Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 22, 2013
    100
    Adam Wingard's You're Next brazenly merges the home-invasion thriller with the dysfunctional family dramedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 20, 2013
    80
    You're Next streamlines the gory stuff for something truly shocking: good characters. Not deep, mind you. But characters who are crayoned in bright enough that they're interesting even while alive.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Aug 24, 2013
    80
    Funny and tense, rather than hilarious and terrifying, You’re Next doesn’t rip up the rulebook but it’s definitely read it. If all horror comedies were this good we’d be laughing – and squirming.
  4. Reviewed by: Barbara VanDenburgh
    Aug 22, 2013
    70
    Turns out You’re Next isn’t a slave to horror-movie conventions after all — rather, it’s having tongue-in-cheek fun with conventions while playing up to them, complete with a killer retro ’80s-horror synth score and a gruesome finale that recalls the excess of Peter Jackson’s “Dead Alive.”
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 23, 2013
    63
    The surprise is how effective Wingard is at keeping the atmosphere jumpy and tense. And you can't help rooting for Erin, who could win Survivor if she went on the show. Vinson's take-charge performance is the life of this badass party. When you're ducking in your seat, it's nice to have someone to root for.
  6. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Aug 27, 2013
    60
    A solid watch for gore fans.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 22, 2013
    25
    You’re Next is built on such an enormous pile of guff, it’s practically insulting.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 12 out of 58
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    You're Next is a brilliant horror movie.It's smart, clever and stylish. It's a breath of fresh air among all the terrible slasher movies out there nowadays. It doesn't quite revolutionize the slasher genre, but it is definitely a strong comeback. Shari Vinson was magnificent as Erin. She is definitely one of the greatest horror movie leading ladies of all time. She was smart, fierce and an all around bad-ass. The other characters are pretty shallow, spoiled and two dimensional but when you see this movie you'll understand how it's makes up for this little flaw. While the movie contained some jump scares, overall it wasn't scary, but that's pretty much standard for a slasher film. But what it lacks in scares it makes up tenfold in the gore department. This film is a roller coaster of carnage and it does so with finesse and panache and features one of the greatest horror movie deaths of all time. This film was getting major hype way before it premiered and by God, it delivers with intensity and ferocity that needs to be experienced way more than once. Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Home invasion stories have played a pivotal role in the progression of horror films for quite some time now. However, home invasion films don't necessarily have to be pure horror movies. Some just want to entertain, more than scare. Adam Wingard's latest horror-thriller film”You're Next” wants to do just that.

    If you're not familiar with “You're Next”, let me just start off by saying that this film is actually a two year-old and independently made film, that first premiered at the Toronto Film Festival in 2011 and had since rose to critical acclaim, with many critics mentioning the films refreshing tone in the horror genre. After the film festival, the rights were suddenly purchased by Lionsgate and the film was, mysteriously, shelved for two years. I'm going to mention that “You're Next” is more of a thriller than it is a horror movie. (It just has some horror aspects to it) So if you're going into this only expecting to be scared, then don't bother with this film. Go watch “The Conjuring” instead if you haven't seen that already. Now, on to the review:

    PLOT: The plot for “You're Next” is fairly simple, but it's more interesting that you'd expect. Even if the film first seems like your average run-of-the-mill horror film. This is how the story goes:

    “When a gang of masked, ax-wielding murderers descend upon the Davidson family reunion, the hapless victims seem trapped... until an unlikely guest of the family proves to be the most talented killer of all.”

    So why is “You're Next” interesting? Well, like the synopsis says, things switch gears once everything starts happening, as that certain unlikely guest shows her “talents” from get-go. And I will say, that twist was truly unexpected! That one twist alone is what makes this film so unique and refreshing compared to your everyday run-of-the-mill horror film. In other horror films, there may have been leading ladies that have attempted to attack their killer, but they usually scream and run off after their first strike and end up not knowing what their going to do next. This certain lead, however, knows exactly what to do once the carnage ensues! And she wants these killers dead, and will stop at nothing until they are all dead! She sets traps, commences sneak attacks, and even fights the killers head-on! This certain character may very well be the best female lead yet, and unlike many other female leads in other countless horror films, we are truly invested in her survival!

    There are some other neat aspects to the plot of “You're Next” than just it's fantastic leading lady though. I think it's cool that the killers are humanized instead of just being our same-old mindless, killing machines without personality like we've seen a hundred times before! These killers also have a real motive for attacking this certain family. The killers are smart too, as they employ many cool strategies in order to kill their victims as fast as possible, like using trip wires and a cell phone jammer! (Though they did forget to count on one thing... our leading lady!)

    Even with some predictable plot twists, the story of “You're Next” is still head-above-shoulders compared to many other films in it's genre!

    ACTING: This is a low-budget film, so you can kind of expect the acting to be a little mediocre. And it is for the most part. The somewhat mediocre acting may ward off some viewers, although I, myself, forgive the acting, considering the fact that this film is low-budget and independently made. I mean, you can't expect to get great actors if your film is on a low budget and have no help from a studio.

    CINEMATOGRAPHY: The cinematography is excellent, with many cool and creepy shots through-out! Cinematographer Andrew Palmero took a lot of time and effort into shooting this film, as he really shows us his talent behind the camera. The only downside to his work is that the camera is slightly unsteady at times. A minor problem, but it would have been nice if he could of maintained a little more self-control.

    SCRIPT: The scriptwriting is absolutely brilliant! The dialogue is believable, the use of dark humor is effective and times in just right, and believe it not, this films does contain a lot of logic and reasoning. (With the exception of a couple scenes) It may not be apparent at first, but the logic is there.

    EDITING: There's not much to be said about editing. The only thing that comes to mind is that it would have been nice if the film could pay more attention to a few scenes, but Adam did state in an interview that he couldn't focus too much on certain scenes since because the budget wasn't big enough. Well, gotta keep within the budget, I guess.

    SOUNDTRACK: “You're Next” contains a cool 80's style electronic score that always times in at the right moment. The score fits the mood of the film, and to every situation that's going on! A truly great score, I thought.

    CONCLUSION: “You're Next” is a film destined for cult-classic status, as it's surely a crowd-pleaser! It's one of those rare horror films that actually succeeds in what it's trying to do: to entertain! Adam Wingard never wanted to scare his audiences, he only wants to entertain! And he succeeds brilliantly!

    So do yourself a favor, and go watch “You're Next”! If you love home-invasion films, and can forgive the films faults, I promise that you will not be dissapointed!
    Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    I always like to separate Horror Movies from Thriller Movies. While the former often involves supernatural element, the latter mostly just involves killing and blood spreading. But all in all, I think both genres belong to Scary Movies.

    The setting of this new thriller You're Next? is pretty simple. A big family are gathering together in a secluded house in the woods. And then family members are getting killed one by one by a group of weirdos who wear creepy masks.

    Somehow the movie manages to become my No.2 scary movie this year so far. So how? I have thought about it for a moment, and here are my conclusions:

    1. Big family reunion always comes with family dinner scene, when all secrets come out and people are getting angry and crazy with each other, and I always love this part. And in this movie, the first scary killing happens in the dinner scene too.
    2. There is a strong and smart female character in the film, which is always fun to watch.
    3. There are twist by twist along the movie. And the cat-and-mouse situation is completely reversed towards the end.
    4. The creepy soundtrack music composed by Mads Heldtberg definitely adds creepiness to the film.
    5. I am not familiar with a single actor in the movie, which is a good thing. The movie gives me a fresh feeling. And I think the female lead, Sharni Vinson, has done a very good job. Later I found out that she played Step Up 3D? before.
    6. The movie kind of ends in a sarcastic way.

    Of course there is something that's not in my favor:

    1. The last twist doesn't surprise me at all, because I already saw it coming in the middle of the movie. Well maybe coz I'm a die-hard horror/thriller movie fan and have seen too much to be surprised.
    2. The explanation of this massacre is kind of lame for me. Not that it doesn't make sense, but it is too simple to make people go killing.

    All in all, I think the good outweighs the bad, and it definitely deserves a watch.
    Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    While it's not an original movie, and it's nothing compared to "The Conjuring", not to steal Nesbitt10's quote but it still applies. What it lacks is all made up for with the scares it offers to deliver. It's really just a surprise to see people start making better and truly scary movies, this for sure is one of them. Overall, it's an entertaining horror flick. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    6
    Hey I wanna give 7 not 6 for the score! So I just submit new score as 8 to combine with 6 to make 7, do you get that? The movie is not so bad, but some scenes were too cruel. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    5
    Disappointing considering all of the positive reception it got. It's not scary, but then again I wasn't expecting it to be. I was expecting it to be an enjoyable home-invasion flick that provided something new and exciting. Unfortunately "You're Next" failed to deliver thanks to it's unlikable characters, bad acting, and unbelievable situations.

    The plot here actually isn't that bad. The dysfunctional family situation actually adds some humor to the mix, but ultimately it ends up feeling worthless in the end considering how boring the movie is as a whole. I didn't like a single character in the film as none of them acted like real human beings. The main character is the only one in the movie who isn't a complete moron. The irrationality of the characters makes the whole film feel unbelievable. I disliked the characters so much that I actually was hoping that all of them would end up being butchered by the killers. The cast's bad acting didn't help the situation.

    Slasher flicks have never scared me, but I've always found them to be entertaining for their gory and uniquely amusing kills. Unfortunately "You're Next" doesn't have any of those, so really this movie is just plain boring. There's an unbelievably slow start to the movie, and even when things finally start to pick up it doesn't take long for any sort of tension to just completely disappear from the entire film. The only attempts the movie will make to scare is through lame jump scares that fall flat. If you're looking for horror then look elsewhere, because there's none to be found here.

    Overall I don't recommend this movie. With all of it's positive critical reception the film looked like it had big promise, but it ended up just letting me down. There are a few moments where it looks like the film is onto something, but it never capitalizes on what that is. I found it to be just another forgettable home-invasion flick that failed to deliver. My personal recommendation is that you pass on this one.
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2014
    0
    The movie started off extremely slow, but I kept on watching hoping it would get better. But it didn't. The movie has no scares, only laughs. watching this movie, it remind me of home alone and then at the end turns into a Rambo! Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Trailers