37. JudyT.
    May 27, 2006
    4
    Just wasn't very good. Not enough story. Bad dialogue. Fights too long and stupid. A whole bunch of ridiculous death scenes.
  38. Aug 3, 2014
    4
    A very disappointing film to end the trilogy. Most of the characters you loved in the first two films are gonna in the first thirty minutes of the film. The new characters such as Angel, Kitty Pryde, and Juggernaut are so forgettable that you won't remember them the next 10 minutes after you finish the film. The story isn't that interesting. There's a silly love triangle between Rogue,A very disappointing film to end the trilogy. Most of the characters you loved in the first two films are gonna in the first thirty minutes of the film. The new characters such as Angel, Kitty Pryde, and Juggernaut are so forgettable that you won't remember them the next 10 minutes after you finish the film. The story isn't that interesting. There's a silly love triangle between Rogue, Kitty, and Iceman that will make you yawn. The action isn't even that much fun. Overall, Brett Ratner's conclusion fails to satisfy it's fans. Expand
  39. Sep 21, 2011
    5
    The movie is overall visually stunning, but "X Men: The Last Stand", unlike "X Men" or "X2", is ultimately a frantic war movie that contains extremely sparse character depth/development and simple, lethargic action that fails to appeal.
  40. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Isn't so much of a Last Stand as a last attempt to make this X-Men thing work. It doesn't, once again, and Singer's absence only worsens the matter.
  41. Josak
    Jun 1, 2006
    6
    My complaints are pretty much the same as everyone elses; bad script, bad dialogue, poorly executed plot and the movie was just too short. It really didn't feel anything like the previous two movies. The characters were totally stale, no depth whatsoever. Pretty disapointing, considering how much potential the movie had. In any case, it's worth seeing for a few, cool action sequences.
  42. TheShizzle
    Jun 2, 2006
    5
    Let me preface this by saying, I grew up reading X-Men comics and am now 30. Needless, to say, my wife and I both enjoy a good comic book movie ... if it's actually a good MOVIE. The previous two X-Men movies were deserving of good reviews, this one is not. The movie is chock full of cheesy cliche's and poor special effects under a very poorly written script. It's almost Let me preface this by saying, I grew up reading X-Men comics and am now 30. Needless, to say, my wife and I both enjoy a good comic book movie ... if it's actually a good MOVIE. The previous two X-Men movies were deserving of good reviews, this one is not. The movie is chock full of cheesy cliche's and poor special effects under a very poorly written script. It's almost like the director wanted to fill up the movie with all of these really cool important action-packed super intense scenes, but had so little time to actually develop them (as in the past movies) that the attention to detail was absent - which in essence, made the final product look like a giant mish-mash of effects-heavy action movies. Huge letdown. Expand
  43. josak
    Oct 25, 2006
    6
    Big disappointment; the action scenes were decent, but the characters and story were flat. This series had a lot of potential, and I think it was ruined with this movie. Still worth a rental though.
  44. GaryM.
    May 26, 2006
    6
    I'm underwhelmed by Ratner's attempts to develop significant emotional content via the crudest brick-to-the-face method possible. I am depressed by the number of professional reviewers who, by referring to this episode as "the last in the series", obviously didn't actually see the movie.
  45. TyeN.
    May 27, 2006
    6
    This is not the worst movie around, but I was very disappointed. It should have focused more on the very interesting plot rather than the action scenes. I don't necassarily blame Ratner, I blame the screenwriters who turned it into little more than an action-fest. Why waste such a fascinating premise on cheap dialogue and special effects? (they were really good FX, but it still This is not the worst movie around, but I was very disappointed. It should have focused more on the very interesting plot rather than the action scenes. I don't necassarily blame Ratner, I blame the screenwriters who turned it into little more than an action-fest. Why waste such a fascinating premise on cheap dialogue and special effects? (they were really good FX, but it still doesn't cut it..) This could've been the best in the series, maybe even one of the greatest comic book films ever, but it went to waste.. Expand
  46. MattJ.
    May 31, 2006
    6
    The first two x-men set standars, which everyone felt should be matched in this third installment, what the first two did was meant you left the cinema thinking it was entertain and (excuse me) also had the x factor, however the third one just about manages to entertain but nothing more.
  47. JesseH.
    Jun 1, 2006
    6
    It's absurd that anybody would give this movie a ZERO rating.... or a TEN rating. A ZERO denotes a movie that is among the worst ever. A TEN denotes a great movie, among the best ever. X3 is neither. Those who hated it had too high of expectations. It's a sequel of a sequel... it's not going to be as good as its predecessors! Those who loved it are wearing their Cyclops It's absurd that anybody would give this movie a ZERO rating.... or a TEN rating. A ZERO denotes a movie that is among the worst ever. A TEN denotes a great movie, among the best ever. X3 is neither. Those who hated it had too high of expectations. It's a sequel of a sequel... it's not going to be as good as its predecessors! Those who loved it are wearing their Cyclops Special Rose Colored Glasses; they are blind fans. This was an entertaining movie. Good action, the plot was fine, but it was rushed and crammed too much into a short movie. It should have been 20 minutes longer to develop the plot and characters better. But the bottom line is that X3 is entertaining. Ignore the zeroes and ones, ignore the nines and tens, just read all the other reviews. Expand
