User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 146
  2. Negative: 67 out of 146
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LuisA.
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Stupid Holliwood people. You let go the original Director and the original Vin Diesel (xXx), and say "we can do it without them!! " See how more than 50 millions go to hell. I'll give 1 point just for Samuel L Jackson (he is a great actor).
  2. Sam
    May 6, 2006
    7
    The whole movie defines perfect summer entertainment. Too bad it came out in April.
  3. MichaelD.
    Aug 2, 2005
    0
    This movie sucked from the get go. Even childish power rangers look more realistic and less korny than this. I feel for anybody who wasted 6 bucks to see this crapfest. I can't beleive Samuel L. Jackson already sold out for money like vanilla ice did back in the days. He should have not taken any part in this crap, ruining his image. I mean at what point the dumb makers of this This movie sucked from the get go. Even childish power rangers look more realistic and less korny than this. I feel for anybody who wasted 6 bucks to see this crapfest. I can't beleive Samuel L. Jackson already sold out for money like vanilla ice did back in the days. He should have not taken any part in this crap, ruining his image. I mean at what point the dumb makers of this stupid movie still had the motivation to continue shooting it. Please hollywood people, stop wasting money on meaningles crap like this. Expand
  4. PatM.
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    I didn't realize that being in the NRA made me a racist. I wish movies would stop putting those irritating political messages in their movies and just entertain me.
  5. RogerR.
    Apr 25, 2005
    0
    Man this movie sucked!
  6. HillBilly
    Apr 29, 2005
    3
    Yo man, this movie was whack. Look, the first xXx is my favorite movie of all time. I have 3 xXx tattoos on my body, including one just like Vin's on the back of my neck, one on my ankle with a floral background, and one on my chest with Vin's face. But this movie was horrible!! First of all, Vin has a terrible make-up job that makes him look black, which is just bizarre really Yo man, this movie was whack. Look, the first xXx is my favorite movie of all time. I have 3 xXx tattoos on my body, including one just like Vin's on the back of my neck, one on my ankle with a floral background, and one on my chest with Vin's face. But this movie was horrible!! First of all, Vin has a terrible make-up job that makes him look black, which is just bizarre really since this is an action movie and not "BoyZ n tHe HooD: Part II." The action sequences were totally unreal, too, and did not make me happy like the one's in the first movie did. This is what you get when you let some hippie-loving nazi liberal like Lee Tamahori direct an action movie. This should've gone straight to broadway and been called "Daisies are a Girl's Best Friend," and without a black Vin Diesel. Expand
  7. MartinL
    Apr 30, 2005
    0
    People said it is the best action movie of the year...I literally fell asleep! don't see this movie ever!
  8. StevenK
    May 1, 2005
    0
    This is by far the worst and most amateurish movie I've seen for quite some time. Perhaps it'll be beat if I ever go see one of Uwe Boll's movies for some odd masochistic reason. Truly worthy of the score I'm giving it.
  9. SusanM.
    May 4, 2005
    3
    Go see this movie, if you like predictability, bad acting, poor chemistry, and a stupid story line. Oh, and if you like seeing street thugs and gang members being portrayed as heroes. I give it a 3 for the 3 half decent action scenes in the entire movie.
  10. shoaiba.
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    It was such a crap film i wasted 6 bucks for this film there was no story from the begining. It took me so long saving up this money and all went to waste i'm sooooooo pooooooor ice cube should stick to music.
  11. RobertM.
    Jul 30, 2005
    0
    Stick to Are We There Yet, Cube. DISASTER on all levels. And if they think they're making a 3rd to this drivel....SORRY. No one will pay to see that crapfest.
  12. acee.
    Aug 26, 2005
    1
    Man, this movie was total dung, man. the Tyson B. dude is right, "wars come and go but my soldiers stay eternal" was totally not suitable in the context that it was used, its kind of an insult to 2pac. some comedy and satire is good, but an action movie must have some seriousness as an element, or it loses its awe. The movie has been further degraded by the overuse of coolness on Man, this movie was total dung, man. the Tyson B. dude is right, "wars come and go but my soldiers stay eternal" was totally not suitable in the context that it was used, its kind of an insult to 2pac. some comedy and satire is good, but an action movie must have some seriousness as an element, or it loses its awe. The movie has been further degraded by the overuse of coolness on xxx's part. ok dude, we know u r cool and fearless , ur xxx, after all, u dont need to remind us of that by toughing up ur face and passing a hard comment every 15 minutes. the 1 point out of 10 it deserves is for its creative ideas like flying a boat up on a bridge and stopping a tank using car jacks,, and for its effects. Expand
  13. albertop.
