• Network: FOX , TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Jul 10, 2013
    70
    Mostly a hoot. [4 Feb 2005]
  2. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Jul 10, 2013
    60
    The scattershot humor ranges from perceptive to sophomoric to blah. [6 Feb 2005]
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    Feels forced.... What "American Dad" really resembles most is the less-funny outtakes from "Family Guy," done in a way that doesn't even pretend to be original. [4 Feb 2005]
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    If you like Family Guy, you'll probably like American Dad. The problem is, if you've seen Family Guy, you've already seen American Dad. [4 Feb 2005]
  5. In its early episodes, "American Dad" not only follows the lead of "Family Guy" but also throws in digs at U.S. political institutions. [1 May 2005]
  6. Reviewed by: John Maynard
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    "Family Guy" fans, prepare to be disappointed: "American Dad" looks a lot like its predecessor, but it lacks the zing and smarts that made "Family Guy" a cult hit. [1 May 2005]
  7. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    Although 'Dad' also was created by [Family Guy's Seth] MacFarlane and has even more outlandish characters - a gay alien, a randy German goldfish - it feels like the more conventional (read: less funny) sitcom. [1 May 2005]
  8. Reviewed by: Mike McDaniel
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    It cribs from Family Guy, which has a similar family makeup, and, as with that series, its laughs are hither and yon. [30 Apr 2005]
  9. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    It's a bit cruder and ruder [than "Family Guy"], and its family seems unimaginatively similar to Peter Griffith's - except that the dad works for the CIA, and there's a talking alien instead of a talking dog. [28 Apr 2005]
  10. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 10, 2013
    50
    If you're not expecting much, you'll come away satisfied. But compared to a good episode of "Family Guy" - or even a mediocre "Simpsons" episode - it's pretty thin gruel. [28 Apr 2005]
  11. Reviewed by: Sid Smith
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    As with "Guy," the idea is to cram this new animated cartoon series with a laugh a second, or at least a second-by-second attempt. Trouble is, too many of the laughs are so-so, too fleetingly funny or disturbingly potty-mouthed. [4 Feb 2005]
  12. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    Lacks bite.... The series aspires to pick up where 'The Simpsons' and 'South Park' left off, but many of its jokes and cultural references seem off. [4 Feb 2005]
  13. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    Little more than an empty vehicle for clever jokes on America since 9/11. [30 Apr 2005]
  14. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 10, 2013
    40
    To call "Dad" derivative of "Family Guy" would be an understatement. [28 Apr 2005]
  15. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    The pilot aspires to outrageousness, but the humor needs to get a whole lot smarter.
  16. 37
    "Dad" is even spottier than "Family Guy," a nearly random collection of blackouts in search of a story. [29 Apr 2005]
  17. Reviewed by: Thomas Conner
    Jul 10, 2013
    37
    The jokes aren't funny, the story is silly (or, really, not silly enough) and the new writers follow the "Family Guy" model so closely they fail to explain any of the characters or even the premise of the show. [28 Apr 2005]
  18. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 10, 2013
    30
    As in "Family Guy," MacFarlane and company rely on a fast-moving formula predicated on the mindset that if a joke doesn't work, another will be along momentarily. There's something to that for small fry, but the low batting average and scatological emphasis conspire to narrow the program's appeal. [4 Feb 2005]
  19. Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Jul 10, 2013
    30
    Determinedly irreverent and politically incorrect, but so obvious in its targets and so unoriginal in its barbs that it ends up being mostly an ode to its own crudity. [29 Apr 2005]
  20. Reviewed by: Adam Buckman
    Jul 10, 2013
    0
    About as appetizing as fried roadkill. [5 Feb 2005]
  21. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jul 10, 2013
    0
    The only fun is in trying to enumerate how many ways it's offensive. [30 Apr 2005]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    I'll admit, I watched the first few episodes when it first aired and did not like it. But years later, after watching a full season andI'll admit, I watched the first few episodes when it first aired and did not like it. But years later, after watching a full season and getting to know the characters, I like it better than Family Guy. It might not be for everyone's sense of humor, but if you like Family Guy, then you'll probably grow to like American Dad! equally if you give is a fair chance. Full Review »
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    3
    This show is literally crap. If you're thinking of watching this, don't bother. It's basically a rip off of Family Guy only less funny. IThis show is literally crap. If you're thinking of watching this, don't bother. It's basically a rip off of Family Guy only less funny. I would recommend watching something else like The Simpsons or South Park. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    It is an overall funny series and I enjoy watching episodes I've already seen 5 or 6 times. I must admit I enjoy family guy a little bit moreIt is an overall funny series and I enjoy watching episodes I've already seen 5 or 6 times. I must admit I enjoy family guy a little bit more simply for it relating to celebrities and real events much more often, but this is still a great show. Full Review »