• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 301

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    1
    season 1 was fantastic. a true American horror story. beautiful in its darkness. season 2 was mental, crazy but I couldn't take my eyes away. pure American horror. but 3? (and by the way im british). witches with super powers? come on!!! its like watching a teen movie in the back row of the cinema. and what a let down. witches can be the scariest things of em all. you guys have the witch trials but look into medieval history. I know you wont like it but look into European history on witches. they will make your turn white. I turned it of in the second episode when the head mistress used the word magic. rubbish. magic is gone. but witchcraft lives on. and the writers/directors made a pigs ear of it. terrible. sorry guys but do your research first. true witches would have made the viewers piss there pants. sorry but epic fail from me. its like watching an eighties teen flick. I hope season 4 goes back true to style. if you get one after this shambles. witches? what a waste Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    Rating this season higher than the previous two is an act of madness ! I hated from the first time the notice that Taissa Farmiga would be return in the cast; i think she's the worst actress in the USA ( at least ).
    AHS is become a teen-drama, not a horror, and low-level series full of nasty, blood and rough things. I mean, it has to be in some way like this, with withces and their
    macabre rituals, but Taissa Farmiga change the nature of the series into a low-teen-drama-trouble-heart-series.
    This season ? Failed.
    Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2014
    0
    With all the different kinds of characters the series really had a potential to deliver well balanced story. It reminded me the first season of "Heroes". But later on it all became a total mess (story and direction wise). After watching episodes 10 and 11 I got so confused I had to check maybe I missed some chapter! and I don't think it can get better in 1-2 chapters left. I just watch it for beautiful clothes and sets now. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    3
    I LOVED season one, the whole haunted house vibe, the family dynamic. But like most shows, they are written as they go and season two was all over the place, nazi’s, aliens, mutants, demons…
    Now season three, well I made it thru two episodes and realized it’s not for me and most male audiences. Can’t wait for season four, and please new cast! Jessica Lange was brilliant in the first
    season, now she’s playing the same role with a different character on each season. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    3
    So far this season functions as a teenage girl drama. The plot is unfocused and sloppy and the dialogue is mediocre. The main problem is that this largely lacks the horror element.
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    4
    Man, after an amazing first season this show just keeps going downhill and season 3 takes that to a whole new level. This season doesn't even feel like American Horror Story, I heard it was going to be a little different but holy s***. Most people I know turned it down after the first episodes, (witches with superpowers and cliche high school personalities) me being hopeful decided to stick around but it only gets worse with each episode. I seriously don't know what the writers were thinking, it seems as if they got bored with their own plot and decided to spice things by adding/changing last minute stuff making everything else pointless.
    In short, the characters are unappealing, the story is a ridiculous mess, and overall not that interesting.
    Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    3
    This season seems to be disjointed and out of focus. Patti Lupone's religious nutt-job character and her son turned out to be complete throw away characters without any ultimate impact on the plot. What a waste. Kathy Bates character - wasted. Gabi's character- wasted. The build up at the winter cliff hanger was good but I still can't see where this season is going or why its going at all. You can tell they are making it up as they go along. Cordelia was a bad ass with no eyes and then an episode or two later she gets them back and is a wuss once more. So many great actors and actresses in the cast this year and they seemed to go to waste. I would have loved to know more about the mens characters this year- Spalding and Evan were great characters but not really developed. Again i suppose the point is to vanquish the corporation but then why haven't we seen more of them? underdeveloped characters in a great ensemble cast. What a waste. Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2014
    2
    It seems like maybe my demographic (young male) is being purposefully ignored in the writing of this season. I'm trying to watch it but there's just too much drama and not enough real tension.
  9. Jan 30, 2014
    2
    Well...I have to say that season 3 of American Horror Story was corny as hell and the biggest piece of crap in comparison to the last two seasons. I sat through this entire season just hoping that at some point it would turn around, but it just got worse and worse and worse. The story started off promising, but turned out to be an epic failure. It seemed like eventually all I was watching was a repeat episode of a bunch of teenybopper whinny **** constantly fighting and arguing over who was going to be the next "supreme." I'm not sure why they even bothered putting Evan Peters in this one. I'm not sure why Jamie Brewer can't ever make it an entire season, especially since she was one of the few likable characters in this season. They took the Stevie Nix thing waaaay too far, and even the damn background music lacked in depth. All they ever played was this little girl La La La La **** in the background non-stop. Jeez, not only did they get lazy with developing a decent story, but they even got lazy with the film score too! It's like they straight up didn't give a damn with this one. Oh well...Good riddance is all I can say. I certainly hope the next season helps to redeem the series, and helps me to forget about this lame-ass bloody tampon of a season. Collapse
  10. Oct 9, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I originally chose not to watch American Horror Story when it first aired in 2011 because a friend told me it has a rape scene in it. Just recently I learned from a friend that each season of the show is entirely disconnected and functions as a separate series, so I decided to check out the third season pilot tonight, Coven. At first it started out extremely disturbing but interesting. It's phenomenal cast kept me intrigued. However, 51 minutes into the pilot, Emma Roberts was ruffied and gang raped and they showed the whole thing. I literally felt sick to my stomach. Further, Robert's character shrugs it off as if nothing happened. Regardless of whatever else the show has to offer, I will not be watching it. I strongly condemn the use of sexual violence in entertainment media. It sickens me that writers capable of producing an entire vision resort to the objectification, destruction and torture of young women in order to entertain their viewing audience. As a feminist, a man, and lover of women, I strongly suggest anyone who shares these feeling boycott this show. Deplorable. Expand
  11. May 2, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Coven started off interesting but quickly turned into a weird, confused reality TV show. People kept changing sides, plot holes galore (if you bring someone back from the dead you can't kill them again, because they're dead, but they still kill those who were brought back form the dead), and two episodes that were nothing more than a Stevie Nicks music video. Expand
  12. May 8, 2014
    2
    I was very pleased to American Horror Story Season 3, but unfortunately I'm a little frustrated. I do not like comedy. American Horror Story S3 but tends to be a comedy show for me. Annie Wilkes in Misery was really creepy, but here it has something of a clown. The trailers have promised more. The theme of witches has given away here completely.
  13. Oct 13, 2014
    1
    American Horror Story: Coven completely misses two of the three words in its main title; it isn't nearly scary enough to be considered "Horror" and it doesn't have any character through-line or plot to render it a "Story." This season is absolute garbage.
  14. Nov 23, 2014
    2
    Okay... Season three sucks major dick. The whole **** season was a huge advertisement for tampons. It seemed like the writers felt the need to attract 13 year old girls so they went **** by taking New Orleans voodoo stories and raped them by the eyes with some teenage **** like ostracising, having a boyfriend, being careful so you won't get gang raped etc... To be honest I wouldn't mind if that **** existed in some sort of subplot, but for some reason they made it into the main **** thing. Seriously.... it's frustrating. Season 2 actually gave me a good scare. It was good enough to be called horror or even thriller, but season three... Just a huge steaming pile of **** I really wanna runt a lot about it because i wasted my time and I can't get that **** back... The only reason I am giving it 2 points is because Jessica Lange is giving an excellent performance. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 24, 2013
    88
    Despite its cheap shock effects, the show is indulgently ridiculous. [[28 Oct 2013, p.41]
  2. 70
    If the season-three premiere is any indication, although AHS has lost its novelty, it still has that seventies and eighties grindhouse/drive-in/midnight movie feeling.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Oct 9, 2013
    90
    In the context of other television, American Horror Story is perverse and refreshing, proof that a great show doesn’t have to be self-serious to be smart.