xXx: State of the Union

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 175
  2. Negative: 67 out of 175
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LuisA.
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Stupid Holliwood people. You let go the original Director and the original Vin Diesel (xXx), and say "we can do it without them!! " See how more than 50 millions go to hell. I'll give 1 point just for Samuel L Jackson (he is a great actor).
  2. MichaelD.
    Aug 2, 2005
    0
    This movie sucked from the get go. Even childish power rangers look more realistic and less korny than this. I feel for anybody who wasted 6 bucks to see this crapfest. I can't beleive Samuel L. Jackson already sold out for money like vanilla ice did back in the days. He should have not taken any part in this crap, ruining his image. I mean at what point the dumb makers of this This movie sucked from the get go. Even childish power rangers look more realistic and less korny than this. I feel for anybody who wasted 6 bucks to see this crapfest. I can't beleive Samuel L. Jackson already sold out for money like vanilla ice did back in the days. He should have not taken any part in this crap, ruining his image. I mean at what point the dumb makers of this stupid movie still had the motivation to continue shooting it. Please hollywood people, stop wasting money on meaningles crap like this. Expand
  3. PatM.
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    I didn't realize that being in the NRA made me a racist. I wish movies would stop putting those irritating political messages in their movies and just entertain me.
  4. RogerR.
    Apr 25, 2005
    0
    Man this movie sucked!
  5. HillBilly
    Apr 29, 2005
    3
    Yo man, this movie was whack. Look, the first xXx is my favorite movie of all time. I have 3 xXx tattoos on my body, including one just like Vin's on the back of my neck, one on my ankle with a floral background, and one on my chest with Vin's face. But this movie was horrible!! First of all, Vin has a terrible make-up job that makes him look black, which is just bizarre really Yo man, this movie was whack. Look, the first xXx is my favorite movie of all time. I have 3 xXx tattoos on my body, including one just like Vin's on the back of my neck, one on my ankle with a floral background, and one on my chest with Vin's face. But this movie was horrible!! First of all, Vin has a terrible make-up job that makes him look black, which is just bizarre really since this is an action movie and not "BoyZ n tHe HooD: Part II." The action sequences were totally unreal, too, and did not make me happy like the one's in the first movie did. This is what you get when you let some hippie-loving nazi liberal like Lee Tamahori direct an action movie. This should've gone straight to broadway and been called "Daisies are a Girl's Best Friend," and without a black Vin Diesel. Collapse
  6. MartinL
    Apr 30, 2005
    0
    People said it is the best action movie of the year...I literally fell asleep! don't see this movie ever!
  7. StevenK
    May 1, 2005
    0
    This is by far the worst and most amateurish movie I've seen for quite some time. Perhaps it'll be beat if I ever go see one of Uwe Boll's movies for some odd masochistic reason. Truly worthy of the score I'm giving it.
  8. SusanM.
    May 4, 2005
    3
    Go see this movie, if you like predictability, bad acting, poor chemistry, and a stupid story line. Oh, and if you like seeing street thugs and gang members being portrayed as heroes. I give it a 3 for the 3 half decent action scenes in the entire movie.
  9. shoaiba.
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    It was such a crap film i wasted 6 bucks for this film there was no story from the begining. It took me so long saving up this money and all went to waste i'm sooooooo pooooooor ice cube should stick to music.
  10. RobertM.
    Jul 30, 2005
    0
    Stick to Are We There Yet, Cube. DISASTER on all levels. And if they think they're making a 3rd to this drivel....SORRY. No one will pay to see that crapfest.
  11. acee.
    Aug 26, 2005
    1
    Man, this movie was total dung, man. the Tyson B. dude is right, "wars come and go but my soldiers stay eternal" was totally not suitable in the context that it was used, its kind of an insult to 2pac. some comedy and satire is good, but an action movie must have some seriousness as an element, or it loses its awe. The movie has been further degraded by the overuse of coolness on Man, this movie was total dung, man. the Tyson B. dude is right, "wars come and go but my soldiers stay eternal" was totally not suitable in the context that it was used, its kind of an insult to 2pac. some comedy and satire is good, but an action movie must have some seriousness as an element, or it loses its awe. The movie has been further degraded by the overuse of coolness on xxx's part. ok dude, we know u r cool and fearless , ur xxx, after all, u dont need to remind us of that by toughing up ur face and passing a hard comment every 15 minutes. the 1 point out of 10 it deserves is for its creative ideas like flying a boat up on a bridge and stopping a tank using car jacks,, and for its effects. Expand
  12. whatevaw.
    May 2, 2005
    0
    Ice Cube, you have no acting talent ok. Quit dreaming and trying to be someone your not. You got lucky on Friday there chief, and that was ok. Your music doesn't stand a chance these days either. Better save your cashflow, your career is over in the industry. I gotta wonder, why would the director make this movie? Hmm xxx 2, yeah lets have Ice Cube play the lead part. It could be Ice Cube, you have no acting talent ok. Quit dreaming and trying to be someone your not. You got lucky on Friday there chief, and that was ok. Your music doesn't stand a chance these days either. Better save your cashflow, your career is over in the industry. I gotta wonder, why would the director make this movie? Hmm xxx 2, yeah lets have Ice Cube play the lead part. It could be good! No really! It could! Well, there are stupid people though, that would actually go see this in theaters just because stuff blows up. Its so cool when stuff blows up. Expand
  13. MichaelH.
    May 4, 2005
    2
    Too loud, too unrealistic, too simple... not worth it.
  14. AlexM
    May 5, 2005
    0
    All I have to say about this one is......ARE YOU KIDDING?!?!? I've never seen such a fantastic load of trash in my entire movie life.
  15. JustinC.
    May 6, 2005
    1
    This movie was so boring and un-realistic. I thought the story was very hard to follow in the begining. And heres a quote from the movie: "Do you need anything" a woman says. "Anything?" Ice Cube asks. "Anything" the woman says. Ice Cube says stupidly, "How 'bout some fries and a shake?" To me that was the most random thing EVER! One thing that would've made this movie better is This movie was so boring and un-realistic. I thought the story was very hard to follow in the begining. And heres a quote from the movie: "Do you need anything" a woman says. "Anything?" Ice Cube asks. "Anything" the woman says. Ice Cube says stupidly, "How 'bout some fries and a shake?" To me that was the most random thing EVER! One thing that would've made this movie better is if they kept Vin Deisel. Now, I didn't like the first XXX but still Vin Deisel just fits the part, Ice Cube DOESN'T!! This movie had potential but they just didn't go for it. Expand
  16. TysonB.
    Aug 4, 2005
    0
    SPOILER: Are you serious? The President says at the end that "Wars pass but my soldiers stay eternal"???? It's a line from Tupac and is mentioned throughout the movie as a semi joke (i hope) I have no problem with the line but I don't think Tupac meant it the way they are using it. When he said it it had to do with real life everyday scenarios where real people faced real SPOILER: Are you serious? The President says at the end that "Wars pass but my soldiers stay eternal"???? It's a line from Tupac and is mentioned throughout the movie as a semi joke (i hope) I have no problem with the line but I don't think Tupac meant it the way they are using it. When he said it it had to do with real life everyday scenarios where real people faced real situations. It had truth and meaning behind it when he said it now XXX: State of the Union turns it into a joke and try to capitilize on the fact that people respect and like Tupac to ultimately get "respect" and "like" for this movie. It doesn't work. But really...whomever has any understanding of what even a bad moive is would easily understand there is absolutely NOTHING to like about this moive. Plot? No where to be found. Character development? What's that? Seriously I am thinking about quiting my job and gathering up a group of 1st graders to write a movie scrip. It would be better than this and obvioulsy it has a good chance to be made. WATCH ANYTHING BUT THIS...NOT EVEN ON THE SMALLEST WHIM OR COMPLETE BORDOM. thank me later. Expand
  17. BitBurn
    Apr 29, 2005
    1
    Wouaaah!! This was painful to watch! Hollywood is sinking!!! The first one sucked too but this is even worse.
  18. Nov 7, 2012
    1
    xXx: State of the Union has a shot at worst movie of the year. I really thought that an accomplished Oscar nominated actor such as Samuel L. Jackson would consider himself above this swill.
  19. May 22, 2015
    3
    It is one of the worst movies seen with me. Ice Cube is a very good actor for me .
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 12 out of 31
  1. What isn't scary--or exciting, amusing or fun--is XXX: State of the Union, a movie so preposterous, cliché-packed and over the top that it makes the original "XXX" seem as good as the original "State of the Union."
  2. 38
    One can give Ice Cube props for attitude, but not much more.
  3. The special effects excite at first but wear out their welcome.