• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 301 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Jean Smart, Carlos Bernard, Mary Lynn Rajskub
  • Summary: Jack Bauer (Kiefer Sutherland) has tried both retirement and death, but he still finds himself dragged back into CTU for another long day of work without a single bathroom break. New cast members this season include Sean Astin and Jean Smart.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    The fifth season of this filmlike thriller is metaphorically knocking my socks off. My actual socks remain on.
  2. 100
    This is 24 at its fast, furious, exaggerated best, filled with well-drawn subsidiary characters and rapid-fire surprises, all held in place by Kiefer Sutherland's great, under-sung performance as Jack.
  3. 100
    Nothing but shocker after shocker.
  4. It's the most thrilling premiere hour of "24" yet.
  5. 90
    Surprising doesn't begin to describe what happens.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Far from running out of tricks, the fifth season of "24" opens with a bang, incorporating an element of mystery that promises to be more satisfying than the somewhat disappointing fourth day in Jack Bauer's very busy life.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 150
  1. DanW
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Unashamedly brilliant. Pushes the envelope in every field and becomes the new benchmark to which other TV dramas can only dream of aspiring to.
  2. JoeD
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    When there is a show on TV like "24", who needs to go to the theatre. This show gives the best adrenline rush every episode, best cliff hangers, best acting. Thank You everyone with "24"! Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Beautifully Scripted, wonderfully cast. Incredible plot twists that keep the audience entertained and satisfied. This season is the best one since the first. Benefiting on a mesmerizing performance from Kiefer Sutherland in each and every episode, the show has yet to die down in its complexity. There are no words in the English language that can accurately describe the effects that 24 has on the human mind. Expand
  4. BrettR
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Best show ever created!
  5. StefanB
    May 30, 2006
    10
    Jack is back... better than ever. 24 was my favorite TV-show by far from the beginning, and kept that status even though I had the feeling it went a bit downhill each season. For me, Season 1 and 2 were both the best so far, each one with its own great strength and little weakness. 3 and 4 were still great, but just not so great any more. Then came Season 5. Seeing the frist few episodes, it looked like the combination of the strength of Season 1 and 2. Hopes were high, and they were fulfilled more and more with each episode, each twist and turn and even a deeply missed S1-Nina-Bauer-Moment near the end. This Season has it all, and a bit more of it. My only fear is that there is no way ever that they can top this with the coming episodes... but then, they're a bit like Jack himself. They just do the impossible. Expand
  6. ShawnU
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This was the first season I ever watched and let me tell you this, it was intense! Shocking twist and turns and one brillent story. 24 is shockingly awesome. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jan 16, 2006
    0
    honestly, i watched two episodes and i knew the end of the season. Predictable, gimmicky nonsense

See all 150 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.