Allen Gregory : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 30, 2011
User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 69
  2. Negative: 45 out of 69

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 10, 2011
    4
    Okay, just a quick update. Allen Gregory has gotten slightly better, but I'm still VERY hesitant with it. Last weeks episode was the first actually good episode of the show that also had some humor in it that was actually funny. But, each episode before last weeks was god awful (excluding one small moment in the episode before last where Richard had to clean up after dinner, bagged up allOkay, just a quick update. Allen Gregory has gotten slightly better, but I'm still VERY hesitant with it. Last weeks episode was the first actually good episode of the show that also had some humor in it that was actually funny. But, each episode before last weeks was god awful (excluding one small moment in the episode before last where Richard had to clean up after dinner, bagged up all the fancy glasses & dishes into the tablecloth & then threw it off the balcony onto someones car, though the rest of the episode was garbage).I will say, if the future episode are as good as last weeks, I might be willing to give it a second chance, but if it stays like the episodes prior, it needs to be cancelled ASAP. I will say my rating for the show has gone from a 1/10 to a 4/10. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    4
    These are just some of the cast: Jonah Hill, French Stewart, Leslie Mann, Nat Faxon, Joy Osmanski, Will Forte. How could a show with such a talented and enjoyable cast be so... boring. The majority of the characters are very unlikeable, Allen Gregory is a stuck up di** (but for some reason most people like him). The three female characters, Julie, Gottlieb and Gina, are the only three whoThese are just some of the cast: Jonah Hill, French Stewart, Leslie Mann, Nat Faxon, Joy Osmanski, Will Forte. How could a show with such a talented and enjoyable cast be so... boring. The majority of the characters are very unlikeable, Allen Gregory is a stuck up di** (but for some reason most people like him). The three female characters, Julie, Gottlieb and Gina, are the only three who don't like Allen Gregory (they're also three of the only characters I like). A complete and utter disgrace!! Should've NEVER been made! Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    Jonah Hill is hilarious. Despite dissimilar reviews, I enjoy Jonah's jaded-beyond-his-years take on Gregory. His character is quick-witted, sharp-tongued, and genuinely funny. The supporting cast leaves much to be desired, however. Hopefully Will Forte gets more of a chance to shine later on. French Stewart's character is the most obnoxious choice for the whole series. Hopefully theJonah Hill is hilarious. Despite dissimilar reviews, I enjoy Jonah's jaded-beyond-his-years take on Gregory. His character is quick-witted, sharp-tongued, and genuinely funny. The supporting cast leaves much to be desired, however. Hopefully Will Forte gets more of a chance to shine later on. French Stewart's character is the most obnoxious choice for the whole series. Hopefully the writers choose to take him, his partner, and possibly even Allen's whole home-life in an alternate direction. The animation itself is a bit cold and uninviting, but, there's room to grow. There is potential, but not necessarily promise. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2011
    6
    I like jonah hill. that's basically the only reason! i watched. i actually liked the character allen, he was smart, sarcastic and witty. over all it was just OK. i definitely prefer this over bobs burgers. but it wasn't that funny. it had a few laughs here and there, but nothing too big. and one pretty awkward scene. in which allen day dreams about his 60 yr. old overweight principal. EWW!I like jonah hill. that's basically the only reason! i watched. i actually liked the character allen, he was smart, sarcastic and witty. over all it was just OK. i definitely prefer this over bobs burgers. but it wasn't that funny. it had a few laughs here and there, but nothing too big. and one pretty awkward scene. in which allen day dreams about his 60 yr. old overweight principal. EWW! but other than that, i might tune in next week see what happens. BUT, I WOULD LOVE KING OF THE HILL, TO COME BACK. FOX was doing fine with that show. now they're testing out many shows which might not work... Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    It had some small laughs, but nothing that would bring me back for more just yet. I didn't like the main character much, or many of the others for that matter, BUT I do think it'll get better for some reason. We'll see, not good, not terrible. Just average for now.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Allen Gregory is not funny--not even a little bit--and it is not remotely entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Oct 31, 2011
    50
    The writers need to differentiate how Allen Gregory relates to Jeremy from how he relates to Julie. If the show had Allen Gregory treat Jeremy and Julie differently, there'd be more opportunity for a wider variety of jokes, including some that don't involve yelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Oct 31, 2011
    25
    For what it's worth, Hill's performance as Allen Gregory's titular character is the only noteworthy aspect of an otherwise shoddy show.