  48. CraigA.
    Jun 2, 2006
    5
    Meh. Entertaining, but not as interesting or exciting as the second installment. After making Angel the centrepiece of the trailer, it turns out that he actually does next to nothing in the finished film. What a waste. Famke Jansen on the other hand looks great. Beautiful and malevolent.
  49. MattR.
    Jun 23, 2006
    5
    Where this movie failed, beyond what was mentioned earlier, is a lack of attention to detail. Where as the first two films really spoke to the social messages they were copying, this almost seemed phoned in. Add to that the complete lack of subtle shout outs to the fans (how many of us went nuts at the sight of Gambit's name on the computer screen?), and absolute missing connections Where this movie failed, beyond what was mentioned earlier, is a lack of attention to detail. Where as the first two films really spoke to the social messages they were copying, this almost seemed phoned in. Add to that the complete lack of subtle shout outs to the fans (how many of us went nuts at the sight of Gambit's name on the computer screen?), and absolute missing connections from the book and it almost became distracting. With all of the problems getting this off the ground, I'm not suprised by the result. Maybe if there was more prep time they would have been able to do it. Hopefully they can have a fourth to redeem the quality of the series. Money shouldn't be an issue. Expand
  50. BillyS.
    Jun 7, 2006
    6
    "a new director", "too many plot-holes", "the characters are not developed", "the story needs to be fine tuned", "all action and CGI", GIVE ME A BREAK! It's a movie based on a comic book for crying out loud! If you want character and story, read something that's more than 30 pages of cartoons with words like BAM, WHAM and WHOOSH! It's just a summer popcorn movie folks, "a new director", "too many plot-holes", "the characters are not developed", "the story needs to be fine tuned", "all action and CGI", GIVE ME A BREAK! It's a movie based on a comic book for crying out loud! If you want character and story, read something that's more than 30 pages of cartoons with words like BAM, WHAM and WHOOSH! It's just a summer popcorn movie folks, nothing more, and besides, it was fun seeing Rupert from t.v.'s Survivor on the big screen playing that blue man in a suit and tie, what's that? That was Kelsey Grammer. Oh. Nevermind. Expand
  51. BenS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    6
    I liked the other X-Men, but this was a real disappointment to me. The action was good, and the movie on a whole was pretty good, but it just didn't gel together as a movie. Worth a look for fans, but people who haven't seen the others, don't bother. Big shame, too, because I love the actors - the directing must have really stunk to have brought such a good cast down so low.
  52. RaniC.
    May 29, 2006
    5
    I asked my self what could the makers of this movie really have to prove? The pheonix can end it all in one shot. The pheonix actually is the end. Then the answer came to me...how much could they make at the box office. Compared to the other Xmen movies, this one was kind of cheesy in my opinion. But it is still really cool to see the creative moves and hear the one liners that are I asked my self what could the makers of this movie really have to prove? The pheonix can end it all in one shot. The pheonix actually is the end. Then the answer came to me...how much could they make at the box office. Compared to the other Xmen movies, this one was kind of cheesy in my opinion. But it is still really cool to see the creative moves and hear the one liners that are characteristic of these movies. Expand
  53. Gus
    Jun 13, 2006
    5
    As someone pointed out before, this is movie neither awful nor great. Yet all in all, I lead it towards the negative side because for a finale trilogy it failed to deliver. Most typical synonyms, words, descriptions that fit this movie - - - dissapointing, mediocre, rushed, bland, uninspired, decent, unfocused, simple, stupid-popcorn-fun, cheap blockbuster, wooden, lazy, cheesy, As someone pointed out before, this is movie neither awful nor great. Yet all in all, I lead it towards the negative side because for a finale trilogy it failed to deliver. Most typical synonyms, words, descriptions that fit this movie - - - dissapointing, mediocre, rushed, bland, uninspired, decent, unfocused, simple, stupid-popcorn-fun, cheap blockbuster, wooden, lazy, cheesy, crotch-level humor, witless, hacked, ambigious storylines and endings, most imporantly "half...sed". Expand
  54. DaleR.
    Jun 28, 2006
    4
