24 : Season 5

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 327 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 327

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RyanA
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    Never A Dull Moment. Best Thing On TV Now That Football is Over. A Show Like No Other.
  2. JeffS
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    Hands down, the best show on television right now.
  3. brandeeg
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    this show is so addicting. i bought all of the seasons and i'm dying for season five to come out.
  4. IoannisP
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    After a disapointing 4th season, the first 7 episodes have completely restored my faith in the show!!! Go Jack!!
  5. LisaB
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    This is THE BEST Show on TV!! We haven't missed an Episode sinced the very 1st Season!
  6. NancyV
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Five years running and my heart's till pounding. Just when I think this show can't maintain the tension and excitement it has in the past, it gets more tense & exciting. The trick is to let the rest of the world know -- don't phone at 9:00 p.m. Mondays...
  7. MikeM
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    An outstanding show. The story line is intelligent, the acting is generally good and it keeps me constantly looking at the clock wishing time would move backwards so I can watch longer.
  8. MelodyY
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    This show is the best. Very addictive. Love the twists too. However some of the non main characters can be annoying.
  9. mark
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    This is the definitely the most well plotted and well acted show that is on television, not to mention the most suspenseful and all around best. Without 24, there would be no reason to wake up in the morning
  10. HollyL
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    Absolutely the best show on television. Intelligent, well written, fast paced with sharply defined characters. It's the only thing my television gets turned on for.
  11. MattD
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    I have been watching this since the first season and I have never been disappointed with the show. It always keeps you in suspense. When this show is on, my eyes are always peeled to the TV. I am oblivious to anything else. I couldn
  12. MossyH
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Great, just great, keeps getting better all the time
  13. RussellW
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Season 5 is the first season that I have watched of 24 and it was an amazing season. After listening to my college professors and fellow students rant about the show for weeks on end, I finally decided to tune in. I do have to say, this is the first television show I have looked forward to watching since Ninja Turtles as a kid.
  14. jasonm
    May 25, 2006
    10
    far and away the best show on tv!!!!!! can't wait until january
  15. TessI
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    Addictive! I watched the DVD's till 6:00 in the morning for I simply can't sleep without knowing what's going to happen next!
  16. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Beautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 hasBeautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 has on the human mind. Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Season 5: Jack Bauer and 24 at their finest. This probably his best season ever, even beating out my old favorite, season 2. No show can get my adrenaline racing like 24. 5 is the peak season of an incredible series
  18. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This show is the best show of all time, i was more committed to this show then a black person was to popeyes and i had to be home by monday night at 9 pm me and my dad would jerk off to this show and the end of this season is some doom and lots of surprises this season is my favorite season
  19. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    The best season of 24 by a long shot. With the amazing twists in the beginning, game changing twists and death, this show has gotten so good, it has to fall at some point
  20. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Vuelve 24. Después de las anteriores temporadas que no son malas, esta destaca su trama como las mejores de todas las temporadas. Excitante, completa, adictiva e imponente como nos acostumbra.
  21. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    By far the best season and was always going to be hard to top, the emotions of Anger, Frustration, and Relief, causing you to scream at the TV as if you're willing on your favorite football team. the 24 Team have the knack at finding and developing characters so that you hate them with a passion whilst willing on the heroes to prevail
  22. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Perfect. No more words.
    I hate the many deads, because I love the characters.
    The president as the Bad Guy?? PER-FECT!!
    The best season of the entire show.
  23. Aug 20, 2016
    10
    wll i have to be honest still one of the seasons in any tv show ever. 24 is still one of best tv show i watched, beside perhaps the wire or game of thrones. But season 5, fantastic plot,great characters , and even if you did`nt like the earlier season this season is really worth watching simple because of the villain.
    I watched this over 7 times and this is no exaggeration , i am watching
    wll i have to be honest still one of the seasons in any tv show ever. 24 is still one of best tv show i watched, beside perhaps the wire or game of thrones. But season 5, fantastic plot,great characters , and even if you did`nt like the earlier season this season is really worth watching simple because of the villain.
    I watched this over 7 times and this is no exaggeration , i am watching it agani now after 3-4 years since last time is so good. No dull moment, the casting is great. And i will just say this bear in mind this is my first tv show review and the only eason that is close to this imo that is very good must be the wire season 3-4 , or breaking bad season 2-4 , but anyway if i really had to have a favourite it has to be this season , so good. If there is any season worth a 10 this is it.
    Expand
  24. SampsonS
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    A great return for the series. In response ti Jakes comments about Chloe (: I think she acts the part of an highly intelligent, but socially inept women very well. Her best moment was in series 4, after she shot someone. She Jack and Tony are the continuation the show needs. Will she stay for the next series?
  25. JasonT
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    Season 5 of 24 is arguably the series best season yet. The death of Palmer, and President Logan being the mastermind, were two excellently shocking twists to the series. Some may think the President being evil was stupid, but they know nothing of true politics, and 24 does. This huge leap in terrorism perfectly described how afraid we really should be, not just of terrorism, but of the Season 5 of 24 is arguably the series best season yet. The death of Palmer, and President Logan being the mastermind, were two excellently shocking twists to the series. Some may think the President being evil was stupid, but they know nothing of true politics, and 24 does. This huge leap in terrorism perfectly described how afraid we really should be, not just of terrorism, but of the government. this season shocked me more than ever, and I can't wait for the next season. Easily on of the best shows on TV. Expand
  26. mgsc
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    Prior to Sundaym, I had never before watched 24 in prime time, preferring to watch the boxed DVD sets. However, after watching the first four hours, I discovered that while the commercials are annoying, the serialized nature of the storyline is less contrived and more believable when watched in installments. I am rather troubled by the show's continuing motif of periled and annoying Prior to Sundaym, I had never before watched 24 in prime time, preferring to watch the boxed DVD sets. However, after watching the first four hours, I discovered that while the commercials are annoying, the serialized nature of the storyline is less contrived and more believable when watched in installments. I am rather troubled by the show's continuing motif of periled and annoying wives/girlfriends/kids. Well, at least we have been spared the fingernails-on-the-blackboard overacting of Elisha Cuthbert. Let's hope she sticks to making tawdry teen flicks. Overall, an impressive premiere. Expand
  27. JillayneB
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    Heart pounding excitement, but ohhh...to lose 2 of the very best characters in the first few minutes??? I deducted one point for extreme violence; thrills are one thing but I hope they keep the lid on future graphic violence or I fear they will lose some viewers---mainly women.
  28. C.B.
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    Awesome, as always.
  29. RaymondK
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    Having let itself down in the previous two seasons, this the 5th day, is proving to be as exhilirating as the 1st. Keep up the good work. Goodbye.
  30. JonnyM
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    Excellent. It has the most perfect casting, writing and pacing. Kiefer Sutherland is never less than compelling and the twists and turns keep the interest levels on high. If there's a fault it's that the show tends to recycle things from previous seasons, but if it works (and it does), stick with it!
  31. TomB.
    Jan 16, 2006
    9
    This is the first time I've decided to watch a season of 24, and by the looks of it, I'll be getting the old DVDs soon. As good as it gets these days on free TV.
  32. LindaB
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    I am using 9.999 only because as impossible as it is, I know it is going to get better as ithe day progresses !!!! Jack is back!!!!!
  33. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    The story line is similar to other seasons. Enemies are Southeast or Soviet Union, betrayer and surprise ending... But still love it. I've had so much fun.

    - mvtls.com
  34. Nov 4, 2016
    9
    One of the best seasons to grace TV screens, 24 : Season 5 starts with a bang, continues with more bangs, and ends on a similarly high note thanks to unbelievable plot twists, terrific writing, brilliant action, non-stop thrills and wonderfully shot and paced story and action.
  35. Jul 22, 2015
    9
    Day 5 of 24 is the best yet with unbelievable plot twists, terrific writing, brilliant action, non-stop thrills and wonderfully shot and paced story and action.
  36. JustinW
    Apr 8, 2006
    8
    Even after four seasons of cast changes, 24 remains a compelling and intense show. Great actors who play their roles to the fullest are one of the best things about 24. The bad? Every season a key person (or people) die, the show can be too fast at times, and some events (such as treason) are recycled per season.