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Yahoo!!! stupendo!!!!
  14. cherylk.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    This is a great action packed movie.
  15. HarveyC
    May 20, 2005
    8
    This movie was preety good. Ok maybe the plot was a bit expectected (when we actually found out what it was 10 minutes from the end!). But it did have its highlights for example the brake-in at the beggining was quite cool. The thing that made it partialy rubbish is that it lost all the extremeties of the first film. The was no extreme stunts and they can't even come up with a new This movie was preety good. Ok maybe the plot was a bit expectected (when we actually found out what it was 10 minutes from the end!). But it did have its highlights for example the brake-in at the beggining was quite cool. The thing that made it partialy rubbish is that it lost all the extremeties of the first film. The was no extreme stunts and they can't even come up with a new line 'what ill do for my country' DO YOU WANT A MEDAL OR SOMETHING?? Well actualy he did get it at the end. You would of thought that if the president did get kidnapped there would be every force in America trying to e.g turn the power off on the train but no lets get one guy he'll save us all!!! Also the americans would of wanted to keep it a secret if the president was kidnapped wouldn't they? Wouldn't this add to the element of fear in America? good in some bits rubbish in others. Expand
  16. PersnicketyR.
    May 2, 2005
    10
    XXX SOTU is so bad that its badness makes the movie entertaining. I would like to meet the monkey who wrote this movie because he is a genius.
  17. whatevaw.
    May 2, 2005
    0
    Ice Cube, you have no acting talent ok. Quit dreaming and trying to be someone your not. You got lucky on Friday there chief, and that was ok. Your music doesn't stand a chance these days either. Better save your cashflow, your career is over in the industry. I gotta wonder, why would the director make this movie? Hmm xxx 2, yeah lets have Ice Cube play the lead part. It could be Ice Cube, you have no acting talent ok. Quit dreaming and trying to be someone your not. You got lucky on Friday there chief, and that was ok. Your music doesn't stand a chance these days either. Better save your cashflow, your career is over in the industry. I gotta wonder, why would the director make this movie? Hmm xxx 2, yeah lets have Ice Cube play the lead part. It could be good! No really! It could! Well, there are stupid people though, that would actually go see this in theaters just because stuff blows up. Its so cool when stuff blows up. Expand
  18. MichaelH.
    May 4, 2005
    2
    Too loud, too unrealistic, too simple... not worth it.
  19. AlexM
    May 5, 2005
    0
    All I have to say about this one is......ARE YOU KIDDING?!?!? I've never seen such a fantastic load of trash in my entire movie life.
  20. JustinC.
    May 6, 2005
    1
    This movie was so boring and un-realistic. I thought the story was very hard to follow in the begining. And heres a quote from the movie: "Do you need anything" a woman says. "Anything?" Ice Cube asks. "Anything" the woman says. Ice Cube says stupidly, "How 'bout some fries and a shake?" To me that was the most random thing EVER! One thing that would've made this movie better is This movie was so boring and un-realistic. I thought the story was very hard to follow in the begining. And heres a quote from the movie: "Do you need anything" a woman says. "Anything?" Ice Cube asks. "Anything" the woman says. Ice Cube says stupidly, "How 'bout some fries and a shake?" To me that was the most random thing EVER! One thing that would've made this movie better is if they kept Vin Deisel. Now, I didn't like the first XXX but still Vin Deisel just fits the part, Ice Cube DOESN'T!! This movie had potential but they just didn't go for it. Expand