    I tend to cover my ears and my eyes before the release of any super-hero flick, in order to get the full effect of it as I watch, including all the surprises. I only discovered in the theatre that Bryan Singer did not direct the film, and was still cautiously optimistic. Unfortunately, I was far from satisfied with the way my X-men and women were handled. [***SPOILERS***] Jean's I tend to cover my ears and my eyes before the release of any super-hero flick, in order to get the full effect of it as I watch, including all the surprises. I only discovered in the theatre that Bryan Singer did not direct the film, and was still cautiously optimistic. Unfortunately, I was far from satisfied with the way my X-men and women were handled. [***SPOILERS***] Jean's reappearance and emergence from the water takes place off-screen - what a major disappointment in the CGI-driven world that is today's movie experience. ( I guess they shot too many flaming cars out of the catapult, and the budget ran out.) Also, you never kill a major character off-screen. (Hey, anybody seen Cyclops lately? Oh, him. He's dead.) Scott should have been with Jean at the end, not Logan, but I guess the more famous actor/character won that award, although It cheapens the whole Scott-Jean relationship arc of the first two films. Nightcrawler apparently went back to the circus, and no one talks about him anymore. Re: the plotline -I remember, as a kid, buying those famous Marvel "all-out action" issues, and this movie is kind of like that - no real character development, just action, action, action. It works in a comic, but not in a movie trilogy. This film could have shown a little more insight and had more empathy generated for some of the characters if the film had been given another 20-25 minutes running time. It actually was shorter than it needed to be, at 103 minutes. Seeing a bad new X-men movie is better than not seeing a new X-men movie at all, but we can and should expect better. Please bring Bryan back and please make a fourth instalment. Expand
  55. DavidV
    Jul 31, 2008
    4
    This was definitely a step down from the previous X-Men. Gone is the character development, gone are the political allegories. The only thing worth watching in this movie is the action and some of the acting.
  56. Mar 5, 2011
    4
    X-Men The Last Stand makes me sad. After 2 solid adaptations, The Last Stand came out with a new director and the result was a movie that was far from perfect. With a weaker script, a messy story, and the disappointment of missing characters hurt the solid action. Overall, a mediocre movie.
  57. Jun 10, 2011
    5
    Director Brett Ratner has replaced the heart and emotion of the previous X-Men films with more action and explosions. The film should still provide ample entertainment, but viewers may truly wish this to be the Last Stand.
  58. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    I was disappointed by this film. It just got incredibly silly, not something I expected from how good the first two films were (especially the second one). It was still OK, just severely disappointing.
  59. Mar 16, 2015
    5
    X-Men 1 and 2 were great! Unfortunately, this third installment completely left me down. It was quite hoaky and predictable. Still great action if that's all you are looking for.
  60. May 16, 2014
    5
    I am really torn on this film as I don’t want to hate it because it has some great ideas but they are poorly executed. This film overall was put together in a sloppy manner lacking focus and rushing through key plot elements that needed more development. Had this film’s script gone through another rewrite or so and/or choosen to focus on one of the big ideas in in the movie this film couldI am really torn on this film as I don’t want to hate it because it has some great ideas but they are poorly executed. This film overall was put together in a sloppy manner lacking focus and rushing through key plot elements that needed more development. Had this film’s script gone through another rewrite or so and/or choosen to focus on one of the big ideas in in the movie this film could have truly been something. As its not awful just more disappointing because there are some amazing things in this film that could have provided for an awesome conclusion to the X-Men trilogy and the best in the series but instead this film was poorly but together and winds up being the weakest in the trilogy. I can only hope that Bryan Synger’s new X-Men movie X-Men: Days of Future Past can rewrite the wrongs this film did. Expand
  61. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    X-Men: The Last Stand manages to, uh, stand it's ground with some decent ideas and a certain level of unpredictability. There are some problems with the movie such as far too many faceless mutants and Juggernaut being turned into an embarrassing joke, but all in all, Last Stand is a good trilogy ending.
  62. May 30, 2016
    6
    Despite the good amount of action and great special effects, the end of the first X-Men trilogy feels rushed, shallow and develops its many characters.
  63. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    This is NOT the X-Men movie I really wanted because with no Bryan Singer directing, I don't see why Brett Ratner (Rush Hour) is involved. Sure The Last Stand was the 2nd highest-grossing movie of 2006, but there were a lot of mistakes. Unlike X-Men's 1 and 2 (which they are both one of my favorite Marvel movies of all time), The Last Stand feels like it's missing a page out of the oldThis is NOT the X-Men movie I really wanted because with no Bryan Singer directing, I don't see why Brett Ratner (Rush Hour) is involved. Sure The Last Stand was the 2nd highest-grossing movie of 2006, but there were a lot of mistakes. Unlike X-Men's 1 and 2 (which they are both one of my favorite Marvel movies of all time), The Last Stand feels like it's missing a page out of the old "Dark Phoenix" saga where Jean Grey turned evil (sorta). I remember back on the animated series on Fox Kids when they had a 4-part episode that is still on my all-time list. Characters that were missing in The Last Stand just almost cost them their fortunes. I really hate to break it to you, but The Last Stand is one of my Top 5 disappointing comic book movie sequels of all time. Expand
  64. Jul 22, 2014
