Paramount Classics | Release Date: November 10, 2000
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
84
Mixed:
2
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Rarely is it so much fun to watch the interaction of characters on screen - not because their actions are so unbelievable (though they are almost always unpredictable), but more because they are all so grounded in reality and truth.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SindriFeb 20, 2011
Reverent performances - American playwright, screenwriter and director Kenneth Lonergan's feature film debut tells the story of sibling couple Terry and Sammy who lost their parents in a car accident when they were children. Twenty yearsReverent performances - American playwright, screenwriter and director Kenneth Lonergan's feature film debut tells the story of sibling couple Terry and Sammy who lost their parents in a car accident when they were children. Twenty years later, Sammy still lives in their childhood home in Scottsville, New York and is a single mum working at the local bank. She has not heard from Terry in months, but when he suddenly shows up in town telling her that he has no money and no place to go, she invites him to stay with her and introduced him to her son Rudy.

This gratifying and compassionate family drama about an estranged brother and sister who are reunited at their home town two decades after a life altering incident, is hands down one of the most wonderful American independent films i've ever seen. "You Can Count on Me", which was shoot in Margaretville, New York, executive produced by Martin Scorsese and honored with numerous film awards during the turn of the millennium, deals with existentialistic themes in a more humane than theoretical way and is a dialog-driven character study strengthened by it's authentic and milieu depictions.

The film is wittingly written and acutely directed by Kenneth Lonergan who gives an uncommonly realistic portrayal of a devoting and deeply affectionate relationship between a brother and sister who has chosen opposite paths in life. Mark Ruffalo and Laura Linney interprets Terry and Sammy with striking conviction and their reverent performances, which i would place on any list over the best performances given in the last decade, is alone reason enough to see this humorous and thoughtful film which also contains great scenes between Mark Ruffalo and Rory Culkin and between Laura Linney and Matthew Broderick. The varied and mood-setting music works well, and this is the kind of film that reaches our hearts and conveys something pivotal about basic life values.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ChrrowleySep 23, 2011
A wonderful tender film that beautifully explores the complex relationship between a brother, sister, and child. Has a small town authenticity rarely seen in films, and has left me waiting patiently for over a decade to see Mr. Lonergan'sA wonderful tender film that beautifully explores the complex relationship between a brother, sister, and child. Has a small town authenticity rarely seen in films, and has left me waiting patiently for over a decade to see Mr. Lonergan's follow up. A streak which will be broken next week when the infamous and anticipated "Margaret" reaches the big screen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
This film was so simple in such a perfect sense. The unpretentiousness of the film leads to the deeper greatness that can be overwhelmingly emotionally touched by viewers. The love, the warmth, the bond everything about the film was so trueThis film was so simple in such a perfect sense. The unpretentiousness of the film leads to the deeper greatness that can be overwhelmingly emotionally touched by viewers. The love, the warmth, the bond everything about the film was so true that it somehow connects to our lives one way or another. A Beautiful Film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MarkR.Feb 9, 2001
Average TV-movie drivel that I click past on Lifetime nearly every night. Boring characters, tepid dialogue, unbelievable situations--it's claim to fame is supposedly how real it is, but that don't mean it ain't boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeW.Feb 14, 2006
I know how pretentious this sounds but I liked the religious ambiguity of the movie...Terry's view on life is so well presented and rings true of most people I know --especially when he talks to the priest--and the priest is not a I know how pretentious this sounds but I liked the religious ambiguity of the movie...Terry's view on life is so well presented and rings true of most people I know --especially when he talks to the priest--and the priest is not a foreboding feature either--he's reasonable-- the writing is awesome--ken lonergan's commentary is great! really worth a listen--see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BKMFeb 1, 2012
A smart, complex and honest look at the ties that bind siblings together for better or worse. Linney and Ruffalo are terrific as a brother and sister working out their issues and the film is constantly challenging our preconceptions aboutA smart, complex and honest look at the ties that bind siblings together for better or worse. Linney and Ruffalo are terrific as a brother and sister working out their issues and the film is constantly challenging our preconceptions about who these people are and what drives their behaviors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hsm2310Oct 14, 2013
You Can Count on Me is one of the best 'slice of life' movies that I have ever seen. Laura Linney is at her usual best, perfectly cast for the role and Mark Ruffalo, is extraordinarily raw and funny and is key to most of the unforgettableYou Can Count on Me is one of the best 'slice of life' movies that I have ever seen. Laura Linney is at her usual best, perfectly cast for the role and Mark Ruffalo, is extraordinarily raw and funny and is key to most of the unforgettable moments in the film. Kenneth Lonergan has written a refreshingly original script and pulled it off exceptionally well despite having two siblings fighting with the vicissitudes of life as the protagonists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews