A to Z : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2014
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 2, 2014
    83
    Those who long for a replacement for “How I Met Your Mother” (back when that show was good) might find a good match here.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 1, 2014
    83
    As with "HIMYM," guessing where that will be could be part of the fun--or frustration, if A to Z loses control of the story. Thursday's opener is so sharply executed, however, that doesn't look to be much of a concern.
  3. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Sep 15, 2014
    83
    The two leads are very charming, and the first episode sizzles with promise.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 2, 2014
    80
    Much of A to Z deals in a different kind of action than most recent sitcoms about young singles, where the only goal often seems to be setting up predictable sex jokes. Because of that, A to Z may seem a little less frenetic. In truth, that’s good.
  5. Reviewed by: Sarah Huggins
    Oct 2, 2014
    80
    Witty dialogue combined with the likability of the squeaky-clean Feldman and Milioti will bring you in for the first few letters, but the supporting players will keep you in through the letter Z.
  6. Reviewed by: Mekeisha Madden Toby
    Oct 2, 2014
    80
    Milioti and Feldman infuse a lot of freshness into what could've been a stale and staid outing. They are deftly convincing as a couple of young and attractive professionals who look for love, find it and have to figure out what to do next. All viewers have to do next, is start watching.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 2, 2014
    80
    Cute, light and--most importantly--funny.
  8. Reviewed by: Melody Chiu
    Oct 3, 2014
    75
    With many clichés coming straight from romantic comedy films, A to Z gets slightly cheesy at times, but Feldman and Milioti's easy chemistry makes their banter believable and, well, downright adorable.
  9. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Oct 3, 2014
    75
    The writing can be smart and Feldman shows a real gift for playing neurotics whose grand flourishes will strike women as either romantic or totally creepy.
  10. Reviewed by: Molly Eichel
    Sep 30, 2014
    75
    A To Z has the potential to be a sweet romantic comedy—if it doesn’t get caught up in its own quirks first.
  11. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 24, 2014
    75
    Ben Queen’s sitcom is irresistible.
  12. 70
    A to Z glides, mainly because its stars, Mad Men's Ben Feldman and How I Met Your Mother's Cristin Milioti, are a flat-out great couple, with an understated screwball energy that Howard Hawks would've known what to do with.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Oct 2, 2014
    70
    Feldman and Milioti are so likable they’ll make your teeth hurt from the sugar. And I mean that as a compliment.
  14. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 2, 2014
    70
    A to Z is the most promising comedy premiering on broadcast networks this fall. That's not saying much — this is not a particularly good year for new comedies — but it's saying something.
  15. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Oct 2, 2014
    67
    Both Feldman and Milioti are appealing, but the show doesn't feel particularly fresh, and there's probably one gimmick too many.
  16. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 1, 2014
    67
    Charming and disarming without yet being exceptional, NBC’s breezy A to Z nonetheless comfortably wins this season’s boy-meets-girl bout against ABC’s similarly themed Manhattan Love Story.
  17. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 30, 2014
    67
    [Feldman and Milioti are] bright and appealing, whether together or separately, but they can only do so much to ground the very lightweight and gimmicky show "A to Z" aspires to be.
  18. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 30, 2014
    60
    Ben Feldman and Cristin Milioti are good actors and undeniably adorable together in this competent pilot.... The charm of its cast and, ideally, sharp writing from the NBC show could keep it afloat.
  19. 50
    It's hard to know where a middling comedy will go from just the pilot.
  20. Reviewed by: Zach Hollwedel
    Oct 3, 2014
    50
    Feldman and Milioti are inherently likeable actors, though as Andrew and Zelda, even their allures wane, stretched too thin by underwhelming writing and a disappointing lack of both humor and creativity.
  21. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 2, 2014
    50
    The entire effort is too icky-cute by half, so much so that if you don't leave tonight's premiere wanting to kill the main characters, it's only because of Milioti's and Feldman's efforts.
  22. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 19, 2014
    42
    The cast is adequately charming (if completely cliche), and the show is perky and occasionally sharp, but “A to Z” is also a prime example of the sort of perfectly acceptable yet thoroughly mediocre fall TV show that’s all too easy to ignore.
  23. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 2, 2014
    40
    [An] innocuous yet cloying exercise in precious meet-cute clichés.
  24. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 2, 2014
    20
    A to Z quickly puts you to sleep with its far-fetched Hallmark-style romance.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    The main point here is do you care enough about the characters to watch it again -- to see how their relationship develops. What's next? WeThe main point here is do you care enough about the characters to watch it again -- to see how their relationship develops. What's next? We got the first kiss. Now..(and do we have to jump right to sex?) How about learning about each other; not liking aspects of the other, but the feelings are strong; and does it end in marriage or break up. Good job with the pining -- but it could have been more. I think I care more about the gal's girlfriend then the leads actually. I'll watch it again (3 tastes) and I really hope it is successful. Lame they work across from each other and can see each other work. I'd be creeped out about that. Yet it is unique. He's a dreamer; she's practical. Full Review »
  2. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    I think this show is pretty funny. It has that HIMYM vibe with the whole "destiny" thing. For sitcom i always like the one with ensemble castI think this show is pretty funny. It has that HIMYM vibe with the whole "destiny" thing. For sitcom i always like the one with ensemble cast and this show totally has it. It is a story about Andrew and Zelda but the supporting characters are the ones that keep this show funnier and fresh. The bad is what will happen after 8 month+, it could go really really bad or good. So the writers need to be careful about this. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2014
    3
    Maybe I'm just not the target audience for this cloyingly cute romantic comedy. The humor was in short supply, overwhelmed by the saccharineMaybe I'm just not the target audience for this cloyingly cute romantic comedy. The humor was in short supply, overwhelmed by the saccharine dialogue and story. This could seriously use some subversive elements, otherwise it's like spending 30 minutes locked inside a Hallmark store with no escape Full Review »