• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 30, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 60
  2. Negative: 38 out of 60

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    1
    This Was Vey Bad... I Hated The Voices.. Had One Little Cheap Laugh.. Honestly I Can't See This Lasting More Than 2 Seasons.... I Thought Bob's Burgers Was Ok.... Right Now Bob's Bugers Looks Like God To Allen Gregory...
    Sorry To Say I Hated It... I Wont Even Watch It One More Time..
  2. May 29, 2012
    7
    Allen Gregory Is A Solidly Good Show And Is Smart!
    I Think What Killed This Show The Voice Acting..
    Not My Favorite But Better Than Sit Down Shut Up..
  3. Oct 30, 2011
    5
    It had some small laughs, but nothing that would bring me back for more just yet. I didn't like the main character much, or many of the others for that matter, BUT I do think it'll get better for some reason. We'll see, not good, not terrible. Just average for now.
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    4
    These are just some of the cast: Jonah Hill, French Stewart, Leslie Mann, Nat Faxon, Joy Osmanski, Will Forte. How could a show with such a talented and enjoyable cast be so... boring. The majority of the characters are very unlikeable, Allen Gregory is a stuck up di** (but for some reason most people like him). The three female characters, Julie, Gottlieb and Gina, are the only three who don't like Allen Gregory (they're also three of the only characters I like). A complete and utter disgrace!! Should've NEVER been made! Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    One of the most horrible cartoons ever, I believe that FOX intent copy other horrible cartoon (Ugly Americans) and the results are same, the two cartoons are atrocious, horrible and boring. Ok, the drawings of Gregory can be better, but the caroon is boring, and stupid.
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    2
    The whole thing is a horrible mixture of extreme obnoxious behavior. The main character isn't likable. Not even funny, and story lines are AWFUL. Whatever look the show was going for, it missed completely. Except if it was supposed to be bad. Well, they succeeded. The only reason it gets a 2 is because 1) Believe it or not, it is not "THE" worst. 2) It doesn't deserve a 0, (poor) effort was put into it. 3) I laughed once. Just once. Comedy is supposed to be funny. What the hell is this???? Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    5
    Jonah Hill is hilarious. Despite dissimilar reviews, I enjoy Jonah's jaded-beyond-his-years take on Gregory. His character is quick-witted, sharp-tongued, and genuinely funny. The supporting cast leaves much to be desired, however. Hopefully Will Forte gets more of a chance to shine later on. French Stewart's character is the most obnoxious choice for the whole series. Hopefully the writers choose to take him, his partner, and possibly even Allen's whole home-life in an alternate direction. The animation itself is a bit cold and uninviting, but, there's room to grow. There is potential, but not necessarily promise. Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2011
    4
    Okay, just a quick update. Allen Gregory has gotten slightly better, but I'm still VERY hesitant with it. Last weeks episode was the first actually good episode of the show that also had some humor in it that was actually funny. But, each episode before last weeks was god awful (excluding one small moment in the episode before last where Richard had to clean up after dinner, bagged up all the fancy glasses & dishes into the tablecloth & then threw it off the balcony onto someones car, though the rest of the episode was garbage).I will say, if the future episode are as good as last weeks, I might be willing to give it a second chance, but if it stays like the episodes prior, it needs to be cancelled ASAP. I will say my rating for the show has gone from a 1/10 to a 4/10. Expand
  9. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    The show isn't as bad as some people make it out to be. Sure it had a rocky start the first few episodes, but last nights episode I got a few chuckles out of. How is this any worse than American Dad or Family Guy, which I believe to have declined drastically over the past few seasons. Go easy guys. It has already been canceled. Let the show rest in piece.
  10. Nov 1, 2011
    2
    How such a talented cast can make such an unfunny show is completely amazing. The main character has the kernel of a good idea in there, but the writers decided to just make the show as bizarre as possible and hope that somehow the audience will think it's funny. It isn't. Basically an unfunny version of Rushmore. I won't be back for episode two.
  11. Oct 30, 2011
    6
    I like jonah hill. that's basically the only reason! i watched. i actually liked the character allen, he was smart, sarcastic and witty. over all it was just OK. i definitely prefer this over bobs burgers. but it wasn't that funny. it had a few laughs here and there, but nothing too big. and one pretty awkward scene. in which allen day dreams about his 60 yr. old overweight principal. EWW! but other than that, i might tune in next week see what happens. BUT, I WOULD LOVE KING OF THE HILL, TO COME BACK. FOX was doing fine with that show. now they're testing out many shows which might not work... Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    It's like trying to watch eye floaters..... Allen Gregory is as likable as diarrhea..... I enjoy this show as much as as I like doing nutmeg..... I feel bad for my TV when it's on.....
