Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 8, 2011
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 159 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
52
Mixed:
51
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
The movie is OCCASIONALLY funny. After that, "Your Highness" is pure crap.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
JoskoApr 9, 2011
With one sexual innuendo after another and sci-fi/fantasy references many films have beaten time and time again, Your Highness was undoubtedly targeted at an audience of horny nerds. Unless your into low brow films with a crude sense ofWith one sexual innuendo after another and sci-fi/fantasy references many films have beaten time and time again, Your Highness was undoubtedly targeted at an audience of horny nerds. Unless your into low brow films with a crude sense of humor, I suggest skipping this one. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
6
ShiiraApr 21, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What Thaddeus(Danny McBride) needs is a ginsu knife. After such a huge buildup, the famed Sword of Unicorn proves to be a disappointment, initially anyway. Billed as being the only weapon capable of defeating the powerful sorcerer Leezar(Justin Theroux), the unicorn blade is useless when Thaddeus tries in vain to cut through the hard keratin surface of the minotaur's horn, in what turns out to be a momentary setback for the emerging warrior's need to commemorate his first important kill. Discovering the sword in the labyrinth is Thaddeus' entree into manhood. Long overshadowed by his celebrated older brother Fabious(James Franco), the royal family's black sheep isn't leaving the scene of his greatest triumph without a memento. He improvises. Quite pointedly, Thaddeus severs the part man, part bull's penis, then makes a necklace out of the appendage, as a sort of overcompensation for all those times the shiftless pothead felt emasculated by the heroic deeds that Fabious would perform on a regular basis. The big penis gives Thaddeus the confidence to take over the reins of leadership from Isabel(Natalie Portman), who had previously outmaneuvered the then-unformed man, by asserting himself as the classic Byronic hero in their joint effort to rescue the king's favored son and his fiance Belladonna(Zooey Deschanel) from Leezar's castle, site of the sorcerer's plans to conceive a dragon with the virgin maiden. When Thaddeus slays the kingdom's arch-nemesis with a single jab of the unicorn-based polearm, he unseats Fabious' position as the prevailing hero, but perhaps it's a victory tempered with the realization that his older brother had to pay a steep price for his ascension into the pantheon of living legends. During a private conversation with Courtney(Rasmus Hardiker), the court jester, Fabious admits to envying Thaddeus, and this is before he learns that his less-decorated sibling, contrary to the cowardly reputation which precedes him, carries a heart that keeps a latent warrior rhythm. He never knew Thaddeus donned armor and parried swords in private. He didn't mind his sibling's slovenly ways. Fabious respects him unconditionally. He seems genuinely pleased about his younger brother's mutual feelings of respect. But maybe it shouldn't be all that surprising that the gallant defender openly desires the proto-hippie's less demanding way of life. In a scene for the enquiring moviegoer who may have always wondered about Yoda's libido, especially during the training sequence in Irvin Kershner's "The Empire Strikes Back", the Great Wise Wizard(a Henson-esque muppet in the Peter Jackson "Meet the Feebles" tradition), we learn, had molested, or perhaps, raped Fabious, when the young boy served as the sage's apprentice. Even worse, the perverted wizard molests him still. Subconsciously, the decapitated Cyclops head that Fabious brings back to the castle as a trophy at the outset of "Your Highness", perhaps acts as a catharsis for this child molestation survivor, since the severed head may be a byproduct of some abeyant hostility toward the accosting wizard. After all, a one-eyed Cyclops is a commonly-used euphemism for "penis". Damaged psychologically by the long-term abuse at the hands of the dumpy child predator, is it no wonder that Fabious should take a virgin for his bride, somebody who shares his naivety towards consensual sex? "Your Highness", taken at face value, is like "The Lord of the Rings" retooled as a Tommy Chong vehicle, but on another level, this stoner adventure flick is akin to a Freudian take on Peter Yates' "Krull". Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
lususgreeneMay 6, 2011
This movie is designed as a spoof movie to knight adventure movies and it almost pulls it off. The real problem with this movie is that the crude humor is too painful too frequently. There we elements that we rewarding, there were elementsThis movie is designed as a spoof movie to knight adventure movies and it almost pulls it off. The real problem with this movie is that the crude humor is too painful too frequently. There we elements that we rewarding, there were elements that were funny, the plot was alright but there are several moments where you are saying to yourself. "Really?" and "oh god make it stop" I would love to have the full version of this movie in an editing room so I could fix it. It could have been much better than it was, but alas it was not to be and the painfully crude humor ruins what could have been a decent movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
boxenford92May 14, 2011
I'll be honest and say i was slightly disappointed by this. I was expecting a film that was as funny as Pineapple Express or even funnier. But its not. It was still a funny film and worth seeing but its just not as funny as you hope for
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
scrieciuJun 16, 2011