  37. DrewF
    Feb 12, 2006
    8
    If i were rating the show from the beginning, it would definitely be a 10, but i'm rating this on just this current season, so far. To be honest, it hasn't grabbed my attention as much as last season did right from the get-go. Still GREAT television, but th presence of both Tony and Palmer are sorely missed. Hopefully we won't have to wait much longer before Tony comes out If i were rating the show from the beginning, it would definitely be a 10, but i'm rating this on just this current season, so far. To be honest, it hasn't grabbed my attention as much as last season did right from the get-go. Still GREAT television, but th presence of both Tony and Palmer are sorely missed. Hopefully we won't have to wait much longer before Tony comes out of that coma! In the meantime, characters like Edgar and Curtis are picking up the slack admirably, but.. they aren't Tony :P Expand
  38. Jake
    Feb 24, 2006
    7
    The first four episodes were stellar, but ever since the nerve gas/government cover-up was introduced, it lost steam. Unfortunately, most of the supporting actors can't act at all (I want to wring Chloe's scrawny pelican neck everytime she talks). Sean Austin's doing a decent job playing a nice guy trying to be mean, and Kiefer Sutherland is amazing as usual. I say more The first four episodes were stellar, but ever since the nerve gas/government cover-up was introduced, it lost steam. Unfortunately, most of the supporting actors can't act at all (I want to wring Chloe's scrawny pelican neck everytime she talks). Sean Austin's doing a decent job playing a nice guy trying to be mean, and Kiefer Sutherland is amazing as usual. I say more Jack, less of the President's damn wife. Don't try to be west wing, just be the action show we all can't stop watching......yet. Expand
  39. TT
    Oct 31, 2007
    7
    I found this season pretty disappointing. Writing that is more melodramatic than usual, it just didn't hold up. Still fairly entertaining, but a big drop from seasons past.
  40. Mar 5, 2012
    7
    Far from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life. Traditionally, the series starts its year on a high and sags in the middle rounds, but Fox's clever scheduling ploy of launching the show with four hours over two nightsFar from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life. Traditionally, the series starts its year on a high and sags in the middle rounds, but Fox's clever scheduling ploy of launching the show with four hours over two nights should plant the hook deep based on those episodes, leading loyalists to hang on for the thrill ride. Beginning 18 months after Jack faked his death, the series quickly launches into a new threat, with twists that Fox has understandably asked critics not to disclose. As for the plot, it's enough to say the officious, sniveling bureaucrat who took office last season, President Logan is still in power, banking on a Russian summit to serve as the apex of his presidency. In the world of "24," such events are never without a hitch, but the ever-present theme of terrorism and how bad good guys must become to counter evil gets a bit less of a ham-fisted working over this time around. Then again, perhaps that's merely in comparison to season four, which featured so many acts of righteous torture it began to seem as if Dick Cheney was among the showrunners. As always, truly savoring this tightrope act requires some suspension of disbelief, from the synergistic plugs for Fox News to the ridiculously navigable L.A. traffic, as people zip from place to place in those ubiquitous Fords at a pace that can only leave real-life commuters scoffing. Still, the show continues to feature a top-notch cast, with Kiefer Sutherland providing the right mix of can-do machismo and world-weariness as the indomitable Jack, who has found a new love interest that, based on history, is sure to end badly. Frankly, I'd still like to see Fox roll the dice by bringing the series back without him -- letting some new agent suffer Job's trials to keep us free -- but there's no denying the grit and intensity the actor invests in the role. Joining the ensemble, meanwhile, is the intriguing Jean Smart as the troubled First Lady and Sean Astin as a new overseer of the Counter-Terrorism Unit. Back, too, is Mary Lynn Rajskub as Jack's tech-geek ally Chloe, who at one point assures a third party there's nothing to worry about as Jack sneaks up behind a heavily armed man. "Relax," she says, in a voice that invariably suggests anything but relaxing, "he's really good at this." That he is. Expand
  41. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    SPOILERS!!!! They killed off every great character! Palmer, Almeida, Dessler, even Edgar, the fat guy with a lisp. The first three were killed in the first quarter and as a result the rest of the season felt very sparse and empty. No wonder everyone says S6 onwards is where 24 goes downhill. Getting rid of Tony was a big mistake though; he was the second best and most likeableSPOILERS!!!! They killed off every great character! Palmer, Almeida, Dessler, even Edgar, the fat guy with a lisp. The first three were killed in the first quarter and as a result the rest of the season felt very sparse and empty. No wonder everyone says S6 onwards is where 24 goes downhill. Getting rid of Tony was a big mistake though; he was the second best and most likeable character next to Jack and his now lack of presence has left a huge space that isn't being filled. The way he communicated with Jack was, unlike Jack with everyone else, less formal and provided a different dynamic. Overall the show continues to slip in quality ever since S2 yet despite that, it's still definitely worth a watch, as it's yet another enticing 24 puzzle that we need to see unravelled. Ignore the 9.3 user score because it's ridiculous; it would put S5 the highest season of 24 when it's the least best one out of the five so far. Still very good though. Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A heart-pounding, mesmerizing adventure unlike anything else up or down the dial.
  2. It's the most thrilling premiere hour of "24" yet.
  3. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    I didn’t know how 24 could top last season, but so far it’s working. And the edge of my seat is already frayed.