  13. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    If you're used to the humor of the Simpsons and Family Guy, you may not like this show. The show is smart, a little too smart but it is funny, has great quick-witted writing, and excellent storytelling. I think its problem was that it went over peoples heads. People didn't want it to succeed, the masses want to only see Seth MacFarlane creations and played out Simpsons humor. RIP Allen Gregory, hopefully Adult Swim picks you up and lets you grow. Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2011
    1
    There are reasons people say this show is horrible. One thing I can tell you is that, they are all true. You will hate every single character, who of which show no likable qualities whatsoever. You will not laugh.(This is supposed to be a comedy, God forbid!) There is no reason to watch this show except for witnessing it's abrupt end. P.S. Thank God, it only has 7 episodes.
  15. Oct 31, 2011
    1
    This show needs to be terminated. Immediately. This show doesn't entertain you, it just makes you so mad at the main character that you want someone to punt him off the Empire State Building. That isn't entertainment, that is torture to a human mind. I don't care how different the producers wanted this show to be, but they need to get back to the drawing board. Hell, even the visuals were lackluster. Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    Really? THIS is the crap that we get in place of good shows like Bob's Burgers? I am very disappointed with Fox in their choices of what to cancel and what to keep.
  17. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    When witnessing reactions to this show, I'd swear that most people don't know it's supposed to be a comedy. And now, FOX has canned one of the best and smartest new shows. Lame.
  18. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Holy CRAP, what an awful show. I honestly feel bad for Jonah Hill that he backs this and thinks it's funny. It's kind of sad. It's terrible, but not for lack of trying, I'll say that. The voice actors, Hill and Stewart particularly, aren't phoning it in. But the material is just so dull and obvious, it's painful. I often can't tell when they're trying to funny or merely quirky. Allen and his father have a quick back-and-forth, but very little of it actually makes me smile. Allen's constant antagonizing of his principal made me chuckle once but it just wasn't worth it.

    It's extremely pretty, though. Obviously flash animated, but pretty nonetheless. 2 points for the actor's efforts and the animation style.
    Expand
  19. Oct 31, 2011
    0
    This **** gave me cancer. Not even kidding. The main character is an arrogant **** with a creepy fetish for his 60-something year old principal. The degree of **** that Jeremy and Julie (2 of the main family, and literally the only likeable characters in the show) put up with makes the **** Meg Griffin puts up with look like child's play. I don't know who decided to green light this show for production, but he needs to lose his job. Like, immediately. Expand
  20. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    I found this cartoon to be pretty funny, yeah, some of the jokes were "off" or not P.C. but I actually like that because it's unlike any other cartoon I've seen on television. I can, however, see why this show may not fit into the mainstream of Fox's cartoons and therefore it probably wont last but, for my two cents, I hope it does and stays strange.
  21. Nov 6, 2011
    1
    What the heck is this???????? It's obviously not a comedy............................................................................ Really Bad
  22. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    Please Fox Bring Back Bob's Burgers and take this piece of trash out, thank you :). That is all I wanted to say I am just using up space to post this review. Seriously though take this down!!
  23. Oct 31, 2011
    1
    Allen Gregory was truly a horrible, horrible show. Not one chuckle the entire grueling 30 minutes. Allen and his father are obnoxious people, which makes you hope that bad things happen to them. I dont know how the writers and producers can come up with something like this, build up the hype for several months prior, and not realize what kind of pile of crap they're coming up with. Hopefully it doesnt make it through the season... Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I like this show enough to sign up to review it. I see the humor in it. I cannot understand how so many people find it unbearable and unfunny. It is baffling that people are so critical after 2/3 episodes.
  25. Dec 31, 2011
    1
    I think there was one good laugh in the first episode (that's why it's getting 1 point). Second episode, I stopped it at 10 mins in. Decided that that was the end of it. The quality of the animation is great and I like the style but it's simply not funny. If you find the idea of a 7 yr old getting all hot and bothered about a fat 60 year old dykey looking woman, then yeah maybe this is funny for you. Also, 7 yr olds acting like they're in high school has to be funny to you as well. Go watch Archer instead. That's actually funny. Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Allen Gregory is not funny--not even a little bit--and it is not remotely entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Oct 31, 2011
    50
    The writers need to differentiate how Allen Gregory relates to Jeremy from how he relates to Julie. If the show had Allen Gregory treat Jeremy and Julie differently, there'd be more opportunity for a wider variety of jokes, including some that don't involve yelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Oct 31, 2011
    25
    For what it's worth, Hill's performance as Allen Gregory's titular character is the only noteworthy aspect of an otherwise shoddy show.