• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 296 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Jean Smart, Carlos Bernard, Mary Lynn Rajskub
  • Summary: Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland) has tried both retirement and death, but he still finds himself dragged back into CTU for another long day of work without a single bathroom break. New cast members this season include Sean Astin and Jean Smart.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    The fifth season of this filmlike thriller is metaphorically knocking my socks off. My actual socks remain on.
  2. 100
    This is 24 at its fast, furious, exaggerated best, filled with well-drawn subsidiary characters and rapid-fire surprises, all held in place by Kiefer Sutherland's great, under-sung performance as Jack.
  3. 100
    Nothing but shocker after shocker.
  4. It's the most thrilling premiere hour of "24" yet.
  5. 90
    Surprising doesn't begin to describe what happens.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Far from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 150
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Season 5: Jack Bauer and 24 at their finest. This probably his best season ever, even beating out my old favorite, season 2. No show can get my adrenaline racing like 24. 5 is the peak season of an incredible series Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Beautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 has on the human mind. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This show is the best show of all time, i was more committed to this show then a black person was to popeyes and i had to be home by monday night at 9 pm me and my dad would jerk off to this show and the end of this season is some doom and lots of surprises this season is my favorite season Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Perfect. No more words.
    I hate the many deads, because I love the characters.
    The president as the Bad Guy?? PER-FECT!!
    The best season of
    the entire show. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    The best season of 24 by a long shot. With the amazing twists in the beginning, game changing twists and death, this show has gotten so good, it has to fall at some point Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    The story line is similar to other seasons. Enemies are Southeast or Soviet Union, betrayer and surprise ending... But still love it. I've had so much fun.

    - mvtls.com
    Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    7
    Far from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life. Traditionally, the series starts its year on a high and sags in the middle rounds, but Fox's clever scheduling ploy of launching the show with four hours over two nights should plant the hook deep based on those episodes, leading loyalists to hang on for the thrill ride. Beginning 18 months after Jack faked his death, the series quickly launches into a new threat, with twists that Fox has understandably asked critics not to disclose. As for the plot, it's enough to say the officious, sniveling bureaucrat who took office last season, President Logan is still in power, banking on a Russian summit to serve as the apex of his presidency. In the world of "24," such events are never without a hitch, but the ever-present theme of terrorism and how bad good guys must become to counter evil gets a bit less of a ham-fisted working over this time around. Then again, perhaps that's merely in comparison to season four, which featured so many acts of righteous torture it began to seem as if Dick Cheney was among the showrunners. As always, truly savoring this tightrope act requires some suspension of disbelief, from the synergistic plugs for Fox News to the ridiculously navigable L.A. traffic, as people zip from place to place in those ubiquitous Fords at a pace that can only leave real-life commuters scoffing. Still, the show continues to feature a top-notch cast, with Kiefer Sutherland providing the right mix of can-do machismo and world-weariness as the indomitable Jack, who has found a new love interest that, based on history, is sure to end badly. Frankly, I'd still like to see Fox roll the dice by bringing the series back without him -- letting some new agent suffer Job's trials to keep us free -- but there's no denying the grit and intensity the actor invests in the role. Joining the ensemble, meanwhile, is the intriguing Jean Smart as the troubled First Lady and Sean Astin as a new overseer of the Counter-Terrorism Unit. Back, too, is Mary Lynn Rajskub as Jack's tech-geek ally Chloe, who at one point assures a third party there's nothing to worry about as Jack sneaks up behind a heavily armed man. "Relax," she says, in a voice that invariably suggests anything but relaxing, "he's really good at this." That he is. Expand

See all 150 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.