    6
    While the acting and action is good the screenplay and style of this installment was not enough for us to accept and get used to. Famke Janssen did a good job as potraying a dark freakish Phoenix. But the costumes were excellent though....and that is only because Brett Ratner didn't fyck the original costumes from the previous 2 films.
  65. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Aside from taking flagrant swipes at the lore and succumbing stale character introductions, it's alright.
  66. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    Not even close to the same league as the first 2 films. The Last Stand tries to do too much and appeal to so many people that, ultimately, it fails. It's entertaining and very enjoyable, but the story is too crazy and busy. The action and special effects are brilliant, but the storyline is very weak in comparison to the fantastic first 2.
  67. Feb 7, 2013
    6
    This is far from a terrible movie as some people call it but it's also pretty far from a great one. The cast is a bit too wide this time around and as the supposed climax of the trilogy this leaves little closure on any of the characters. It's still an enjoyable movie from the action side of things but the film fails at developing any of the characters and this is something that was doneThis is far from a terrible movie as some people call it but it's also pretty far from a great one. The cast is a bit too wide this time around and as the supposed climax of the trilogy this leaves little closure on any of the characters. It's still an enjoyable movie from the action side of things but the film fails at developing any of the characters and this is something that was done great in the previous two films. Expand
  68. Feb 6, 2013
    5
    By far, the worst X-Men film yet, this was a horrible way to follow the awesome first movie and the extremely awesome second movie. This didn't even follow up on some of the major plot points of X2 that everyone wanted to see. LAME!
  69. Jul 9, 2013
    5
    The film is a decent follow up, but the plot, characters, action and climax are wasted leading to a forgettable movie even the few good scenes aren't special.
  70. Jul 27, 2013
    4
    With the only bright spots being homages to comic character like Beast, Shadowcat, Juggernaut, etc. X3 falls flat. I mean, I liked parts of it, but the story was absolutely horrible. Overall, this is a shame to the Marvel cinematic universe
  71. Aug 17, 2013
    6
    Taking a stab at being more action oriented rather than story centered, this third installment in the X-Men trilogy ends the series on a downhill note, but provides enough engaging action to survive its handicapped scripting.
  72. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    bryan singer doesn´t direct this movie,and this was the worst problem,the movie has a great story but the new director doesn´t use it so well,but still the movie is nice(nothing like the other two).
  73. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Potentially the most disappointing film in the franchise due to the hype surrounding it. This film is less than two hours yet features twice (if not three times) the amount of characters of its predecessor.
  74. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    The Last Stand hopefully is the last stand.
    X-Men produces its third movie with poor execution. A very well crafted premise with poor dialogue, and very unlikeable plot twists. It does not reach the potential its predecessor's had.
  75. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    What a f*cking letdown! Director Bryan Singer was replaced by Brett Ratner instead, seriously? We all know what kind of director he is. He directed "Rush Hour 3" and "Movie 43"! The movie is not fresh as the other two movie, however, it still delivers good performances and good action.
  76. May 18, 2015
    5
    Median film has some good action scenes but has script failures, and the story is not very engaging, few actors have a good performance, and the film in general is kind of boring.
  77. Aug 16, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie tries to tackle the iconic Phoenix saga in the final movie of the X-Men saga. Remember I said the word "tries" because this movie completely butchers it. They kill off Cyclops and they even kill off Professor X. How do you kill off Cyclops so early in this movie? This movie could have had done itself a favor and centered around Cyclops who's girlfriend had turned into kind of a monster. A franchise that had not yet gave Cyclops his fair share of screen time gets killed off very early in a movie where Jean Grey is the biggest story arc. That's an issue. Why couldn't you have killed off a character that wasn't cool? Maybe Storm? This movie messed so many things up that it needed Days of Future Past to come in and save the series. Not only did they mess up the Phoenix saga, but the Juggernaut was messed up as well. He's a great villain, and they made him into a mutant (which he isn't) and didn't give him any depth. They didn't even talk about the fact that Juggernaut has a helmet that also stops telepathy. The effects were as good as the first two from this series, but it's not like they were spectacular. Wolverine was cool as ever, so that's a plus. If you're a picky superhero movie fanboy, you'll cringe at this movie, but if you don't have an invested interest in the characters, you'll probably like this just a little bit less than the first two X-Men movies. 4/10 seems like a fair score to me, but it's closer to a 3/10 than a 5/10. Expand
  78. Feb 5, 2016
    6
    My rating might be too high for many, but here's what I thought...

