Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 33
  2. Negative: 17 out of 33
  1. 38
    By comparison to this effort, "Pineapple Express" seems like a model of thoughtful maturity.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 7, 2011
    38
    An exhaustingly pushy, phallocentric and witlessly smutty spoof of early '80s medieval fantasies such as "Krull" and "The Beastmaster."
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 5, 2011
    30
    Your Highness plays like a dirty-joke blooper reel made by the cast of a junky sword-and-sorcery epic.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 10, 2011
    25
    Your Highness is drive-by directing at its laziest, linking late-night sketch ideas in a quest for comedy as difficult to locate as the Holy Grail.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 8, 2011
    25
    Full disclosure: I have to say I did laugh during Your Highness. Twice, I think.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 8, 2011
    25
    A textbook example of ye olde two-joke movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 7, 2011
    25
    Your Highness is a juvenile excrescence that feels like the work of 11-year-old boys in love with dungeons, dragons, warrior women, pot, boobs and four-letter words.
  8. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Apr 7, 2011
    25
    The chief problem with Your Highness is its lack of imagination - its misuse and overuse of language and visual riffs that are only marginally amusing at best.
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 7, 2011
    25
    Nothing works. Nothing.
  10. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Apr 7, 2011
    25
    The film will probably play a lot better in dorm rooms with plenty of beer kegs and bongs on hand, but in the confines of a movie theater, it's deadly - the sort of bad comedy Mel Brooks made late in his career, until he finally smartened up and quit.
  11. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 7, 2011
    12
    The most painful movie so far in a year that's already scraping the bottom of the barrel, Your Highness is a tedious, dung-colored misfire that sullies the genre of "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" and "The Princess Bride."
  12. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Occasionally curious moviegoers will discover an especially rotten specimen of the genus Cinema stinkibus... a work of ur-awfulness, counterbrilliance and antigenius. Your Highness, the new medieval-fantasy farce starring and co-written by Danny McBride, is such a movie.
  13. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 8, 2011
    10
    So thuddingly awful you won't crack a smile.
  14. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 7, 2011
    10
    Gingival surgery would be more fun than watching this brain-draining, spirit-sucking attempt at a stoner spoof, which combines the cutting edge of frat-boy wit, the excitement of a mid-'80s made-for-TV action flick and the authenticity of a Renaissance Faire held in an abandoned field behind a Courtyard by Marriott.
  15. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 7, 2011
    10
    Unwatchable-and, thanks to its high-decibel action sequences, barely listenable-this misbegotten medieval fantasy/stoner comedy marks a new low for David Gordon Green.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Apr 5, 2011
    10
    That skunky smell emanating from Your Highness ain't pot; it's the stink of miscalculation that surrounds an inside joke gone awry.
  17. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Apr 5, 2011
    0
    There is little worse in the movie world than a spoof that falls flat on its over-costumed butt, but that's what you get with Your Highness.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 60
  2. Negative: 22 out of 60
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    4
    The movie is OCCASIONALLY funny. After that, "Your Highness" is pure crap.
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    I would love to give this film a 10 but there were just too many moments I felt where unnecessary. So the film is basically Pineapple Express set in Medieval times with less weed, but just as many penis jokes. Don't get me wrong, I love the this humor, I though Pineapple Express was brilliant, which made me even more excited to see this movie. I can't say I was disappointed, I set very high expectations for this movie and they were definitely met, it made me laugh and I was thoroughly entertained. But there were some moments I wish didn't happen or where toned down a bit, I won't say what they were because they may be a bit of a spoiler but I will say it involved a penis. All in all I enjoyed this film a lot, but you must know this is not a film for everyone, if you enjoy smoking the leaf then you'll probably love this movie, but if you enjoy smart sophisticated comedy you may not like it as much. But I wouldn't mind seeing this again. Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    Critics are killing this movie because of the crude humor, but I am a huge fan of crude humor so the critics can properly fellate themselves. Some people won't get this movie; but if your a gamer, stoner, comedy nerd, or all of the above GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!! Kenny F'n Powers is in it! 10 out of 10! My stupid iPad touch screen won't let me go higher then 9. Damn you apple!!!! Full Review »