User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 152

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 23, 2012
    3
    Jeeez, this was one boring movie, the trailer indicated a comedy, but this was just a very low key, uninvolving, indie flick. Five minutes in and i'm guessing this is how Diablo cody lives, fair enough, write what you know about, but where was the comedy or at least an interesting story. Maybe cody's script or story was a good one, but its hard to tell after jason reitman has once again made a film that sucks any entertainment value out of it. This film tries so hard to be a cool, niche movie, but if it does become a cult classic, who will it be for??? If you want to see a low key, indie flick about a middle aged woman's road to salvation, then go for the british movie 'Red Road', it may be bleak, but at least its INTERESTING, which this movie is definitely not. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    2
    This is a great movie in that anyone who says they like it is either a peer pressured parrot, mentally defective or just choosing to lie for not good reason. In any case it allows you to weed out the people you should never ever take any advice regarding films from. Charlize Theron bricked every joke in the film, and sorry lady but you are way too beautiful to laugh at. She couldn't make her face funny to save her life, and the script needed a funny star to pull it off. I couldn't finish it, it was so irritating. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    4
    "Young Adult" retraces the steps of an unhappy and miserable writer (Mavis) as she leaves the city and goes back to her home town to conquer her now happily married teenage love. I had guessed the whole movie from those two lines of plot, everything is so predictable with no elements of surprise or plot twists. But I can still enjoy this, if the story itself wasn't so boring, uninteresting and humorless (wait, was it supposed to be a comedy?). Seriously, following a crazy, drunk and immature "young adult" just because she's pretty and does stupid and very predictable stuff is NOT my idea of entertainment. Furthermore, the storytelling is incredibly looong, IN A 90min FILM!!!......WTF?! And to tell what? Because the movie has no moral whatsoever, except the "past is in the past" or "we must learn to pick ourselves up" **** and the obvious hatred of small towns and towns people the writers have! quote : "these people are nothing" All in all, "Young Adult" is a movie were not much happens and when it does you already know what's going to. To summarize : a boring comedy without comedy. Highlight of the film (otherwise I would put a 3) : good cast, and the director did a good job, too bad Charlize Theron's character is such an egoist b***, no way you can ever like her. Did I actually pay for this stuff? man! Collapse
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    2
    There is no way in hell this was a comedy. There's no redemption, no funny lines, no character growth, nothing really clever about it and a 100% unlikable lead. The movie was a complete mess, like Charlize Theron, right from the start to the very end.
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    There are no redeeming elements to this story whatsoever. The story tries to find some aspect of heartfelt emotion only to display awkward unbelievable moment after moment. With incomprehensible situations that leave the viewer cringing. By the climax you are holding on with a last thread of investment for some type of redemption for this waste of time only to be utterly disappointed.
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    2
    I had no idea what this movie was supposed to be. At times it resembled a black comedy, at times a tragedy, and at other times a drama. I also have no idea what message this movie was trying to portray. Don't get me wrong, I know not all movies have some underlying moral they want to get across, but this one seemed like it was trying to, and failing. Charlize Theron's character is completely unrelateable, unlikeable, and impossible to feel sympathy for. She does nothing but spend an hour and a half cementing her place in the "horrible people" coffee table book, before having a thoroughly unbelieveable epiphany, and driving into the sunset. The climax of her non-journey was when she bedded Pattin Oswald's character, which should have been a tender moment, and ended up coming off as nothing but creepy. The absolute hatred the writer(s) of this movie have for small-town life is amazing. Some movies poke fun at small-town life, like Groundhog Day or Welcome to Mooseport, but THIS movie is absolutely virulently mean about its portrayal of small towns. It seems like the writer(s) is saying that everyone in a small town is a backwards hick, who deserves nothing but contempt. It saddens me that this movie got so much critical acclaim. Overall, it seemed like an interesting concept executed in the worst possible way. It's not often I'm upset with spending money on movies, but I walked out of this one angry. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    2
    This movie fails as a comedy. At the end of the movie, you feel sorry for the main character. Theres nothing funny about the situation. The trailer was very misleading, the movie is not a comedy. But I very bad drama movie.
  8. Mar 2, 2012
    1
    What a load of rubbish. There is no real story and it has one of the strangest endings i have ever seen. Its a nothing story with a nothing ending. They must have left half of the movie on the editing floor because that was a piece of disjointed nonsense.
  9. Feb 25, 2012
    3
    I officially don't like Diablo Cody.  Juno was nice and quirky, made even more appealing by Ellen Page.  However, after that abysmal show, The United States of Tara and now this poorly written movie, I'm convicted that, while performances, like the superb ones by Patton Oswalt and Charlize Theron in Young Adult, can enhance bad writing, it can't mask it.  This movie is full of holes, the inability to stay focused on a solid story and, at the beginning, painfully dull.  By the end, I'm affected by Charlize's near-perfect portrayal of a self-righteous, arrogant, narcissistic depressive, so she played the part well.  In fact, I'd even go so far as to say that Diablo's screenplay could have had a hand I how this messed up character is displayed, but the overall story is choppy, poorly plotted and void of basic comprehension in certain areas that I feel as though I could have written it.   Expand
  10. Jan 2, 2012
    1
    I was very disappointed with this film because it was nothing like what the trailer portrayed it to be. I was under the impression that this was going to be a light-hearted comedy that would cheer me up. Wrong. This movie was depressing and dark. I don't mind either of those but it felt like the film had those qualities on accident, which ruined it for me. The movie surprised me in bad ways; at one point I actually said "What the f!@#k" out loud in the theatre. If I had gone into the theatre expecting a dark drama, I might have enjoyed it -but then again I probably wouldn't have gone into the theatre in the first place. I found this movie a waste of time and money, but I feel that the advertisement department is to blame. If you want to watch a happy comedy with your friends, do NOT go see this film Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    Charlize is one of my favorite actresses but this movie really sucked. It appeared to be a desperate attempt to put out a movie headlining a popular actress to create the draw. The storyline was pathetic -- a girl that is trying to steal a married man who's wife had just give birth to their first child (that was her boyfriend in high school) from his wife. Great message for the kids. Bad acting, bad plot, waste of time.
    I thought Charlize had more class than to get sucked into such a flop but apparently not...
    Expand
  12. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    Not Worth the Time or Money
    This movie was a big disappointment, except fo r the acting of the beautiful Charlize Theron. The movie was not the movie that was portrayed in the trailer. It's more like One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest than Juno. The movie has an identity crisis. At some times it's a comedy (the best parts) and at times it's the story of a sad midlife crisis of a woman
    who is mentally ill. The sad and upsetting parts eventually take over and it's hard to laugh at the funny parts since there's no real humor in the deranged acts of a delusional person. All in all, the movie is not much fun and one feels manipulated when it's all over. I would skip it. Expand
  13. Dec 22, 2011
    3
    I really disliked this movie. All the performances are solid and the cinematography is good, but the story is just awful. There's no redemption, no funny lines, no character growth, nothing really clever about it and a 100% unlikable lead. And a Patton Oswald that's completely underused. I got the feeling this was a loosely based Diablo Cody autobiographical story and a screw you to the small town she grew up in. Fair enough. But the story end as it starts, so what was the point of the journey?

    Good tunes though. May have ruined Teenage Fanclub for me, so KMA, Cody.
    Expand
  14. Dec 18, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's great that Young Adult is bombing, because it's a terrible movie. Charlize Theron is pretty, but she is an emotional and sexual zero on screen. A laughable ending occurs when Charlize decides to bed Patton Oswalt's character who has a broken dick, busted body, but a good heart. Then screenwriter Diablo Cody has a strange, contempt for Small Town America where the town is no good because the people are "Fat and Stupid." Hollywood and Paramount are really missing John Hughes movies at this point. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Smart, honest, sickeningly funny and supremely well judged in the writing, direction and acting.
  2. 30
    The movie spreads bad vibes like a virus.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 16, 2011
    88
    Clear-eyed, fearless and ferociously funny, Young Adult is mature filmmaking.