• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 378 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For her protection, Zoe (Taissa Farmiga) is sent to Miss Robichaux's Academy for Exceptional Young Ladies in New Orleans. Meanwhile, the return of Coven witch Fiona Goode (Jessica Lange) stirs up an old rivalry.
  • Genre(s): Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Oct 9, 2013
    91
    [Ryan Murphy's] sharp take on a woman's role is both funny and mordantly serious.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 8, 2013
    88
    Although the premiere is hampered by unnecessary narration and over-exposition, it's still a bewitching brew of whimsy, psychological scares, horrific atrocities and the wonderfully relentless feeling that something wicked this way comes.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Oct 9, 2013
    80
    We’ve come to expect an eclectic mix from the American Horror Story anthology, and the formula works particularly well in this installment, thanks to uninhibited work by the big-name cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    [Lange and Bates] are the only reason to watch.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    There are aspects of Coven that are stylish and clever, and others that are just "Carrie" on steroids. The cast, of course, is tremendous.
  6. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Oct 8, 2013
    70
    Fish-eye lenses and rotating cameras don't feel at home here as in other installments, and things aren't creepy so much as grotesque. Still, there are a number of decent effects and a healthy dose of humor that keep things moving along in an entertaining way. Eventually, the many stories find their way together, which helps propel the premiere to its promising finish.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 7, 2013
    30
    As with all three incarnations of AHS, there are some beautiful images (courtesy of director Alfonso Gomez-Rejon and cinematographer Michael Goi), and Murphy and Falchuk’s script exhibits a knowing familiarity with the genre. Still, there’s always something unsavory about using the supernatural as a shield to indulge in sex-laced sadism, which has become a common and frankly rather tired aspect of the whole latex-clad-gimp streak running through the series.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 62
  2. Negative: 14 out of 62
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    If not the best "American Horror Story" yet, it is one of the most compelling TV series ever made, and probably one of the best. It is funny,If not the best "American Horror Story" yet, it is one of the most compelling TV series ever made, and probably one of the best. It is funny, horrifying, disturbing and ver modern & stylish, loved every season, but "Coven" is the best, yet. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    This season of american horror story is really amazing. Once I found out that this season will focus on a story line of witches, I got veryThis season of american horror story is really amazing. Once I found out that this season will focus on a story line of witches, I got very excited. I was although curious on how the story will introduce itself. Overall this show has a great story line, the acting is just so amazing, the show has humor, there are things you will never imagine in this show especially this season. Love this season and can't wait to see what story line there going to make for season 4. My rating: 10/10. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Best series opening of the Autumn thus far, strong cast especially from Lange, who's always been the figurehead of this anthology seriesBest series opening of the Autumn thus far, strong cast especially from Lange, who's always been the figurehead of this anthology series strong script, perhaps occasionally over-stylized at parts yet all together I loved it. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    This season of American Horror Story kept to one plot line much better than previous seasons. Every single thing that happened clearly relatedThis season of American Horror Story kept to one plot line much better than previous seasons. Every single thing that happened clearly related to the plot and no event seemed random. That said, there were some unresolved moments and plot holes in the finale. Other than that however between the once again stellar acting and directing season 3 was a great season. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2015
    6
    Season 3 turns the show from horror to teen-drama. It's definitely not horror in the slightest, and is much more thriller/action. This seasonsSeason 3 turns the show from horror to teen-drama. It's definitely not horror in the slightest, and is much more thriller/action. This seasons story is probably the most cohesive story, one that doesn't have as many arcs and plot holes... but it still just doesn't feel complete. It's not nearly dark enough to actually give you any sense of dread in the atmosphere. It's just kind of... bland. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've been following American Horror Story from Season 1: Murder House, and I have to say that Season 3: Coven was a bit of a disappointment. Season 2: Asylum was amazing but still not as good as Season 1, but Season 3 doesn't even come close to being as good as the other two. The ending was predictable, and from the past two seasons I would have guessed it would have ended as an edge-of-your-seat, cliff-hanger that left you asking questions and making up your own closing. This season didn't deliver that, which was more than disappointing. The plot was all over the place, and it was easy to forget what happened in each episode, leading to confusion in the following week's episode. Some aspects of this season were just plain weird, not even scary. For example, Taissa Farmiga's character, Zoe Benson, had a superpower that allowed her to kill her victims by having sex with them. It was just a really weird concept. However, I absolutely love the actors and actresses in American Horror Story. I love the way it's done in each season, using the same actors but creating different characters for them. That's always my favorite part at the beginning of each season, spotting a familiar face and connecting it back to a previous season. Jessica Lange never fails to amaze me with her unparalleled acting skills. Her character, Fiona Goode, was my favorite out of her three characters in each season. Jessica Lange manages to captivate you with the intensity she puts into her acting. Overall, this season wasn't great and didn't meet my expectations, but it wasn't bad. I'm still looking forward to Season 4: Freakshow. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2014
    0
    With all the different kinds of characters the series really had a potential to deliver well balanced story. It reminded me the first seasonWith all the different kinds of characters the series really had a potential to deliver well balanced story. It reminded me the first season of "Heroes". But later on it all became a total mess (story and direction wise). After watching episodes 10 and 11 I got so confused I had to check maybe I missed some chapter! and I don't think it can get better in 1-2 chapters left. I just watch it for beautiful clothes and sets now. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  3. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  4. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.