When I first heard of the movie '' Your Highness " , I was really exited to go see it, especially when Natalie Portman (as Isabel) and James Franco (as Fabious) are casted. After seeing it, I was terribly disappointed. I only had a fewWhen I first heard of the movie '' Your Highness " , I was really exited to go see it, especially when Natalie Portman (as Isabel) and James Franco (as Fabious) are casted. After seeing it, I was terribly disappointed. I only had a few chuckles throw the hole movie. There was a lot of silly, stupid, immature jokes, especially with penises. '' Pineapple Express '' was way better. The only good and fun thing about this film is Natalie Portman. I feel sorry for her for being apart of this embarrassing comedy. It's a shame because she's such a great actress. Also, I heard that the budget was limited. Danny McBride said that the first draft of the script worth 200 million dollar. When David Gordon Green (the director of the movie) and Danny presented it to the studio, they said that it wasn't possible. So they had to cut of some scenes from the movie. That also means that some of the special effects were failed. There was this character (I think is Manious the Bold), is not human by the way, looked like Leonardo from the movie '' Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles '' (1990), which had a horrible look. Anyway, this movie is a huge disappointment for me. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
julian_zizzleAug 3, 2011
I cant decide about giving this movie 5 or 6. It was ok overall but some jokes were really bad and some were not jokes but plain insults. I watched this because of starring actors but i cant say it was a good movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SimbahhAug 9, 2011
I Loved Pineapple express , it was hilarious . This movie however no matter how hard i tried to like it , I really couldnt . It wasnt like were you wanna pause the movie in a scene and rewind the movie to watch a clip again and laugh at itI Loved Pineapple express , it was hilarious . This movie however no matter how hard i tried to like it , I really couldnt . It wasnt like were you wanna pause the movie in a scene and rewind the movie to watch a clip again and laugh at it for 15 minutes (Pineapple express ) , But for Your H. I usually kinda smirked or chuckled. They had a great plot but i wish they added more comedy/twisted jokes that are clever instead of straight up horny comments which were not as funny because it was the same Dick / Sex jokes every 3 seconds. . AS MUCH as I wanna give it a 10 because my favourite actors are in here and i LOVE EM , the movie was a disapoint and couldve been better. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
FIlmsareawesomeAug 31, 2011
Everybody though this movie was funny, but like did you watch the same think as I did, Poor Choices all over the thing. Natalie Portman and James Franco were not in their right minds when they accepted to do this movie, honestly. If you payEverybody though this movie was funny, but like did you watch the same think as I did, Poor Choices all over the thing. Natalie Portman and James Franco were not in their right minds when they accepted to do this movie, honestly. If you pay attention, in some scenes you can clearly see obvious mistakes. I didn't like this film that much, It is from the same director of Pineapple Express so I was expecting something funny and good, but it didn't happen at all. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
AkkharOct 5, 2011
Awful story with the worst and unfunny screenplay , under average acting and unnecessary Crude humor Your Highness is not even close to be a good movie ! The only thing works for this movie is the sexiest and charming Natalie who at leastAwful story with the worst and unfunny screenplay , under average acting and unnecessary Crude humor Your Highness is not even close to be a good movie ! The only thing works for this movie is the sexiest and charming Natalie who at least made this film watchable ! The view of the scenes were amazing but they failed big time ! it was so close to be the worst film but the set scenes and Natalie's charm managed to hold it ! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
TomthekillerNov 13, 2011
It does have some funny parts. It's limp. Just a bit of a limp one. It feels like like they're trying to be funny. I guess that's the problem. ****
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
asthobaskoroDec 3, 2011
It's all about f*ck, penis, vagina. That I really hate is I try so hard to laugh, but there's few scene made me laugh easily. Anyway Portman still charismatic than others. Don't waste your time, leave it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuNov 19, 2012
Your Highness is a decent fantasy-comedy hybrid. The humor is childish and obscene but if you can stand huge dollops of lowbrow smut, Your Highness will deliver you a good brace of laughs... And remember, not every comedy needs to be aYour Highness is a decent fantasy-comedy hybrid. The humor is childish and obscene but if you can stand huge dollops of lowbrow smut, Your Highness will deliver you a good brace of laughs... And remember, not every comedy needs to be a profound work of wit! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
M0vieAddictMay 10, 2013
A medival spoof that combines weed and plentiful sex (from the modern age) with swords and armor (from a past age) with a sprinkle of fantasy in the form of monsters and magic. Your Highness ISN'T Pineapple Express 2, and this isA medival spoof that combines weed and plentiful sex (from the modern age) with swords and armor (from a past age) with a sprinkle of fantasy in the form of monsters and magic. Your Highness ISN'T Pineapple Express 2, and this is disappointing for many. The inclusion of a stronger cast such as Seth Rogan or Emma Stone would have bolstered this movie to new heights. Franco and McBride don't have enough funny script to work with and as the movie goes on, everything just gets worse. The best gags included a penis and the expense of the duo's third male party member. Everything else tries too hard and looks fake. You'll get a few laughs but it's not enough to carry this mediocre movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
musstang62Dec 19, 2015
This is one of those movies that's hilarious if you're completely annihilated. If not, there are a lot of other comedies out there that are much more deserving of your time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews