Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 8, 2011
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
27
Negative:
57
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MichiganManAug 10, 2011
In summary: a pleasant way to spend 2 hours with the kids.

I took my kids (6 year old boy, 9 year old girl) to see Zookeeper, and all three of us came away entertained. Kevin James plays essentially the same role in all his films (Paul
In summary: a pleasant way to spend 2 hours with the kids.

I took my kids (6 year old boy, 9 year old girl) to see Zookeeper, and all three of us came away entertained. Kevin James plays essentially the same role in all his films (Paul Blart, Hitch), the lovable loser too shy and awkward to get the girl. But, he plays the part well, has charisma, and does some excellent physical / slapstick comedy.

The kids loved the talking animals, the humor was good for all ages, and there is nothing offensive beyond some toilet humor. All in all it was a solid family flick that was low on the annoyance factor (think Chipmunks or Smurfs). If you're looking for "A Film", you're in the wrong theatre; if you want a pleasant way to spend 2 hours with the kids, you could worse than Zookeeper.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerOct 28, 2011
While there are better ways to spend your free time this is still a solid movie, but definitely one for younger audiences (although there is some swearing), it can be predictable at times, and takes a little while to get into it, I did manageWhile there are better ways to spend your free time this is still a solid movie, but definitely one for younger audiences (although there is some swearing), it can be predictable at times, and takes a little while to get into it, I did manage to get several laughs out there, and honestly who doesn't enjoy some slapstick every now and then, and Kevin James once again plays the lovable guy who's to shy to get the girl (so basically the same guy he played in Paul Blart) but he is very good at it, so in the end it's a movie with flaws but still enjoyable one for the family to watch together. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
MoviebuffreviewAug 1, 2011
There really isn't a lot to say about this movie. Besides Kevin James, who makes the movie slightly watchable, is the only sunshine in this awful dark cave. Uninspired, cliche, and laughably bad script topped with some horrible and annoyingThere really isn't a lot to say about this movie. Besides Kevin James, who makes the movie slightly watchable, is the only sunshine in this awful dark cave. Uninspired, cliche, and laughably bad script topped with some horrible and annoying performances, bad effects, and most of all, a pointless message, and Zookeeper is one of the worst movies of the year. The trailer perfectly sums up how bad this movie is. Don't watch it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ZilcellMar 16, 2012
Don't say no to this! Its just my opinion. My whole family thought that this was funny throughout, and I thought that the story was better than many recent Sandler movies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EPIXMAN15Jan 23, 2012
Kevin James barley made this movie watchable and the weird thing is that it seems like Adam Sandler is like a bad luck charm because almost all movies that he is involved in are all epic fails like Bucky Larson which should have ended hisKevin James barley made this movie watchable and the weird thing is that it seems like Adam Sandler is like a bad luck charm because almost all movies that he is involved in are all epic fails like Bucky Larson which should have ended his career just for being involved. Well the movie is dumb and lame it's a darn shame that James and Adams cant make a good movie like I Pronounce you chuck and Larry which I didn't even find remotely bad despite it's awful reviews Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
scrieciuJul 15, 2011
