• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 5, 2017
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 6, 2017
    60
    The opening real-time hour is pretty engaging--knottily plotted yet streamlined enough to hold the attention of football fans left burping on sofas across this great land on Sunday. ...But after a few hours of 24: Legacy, I wasn’t very engaged by all the scrambling around, the twists that prove to be double-crosses that will probably turn out to be triple-crosses.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 3, 2017
    58
    It’s all very breathless, as it should be, and Carter scores points by weaponizing a rather large object at the first episode’s end. But the original “24” was character-driven to a large extent by Keifer Sutherland’s Jack Bauer and elevated even further when Mary Lynn Rajskub’s Chloe O’Brian came along. No such fire or chemistry is evident here.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 3, 2017
    58
    The 24 franchise still takes itself very seriously and perhaps will somehow sort things out from a basic believability standpoint as time marches on. But in the first four hours, it’s too often 24: Cuckoo Clock.
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 3, 2017
    50
    What 24: Legacy lacks in nail-biting excitement, it makes up for in head-spinning politics. For all the fears of a looming Muslim attack on American soil that 24: Legacy fans, its values are not entirely predictable.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 3, 2017
    50
    Usually “24” descends into silliness in its final third act, and by that time, it has built up a reservoir of goodwill so viewers are determined to finish the day. Not so much with this one.
  6. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Feb 2, 2017
    50
    Mr. Smits, like Mr. Hawkins, gets off to a slow start, but, by the fourth hour, is becoming interesting. So aside from Jack Bauer, all of the standard “24” elements are in place, including the big-budget look.
  7. Reviewed by: Josh Bell
    Feb 2, 2017
    50
    Seeing Jack go through the old motions in 2014 revival season Live Another Day had a certain nostalgic appeal, but without him Legacy is mostly just a pointless retread.
  8. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 1, 2017
    50
    At 12 episodes instead of 24, Legacy may be able to avoid some of the more absurd detours that plagued the original, but the formula remains the same: Technology is great, but human ingenuity tops it every time.
  9. Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Jan 31, 2017
    50
    It seemed new and different 16 years ago. Today ... it sort of feels like more of the same. Even without Jack Bauer.
  10. Reviewed by: Josh Wilding
    Jan 17, 2017
    50
    Yes, there’s still time for it to turn things around and there’s no denying that this pilot is a decent enough start, but by bringing little in the way of new or original material to the table, Fox may struggle to keep viewers around for the long haul, especially seasoned fans who are used to so much better.
  11. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Feb 6, 2017
    40
    The series continues to exploit hot-button issues for pulse-pounding fantasy--albeit in a manner that, when contrasted to the more modern (if equally silly) Homeland, comes across as clunky and outdated.
  12. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Feb 6, 2017
    40
    Hawkins is a compelling presence, and his handling of the show’s signature action sequences suggests an actor who can carry a show. But as a character, Eric Carter is a bit of a dud, with a snooze of a backstory that does little to enliven him.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Feb 3, 2017
    40
    This sometimes talky and often preposterous Legacy effort has all of the annoying flaws of Kiefer Sutherland's long-running "24" and none of its considerable strengths.
  14. Reviewed by: Dan Lucas
    Feb 3, 2017
    40
    Corey Hawkins does a perfectly serviceable job in the thankless role of playing the new Jack, as do the other leads Jimmy Smits and Miranda Otto. But you'll have more fun rewatching your season one DVD.
  15. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 2, 2017
    40
    It’s unfortunate that four episodes in, Hawkins never gets to demonstrate much in the way of character development; as a new hero, he’s mostly saddled with replicating Jack Bauer’s forward momentum, with no time for us to get inside his head. In fact, that lack of imagination and depth is what mars 24: Legacy.
  16. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 31, 2017
    40
    24: Legacy takes all those basics and executes them with rote diligence, without adding anything in the way of inspiration or relevance (unless you count the occasional appearance of drones). Many of the elements added or altered in this incarnation of the franchise are forgettable at best and questionable at worst.
  17. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Jan 30, 2017
    40
    If you’re going to watch this series, give Hawkins a chance. It’s not his fault that 24: Legacy Coto and Katz have pretty much handed him Jack Bauer’s broken-down, sweaty and funky shoes and asked him to run a marathon in them. ... The element of 24: Legacy that feels especially tedious, though, is its return to the well of radical Islamic terrorism.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 76
  2. Negative: 34 out of 76
  1. Feb 5, 2017
    3
    Damn this is hard. This actually started out great. I felt something akin to what I felt with the original 24. The mystery, the action, theDamn this is hard. This actually started out great. I felt something akin to what I felt with the original 24. The mystery, the action, the anticipation... Until Eric broke the chair he was tied to (he was sitting) by hitting a man behind him with the chair. That was when I realised I was in for a mess. The show just feels like an empty shell of the original. Not gonna hold out much hope for this. The mystery/suspense though is still intact. Full Review »
  2. Feb 17, 2017
    3
    I really looked forward to this show, and the first episode wasn't too bad. But now that I've watched the next 2 episodes, I find it to beI really looked forward to this show, and the first episode wasn't too bad. But now that I've watched the next 2 episodes, I find it to be disappointing. I just can't get past the main character-he's not even close to Jack Bauer. He needs to have some grit and confidence, and command respect, but he just doesn't. I'll continue to watch it because there isn't much else on, and maybe it will get better. But if it doesn't improve, I don't think that we'll see it renewed for another season. Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2017
    5
    '24: Legacy' fails to conjure the charisma of its predecessor, but it isn't such a mess as many try to portray it. It can be entertaining even'24: Legacy' fails to conjure the charisma of its predecessor, but it isn't such a mess as many try to portray it. It can be entertaining even with that huge amount of flaws. There are some pretty interesting sequences on the episode and so, for that, I actually won't be saying this is the worst thing I've ever seen. Full Review »