    'X-Men: The Last Stand' is the third installment of the iconic "X-Men" franchise which was started by Bryan Singer, and started off this current trend of comic book movies, is a more weaker movie than it is a bad movie. It's not as good as the first two installments, but at the same time, it is nowhere near as bad as
    My rating might be too high for many, but here's what I thought...

    'X-Men: The Last Stand' is the third installment of the iconic "X-Men" franchise which was started by Bryan Singer, and started off this current trend of comic book movies, is a more weaker movie than it is a bad movie. It's not as good as the first two installments, but at the same time, it is nowhere near as bad as 'Catwoman' (2004), or even as silly as 'Fantastic Four' (2005).

    Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) and co are back after the events of 'X2: X-Men United' (2003) where Jean Grey (Famke Janssen) sacrificed herself to get the others back to civilization. Wolverine seems to be moving on from the pain, but Scott Summers aka "Cyclops" (James Marsden) can still feel the pain and continues to mourn for the one he loved so much.

    Patrick Stewart and Halle Berry return as Professor X and Storm respectively, and we meet Hank McCoy aka "Beast" (played by Kelsey Grammer) as they discover that there is a cure that is being created. This is supposed to "cure" the mutants from having these extraordinary abilities, and obviously many are offended as they know that they are not ill, nor is being a mutant some kind of broken problem.

    This so-called "cure" came from a young boy where, if a mutant was to go near him, their powers would not work, or they would appear as human (that's for the case of Beast and Mystique).

    Magneto (Ian McKellen) finds out about this cure, and tries to recruit Mystique (Rebecca Stamos), and he assembles a new team of mutants which include the big and passive-aggressive Juggernaut (Vinnie Jones).

    It seems that there is trouble in paradise for teen couple Bobby Drake aka "Iceman" (Shawn Ashmore) and Marie aka "Rogue" (Anna Paquin), as she accuses him of falling in love with Kitty Pride aka "Shadowcat" (Ellen Page) as she is still having trouble accepting the fact that she will not be able to physically touch someone without harming them and not being able to control it.

    The movie is overcrowded with subplots, but the main story focuses on Jean Grey returning and becoming the phoenix, which would have been amazing, but is disappointing. She kills off some iconic characters in the process and the final battle is intense, but thinking about it all, you will hate it soon after the movie ends.

