• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 373 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For her protection, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga) is sent to Miss Robichaux's Academy for Exceptional Young Ladies in New Orleans. Meanwhile, the return of Coven witch Fiona Goode (Jessica Lange) stirs up an old rivalry.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Oct 9, 2013
    91
    [Ryan Murphy's] sharp take on a woman's role is both funny and mordantly serious.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 8, 2013
    88
    Although the premiere is hampered by unnecessary narration and over-exposition, it's still a bewitching brew of whimsy, psychological scares, horrific atrocities and the wonderfully relentless feeling that something wicked this way comes.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 9, 2013
    80
    We’ve come to expect an eclectic mix from the American Horror Story anthology, and the formula works particularly well in this installment, thanks to uninhibited work by the big-name cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    [Lange and Bates] are the only reason to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    There are aspects of Coven that are stylish and clever, and others that are just "Carrie" on steroids. The cast, of course, is tremendous.
  6. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Oct 8, 2013
    70
    Fish-eye lenses and rotating cameras don't feel at home here as in other installments, and things aren't creepy so much as grotesque. Still, there are a number of decent effects and a healthy dose of humor that keep things moving along in an entertaining way. Eventually, the many stories find their way together, which helps propel the premiere to its promising finish.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 7, 2013
    30
    As with all three incarnations of AHS, there are some beautiful images (courtesy of director Alfonso Gomez-Rejon and cinematographer Michael Goi), and Murphy and Falchuk’s script exhibits a knowing familiarity with the genre. Still, there’s always something unsavory about using the supernatural as a shield to indulge in sex-laced sadism, which has become a common and frankly rather tired aspect of the whole latex-clad-gimp streak running through the series.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 61
  2. Negative: 14 out of 61
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    If not the best "American Horror Story" yet, it is one of the most compelling TV series ever made, and probably one of the best. It is funny,If not the best "American Horror Story" yet, it is one of the most compelling TV series ever made, and probably one of the best. It is funny, horrifying, disturbing and ver modern & stylish, loved every season, but "Coven" is the best, yet. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This season of american horror story is really amazing. Once I found out that this season will focus on a story line of witches, I got veryThis season of american horror story is really amazing. Once I found out that this season will focus on a story line of witches, I got very excited. I was although curious on how the story will introduce itself. Overall this show has a great story line, the acting is just so amazing, the show has humor, there are things you will never imagine in this show especially this season. Love this season and can't wait to see what story line there going to make for season 4. My rating: 10/10. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Best series opening of the Autumn thus far, strong cast especially from Lange, who's always been the figurehead of this anthology seriesBest series opening of the Autumn thus far, strong cast especially from Lange, who's always been the figurehead of this anthology series strong script, perhaps occasionally over-stylized at parts yet all together I loved it. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    This season of American Horror Story kept to one plot line much better than previous seasons. Every single thing that happened clearly relatedThis season of American Horror Story kept to one plot line much better than previous seasons. Every single thing that happened clearly related to the plot and no event seemed random. That said, there were some unresolved moments and plot holes in the finale. Other than that however between the once again stellar acting and directing season 3 was a great season. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2014
    6
    Probably the weakest AHS season i date.The acting is not impressive and it looks like the creators had no ideas of what to do with thisProbably the weakest AHS season i date.The acting is not impressive and it looks like the creators had no ideas of what to do with this season.I stopped watching it at episode 3 because i was too disappointed. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    4
    Man, after an amazing first season this show just keeps going downhill and season 3 takes that to a whole new level. This season doesn't evenMan, after an amazing first season this show just keeps going downhill and season 3 takes that to a whole new level. This season doesn't even feel like American Horror Story, I heard it was going to be a little different but holy s***. Most people I know turned it down after the first episodes, (witches with superpowers and cliche high school personalities) me being hopeful decided to stick around but it only gets worse with each episode. I seriously don't know what the writers were thinking, it seems as if they got bored with their own plot and decided to spice things by adding/changing last minute stuff making everything else pointless.
    In short, the characters are unappealing, the story is a ridiculous mess, and overall not that interesting.
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    0
    With all the different kinds of characters the series really had a potential to deliver well balanced story. It reminded me the first seasonWith all the different kinds of characters the series really had a potential to deliver well balanced story. It reminded me the first season of "Heroes". But later on it all became a total mess (story and direction wise). After watching episodes 10 and 11 I got so confused I had to check maybe I missed some chapter! and I don't think it can get better in 1-2 chapters left. I just watch it for beautiful clothes and sets now. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  3. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  4. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.