Where can I start. There's not a lot of things to say about this movie. Well, it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. The story concept is very unoriginal. Everything about this movie is cliche. Talking animals is so ten years ago. WeWhere can I start. There's not a lot of things to say about this movie. Well, it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. The story concept is very unoriginal. Everything about this movie is cliche. Talking animals is so ten years ago. We already have '' Doctor Dolittle '' (1998), '' Cats & Dogs '' (2001) and more. These kind of movies are not popular anymore and people are getting bored by this. Also, I specifically want to point out Joe Rogan. His acting skills sucks. Why the heck did they casted him ? He really annoyed me. An other thing that I didn't like is the way Adam Sandler did the voice of Donald the Monkey. It was just stupid and retarded. He tried so hard, that it was ridiculous. I can't believe Sylvester Stallone (as Joe the lion) and Nick Nolte (as Bernie the gorilla) were apart of this movie. They should be a shamed of them self. At some points it was enjoyable, but it was to predicable. There's absolutely nothing special about '' Zookeeper ''. I manage to laugh four times, so don't expect this to be the comedy of the year. It's far from it. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
andyeddy8Jul 22, 2011
This is just an awful film. Did not laugh through the entire movie. Its incredibly predictable. the acting and voice acting is also really bad. Do not watch it! Its a real shame that Kevin James has gone so low :(.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
AtTheMoviesAug 9, 2011
Looks like there is a front funner for the Razzie's already.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
IronmongerJul 18, 2011
You could say that this movie is corny, terrible, not well done... but those people just don't see the point of the movie. This movie was a classic, but probably not like polar express classic. It reminded me a lot of Paul Blart mall copYou could say that this movie is corny, terrible, not well done... but those people just don't see the point of the movie. This movie was a classic, but probably not like polar express classic. It reminded me a lot of Paul Blart mall cop (since the same guy played the lead role). The movie lived up to the hype, but didn't exceed it. The moral of the movie was about a man being true to himself and his friends. To me, it was a combination of night at the museum (due to the fact that something really unexpected seemed to come to life) and Paul Blart Maul Cop (for both plot and commedy). If you liked both of those movies, see the movie once. It may be a little corney, but it is a very good family friendly movie. The people who don't like this movie don't think about what is happening. They just see "bad anamatronics" and "corney plot". If you look deeper, you'll see it is a funny family friendly movie that was very creative and worth seeing the first time. Maybe in a year, you'll see it again for laughs. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
movieboyJul 10, 2011
This is so bad. The animal dialogue is painfully unfunny. I laughed out loud once in the movie, my 11year old laughed twice. Starting to wonder if Sandler can be involved with a movie that's actually funny. Kevin James is OK in his part whichThis is so bad. The animal dialogue is painfully unfunny. I laughed out loud once in the movie, my 11year old laughed twice. Starting to wonder if Sandler can be involved with a movie that's actually funny. Kevin James is OK in his part which is not saying much. One scene has him - taking advice from his animal pals - peeing in some plants at a restaurant and being mildly reprimanded by a waiter. That's funny?
Now I hear some of the animals were not treated well. Nice.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
ShiiraAug 19, 2011
This review contains spoilers. The gorilla sits in front of a wall, stoically, without movement or sound, never turning once while Griffin tries to befriend the large ape with fresh food and a tire. At the Franklin Zoo, Bernie has a reputation for being wild. Ten years ago, he attacked a zookeeper, so the authorities took away his view. No longer showcased as a star attraction, Bernie resides in a cell-like pit where the dispirited animal has been brooding ever since. If only the gorilla could have told his side of the story. Unfortunately, zoo officials had nothing to go on except for the testimony of its lone English speaker, so they leveled Bernie's open-aired home, the one that overlooked a faraway T.G.I.F., and replaced it with a food stand. What would the beast say in his defense? Finally, that time arrives when the animals, fearing the departure of the kindly zookeeper, reveal their bilinguality to Griffin, whose staying is contingent on wooing back his ex. With the moratorium lifted, following the lion's lead on talking to humans, Bernie recounts his physical abuse at the hands of Shane, who slipped and fell without any malice on the gorilla's part. The