    The reason I don't necessarily "hate" this movie like everybody else is simply because the actors still play their characters with raw emotion which still made me care for them, the plot however, is a different story...or in this film's cases, many stories. There are way too many stories to focus on, and none of them are executed in a way we would have dreamed. Brett Ratner ('Rush Hour' and 'Red Dragon') takes the realm as the director after Bryan Singer's departure, the movie is not as dark or as focused in the narrative, nor is there any sense of real struggle.

    The dialogue becomes animated and silly, very cliched and very cheesy, there is not a moment here that is as memorable as in the previous two movies, no Nightcrawler, no traumatizing flashbacks...no dark elements...you wonder why Ratner was hired in the first place.

    This movie is average, not great, not horrible...just...meh.
    Expand
  79. Apr 18, 2016
    5
    One of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in the bum! Characters got killed left and right without any dramatic impact. Is the actor getting too expensive? Well, let's just kill him off. Is heOne of the biggest bust in recent memory in term of quality. When your director was 'poached' by an opposing studio, and you crafted a movie that negates the previous installments achievements, then you deserve nothing more than a kick in the bum! Characters got killed left and right without any dramatic impact. Is the actor getting too expensive? Well, let's just kill him off. Is he involved in another 'opposing project'? Well, let's kill him too. It's like the whole film is meant as a 'revenge picture' to Bryan Singer and Co, for taking in Superman Returns before shooting this flick. This is the film that sinks 20th century Fox's reputation for a number of years amongst blockbuster film enthusiasts! Expand
  80. Mar 18, 2016
    6
    The great X-Men franchise could need a little help over here because a great franchise is unfortunately ruined by the Last Stand. Now here's something we were not expecting.
  81. Jan 6, 2016
    4
    Last stand? My ass. Billed as the climax of a trilogy, the third and weakest chapter in the X-Men series is a blatant attempt to prove there is still life in the franchise. And there is: just enough to pull a Star Trek and spawn a Next Generation saga. Hollywood won't kill this golden goose until it stops laying fourteen-carat eggs at the box office. X2, the best in the series, took inLast stand? My ass. Billed as the climax of a trilogy, the third and weakest chapter in the X-Men series is a blatant attempt to prove there is still life in the franchise. And there is: just enough to pull a Star Trek and spawn a Next Generation saga. Hollywood won't kill this golden goose until it stops laying fourteen-carat eggs at the box office. X2, the best in the series, took in $215 million, beating the original by $58 million. And there are many more stories to be mined from the comics that Stan Lee and Jack Kirby started for Marvel forty years ago. Audiences won't let go of that.

    Or will they? It's way early in the summer sweeps, but already action flicks are taking a licking. M:i:III and especially Poseidon are barely ticking. X3 is meant to get the jolt junkies back in their seats. Hugh Jackman, the soul of the franchise as Wolverine — he of the retractable steel claws and the power to regenerate body parts — teams up with Colossus (Daniel Cudmore), who uses Wolfie as a furry fastball and hurls him into battle. Now that's efficiency.

    The "fastball special" is an apt metaphor for the movie. Director Brett Ratner, who came in last minute when X vet Bryan Singer dropped out to helm Superman Returns, throws everything at the screen in the hope that something will stick. What results feels rushed, chaotic and stuffed with more characters than the script takes time to develop. The Ratner touch, exemplified by the wham of Rush Hour, lacks the resonant feeling Singer brought to the mutant heroes of the first two X-Men films. When Ratner tries for feeling, as he did disastrously in The Family Man and After the Sunset, you only feel numb. Coherence is not Ratner's strength; pow is. And when he turns on the juice, notably in a mutant battle to the death staged at Alcatraz, the true X factor kicks in.

    The plot, cooked up by Zak Penn (X2) and Simon Kinberg (Mr. and Mrs. Smith), concerns a cure for mutancy invented by Warren Worthington II (Michael Murphy), a tycoon who can't stand the fact that his son, Warren III (a terrific Ben Foster), is growing wings. The film opens with young Warren in the bathroom trying to saw off his pinions so his daddy won't be ashamed. Talk about phallic symbols! X3 is the gayest blockbuster to hit the multiplex since 1997's Batman and Robin, in which George Clooney wore a bat suit with nipples. Since Warren III can't cut off his dick, er, wings, he decides to flaunt it, calling himself Angel and letting his feathery appendage stretch to sixteen feet.

    This kind of X-Viagra sits well with Magneto, a militant mutant leader played by the openly gay Sir Ian McKellen with the same drama-queen bravado he used to liven up The Da Vinci Code. "Nobody is going to cure us — we are the cure," says Magneto, who is Malcolm X to the Martin Luther King of Patrick Stewart's Professor Charles Xavier, a peacemaker with an open mind about the cure. For Rogue (Anna Paquin), a student at the professor's school for mutants, her "gift" for killing anyone she touches puts a serious crimp in her sex life with Iceman (Shawn Ashmore). Halle Berry is back with a bit more to do as the weathermaking Storm, but she looks bored doing it. Of the newcomers, including Ellen Page as Kitty Pryde, who walks through walls, and Vinnie Jones as Juggernaut, who busts them down, the hardest not to notice is Kelsey Grammer, done up like a giant blue beach ball as Beast, an adviser to the prez on mutant affairs.

    You'll notice that some major characters seem to die. But the series cannot be trusted on these matters (stay after the final credits for Exhibit A). Look at Jean Grey (Famke Janssen), who went to her watery grave in X2, only to be reborn here as Phoenix. She's still possessed of the killer bod that has Wolverine howling at the moon but is now gifted with destructive powers that Magneto wants to harness to stop the cure from being manufactured on Alcatraz.

    Ratner pulls out all the stops for the climax with Magneto turning the Golden Gate into his personal passageway to Alcatraz, where everything seems to explode at once, including Jean and Wolfie in an orgasmic display of rough sex that nearly saves the movie from its own too-muchness. I said nearly.
    Expand
  82. Mar 20, 2016
    5
    Bryan Singer's first two X-Men movies are pop-culture anomalies: big-budget, special-effects-driven superhero blockbusters that get just about everything right. But after Singer exited the franchise to helm Superman Returns, the producers did something egregiously wrong: They handed over the reins to Brett Ratner, whose handling of Rush Hour 2 and Red Dragon proves he shouldn't be allowedBryan Singer's first two X-Men movies are pop-culture anomalies: big-budget, special-effects-driven superhero blockbusters that get just about everything right. But after Singer exited the franchise to helm Superman Returns, the producers did something egregiously wrong: They handed over the reins to Brett Ratner, whose handling of Rush Hour 2 and Red Dragon proves he shouldn't be allowed anywhere near a successful franchise, even one he helped create. The X-Men have survived mutation, persecution, and supervillainous foes hell-bent on their destruction. But can they survive Ratner? Well, no.

    The always-welcome Ian McKellen leads an overstuffed cast as a villainous mutant intent on destroying a mutation "cure" and its source, a spooky little boy (Cameron Bright) who isn't a character so much as a sentient plot point with unnerving blue eyes. To defeat McKellen and his band of punky new recruits—most of whom appear to be on loan from a Stranglers concert circa 1981—the heroic X-Men are forced to do battle with the forces of evil alongside newcomers like Ben Foster's winged do-gooder Angel and Kelsey Grammer's Beast, who's far duller than any character who talks like a Stanford dean and looks like the misbegotten offspring of a werewolf and a Smurf has any right to be.

    Directing an X-Men movie is an epic task requiring a varied set of skills. X-auteurs have to juggle new characters with old favorites, balance soap-opera plots with giant action setpieces, and deal with the series' political and philosophical underpinnings. But Ratner's direction is seldom more than workmanlike. New characters like Grammer's erudite furball and Foster's blond flyboy barely register, while Halle Berry continues to be the series' Achilles heel, a wan, forgettable presence even when delivering a eulogy that should mark a pivotal moment in the franchise, but instead feels like a ham-fisted afterthought. The setpieces lack panache, while the dramatic elements feel flat and perfunctory. Following two superior entries, Ratner's slick placeholder of a sequel lacks that crucial X-factor called inspiration.
    Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Though the picture is not without its wow-inducing, SFX-driven moments, that potent X-factor is considerably diminished in Singer's absence.
  2. It's a fast and enjoyable B-movie, though, and Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine brings some good stormy drama to the proceedings.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    60
    Singer's absence is felt but not fatal. By adding too much new blood Ratner loses some of the original DNA, but with its nifty set-pieces and a few nasty surprises, X3's still a worthy enough sequel to ensure it’s no Last Stand.