  21. TysonB.
    Aug 4, 2005
    0
    SPOILER: Are you serious? The President says at the end that "Wars pass but my soldiers stay eternal"???? It's a line from Tupac and is mentioned throughout the movie as a semi joke (i hope) I have no problem with the line but I don't think Tupac meant it the way they are using it. When he said it it had to do with real life everyday scenarios where real people faced real SPOILER: Are you serious? The President says at the end that "Wars pass but my soldiers stay eternal"???? It's a line from Tupac and is mentioned throughout the movie as a semi joke (i hope) I have no problem with the line but I don't think Tupac meant it the way they are using it. When he said it it had to do with real life everyday scenarios where real people faced real situations. It had truth and meaning behind it when he said it now XXX: State of the Union turns it into a joke and try to capitilize on the fact that people respect and like Tupac to ultimately get "respect" and "like" for this movie. It doesn't work. But really...whomever has any understanding of what even a bad moive is would easily understand there is absolutely NOTHING to like about this moive. Plot? No where to be found. Character development? What's that? Seriously I am thinking about quiting my job and gathering up a group of 1st graders to write a movie scrip. It would be better than this and obvioulsy it has a good chance to be made. WATCH ANYTHING BUT THIS...NOT EVEN ON THE SMALLEST WHIM OR COMPLETE BORDOM. thank me later. Expand
  22. kharagh
    Sep 6, 2005
    5
    It wasn't that bad. More entertaining than Stealth.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Feb 15, 2006
    6
    The film has some entertaining moments that thrill in the grim sense. Some racist puns are decent, as with some of the action. So is jacking a tank. The final CG sequence is so embarrassingly fake, it's an embarrassment. Just go for the first XXX.
  24. BitBurn
    Apr 29, 2005
    1
    Wouaaah!! This was painful to watch! Hollywood is sinking!!! The first one sucked too but this is even worse.
  25. Mr.Freeze
    Apr 29, 2005
    8
    I think the people who don't like this, including the fattest, dumbest man in America - Roger "I'll Eat You" Ebert - just don't get the underlying satirical comedy that makes this movie completely brilliant. I know this is America, and everyone is fat and poorly educated and obsessed with mind-numbing reality TV, but come on!! Anyone who doesn't understand this movie I think the people who don't like this, including the fattest, dumbest man in America - Roger "I'll Eat You" Ebert - just don't get the underlying satirical comedy that makes this movie completely brilliant. I know this is America, and everyone is fat and poorly educated and obsessed with mind-numbing reality TV, but come on!! Anyone who doesn't understand this movie needs to go back to elementary school. I guess it will be another disappointing Oscar season once again. Expand
  26. MohammedR.
    May 21, 2005
    9
    This movie is not only good when compared with XXX, but is also good as a movie on its own. The action is very good, there are some funny moments. And the acting if not great, is much better than the first XXX.
  27. ChadS.
    Jun 24, 2005
    4
    You decide. What's more absurd: the bullet train that allows the Secretary of Defense to make a speedy getaway, or the Venice streets in "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen"? The special effects in this final action set-piece looks half-finished, and wouldn't be wholly out of place in "Logan's Run". Its as if the the filmmakers ran out of money. As for the story, You decide. What's more absurd: the bullet train that allows the Secretary of Defense to make a speedy getaway, or the Venice streets in "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen"? The special effects in this final action set-piece looks half-finished, and wouldn't be wholly out of place in "Logan's Run". Its as if the the filmmakers ran out of money. As for the story, don't ask. Let's just say that only a shark can take out Samuel L. Jackson. With Ice Cube on board, and Jackson having played Shaft in John Singleton's mounting of the prototypical blaxploitation film, "XXX: State of the Union" does have an intriguing subtext in regards to film history. According to the IFC documentary "Badasss Cinema", black cinema helped save Hollywood from going under and didn't get the credit it deserved. When Stone calls for backup, he enlists his inner-city buddies from the chopshop to help save America from Willem Dafoe. And when the job is done, Stone doesn't officially get his due. The president (Peter Strauss) knows, just like the studio heads of yesteryear knew, who saved America (Hollywood). Expand
  28. Jan 21, 2015
    6
    This is really good action schlock. If you like The Fast And The Furious and movies like that, this is for you. They've even got some good jokes mixed in, which is a bit of a rarity for movies like this.
  29. Nov 7, 2012
    1
    xXx: State of the Union has a shot at worst movie of the year. I really thought that an accomplished Oscar nominated actor such as Samuel L. Jackson would consider himself above this swill.
  30. May 9, 2013
    6
    I like Ice Cube, but the biggest flaw with this movie is you expect Vin Diesel. It`s ok but feels wrong for the most part. I think they would be better off changing the name and a few things in the movie to separate from the series.
  31. May 22, 2015
    3
    It is one of the worst movies seen with me. Ice Cube is a very good actor for me .
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 12 out of 31
  1. What isn't scary--or exciting, amusing or fun--is XXX: State of the Union, a movie so preposterous, cliché-packed and over the top that it makes the original "XXX" seem as good as the original "State of the Union."
  2. 38
    One can give Ice Cube props for attitude, but not much more.
  3. The special effects excite at first but wear out their welcome.