24 : Season 5

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland) has tried both retirement and death, but he still finds himself dragged back into CTU for another long day of work without a single bathroom break. New cast members this season include Sean Astin and Jean Smart.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. A heart-pounding, mesmerizing adventure unlike anything else up or down the dial.
  2. Having seen the first four episodes, you need to be a part of this. You need to doff the skepticism and get on the ride.
  3. Four hours in, living up to past standards no longer is in question. Setting new ones is what's going on here, as "24," partly by cashing in on our knowledge of and commitment to previous seasons and characters, gets off to its best start ever.
  4. 90
    The first four hours confirm that 24 remains powerfully addictive.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    I didn’t know how 24 could top last season, but so far it’s working. And the edge of my seat is already frayed.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    At least in the first four hours... the show reminds us of the intense thrills it can provide even without threatening to blow up the entire planet.
  7. "24" still provides an irresistible blend of iPodish computer wizardry and "Perils of Pauline" cliffhanger suspense.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 151
  1. DanW
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Unashamedly brilliant. Pushes the envelope in every field and becomes the new benchmark to which other TV dramas can only dream of aspiring to.
  2. JoeD
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    When there is a show on TV like "24", who needs to go to the theatre. This show gives the best adrenline rush every episode, best cliff When there is a show on TV like "24", who needs to go to the theatre. This show gives the best adrenline rush every episode, best cliff hangers, best acting. Thank You everyone with "24"! Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Beautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best oneBeautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 has on the human mind. Expand
  4. BrettR
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Best show ever created!
  5. StefanB
    May 30, 2006
    10
    Jack is back... better than ever. 24 was my favorite TV-show by far from the beginning, and kept that status even though I had the feeling it Jack is back... better than ever. 24 was my favorite TV-show by far from the beginning, and kept that status even though I had the feeling it went a bit downhill each season. For me, Season 1 and 2 were both the best so far, each one with its own great strength and little weakness. 3 and 4 were still great, but just not so great any more. Then came Season 5. Seeing the frist few episodes, it looked like the combination of the strength of Season 1 and 2. Hopes were high, and they were fulfilled more and more with each episode, each twist and turn and even a deeply missed S1-Nina-Bauer-Moment near the end. This Season has it all, and a bit more of it. My only fear is that there is no way ever that they can top this with the coming episodes... but then, they're a bit like Jack himself. They just do the impossible. Expand
  6. ShawnU
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This was the first season I ever watched and let me tell you this, it was intense! Shocking twist and turns and one brillent story. 24 is This was the first season I ever watched and let me tell you this, it was intense! Shocking twist and turns and one brillent story. 24 is shockingly awesome. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jan 16, 2006
    0
    honestly, i watched two episodes and i knew the end of the season. Predictable, gimmicky nonsense

See all 151 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.