unkind zookeeper carried a longstick. What if he did more than prod Bernie? Sworn to a code of silence, the hirsute beast wouldn't be able to stop Shane with words. Foremost, the word NO. Aside from, perhaps, "Babe", rarely has there been any reason for a live-action talking animals movie to exist. Giraffes, monkey, lions, what have you, just end up looking ridiculous, and kind of creepy, when they're subjected to computer-generated ventriloquism. That's the irony of "Zoo", the 2007 documentary about an extreme horse lover society which came to light after a man died of fatal post-coital injuries sustained from interspecies intimacy. As the female narrator points out, a horse can't give its consent, lacking both the cognitive ability, and, obviously, speech, to do so. If only life could only imitate the banal cinematic art, just this one time, for clarification purposes, since the filmmaker reserves judgment on the question of whether these sex mavericks are moral or not. The audience needs to hear it from the horse's mouth, concerning the reciprocation of romantic love, in a language they can understand. That's because the men of "Zoo" have cultivated the fantasy in which horses yearn to be their b*tches; to be human, making the zoophiles guilty of the same anthropomorphism we see at the movies, even in the non-talking ones. Similar to the flightless Antarctic birds from "March of the Penguins", the men project onto the horses, the very attributes which make us human, with the slight difference being that in "Zoo", it's the subject, not the filmmaker, who shapes the rhetoric. Identified simply as "H.", the ranch hand insists that "you're connecting with another intelligent being who's happy to be involved," uncannily echoing the sentiments of a child molester who mistakes hubris for compassion. (Both horse and child have no say in the arrangement.) We need "Zoo" to be a talking animals movie, because who is the horse going to tell, but other horses, about the abuse or lack thereof. In the book "The Reality Effect: Film Culture and the Graphic Imperative", a meditation on our first filmed century, cultural critic Joel Black writes about sex, or rather, the suggestion of sex, in classic cinema, where the screen would fade out just as the two lovers get set to consummate their love. Like "Casablanca", the filmmaker leaves it up to the moviegoer's imagination, in regard to the specifics of the deceased man and the stallion, rendezvouing by moonlight inside the hippodrome. Show the unshowable, and the f*cked-up romanticism would be lost, not so dissimilar to the way hardcore pornography would destroy the idealized love between Rick and Ilsa, with sex's literality and utter visceralness. In "Zookeeper", Bernie's story is mitigated by the omission of a flashback, a psychical diegesis, which gives the gorilla the subjective means to bowdlerize his victim narrative, therefore regulating the comedy genre by sublimating orifices into metaphor: he wants to drive(the car key penetrating the ignition), indicating a need for control. (In "Congo", Amy shows no such perversion, choosing her own kind at the end.) As Bernie slow-dances with a T.G.I.F. waitress, zoophilia, the moviegoer realizes with a start, can work both ways. The animals want it too. Stephanie is objectified by the wildlife, since she's the focal point in their animal minds, projecting their essence onto Griffin, whom they live vicariously through, and vice versa, when the "manimal" pees into a potted plant at a wedding, marking his territory like a wolf. Is it just a coincidence that Rosario Dawson, who starred in "Clerks 2"(another film that prominently features beastiality), plays, in essence, the same role, the best friend that the leading man ends up with? Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
Nick5414Oct 4, 2011
Incredibly unfunny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
movieflossJul 10, 2011
This movie has an array of actors that lend their voices to make this a silly but semi-enjoyable movie. It starts off by introducing Griffin (Kevin James), the Lead Zookeeper who works at the Boston zoo, and wants to win back the love of hisThis movie has an array of actors that lend their voices to make this a silly but semi-enjoyable movie. It starts off by introducing Griffin (Kevin James), the Lead Zookeeper who works at the Boston zoo, and wants to win back the love of his life. In fear of losing their most loving Zookeeper, all the zoo animals come together to plot a plan on keeping him around.

This movie will entertain kids of all ages as they will fall in love with all the zoo animals. There is such a wide variety of cute cuddly live animals to incredible CGI ones. I especially liked the bears, they became my favorite of the bunch due to their quirky dismay. I wasnâ
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
AkkharDec 10, 2011
Zookeeper is the "Yogi Bear" of 2011 . With a damaged and unfunny script Zookeeper is just so dull . Keven is better then this . Its not that boring but its not funny and entertaining. There were whole brunch of ideas to make it good but theyZookeeper is the "Yogi Bear" of 2011 . With a damaged and unfunny script Zookeeper is just so dull . Keven is better then this . Its not that boring but its not funny and entertaining. There were whole brunch of ideas to make it good but they just ruined it . The only good moment in this film was T.G.I. Friday with Kevin and Gorilla . The whole segment was good . If that whole movie had that much vibe i would like that . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
aflynnOct 11, 2011
I loved this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!It was hilarious.Great cast.You don't see movies like this very often.Reminds me of FurryI loved this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!It was hilarious.Great cast.You don't see movies like this very often.Reminds me of Furry Vengeance.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
moviemongerJul 30, 2011
One of the most unforgiving reviews is one where the statement "totally miscast" is thrown into the ring. This movie is so bad that voice-overs are miscast. The gorilla in this movie could have been pulled from a Three Stooges sketch,One of the most unforgiving reviews is one where the statement "totally miscast" is thrown into the ring. This movie is so bad that voice-overs are miscast. The gorilla in this movie could have been pulled from a Three Stooges sketch, warranting a 4 year old screaming from his theater seat, "Is that grandpa in that Gorilla Suit?!" None of the voices are memorable - most annoying. The last time I saw so many trips, falls, and unintentional, intentional, accidents I was watching TV Land and Cindy was overacting on yet another episode of "Three's Company". Kevin James is easily the highpoint of this movie - high as in "knee-high to a grasshopper". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
NJWolfgangOct 24, 2011
I watched this because I enjoy Kevin James. The screenplay is just awful and there is nothing in it that even allows James to truly showcase his ability to be funny. The gags which could have been funny even though they are so dated fellI watched this because I enjoy Kevin James. The screenplay is just awful and there is nothing in it that even allows James to truly showcase his ability to be funny. The gags which could have been funny even though they are so dated fell flat and in some cases were painful to watch. When I realized that Adam Sandler was involved in this project I thought it could be fun but even that didn't help. I can't even imagine children finding this remotely amusing unless they were under the age of five. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MusicMovesMeAug 29, 2011
I gave this movie a five because the previews appear to be targeting adult audiences with the romance plot line.
However, I felt this movie would have been more appropriate for a younger audience. Dr Dolittle has been done before, and talking
I gave this movie a five because the previews appear to be targeting adult audiences with the romance plot line.
However, I felt this movie would have been more appropriate for a younger audience. Dr Dolittle has been done before, and talking animals should remain with Disney.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Knicksfan7Jul 13, 2011
Im going to be completely honest and say i enjoyed this movie. Dont get me wrong it wasnt the best film ever but it was enjoyable. You have to be in a very tolerant or open mood in order to enjoy yourself during this movie. If you go inIm going to be completely honest and say i enjoyed this movie. Dont get me wrong it wasnt the best film ever but it was enjoyable. You have to be in a very tolerant or open mood in order to enjoy yourself during this movie. If you go in expecting it to be really good then you will be disappointed but i enjoyed it. It had its flaws like some pretty bad acting from everybody but kevin james, the animations for the animals were pretty bad also, and the giraffe was really annoying, but i love kevin james and his comedy so that made up for the flaws a bit, but it was enjoyable as long as you go into it with an open mind and dont expect much, but it was a cute, fun film. 5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Edward9630Aug 3, 2011
Zookeeper was an alright film. The story was a bit interesting and there were some funny moments in the film. The problems I had with the film is some scenes are just retarded that a normal human being wouldn't do, Kevin James character we'veZookeeper was an alright film. The story was a bit interesting and there were some funny moments in the film. The problems I had with the film is some scenes are just retarded that a normal human being wouldn't do, Kevin James character we've seen in other films before and the character follows animals advice in relationship when animals and human are different and why would he even follow their advice. Overall kids would probably enjoy this but for adults not so much. I would recommend this film to be a rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BenIsThisGuyAug 2, 2011
Awful movie because I could not keep focus and so slow it was almost pointless to watch. I would not even watch this for free if I could watch it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KadeemluvmusicAug 25, 2011
This isn't what talking animal movies are all about. As an excuse for being a Dr. Dolittle rip-off, sure the movie is Zookeeper. But Kevin James was a big stud when he played Paul Blart Mall Cop and the movie was absolutely funny. For the sadThis isn't what talking animal movies are all about. As an excuse for being a Dr. Dolittle rip-off, sure the movie is Zookeeper. But Kevin James was a big stud when he played Paul Blart Mall Cop and the movie was absolutely funny. For the sad part, I couldn't find a Zookeeper around here. Maybe he's trying to steal jewelry or make a bad impression of an Eddie Murphy wannabe. But I like to be said that Zookeeper is one of the worst talking animal movie of 2011. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DarkstarshadesAug 12, 2011
Didn't laughed at all, really hated it, felt offended and wanted to leave, a group of children below me were falling asleep, please note that this movie is very much like that of the night in the Musseum, or whathever, that stuff, haha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Egypt1amAug 20, 2011
I went to see planet of the apes and they accidentally started The Zookeeper, we got 3 minutes of it before they switched the tapes, it nearly killed me!!!! No thanks
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TacoPieOverlordSep 4, 2011
i think this thing is stupid it isnt worth money theres no good comedy and it is with talking animals wow ive never seen talking animals did you pick up on my sarcasm i hate this i hope you do too
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
BooleanflixSep 10, 2011
Griffin, a committed zookeeper, proposes to his girlfriend, Stephanie, on a beach. Sadly, it did not go to plan since she was ashamed of being with a zookeeper. 5 years later, Griffin sets his mind only on his career and the animals, butGriffin, a committed zookeeper, proposes to his girlfriend, Stephanie, on a beach. Sadly, it did not go to plan since she was ashamed of being with a zookeeper. 5 years later, Griffin sets his mind only on his career and the animals, but Stephanie returns in the attempt to gain Griffinâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rishSep 11, 2011
Zookeeper is a great family comedy movie. It's very easy to understand and I'd recommend this movie to anyone who likes comedy.it's also pretty cute that the animals talk and I feel sorry about the hurt gorilla.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SmileyJammOct 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ah... man. This plot is stupid. The comedy part is somewhat funny but the plot is rather stupid all it is a guy trying to get a girl thats it. The kids will like the movie but you will find the movie stupid and the plot dumb.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
A truly boring and mostly plotless film, but it manages to at the very least maintain a sense of likability throughout its duration, and that's more than I can say for some of Kevin James' other films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ReviewZone212Feb 2, 2013
This movie isn't funny, it just feels like a rushed comedy, if ur kids want to watch it, then go and waste ur money, otherwise, you should not give a about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cag11Dec 1, 2013
This movie was awful, that I can't even explain it. The acting wasn't that good, but the plot is just terrible. The comedy isn't even funny. It has an extremely unoriginal plot and a terrible script overall. I just hope they don't make a Zookeeper 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lukechristianscApr 6, 2014
Zookeeper is just an orginal kevin james movie . the comedy is sort of enjoyable . Grade A- ............................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
iCronicJul 11, 2014
It´s just bad, the talking animals are poorly animated, especially the Gorilla, this mf looks retarded af. I really don´t know what they thought as they made this
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
toronto905Sep 28, 2015
Stop hating the characters and just be positive! It's flawed but fascinating! Kevin James and the rest of the wisecracking animals make this film shine. Although this is little kids comedy and reliant on slapstick humour and silly little kidsStop hating the characters and just be positive! It's flawed but fascinating! Kevin James and the rest of the wisecracking animals make this film shine. Although this is little kids comedy and reliant on slapstick humour and silly little kids jokes, it's still fun to watch! It's also really good at in-depth character analysis, finding out who you really are and who the true love of your life is. I'm a teen and I laughed several times throughout this movie. It also explores different aspects of the characters personality. So watch this if you're feeling bored. It'll cheer you up for sure! Kevin James has that funny clown's slapstick humour. Here's a tip for the parents: open up a little and focus on the films message: not how to propose someone but it's finding out who you really are and befriending others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Jollyjoe1000Dec 21, 2015
I honestly did not find anything that appealing about this movie. It mostly was not enjoyable.It just is not worth watching.It is also embarrassing to watch.The characters make fools of them selves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Mar 2, 2016
A Nice comedy, very light and fun. I really enjoyed watching this movie.

Watch this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1d4569-ZOOKEEPER-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeFeb 23, 2016
A bland Zoolander only with Kevin James as the star. At the end, you'll possibly want more when the rest of us can go crawl under our beds hoping for a sequel to not happen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews