24 : Season 6

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 188

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Slotkins
    Jun 28, 2007
    5
    Same ol', same ol'. Yeah, I watched it all, but by the end felt like I'd seen it all before - and just last year. It's just a soap opera with an suitcase nukes. And what did we learn this season? That torture is wrong - if the subject is in the regular cast, otherwise go ahead. I'd like to water-board the creators and see if next season is just another hack-job Same ol', same ol'. Yeah, I watched it all, but by the end felt like I'd seen it all before - and just last year. It's just a soap opera with an suitcase nukes. And what did we learn this season? That torture is wrong - if the subject is in the regular cast, otherwise go ahead. I'd like to water-board the creators and see if next season is just another hack-job reshuffle of "previously on 24". Is that all they got? Expand
  2. MarkR
    Jan 28, 2007
    0
    I hate this show! Saw a couple of episodes, same thing happens over and over again. You don't care about the characters....and its just not my kind of show. If you want to see some good thrilling tv...watch lost!
  3. JT
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    why aren't we talking about how THE WIRE is the best show ever made, and not wasting our time on this?
  4. DiggemtheFrog
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    What I have to say about "24" could fill a book, so for now I'll keep it very general. Let me start by saying that I'm glad to see that I'm not alone in my opinion; at least a handful of other people see this show for the dreck that it is. So why can't the critics? Secondly, the new season isn't looking good so far. The last two seasons, and the first one, each What I have to say about "24" could fill a book, so for now I'll keep it very general. Let me start by saying that I'm glad to see that I'm not alone in my opinion; at least a handful of other people see this show for the dreck that it is. So why can't the critics? Secondly, the new season isn't looking good so far. The last two seasons, and the first one, each showed at least one flash of brilliance in the terrorists' plots. To give the devil his due, it's not easy to breathe new life into plots as stale as those involving political assassinations, nuclear bombs and nerve gas -- they've all been done to death. But here we are, just five episodes into the sixth season, and already the show's going over its own tracks. This is the third cell of Arab terrorists who've tried to detonate a nuclear bomb on American soil, and the second to succeed. So now what can they do for an encore? They have four more (supposedly), but just watching four more mushroom clouds won't add much to the excitement. Maybe they could try to explode one in an oil field, but that's already been attempted, in "The Soldier" (1982). Or they could shoot one into the upper atmosphere to knock out our electric power grid, but that wouldn't work. And now that they've also done the germ warfare bit, what else is a terrorist to do? I think this series has finally run dry. Expand
  5. JayB
    Apr 21, 2007
    2
    Stopped watching. Some of the most melodramatic, hammy acting this side of Day-Time Drama. Can't take the Curtis freak-out, the Bauer family reveal, the silly grotesque characatures that are the antagonists. We all need to say "enough" and send this show packing..
  6. TONYF
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    Best show on television. Period.
  7. EdL
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Continues to be a great show. The only show that I refuse to miss. Kiefer's acting has been first rate, especially in episode 7 on 2-5.
  8. JasonW
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    The first 4 hours were less action packed than last year, but yielded one (if not) the best episodes in the series.
  9. DanielS
    Jan 15, 2007
    4
    After watching the first half of the 4-hour pilot, I feel a little dumber than when I started it. Where to begin...I was wholly put off by the show's cheap attempt to pander to American fears of terrorist attacks, in which no US city--with such improbable targets as San Antonio and Baltimore--is safe from radical Islamist fury. Nothing wrong with a topical TV program, but the After watching the first half of the 4-hour pilot, I feel a little dumber than when I started it. Where to begin...I was wholly put off by the show's cheap attempt to pander to American fears of terrorist attacks, in which no US city--with such improbable targets as San Antonio and Baltimore--is safe from radical Islamist fury. Nothing wrong with a topical TV program, but the show's use of such hot-button topics as fodder for its muscular action feels cheap. As a result, the show works in broad strokes. The neighbor down the street is a racist redneck, the neo-con politico applauds American policy of internment, and the Arab characters are largely monsters. (It would be nice to see a TV show, in which the Arab characters are not terrorists or torturers.) 24 attempts a few liberal gestures by questioning the government's invasion of privacy, but in terms of ideology, the show feels very right-wing. Like such vigilante justice movies as DIRTY HARRY and DEATH WISH, the program makes the case that the patriotic ends justify the very questionable means. By now, 24's narrative gambit has grown tiresome. The show's narrative goals are laid out in the first hour, and it will draw out its story arc by postponing these goals through increasingly improbable twists. It's a standard tactic of film and TV storytelling, but to sustain such a process for 24 episodes calls for a suspension of disbelief that this viewer does not have. Finally, a word about the show's style. The split-screen imagery is often times inspired and the omniscient perspective that the show takes--namely, during the surveillance sequences--creates good suspense. But the show's cutting strikes me as sloppy craftsmanship. The scenes look like they were shot with multiple cameras, or, at the least, the filmmakers shot a huge amount of coverage. This kind of filmmaking tends to pay little attention to the expressivity of staging, subtle gesture, and composition. This is not unusual in television, but I think what really suffers is that the actor's performances are largely constructed through editing, rather than through nuanced figure behavior. This is not to say that the acting in the show would be any better if a different technique were employed. The fact is that the performances here are just plain bad--very flat or else very broad. All in all, a disappointing show, but I guess I was never really a fan from the beginning. Expand
  10. alexr
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    Fantastic
  11. GoofyDisney
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    This show is fun to watch because series after after series CTU, and the presidency don't learn. There is always a assassination attempt, and CTU forget about a sewer network running right under them. In this series i thought the idea that jack's family were involved in the terrorist strikes was slightly unlikely. Ridiculous parts include, -When jack kicks a suicide bomber out This show is fun to watch because series after after series CTU, and the presidency don't learn. There is always a assassination attempt, and CTU forget about a sewer network running right under them. In this series i thought the idea that jack's family were involved in the terrorist strikes was slightly unlikely. Ridiculous parts include, -When jack kicks a suicide bomber out of a train -When jack storms a Russian embassy -When he takes a nuclear component form high security -The president asking for jacks return from a Chinese prison to fight terrorism -The apparent skill jack has with guns -How different the president and vice president are considering how one is center and the other is sometimes far right wing -When the president fakes a nuclear strike on a country -When jack flies a nuclear carrying plane -The apparent sensitivity jack has for his girlfriend after all the torture and killing -Sometimes the timing on the show is off, such as jack has a shave, shower, gets dress and is on the road in less than a minute. -The count less times we find that someone related to someone we already know is apart of the terrorism. Expand
  12. DarshanW.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    24 just picks up where it left off. just breathless action. Yes some of the situations would even get superman in trouble but Jack some how pull it off! first rate!
  13. DrewM
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    This show continues to surprise and delight. Kiefer Sutherland's portrayal of a beaten down Jack this year only adds to the depth of the show. For those who believe that the show is a neo-con fantasy...consider this...all of the torture, Muslim-profiling, and oppressive policy decisions are portrayed as a bad option and usually extreme measures are thwarted. If the show was indeed a This show continues to surprise and delight. Kiefer Sutherland's portrayal of a beaten down Jack this year only adds to the depth of the show. For those who believe that the show is a neo-con fantasy...consider this...all of the torture, Muslim-profiling, and oppressive policy decisions are portrayed as a bad option and usually extreme measures are thwarted. If the show was indeed a neo-con fantasy, there would never be the consequences of torturing suspects, or struggles with ethics of detaining millions of Muslims. We are rooting against Lennox this year remember. If the show was consistent with FOX's news channel however, Lennox would be the hero. Think about it. This show actually shows theoretical negative consequences to extreme measures that reduce civil liberties. I just had to say that because this show is unbelivably good and that associating political intentions with the network that 24 is on is narrow-minded and not rooted in fact. 24 is the best show on television. Period. Expand
  14. MichaelC
    Feb 12, 2007
    4
    This season is filled with poor writing. For example, I think the subplot of Jack's father, Phillip, is beyond ridiculous. Nothing to do with his motives, just CTU's apparent apathy to even question him, let alone allow to freely tamper with evidence, spy on them, etc. I cringed while I watched how dumb that was.
  15. JesperA
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Great so far, Kiefer Sutherland is flawless as always !
  16. MauricioA
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    It's a great Season
  17. lewism
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    intense, clever great acting and non-stop.
  18. JPR
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    The most exciting show on television! Every season is a supreme technical achievement in maintaining the tension, always surprising, while always keeping the real-time clock running. Yes it's not realistic most of the time, but there are some very real sketches of scenarios and situations that could happen to some degree. I love Lost as well, but this show continuously delivers and The most exciting show on television! Every season is a supreme technical achievement in maintaining the tension, always surprising, while always keeping the real-time clock running. Yes it's not realistic most of the time, but there are some very real sketches of scenarios and situations that could happen to some degree. I love Lost as well, but this show continuously delivers and entertains. Jack Bauer is a great conflicted character, with a heart, that kicks ass on a regular basis. It's an easy show to pick at, but fun to watch if you go for the ride. Expand
  19. mikea
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    This is the most intense show on television, I love the suspence and actionin the show. Also the acting is impecable
  20. BrandonW
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    The writers began reaching their prime in Season 4. Last season was the best, and so far this season has just been amazing, definitely showcasing why Kiefer is the best actor on television period.
  21. TonyT
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    Easily the best show on TV. Every episode is action packed. Of course it's not realistic, but that's OK.
  22. MarkB
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    How can you not like this show? Its the best show ever created. Jack the the best person you could ever meet- if you could meet him. Hes just great. I like this show cause its nonstop action. No matter what is happening, you cant take your eyes off the television screen. Mondays from 8-10 (24 along with Prison Break of Drive) are the most action packed hours of the week. You cant make a How can you not like this show? Its the best show ever created. Jack the the best person you could ever meet- if you could meet him. Hes just great. I like this show cause its nonstop action. No matter what is happening, you cant take your eyes off the television screen. Mondays from 8-10 (24 along with Prison Break of Drive) are the most action packed hours of the week. You cant make a show better then this. How anyone can rate this show below a 9 out of 10 is beyond me Expand
  23. MalalaM
    May 7, 2007
    10
    the best ever
  24. 24man
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    Best tv show in the history of television. It goes beyond just being just the "best show" on tv - it is several levels beyond the competition. For the most part, it goes beyond anything that has been done on film as well. Quite simply, 24 is a one-of-a-kind phenomenon.
  25. JohnS
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    24 proves each season to be the best show on television, bar none. No other show on television consistently pumps up your adrenaline and keeps you longing for each new episode. It is the emmy winner for best drama, best actor kiefer sutherland, best director john cassar, best music composition, and more. 24 has changed the average person's weekly outlook on life. No longer do people 24 proves each season to be the best show on television, bar none. No other show on television consistently pumps up your adrenaline and keeps you longing for each new episode. It is the emmy winner for best drama, best actor kiefer sutherland, best director john cassar, best music composition, and more. 24 has changed the average person's weekly outlook on life. No longer do people look forward to the weekends, they look forward to Mondays at 9/8 c to watch the all new episode of 24. Expand
  26. JoshC
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    There is no better show on television. Period.
  27. Tom
    Jan 14, 2007
    3
    Yes, it continues being an addicting show after you watch a few episodes, but it is still laughably unrealistic and accompanied by a weak acting class. I'm finally giving up on this show and finding something a little more intelligent to watch.
  28. [Anonymous]
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Best season premier yet. Even better than last years. The best show on tv.
  29. antoniom
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    it took about an hour to warm up but then it became once again the roller coaster ride we have come to know and love
  30. SteveA
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Although the opening episodes were not as powerful as previous seasons, it is still by far the best show on TV!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 90
    Far from taking anything away from the pulse-pounding show, thanks to Kiefer Sutherland’s magnetic performance, Bauer’s subtle psychological anguish may be the most interesting surprise of “24’s” new season.
  2. 80
    Where does that leave Season 6, then, when the show has stemmed major disasters for five years running and its intensity level of choice is 11? As well-oiled as before, actually, and, judging from the four hours airing over Sunday and Monday, unafraid of edging its parallel-universe America ever closer toward a world war nightmare of mass hysteria.
  3. Unlike most serialized dramas of late... "24" continues to do everything right.